Autodesk 基于 AWS 构建统一的日志分析解决方案,力图获得新的见解

autodesk

Autodesk 是领先的 3D 设计和工程软件提供商,除了软件开发和软件交付,公司希望能为客户创造更多的价值。该公司还希望确保其全球数百万用户在运行该软件时,获得最佳体验。为此,Autodesk 需要尽快开始监测并修复软件问题。但是,执行起来并不容易,因为需要分析和存储的数据量不断增长,该公司以前的应用程序数据日志解决方案,现已很难满足需要。

该解决方案每天提取 2TB 数据,预计在未来几年内,这个数字将增长到 10TB。Autodesk 高级软件架构师 Tommy Li 说:“这样的解决方案存在一些性能问题,导致我们难以快速发现问题 。我们需要能够实时监测日志记录事件数据,这样才能够更快地回答客户的问题。”

Autodesk 的财务部门也积极支持寻找一个更具成本效益的日志记录解决方案。“我们有一个小型团队,我们想找到一个既可以简化日志数据管理,又可以降低成本的解决方案。”Li 说。

“最终,由于我们可以实时查看日志数据,因此我们正逐步改进我们的软件产品,并为客户提供更好的服务。”

Autodesk 高级软件架构师 Tommy Li

  • 关于 Autodesk
  • 优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 Autodesk
  • Autodesk 软件公司的总部位于美国加利福尼亚州圣拉斐尔,公司所开发的产品广泛应用于建筑、工程、施工、媒体和娱乐行业。该公司的软件包括 AutoCAD 和 3D 解决方案。

  • 优势
    • 通过实时数据分析更快地发现并修复应用程序问题
    • 缩短检测和恢复的平均时间
    • 小型 IT 团队,构建企业级数据记录分析解决方案
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

基于 AWS 创建完全托管的统一日志数据解决方案

为了完善其用于根本原因分析的日志分析功能,Autodesk 就如何利用 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 构建基于云的统一日志数据解决方案进行了研究。“我们已将 AWS 服务用于 Autodesk 的各种内部功能,并且希望通过开发统一的日志记录系统来扩展其用途。”Li 说。

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose 作为数据传输层,用于记录数据,而 Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics 用于发现实时监测指标,例如响应时间和错误率峰值。记录数据通过此管道后,将被发送到 Amazon CloudWatch,以获取显示在整个企业的标准化控制面板中的其它指标。这些指标包括总体流量摘要,其中有响应时间、错误和总请求数;API 指标,例如响应时间百分比、成功请求数和错误请求数;CPU、网络和每个 CPU 对应的磁盘数;以及 AWS 服务的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标。

同时,Amazon Kinesis Firehose 将日志数据传送至 Amazon OpenSearch Service(Amazon Elasticsearch Service 的后继者),这是一项托管服务,可让您轻松执行交互式日志分析、实时应用程序监控、网站搜索等工作。“[Amazon OpenSearch Service] 使数据取证活动得以进行,并帮助更快地发现并修复应用程序问题。”Li 说。Amazon Athena 提供了更深入的交互式分析查询,AWS X-Ray 提供了用于分析跟踪数据的工具。此外,Kibana 开源数据可视化工具与 Amazon OpenSearch Service 集成,驱动控制面板实时监测数据。

比以前更快地发现并修复问题

基于 Amazon OpenSearch Service 构建的统一日志记录解决方案,让您可以更快、更好地查看数据日志。Li 说:“[Amazon OpenSearch Service] 提供了一种更一致的方式,来实时收集和衡量记录数据。 这项服务提供深度数据分析,可以更好地关联记录事件,从而更快地解决应用程序问题。” 例如,Autodesk 团队创建的控制面板可识别异常的趋势和模式,从而有助于快速与详细的日志记录相关联,进行详细的取证。

具体来说,Autodesk 使用仪器数据检测和处理错误的方式,来缩短总体平均恢复时间,从而实现更好的取证分析。该公司可以检测 API 使用异常,例如错误率和响应时间峰值。Amazon CloudWatch 告警事件缩短了平均检测时间和呼叫应急处理团队的时间。

该公司还希望从其分析数据中获得更深刻的见解,改善其软件和客户服务。“最终,由于我们可以实时查看日志数据,因此我们正逐步改进我们的软件产品,并为客户提供更好的服务,”Li 说。

Autodesk 正在与 AWS 合作构建可高度扩展的日志分析功能, 这将降低解决方案的总体成本。

打破数据孤岛

通过将其架构和 Elasticsearch 集群的管理工作转移到 AWS,Autodesk 能够轻松构建统一的日志记录解决方案。Li 说:“即使我们的 IT 团队人数不多,但通过让 AWS 负责这项技术,我们依然可以开发和维护强大的日志记录解决方案。因此,我们不再需要将资源投入到管理底层的基础设施中,并且可以按需扩展解决方案,支持不断增长的记录数据量。”

Autodesk 新推出的解决方案,通过单一管理平台视图呈现记录数据(例如应用程序性能和停机时间)。

Li 说:“由于不同的团队都在使用日志记录解决方案,我们不再有数据孤岛。每个人都可以使用 AWS 解决方案访问相同的视图,这意味着每个人都可以收到有关平台总体状态的更新见解。并且我们可以使用 Kibana 控制面板创建一个通用的词汇表,这样大家就可以用它来诊断问题。总之,作为一家公司,我们可以采用更统一的方法来发现并解决问题。”


了解更多

Autodesk Builds Unified Log Analytics Solution on AWS to Gain New Insights

autodesk

Autodesk, a leading provider of 3D design and engineering software, wants to do more than create and deliver software. It also wants to ensure its millions of global users have the best experience running that software. To make that happen, Autodesk needs to monitor and fix software problems as quickly as possible. Doing this was challenging, however, because the company’s previous application-data log solution struggled to keep up with the growing volume of data needing to be analyzed and stored.

