一般性问题

问:我为什么要使用 AWS Outposts 而不是在 AWS 区域运营?

您可以使用 Outposts 来支持您具有低延迟或本地数据处理要求的应用程序。这些应用程序可能需要为最终用户应用程序生成近乎实时的响应,或者需要与其他本地系统通信或控制现场设备。它们可能包括在工厂车间中运行的工作负载,用于自动化生产操作、实时患者诊断或医学成像以及内容和流媒体处理。 您可以使用 AWS Outposts 安全地存储和处理需要在本地或没有 AWS 区域的国家/地区保留的客户数据。您可以在 Outposts 上运行数据密集型工作负载,并且如果将数据传输到云中既昂贵又浪费,而且想要更好的控制数据分析、备份和还原,则在本地处理数据。

问:Outposts 在哪些区域提供?

Outposts 在以下区域受支持,客户可以将其 Outposts 连接到以下区域:

美国东部(俄亥俄) us-east-2
美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部) us-east-1
美国西部(加利福尼亚北部) us-west-1
美国西部(俄勒冈) us-west-2
加拿大(中部) ca-central-1
南美洲(圣保罗) sa-east-1
欧洲(法兰克福) eu-central-1
欧洲(爱尔兰) eu-west-1
欧洲(斯德哥尔摩) eu-north-1
欧洲(巴黎) eu-west-3
欧洲(伦敦) eu-west-2
欧洲(米兰) eu-south-1
中东(巴林) me-south-1
非洲(开普敦) af-south-1
亚太地区(悉尼) ap-southeast-2
亚太地区(东京) ap-northeast-1
亚太地区(首尔) ap-northeast-2
亚太地区(新加坡) ap-southeast-1
亚太地区(香港) ap-east-1
亚太地区(孟买) ap-south-1
AWS GovCloud(美国西部) us-gov-west-1
AWS GovCloud(美国东部) us-gov-east-1

问:Outposts 将在哪些国家/地区提供?

答:Outposts 可以运送到以下国家/地区进行安装:

  • 北美:美国、加拿大、墨西哥
  • 中东、欧洲和非洲:所有欧洲国家/地区、瑞士、挪威、巴林、阿拉伯联合酋长国 (UAE)、沙特阿拉伯王国 (KSA)、以色列、南非
  • 亚太地区:澳大利亚、新西兰、日本、韩国、中国香港特别行政区、台湾、新加坡、印度尼西亚、马来西亚、泰国、印度
  • 南美:巴西

未来还将支持更多国家/地区。

问:我能否在未推出 Outposts 的国家/地区订购Outpost,然后再将它链接回支持的区域?

答:不能,我们只能在可交付和支持 Outposts 的国家/地区交付和安装 Outposts。

问:当 Outposts 没有与 AWS 区域连接或者处于连接断开的环境时,我能否使用它?

Outpost 依赖与父级 AWS 区域的连接。按设计,Outposts 不能用于连接断开的操作或连接有限或没有连接的环境。我们建议客户将高度可用的网络连接回他们的 AWS 区域。如果您想要在断开连接的环境(例如游轮或偏远采矿区域)中利用 AWS 服务,请详细了解 AWS 服务,例如 Snowball Edge,该服务进行了优化,可以在连接有限或没有连接的环境中运行。  

问:我能否在 Outposts 中重新使用我的现有服务器?

否,AWS Outposts 利用 AWS 设计的基础设施,仅支持用于针对安全、高性能和可靠操作优化的 AWS 设计的硬件。

问:AWS Outposts 是否有纯软件版本?

否,AWS Outposts 是一项完全托管型服务,可为您提供至 AWS 服务的本机访问。

问:我能否订购自己的硬件,作为 Outpost 机架的一部分安装?

不能,AWS Outposts 提供完全集成的 AWS 设计配置,其中带有内置的架顶交换机和冗余电源,可以为您提供理想的 AWS 体验。您可以从一系列可用的 Outposts 选项中进行选择,以便根据需要订购计算和存储基础设施,您也可以与我们合作,根据您需要的 EC2、EBS 和 S3 容量创建自定义组合。它们都经过了预先验证和测试,可以确保您无需进行额外的工作或现场配置即可快速开始使用。

AWS 服务

问:我能否使用 EBS 支持的 AMI 在我的 Outposts 上创建 EC2 实例?

答:能,您可以使用 EBS gp2 卷类型支持的 AMI 启动 EC2 实例。

问:EBS 快照存储在哪里?

