Slack_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

Slack 案例研究

2015 年

Slack 提供了一个与各种通信服务(如 Twitter、Dropbox、Google Docs、Jira、GitHub、MailChimp、Trello 和 Stripe)实现集成和统一的消息收发平台。这家总部设在旧金山的公司由一小群硅谷企业家(其中包括 Flickr 的创始人 Stewart Butterfield)组建,于 2014 年 2 月推出了与公司同名的应用。在《财富》杂志发布的关于市值达 10 亿 USD 或以上的创业公司的“独角兽名单”上,私人持有的 Slack 已上榜,其估值为 28 亿 USD,每周的用户增长率为 5%,主要的品牌客户包括 Adobe、Samsung、Intuit、NASA、Dow Jones、eBay 和 Expedia。

开始 python 教程
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

如果使用传统的 IT,那么在增加容量时,硬件则需要花费数周或数月的时间才能完成交付。如果使用 AWS,我们则可以每周或每天查看用户指标,并在 30 秒内对新容量作出响应。”

Richard Crowley
Slack 运营总监

挑战

在独角兽创业公司时代,Slack 迅速崛起,在颠覆传统商业通信工具特别是电子邮件方面表现出很大的潜力,并受人关注。截止 2015 年 6 月,该公司在成立不到 18 个月内,通过与其他服务集成,每周日常用户数超过 110 万、付费座位达 300000 个,流经 Slack 的消息数达 3000 多万条。

Slack 的创始人已从以前失败的企业中吸取了很多教训。其中一条是选取正确的 IT 基础设施来经营业务的重要性。如果 Slack 要在竞争激烈的商业软件市场中取得成功,其创始人要了解他们需要精简员工、降低成本,最重要的是具备速度、灵活性和创新性的 IT 环境。使用云计算是合理的选择。

“物理空间、硬件购买、更换零件、使用所有成本运行服务器设备 (所有可能导致破损的物理表现) 这一现实使传统的 IT 环境对 Internet 创业公司来说不切实际,”Slack 的运营总监 Richard Crowley 说,“加上我们还需要额外的专业人员来专门负责运行该基础设施。我们可以通过这种 IT 基础设施来操作,但成本和复杂性将使开展业务变得更加困难。”

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

Crowley 表示,Slack 出于经验而转向Amazon Web Services,因为这是该公司向前发展的最佳选择。Tiny Speck 是 Slack Technologies 的原公司名称,在 2009 年使用了 AWS,当时它是唯一一家可以提供公共云服务的公司。

“当 Flickr 开发出来时,他们要用其专业知识并费心运行一个更传统的环境,Slack 的创始人意识到使用 AWS 不用费什么脑子,”Crowley 说,“在 Slack 的发展过程中,我们感觉到 AWS 对公司发展有利,并且会通过更多更好的功能不断提升发展空间。没有必要弃之不用。”

Slack 具有相对简单的 IT 架构,该架构基于广泛的 AWS 服务,包括用于基本计算任务的 i2.xlarge Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例;用于用户文件上传和静态资产的 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3);以及 Elastic Load Balancing 来平衡Amazon EC2 实例之间的工作负载。Slack 使用 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 对 Amazon EC2 i2s 实例上运行的 MySQL 实例进行夜间备份;Amazon EBS 卷会连接到这些实例,并在发送到 Amazon S3 之前用作临时存储。Slack 将数百 TB 的 Amazon EBS gp2 卷替换为成本更低的 Amazon EBS sc1 卷,进行数据库备份。自从转换以来,公司用户群的数据不断增加。

为安全起见,Slack 使用 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 控制安全组和防火墙规则,并使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 控制用户凭证和角色。该公司使用 Amazon CloudTrail 监控与 Amazon EC2 实例相关的日志,并使用 Amazon Route 53 进行 DNS 管理。

除了 AWS 服务,Slack 还使用 Redis 数据结构服务器、Apache Solr 搜索工具、Squid 缓存代理和 MySQL 数据库。

效益

使用 AWS 作为其 IT 基础设施,已帮助 Slack 通过一个平台实现惊人的增长速度和数十亿美元的估值,该平台支持快速的创新和响应、可靠性和安全功能,从而确保客户信息的机密性。

Crowley 说 AWS 让像 Slack 一样快速发展的公司能够尽量减少日常 IT 管理的参与度,从而他们能够专注于将创新产品和服务快速推向市场。“我们提供了很多指标和程序,借助它们,我们可以了解可用于新加入客户团队和现有客户的容量,以提高其 Slack 使用率,”他说,“如果使用传统的 IT,那么在增加容量时,硬件则需要花费数周或数月的时间才能完成交付。如果使用 AWS,我们则可以每周或每天查看用户指标,并在 30 秒内对新容量作出响应。”

