客户案例/能源

2021 年
ENGIE 徽标

ENGIE 利用 AWS WAF 和 AWS Firewall Manager 保护 51 个业务实体的安全

全球能源解决方案集团 ENGIE 使用 AWS WAF 实施安全规则,然后使用 AWS Firewall Manager 将这些规则扩展应用到其 51 个业务实体。

减少时间

减少了安全维护所需的时间

扩展安全性

保障了 51 个业务实体的安全

促进安全规则

促进了安全规则的快速、简单共享

帮助实体

建立适合自身的安全规则

概述

由于能源集团 ENGIE 将资产迁移到云,因此它需要一个可扩展的安全解决方案。作为一个拥有数百个业务实体的分散式企业,ENGIE 很难对其 Web 安全进行标准化。ENGIE 向 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 寻求解决方案,选择使用 AWS Web Application Firewall (AWS WAF)。该解决方案可以保护 Web 应用程序和 API 免受常见 Web 漏洞和机器人的攻击,因为它能够设置自定义的托管式安全规则并在多个账户中实施。

Aerial view of windmills station with rotating propellers generating alternative clean green power from eco resources in rural agri environment.Birds eye view of line of turbines producing electricity

机会 | 确保整个全球性企业的资产安全

ENGIE 是一家能源集团,致力于提供低碳能源和服务,帮助世界加速向碳中和过渡。集团的 450 个业务实体分布在 70 个国家/地区,每个实体独立管理自己的项目和信息技术 (IT) 资产。2016 年 ENGIE 开始迁移到 AWS,集团虽然为这次迁移提供了整体的指导方针,但每个实体却最终制定了各自的云策略。 

迁移到 AWS 后,负责该项目的 ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security 团队就希望有一个直接的解决方案在全公司上下执行安全策略,同时让各个团队能够灵活地根据需要增加安全规则。这一解决方案需要能在 51 个 ENGIE 实体的 2200 个工作负载中推行。“我们在集团层面最大的挑战是要寻找到正确的工具来管理好资产。”ENGIE 网络安全工程师 Samy Khomsi 说。 

ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security 已经在 AWS 上,所以他们可以轻松地实施 AWS WAF。“使用 AWS WAF 可以帮助我们快速制定出一套规则,并与企业中的不同实体共享这些规则,”Khomsi 说,“AWS WAF 使用方法很简单,所以不需要很长时间就可以开始实施有效措施。”

kr_quotemark

这种灵活性太棒了。对于分散式的大型企业,AWS WAF 和 AWS Firewall Manager 起到了很大的作用。”

Samy Khomsi
ENGIE 网络安全工程师

解决方案 | 在 AWS 上测试和实施安全规则

2020 年,ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security 设立了一套初始的 AWS WAF 安全规则。由来自不同实体的开发人员组成的小组测试并完善了这些规则,他们在整个规则实施过程中采用了 AWS Support 的建议。其目标是找到一组规则,以最少的误报数量覆盖最多的用例。 

当 ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security 实现了目标并最终确定了规则,就将使用 AWS Firewall Manager 将这些规则部署到其他实体。通过 AWS Firewall Manager 这一安全管理服务,安全管理员可以集中配置和管理多个账户的防火墙规则和安全策略。然后,每个 ENGIE 实体可根据其应用程序的具体使用情况和任何具体的区域安全要求来定制适用的安全规则。 

ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security 使用 AWS WAF 和 AWS Firewall Manager 后,在维护其他实体安全上投入的时间减少了,开发人员可以安心专注于其主要工作。“该解决方案让集团的每名员工都能专心投入工作,做出更多成果,同时仍然保持安全,”ENGIE 网络安全工程师 Joël Kisala Kinavuidi 说。

结果 | 密切关注安全

2021 年,ENGIE 将努力确保其网络安全,跻身十大开放式 Web 应用程序安全项目。ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security 使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose 从 AWS WAF 收集近乎实时的日志流,密切关注网络安全。Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose 可靠地将流数据加载到数据湖、数据存储和分析服务中。“现在我们有一个由 AWS WAF 覆盖的基础安全保障了,下一步就是寻求可视性,”Khomsi 说,“这种灵活性太棒了。对于分散式的大型企业,AWS WAF 和 AWS Firewall Manager 起到了很大的作用。”

关于 ENGIE

全球能源解决方案集团 ENGIE 作为低碳能源的标杆企业,致力于世界加速向碳中和过渡,从而创造更加可持续的未来。

使用的 AWS 服务

AWS Web 应用程序防火墙 (AWS WAF)

AWS WAF 是一种 Web 应用程序防火墙,可帮助保护您的 Web 应用程序或 API 免遭常见 Web 漏洞和机器人程序的攻击,这些漏洞可能会影响可用性、损害安全性或消耗过多的资源。 

了解更多 »