答:EBS 快照将使用 Amazon S3 存储在与您的 Outpost 相关的区域中。

问:S3 on Outposts 最适用于哪些应用场景?

答:对于有数据驻留要求的客户或者受监管行业中需要安全地存储和处理客户数据(这些数据需要保留在本地或没有 AWS 区域的位置)的客户,S3 on Outposts 是一种理想的选择。此外,客户可以使用 S3 on Outposts 来运行数据密集型工作负载,以便在本地处理并存储数据。如果您的应用程序需要与其他本地系统进行通信或控制本地设备(例如工厂、医院或研究设施),您也可以使用 S3 on Outposts。

问:Application Load Balancer 是否可以在 Outposts 上使用?

答:可以,Application Load Balancer 可以在所有提供 Outposts 的商业区域中的 Outposts 上使用。

问:Outposts 是否支持有低延迟要求的实时应用程序?

答:支持,借助 RDS on AWS Outposts,您可以在本地运行托管的 MySQL 和 PostgreSQL 数据库来处理需要在本地数据和应用程序附近运行的低延迟工作负载。您可以使用相同的 AWS 管理控制台、API 和 CLI 在云和本地环境中管理 RDS 数据库。对于超低延迟应用程序,ElastiCache on Outposts 可以为实时应用程序提供亚毫秒级响应,包括制造业中在工厂车间运行的用于实现自动化操作的工作负载、实时患者诊断和媒体流。

问:Outposts 是否可以用于满足数据驻留要求?

答:可以。客户数据可以配置为使用 Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 和 Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) on Outposts 将数据保留在 Outposts 上、客户本地位置或指定的主机托管设施中。使用 Outposts 及 AWS 服务和工具的架构完善的应用程序可满足客户经常提出的数据驻留要求。借助 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM),您可以控制用户对 AWS 资源的访问。您可以使用 IAM 和细粒度数据控制规则来指定哪些类型的数据必须保留在 Outposts 上,而不得复制到 AWS 区域中。默认情况下,S3 on Outposts 会将数据存储在您的 Outposts 上,而且您可以根据具体的驻留要求将部分或全部数据复制到 AWS 区域中。ElastiCache on Outposts 让您能够在 Outposts 上安全地处理本地客户数据。部分受限的元数据(例如实例 ID、监控指标、计量记录、标签、存储桶名称等)将流回 AWS 区域。

为了确保满足您独特的数据驻留要求,我们建议您与合规性与安全性团队确认相关信息并密切合作。

问:AWS Outposts 是否可提供资源共享?

答:可以。AWS Resource Access Manager (RAM) 是一项服务,让您能够与任何 AWS 账户或在 AWS 组织内共享 AWS 资源。有了 RAM 支持,您作为 Outpost 拥有者可以集中创建和管理 Outpost 资源(包括 EC2 实例、EBS 卷、子网和本地网关 (LGW)),并在同一 AWS 组织内的多个 AWS 账户之间共享资源。这样,其他人也可以
在共享的 Outpost 上配置 VPC,启动和运行实例以及创建 EBS 卷。

开始订购和安装

问:在我的位置部署 Outpost 是否有任何先决条件?

答:您的站点必须支持基本电力、网络和空间要求才能托管 Outpost。Outposts 需要 5-15 kVA 的电源,可以支持 1/10/40/100 Gbps 的上行传输速度及 42U 机架(尺寸 80" X 24" X 48")的空间。由于 Outposts 需要至 AWS 区域的可靠网络连接,您应该计划使用公共互联网连接。客户必须具有企业支持,以在 15 分钟内提供全天候远程支持。

安全性与合规性

问:目前适用于 AWS 服务的合规性认证是否也适用于 Outposts 上的服务?

答:AWS Outposts 符合 HIPAA、PCI 和 ISO 要求,而且我们将在未来几个月内增加更多合规性认证。您可以在我们的范围内服务页面上查看关于 Outposts 上的 AWS 服务的最新认证状况。由于 AWS Outposts 在客户的数据中心运行,根据 AWS 责任共担模型,客户要对 Outpost 的物理安全和访问控制负责,以便获得合规性认证。

问:我的数据中心的 Outposts 物理安全由谁负责?

AWS 提供的服务可以加密静态数据以及传输中的数据,还提供其他精细安全性控制和审计机制。此外,客户数据还将由 Nitro Secure 实体密钥进行保护。摧毁设备等同于销毁数据。在共担责任模式下,客户需要在实施责任共担模型的过程中证明 Outpost 的物理安全性和访问控制。

支持和维护

问:AWS 如何维护 AWS Outposts 基础设施?