The solution ingests 2 TB of data every day, a number expected to grow to 10 TB within the next few years. “We had some performance issues with the solution, which made it difficult for us to detect problems quickly,” says Tommy Li, senior software architect at Autodesk. “We needed the ability to monitor logging-incident data in real time, so we could answer customer questions faster.”

Autodesk was also encouraged by its finance department to find a more cost-effective logging solution. “We have a small team, and we wanted to find a solution that would ease log data management while lowering costs,” says Li.

“Ultimately, we are improving our software products and offering better service to our customers because of the real-time visibility we’re getting into log data.”

Tommy Li, Senior Software Architect, Autodesk

  • About Autodesk
  • Benefits
  • AWS Services Used
  • About Autodesk
  • Based in San Rafael, California, Autodesk is a software company that creates products for the architecture, engineering, construction, manufacturing, media, and entertainment industries. The company’s software includes AutoCAD and 3D solutions.

  • Benefits
    • Finds and fixes application problems faster through real-time data analysis
    • Improves mean time to detect and recover
    • Builds enterprise data logging analysis solution using small IT team
  • AWS Services Used

Creating a Fully Managed Unified Log Data Solution on AWS

To improve its log analysis capabilities for root-cause analysis, Autodesk researched building a cloud-based unified log data solution leveraging Amazon Web Services (AWS). “We had already been using AWS services for various internal functions at Autodesk, and we wanted to expand on that usage by developing a unified logging system,” says Li.

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose acts as the data transport layer for logging data, and Amazon Kinesis Data Analytics is used to uncover real-time monitoring metrics such as response time and error-rate spikes. Once logging data goes through this pipeline, it is sent to Amazon CloudWatch for additional metrics that are displayed in standardized dashboards across the business. These metrics include overall traffic summary, including response time, errors, and total requests; API metrics, such as response time percentiles, number of success requests, and number of error requests; CPU, network, and disks for each CPU; and Amazon CloudWatch metrics for AWS services.

At the same time, Amazon Kinesis Firehose delivers the log data to Amazon Elasticsearch Service, a managed service for deploying, operating, and scaling the Elasticsearch open-source search engine for search, log analytics, and application monitoring. “Amazon Elasticsearch Service enables data forensic activities to take place and help find and fix application problems faster,” Li says. Amazon Athena provides more in-depth interactive analytical querying and AWS X-Ray delivers tools for analyzing trace data. Additionally, the Kibana open-source data visualization tool – integrated with Amazon Elasticsearch Service – drives dashboards to monitor data in real time.

Architecture-Diagram_Amazon-Elasticsearch@2x

Finding and Fixing Problems Faster Than Before

The unified logging solution built on Amazon Elasticsearch Service provides better visibility into data logs more quickly. “Amazon Elasticsearch Service enables a more consistent way to collect and measure logging data in real time,” says Li. “This service gives in-depth data analysis that enables better correlations between logging events, providing answers to application problems faster.” For example, Autodesk teams created dashboards that identify trends and patterns for anomalies that can help quickly correlate to detailed log records for detailed forensics.

Specifically, Autodesk is enabling better forensic analysis, using instrumentation data to detect and resolve errors to improve overall mean time to recover. The company can detect API usage anomalies like error rate and response time spikes. Amazon CloudWatch alert events shorten the mean time to detect and the time to call incident response teams.

The company is also looking to derive deeper insights from its analytical data to improve its software and customer service. “Ultimately, we are improving our software products and offering better service to our customers because of the real-time visibility we’re getting with log data,” says Li.

Working with AWS, Autodesk is building highly scalable log analytics capabilities that reduce the overall cost of the solution.

Breaking Down Data Silos

By offloading the management of its architecture and Elasticsearch clusters to AWS, Autodesk was able to easily build its unified logging solution. “Even though our IT team has only a few people, we can develop and maintain a powerful logging solution by letting AWS take care of the technology,” Li says. “As a result, we no longer need to put our resources into managing the underlying infrastructure, and we can scale the solution on demand to support the growing volume of logging data.”

Autodesk now has a solution that provides a single-pane-of-glass view of logging data such as application performance and downtime.

“We no longer have data silos because of different teams using logging solutions,” Li says. “Everyone can access the same view with the AWS solution, which means everyone receives updated insights into the overall status of the platform. And using Kibana dashboards, we can create a common vocabulary we can all use to diagnose problems. Overall, as a company we can take a more unified approach to finding and fixing problems.”


Learn More

Learn more about big data on AWS.