AWS Firewall Manager

AWS Firewall Manager 是一项安全管理服务,可让您在 AWS Organizations 中跨账户和应用程序集中配置和管理防火墙规则。 

了解更多 »

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose 是将流数据可靠地加载到数据湖、数据存储和分析服务中的最简单方式。 

了解更多 »

探索 ENGIE 利用 AWS 开启的创新之旅

更多 ENGIE 案例

未找到任何项目 

1

行动起来

无论行业无论规模,每天都有各种机构在使用 AWS 实现自身业务转型、实现企业愿景。欢迎您联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 之旅。

Engie_logo@1x

ENGIE Helps Secure 51 Business Entities Using AWS WAF and AWS Firewall Manager

2021

As energy group ENGIE migrated assets to the cloud, it needed a scalable security solution. A decentralized organization with hundreds of business entities, ENGIE was hard pressed to standardize its web security. ENGIE turned to Amazon Web Services (AWS) and chose AWS Web Application Firewall (AWS WAF)—which protects web applications and APIs against common web exploits and bots—because it offered a simple solution to set custom, managed security rules and implement them across multiple accounts.

Aerial view of windmills station with rotating propellers generating alternative clean green power from eco resources in rural agri environment.Birds eye view of line of turbines producing electricity
kr_quotemark

“It’s great to have this kind of flexibility. In a big, decentralized organization, our use of AWS WAF and AWS Firewall Manager helps greatly.” 

Samy Khomsi
Network Security Engineer, ENGIE

Securing Assets across a Global Organization

ENGIE is an energy group working to accelerate the transition toward a carbon-neutral world by offering low-carbon energy and services. The group has 450 business entities across 70 countries, each managing its own projects and information technology (IT) assets. When ENGIE began migrating to AWS in 2016, the group provided guidelines for the migration, but each entity ultimately developed its own cloud strategy. 

Once on AWS, the team in charge of the project, ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security, wanted an intuitive solution to enforce a company-wide security policy while giving individual teams the flexibility to add security rules as required. The solution would need to cover 2,200 workloads across 51 ENGIE entities. “Our greatest challenge at the group level is to find the correct tool to cover the most assets,” says Samy Khomsi, network security engineer at ENGIE. 

ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security was already on AWS, so it could implement AWS WAF without difficulty. “Using AWS WAF helps us quickly propose a set of rules and share them with different entities in our organization,” says Khomsi. “AWS WAF is really simple to use, so it doesn’t take long to start implementing helpful measures.”

Testing and Implementing Security Rules on AWS

In 2020, ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security set up an initial set of AWS WAF security rules. With a panel of developers from various entities, it tested and refined the rules, using advice from AWS Support throughout the implementation. The goal was to find a set of rules covering the most use cases with the least number of false positives. 

Once ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security met its goal and finalized its set of rules, it deployed those rules to other entities using AWS Firewall Manager, a security management service that lets security administrators centrally configure and manage firewall rules and security policies across multiple accounts. Each ENGIE entity could then customize its security rules based on the specific use cases of its applications and any specific regional security requirements. 

Now using AWS WAF and AWS Firewall Manager, ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security spends less time maintaining security for other entities, and its developers can focus on their main activities. “It helps everyone contribute to the group and publish more services while still staying secure,” says Joël Kisala Kinavuidi, network security engineer at ENGIE.

Keeping an Eye on Security

Through 2021, ENGIE will work to make sure that its web security covers the Open Web Application Security Project Top 10. ENGIE IT by Engie Group Security also keeps an eye on web security by collecting near-real-time log streams from AWS WAF using Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose, which reliably loads streaming data into data lakes, data stores, and analytics services. “Now that we have a base security covered by AWS WAF, the next step is to have visibility,” says Khomsi. “It’s great to have this kind of flexibility. In a big, decentralized organization, our use of AWS WAF and AWS Firewall Manager helps greatly.”


About ENGIE

Global energy solutions group ENGIE acts as a reference in low-carbon energy and works to accelerate the transition toward a carbon-neutral world to create a more sustainable future.

Benefits of AWS

  • Reduced the time needed for security maintenance
  • Scaled security across 51 entities
  • Facilitated quick, simple sharing of security rules
  • Helped entities establish custom security rules

AWS Services Used

AWS Web Application Firewall (AWS WAF)

AWS WAF is a web application firewall that helps protect your web applications or APIs against common web exploits and bots that may affect availability, compromise security, or consume excessive resources. 

Learn more »

AWS Firewall Manager

AWS Firewall Manager is a security management service which allows you to centrally configure and manage firewall rules across your accounts and applications in AWS Organizations. 

Learn more »

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose

Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose is the easiest way to reliably load streaming data into data lakes, data stores, and analytics services. 

Learn more »


Get Started

Organizations of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses and delivering on their missions every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS journey today.