答:当您的 Outpost 已安装并且在 AWS 管理控制台中可见时,AWS 将把它作为公共区域的一部分进行监控,并且将自动执行软件升级和补丁。

如果需要执行物理维护,AWS 将联系您来计划一个访问您的站点的时间。AWS 可以在适当时更换给定模块,但不会在客户场所进行任何主机或网络交换机的维修。

问:当我的设施的网络连接故障时,会发生什么?

答:Outpost 上的 EC2 实例和 EBS 卷将继续正常操作,并且可以通过本地网关从本地进行访问。同样地,ECS 工作线程节点等 AWS 服务资源将继续在本地运行。然而,API 可用性将会降低,例如,运行/启动/停止/终止 API 可能无法工作。实例指标和日志将继续在本地缓存几小时,并且将在连接返回时推送到 AWS 区域。但如果连接断开超过几小时可能会导致指标和日志丢失。这时,Outposts 上对 Route 53 Resolver(即 AmazonProvidedDNS)的 DNS 查询也依赖于到 AWS 区域的网络连接,因此,默认 DNS 解析将停止工作。如果您预计会断开网络连接,我们强烈建议您定期测试工作负载,以便确保在 Outpost 断开连接后,工作负载能在此状态下正常运行。对于 S3 on Outposts,如果 Outposts 的网络连接断开,那么您将无法访问您的对象。系统使用区域 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 服务来验证对象存储和检索请求,如果 Outposts 无法连接到主 AWS 区域,您就不能访问您的数据。在连接断开期间,您的数据仍然安全地存储在 Outposts 上,在连接恢复后,身份验证和请求便会恢复。

问:什么类型的控制面板信息会流回父级区域?

答:例如,有关实例运行状况、实例活动(启动、停止)和底层管理程序系统的信息可能会发送回父级 AWS 区域。此信息可使 AWS 提供有关实例运行状况和容量的提醒,并将补丁和更新应用至 Outpost。您的团队无需实施自己的工具即可管理这些元素,或者积极推送您的 Outposts 的安全更新和补丁。对于 S3 on Outposts,某些数据管理和遥测数据(例如存储桶名称和指标)可以存储在 AWS 区域中以便进行报告和管理。如果连接断开,该信息无法发送回父级区域。

查看 AWS Outposts 常见问题
联系我们

请直接联系我们,了解有关 AWS Outposts 的更多信息

联系我们 
注册免费 AWS 账户
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
开始使用 AWS Outposts 进行构建
开始在控制台中构建

开始在 AWS 管理控制台中使用 AWS Outposts。

登录

General

Q: Why would I use AWS Outposts instead of operating in an AWS Region?

You can use Outposts to support your applications that have low latency or local data processing requirements. These applications may need to generate near real-time responses to end user applications or need to communicate with other on-premises systems or control on-site equipment. These can include workloads running on factory floors for automated operations in manufacturing, real-time patient diagnosis or medical imaging, and content and media streaming. You can use Outposts to securely store and process customer data that needs to remain on premises or in countries where there is no AWS region. You can run data intensive workloads on Outposts and process data locally when transmitting data to the cloud is expensive and wasteful and for better control on data analysis, back-up and restore.

Q: In which regions is Outposts available?

Outposts is supported in the following regions and customers can connect their Outposts to the following regions:

US East (Ohio) us-east-2
US East (N. Virginia) us-east-1
US West (N. California) us-west-1
US West (Oregon) us-west-2
Canada (Central) ca-central-1
South America (São Paulo) sa-east-1
EU (Frankfurt) eu-central-1
EU (Ireland) eu-west-1
EU (Stockholm) eu-north-1
EU (Paris) eu-west-3
EU (London) eu-west-2
EU (Milan) eu-south-1
Middle East (Bahrain) me-south-1
Africa (Cape Town) af-south-1
Asia Pacific (Sydney) ap-southeast-2
Asia Pacific (Tokyo) ap-northeast-1
Asia Pacific (Seoul) ap-northeast-2
Asia Pacific (Singapore) ap-southeast-1
Asia Pacific (Hong Kong) ap-east-1
Asia Pacific (Mumbai) ap-south-1
AWS GovCloud (US-West) us-gov-west-1
AWS GovCloud (US-East) us-gov-east-1

Q: In which countries will Outposts be available?

