在决定使用 AWS 作为我们的主要云供应商以实现云优先时,我们同时还决定支持所有员工获取他们想要的任何数量的 AWS 认证。鉴于对这一点的重视,现在,我们员工所持有的 AWS 认证在全球企业中排前三名,这让我们非常自豪。
George Brady Capital One 执行副总裁兼首席技术官

为了在全公司范围内获得对云计算政策(所有新应用程序都是在云中构建和部署的)的支持,Capital One 实施了一项强大的云计算培训计划。该计划取得了成功,部分原因在于它全面撒网,面向直接在 AWS 工作的工程师,以及需要理解云计算转型潜力并予以支持的业务主管和其他非技术利益相关者提供了精心设计和量身定制的培训。

但是,Capital One 员工乐于接受这项培训计划还有另一个原因。“随着我们以科技公司的身份发展,我们开始注重打造持续学习和发展的文化。”Capital One 的执行副总裁兼首席技术官 George Brad表示,“这对我们的员工很有好处,它让我们更好地成为了一家公司。”

Brady 补充说道,强调培训和教育使 Capital One 在两个关键方面更好地成为了一家公司。“培训非常重要,不仅是因为技术在不断变化,公司需要跟上这些变化,而且还因为支持和鼓励员工追求终身学习和专业发展是帮助我们吸引有才之士的重要因素。”

Capital One 致力于终身学习的最重要的例子之一是 Capital One Tech College,Brady 将其描述为“由工程师为工程师构建的学习开发系统”。 Capital One Tech College 成立于 2017 年,针对领导阶层、技术从业者、非技术人员和新员工等受众群体提供在线课程和现场研讨会,其范围已涵盖十几个学科领域,并且仍在不断扩大。

Brady 说:“Tech College 的每个学科领域都以公司长期战略中的技术目标为基础。”并列出了云计算(包括支持获得 AWS 认证)、软件工程、机器学习和网络安全等示例。“每个学科领域都由院长组织和监督,他们中的大多数都是工程师,可以确保任何想要快速掌握具有战略重要性的新兴技术的人都能获得所需的适当数量和类型的培训。”

除了为现有员工提供培训外,Capital One Tech College 还为 Capital One 技术开发计划 (TDP) 的参与者提供培训。该计划是公司为入门级软件、数据和网络安全工程师提供的为期两年的入门培训。“TDP 会在各个团队之间轮换新员工,这样他们就可以尝试不同的角色,全面了解 Capital One 使用的技术。”Brady 说,“其中的某一次轮换会让他们获得 AWS 认证。”

Capital One 并非只鼓励 TDP 参与者寻求 AWS 认证。“在决定使用 AWS 作为我们的主要云供应商以实现云优先时,我们同时还决定支持所有员工获取他们想要的任何数量的 AWS 认证。”Brady 说,“鉴于对这一点的重视,现在,我们员工所持有的 AWS 认证在全球企业中排前三名,这让我们非常自豪。”

Brady 强调了公司整体战略中教育和职业发展的重要性。“为实现将简单性和人性化带入银行业的核心承诺,我们需要顶尖人才。”Brady 说,“当那些顶尖人才申请职位时,如果他们知道在此工作期间无论需要什么新技术,或者无论想得到哪个方向的技能,他们都可以获得所需的培训和教育,那么这一点对他们的吸引力无疑是巨大的。”

When we made the decision to go cloud-first with AWS as our predominant cloud supplier, we also decided we would support all our associates in achieving any number of AWS certifications they want. As a result of that emphasis, we're now in the top three of all enterprises globally for AWS certifications held by employees, and that's something we're really proud of.
George Brady Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Capital One

One of the ways Capital One achieved companywide buy-in for its cloud-first policy—under which all new applications are architected for and deployed in the cloud—was by implementing a robust cloud-computing training program. That program was successful partly because of the wide net that it cast, offering carefully designed and tailored training not only to the engineers who would work directly on AWS but also to the business executives and other non-technical stakeholders who needed to be able to understand and advocate for cloud computing's transformational potential.

But there was another reason Capital One employees were receptive to this training initiative. “As we evolve as a technology company, we are focused on building a culture of continuous learning and development, says George Brady, executive vice president and chief technology officer at Capital One. "It's good for our associates, and it makes us better as a company."

An emphasis on training and education makes Capital One better as a company in two critical ways, Brady continues. "Training is important not only because technology is constantly changing, and the company needs to keep up with those changes, but also because being known as a company that supports and encourages employees in pursuing lifelong learning and professional development is a big part of what helps us attract such talented people to work for us."

One of the foremost examples of Capital One's commitment to lifelong learning by its associates is the Capital One Tech College, which Brady describes as "a learning development system built by engineers, for engineers." Launched in 2017 and offering a combination of online courses and in-person workshops to audiences divided into Leadership, Tech Practitioners, Non-Tech Associates, and New Hires, the Capital One Tech College already has more than a dozen discipline areas and is still growing.

"Each of the Tech College discipline areas is anchored to the technology goals in the company's long-term strategy," says Brady, listing examples like cloud computing (including supporting obtaining AWS certifications), software engineering, machine learning, and cybersecurity. "Each discipline area is curated and supervised by a dean, most of whom are engineers, who ensure that anyone who wants to come up to speed on an emerging, strategically important technology can get just the right amount and kind of training they need."

In addition to providing training for current employees, the Capital One Tech College also provides training to participants in the Capital One Technology Development Program (TDP), the company's two-year on-ramp for entry-level software, data, and cybersecurity engineers. "The TDP rotates new hires among various teams so they can try different roles and gain a comprehensive understanding of the technology in use at Capital One," says Brady. "One of the rotations they go through gets them AWS certified."

TDP participants aren't the only employees Capital One encourages to pursue AWS certifications. "When we made the decision to go cloud-first, with AWS as our predominant cloud supplier, we also decided we would support all our associates in achieving any number of AWS certifications they want," Brady says. "As a result of that emphasis, we're now in the top three of all enterprises globally for AWS certifications held by employees, and that's something we're really proud of."

Brady underlines the importance of education and professional development in the company’s overall strategy. "To deliver on our central promise of bringing simplicity and humanity to banking, we need top talent working for us,” says Brady. "I can't overstate how much easier it gets to attract top applicants when they know that, whatever new technologies come along while they're working here, or whatever new directions they want to take their skills in, they're going to be supported in getting as much training and education as they need."