A: Outposts can be shipped to and installed in the following countries

  • NA - US, Canada, Mexico
  • EMEA - All EU countries, Switzerland, Norway, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA), Israel, South Africa
  • APAC - Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Taiwan, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, India
  • SA - Brazil

Support for more countries coming soon.

Q: Can I order an Outpost to a country where Outposts has not launched and link it back to a supported Region?

A: No, we can deliver and install Outposts only in countries where Outposts can be delivered and supported.

Q: Can I use Outposts when it is not connected to the AWS Region or in a disconnected environment?

An Outpost relies on connectivity to the parent AWS Region. Outposts are not designed for disconnected operations or environments with limited to no connectivity. We recommend that customers have highly available networking connections back to their AWS Region. If interested in leveraging AWS services in disconnected environments such as cruise ships or remote mining locations, learn more about AWS services such as Snowball Edge which is optimized to operate in environments with limited to no connectivity.  

Q: Can I reuse my existing servers in an Outpost?

No, AWS Outposts leverages AWS designed infrastructure, and is only supported on AWS-designed hardware that is optimized for secure, high-performance, and reliable operations.

Q: Is there a software-only version of AWS Outposts?

No, AWS Outposts is a fully managed service that provides you with native access to AWS services.

Q: Can I order my own hardware that can be installed as part of my Outpost rack?

No, AWS Outposts provides fully integrated AWS designed configurations with built in top-of-rack switches and redundant power supply to ensure an ideal AWS experience. You can order as much compute and storage infrastructure as you need by selecting from the range of available Outpost options, or work with us to create a custom combination with your desired EC2, EBS, and S3 capacity. These are pre-validated and tested to ensure that you can get started quickly with no additional effort or configuration required on-site.

AWS services

Q: Can I create EC2 instances using an EBS backed AMI on my Outposts?

A: Yes, you can launch EC2 instances using the AMIs backed with EBS gp2 volume types.

Q: Where are EBS snapshots stored?

A: Any EBS snapshots will be stored using Amazon S3 in the Region associated with your Outpost.

Q: What use cases are best suited to run on S3 on Outposts?

A: S3 on Outposts is ideal for customers with data residency requirements or those in regulated industries that need to securely store and process customer data that needs to remain on premises or in locations where there is no AWS region. Additionally, customers can use S3 on Outposts to run data intensive workloads to process data locally and store on-premises. S3 on Outposts will also help if you have applications that need to communicate with other on-premises systems or control on-site equipment, such as within a factory, hospital, or research facility.

Q: Is Application Load Balancer available on Outposts?

A: Yes, Application Load Balancer is available on Outposts in all commercial regions where Outposts is available.

Q: Can Outposts support real-time applications with low-latency requirements?

A: Yes, with RDS on AWS Outposts you can run managed MySQL and PostgreSQL databases on premises for low latency workloads that need to be run in close proximity to on premises data and applications. You can manage RDS databases both in the cloud and on premises using the same AWS Management Console, APIs, and CLI. For ultra low-latency applications, ElastiCache on Outposts enables sub-millisecond responses for real-time applications, including workloads running on factory floors for automated operations in manufacturing, real-time patient diagnosis, and media streaming.

Q: Can Outposts be used to meet data residency requirements?

A: Yes. Customer data can be configured to remain on Outposts using Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) and Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) on Outposts, in the customer’s on-premises location or specified co-location facility. Well-architected applications using Outposts and AWS services and tools address the data residency requirements we most commonly hear from our customers. AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) lets you control access to AWS resources. You can use IAM and granular data control rules to specify which types of data must remain on Outposts and cannot be replicated to the AWS Region. S3 on Outposts stores data on your Outpost by default, and you may choose to replicate some or all of your data to AWS Regions based on your specific residency requirements. ElastiCache on Outposts allows you to securely process customer data locally on the Outposts. Some limited meta-data (e.g. instance IDs, monitoring metrics, metering records, tags, bucket names, etc.) will flow back to the AWS Region.

To ensure your unique data residency requirements are met, we recommend you confirm and work closely with your compliance and security teams.

Q: Is Resource Sharing available on AWS Outposts?

A: Yes. AWS Resource Access Manager (RAM) is a service that enables you to share your AWS resources with any AWS account or within your AWS Organization. RAM support lets you, the Outpost owner, create and manage Outpost resources - EC2 instances, EBS volumes, subnets, and local gateways (LGWs) centrally, and share the resources across multiple AWS accounts within the same AWS organization. This allows others to configure
VPCs, launch and run instances, and create EBS volumes on the shared Outpost.

Getting started with ordering & installation

Q: Are there any prerequisites for deploying an Outpost at my location?

A: Your site must support the basic power, networking and space requirements to host an Outpost. Outposts need 5-15 kVA, can support 1/10/40/100 Gbps uplinks, and space for a 42U rack (80” X 24” X 48” dimensions). As Outposts require reliable network connectivity to the AWS Region, you should plan for a public internet connection. Customers must have Enterprise Support, which provides 24x7 remote support within 15 mins.

Security & compliance

Q: Do the same compliance certifications for AWS Services today apply for services on Outposts?

A: AWS Outposts is HIPAA eligible, PCI, SOC, and ISO compliant, and we expect to add more compliance certifications in coming months. You can see the latest certification status for AWS Services on Outposts on our Services in Scope page. As AWS Outposts runs at the customer’s data center, under the AWS Shared Responsibility model customers own the responsibility for physical security and access controls around the Outpost for compliance certification.

Q: Is AWS Outposts GxP Compatible?

A: Yes, AWS Outposts is GxP compatible. AWS Outposts extend AWS services to AWS-managed infrastructure that is physically located at a customer site. Outposts capacity can be accessed locally over a local gateway that is mapped to the customer’s local network, in addition to having a connection path back to the AWS Region. You can learn more about using the AWS Cloud, including Outposts, for GxP systems here. GxP-regulated life sciences organizations using AWS services are responsible for designing and verifying their GxP compliance.

Q: Who is responsible for the physical security of the Outposts at my datacenter?

A: AWS provides services that allow data to be encrypted at rest and in-transit and other granular security controls and auditing mechanisms. In addition, customer data is wrapped to a physical Nitro Security Key. Destroying the device is equivalent to destroying the data.  As part of the shared responsibility model, customers are responsible for attesting to physical security and access controls around the Outpost, as well as environmental requirements for facility, networking, and power as published here. Prior to returning the Outpost hardware, the Nitro Security Key will be removed to ensure customer content is crypto shredded.

Support & maintenance

Q: How does AWS maintain AWS Outposts infrastructure?

A: When your Outpost is installed and is visible in the AWS Management Console, AWS will monitor it as part of the public Region and will automatically execute software upgrades and patches.

If there is a need to perform physical maintenance, AWS will reach out to schedule a time to visit your site. AWS may replace a given module as appropriate but will not perform any host or network switch servicing on customer premises.

Q: What happens when my facility's network connection goes down?

A: EC2 instances and EBS volumes on the Outpost will continue to operate normally and can be accessed locally via the local gateway. Similarly, AWS service resources such as ECS worker nodes continue to run locally. However, API availability will be degraded, for instance run/start/stop/terminate APIs may not work. Instance metrics and logs will continue to be cached locally for a few hours, and will be pushed to the AWS Region when connectivity returns. Disconnection beyond a few hours however may result in loss of metrics and logs. At this time, DNS queries on the Outpost to the Route 53 Resolver (aka AmazonProvidedDNS) also rely on the network link to the AWS Region, so default DNS resolution will stop working. If you expect to lose network connectivity, we strongly recommend regularly testing your workload to ensure it behaves properly in this state when an Outpost is disconnected.For S3 on Outposts, if the network connection to your Outpost is lost, you will not be able to access your objects. Requests to store and retrieve objects are authenticated using the regional AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) service, and if the Outpost has no connectivity to the home AWS Region, you are not able to access your data. Your data remains safely stored on your Outpost during periods of disconnect, and once connectivity is restored authentication and requests can resume.

Q: What type of control plane information flows back to the parent Region?

A: As an example, information about instance health, instance activity (launched, stopped), and the underlying hypervisor system may be sent back to the parent AWS Region. This information enables AWS to provide alerting on instance health and capacity, and apply patches and updates to the Outpost. Your team does not need to implement your own tooling to manage these elements, or to actively push security updates and patches for your Outpost. For S3 on Outposts, certain data management and telemetry data, such as bucket names and metrics, may be stored in the AWS Region for reporting and management. When disconnected, this information cannot be sent back to the parent Region.

Read the AWS Outposts FAQs
Contact us

Learn more about AWS Outposts by contacting us directly

Contact us 
Sign up for a free AWS account
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Start building with AWS Outposts
Start building in the console

Get started with AWS Outposts in the AWS Management Console.

Sign in