在 AWS 云中可轻松配置资源,这使得 Slack 能够模拟灾难恢复情景,对于确保现有和潜在客户随时随地都可以使用其信息,这一点至关重要。“AWS 的真正优势之一是,我们可以对基础设施进行大量的重新配置,确保我们可以快速高效地从出现故障的事件中恢复过来,”Crowley 说,“能够快速捕获两倍于许多的某类实例是非常好的。它使我们能够定期模拟我们的灾难恢复场景。” Slack 还使用成本较低的 Amazon EBS sc1 卷来节省开支,以大约四分之一的成本实现必备的速度。Amazon EBS sc1 卷的价格非常低,因此 Slack 可以让使其持续运行,不必构建和操作特殊的卷管理工具。

Slack 的很大一部分吸引力是它用一个单一的、统一的平台来代替不同的通信工具。但是,这在确保客户信息安全方面加重了 Slack 的负担,并且 Slack 能够提供企业可靠性和高可用性,以支持强大的企业应用程序所期望的服务级别协议。

“作为一家公司,我们的业务对客户的日常生活不可或缺,”Crowley 说,“所以在客户的眼中,我们的安全控制和提供可靠服务的能力变得尤为重要,而且这是我们非常重视的责任。”

他说 AWS 可以立即解决客户的安全问题,因为 AWS 发布了服务组织控制 (SOC) 报告,这些报告基于的是评估 AWS 如何实现合规性控制和目标的第三方检查。“事实上,我们能够依赖的 AWS 安全水平可以提高我们自身的安全性,这对我们的业务来讲极为重要。AWS 在安全性方面做得比我们在数据中心 框架要好得多,”Crowley 说,“在 AWS 中托管 Slack 使我们的客户更加相信 Slack 是安全,可靠和永远运行的。”

slack-arch-diagram

关于 Slack

Slack 提供了一个与各种通信服务(如 Twitter、Dropbox、Google Docs、Jira、GitHub、MailChimp、Trello 和 Stripe)实现集成和统一的消息收发平台。

AWS 的优势

  • 每天审核用户指标
  • 通过配置额外的容量,在几秒钟内对使用率做出反应
  • 轻松实践灾难恢复方案

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。 

了解更多 »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。

了解更多 >>

Elastic Load Balancing

Elastic Load Balancing 在多个目标(如 Amazon EC2 实例、容器、IP 地址和 Lambda 函数)之间自动分配传入的应用程序流量。

了解更多 >>

Amazon EBS

Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 是一种易于使用的高性能数据块存储服务,旨在与 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 一起使用。

了解更多 >>


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Facebook-Social-Sharing-Button_Top
Twitter-Social-Sharing-Button_top
GooglePlus-Social-Sharing-Button_top
LinkedIn-Social-Sharing-Button_Top
With traditional IT, it would take weeks or months to contend with hardware lead times to add more capacity. Using AWS, we can look at user metrics weekly or daily and react with new capacity in 30 seconds.
Richard Crowley Director of Operations

Slack provides a messaging platform that integrates with and unifies a wide range of communications services such as Twitter, Dropbox, Google Docs, Jira, GitHub, MailChimp, Trello, and Stripe. The San Francisco–based company, which launched its eponymous app in February 2014, was started by a small group of Silicon Valley entrepreneurs that include Flickr founder Stewart Butterfield. Privately-held Slack is on Fortune Magazine’s “Unicorn List” of startup firms worth $1 billion or more, with a $2.8 billion valuation supported by a five percent weekly user growth rate and major brand-name customers including Adobe, Samsung, Intuit, NASA, Dow Jones, eBay, and Expedia.

In the age of the unicorn startups, Slack has drawn attention for its meteoric rise and potential for disrupting traditional business communications tools, particularly email. By June 2015—less than 18 months after its launch—the company already had more than 1.1 million daily users, 300,000 paid seats, and more than 30 million messages flowing through Slack each week via integrations with other services.

Slack’s founders had already learned hard lessons from previous failed ventures. One of those was the importance of picking the right IT infrastructure to run the business. If Slack was to succeed in a fiercely competitive business-software marketplace, its founders knew they would need a lean staff, low costs, and above all an IT environment capable of supporting speed, agility, and innovation. Going to the cloud was the logical choice.

“The realities of physical space, hardware acquisition, replacement parts, running a server facility with all its costs—all the physical manifestations that can lead to breakages—made a traditional IT environment impractical for an Internet startup,” says Richard Crowley, Slack’s director of operations. “Plus we would have needed an extra layer of expertise just to run the infrastructure. We could have operated with that kind of IT infrastructure, but the cost and complexity would have made it much harder to launch the business.”

Crowley says Slack turned to Amazon Web Services out of experience and because it was the best choice for the company going forward. Tiny Speck—the original company name for what became Slack Technologies—used AWS in 2009 when it was the only viable offering for public cloud services.

“Given their expertise and pains running a more traditional environment when Flickr was developed, Slack’s founders realized it was a no brainer to use AWS,” says Crowley. “During the development of Slack, the feeling was that AWS was good to us and would continually improve with more and better features. There was no need to leave.”

Slack has a relatively simple IT architecture that is based on a broad range of AWS services, including i2.xlarge Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances for basic compute tasks; Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for users’ file uploads and static assets; and Elastic Load Balancing to balance workloads across Amazon EC2 instances. Slack uses Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) for nightly backups of MySQL instances running on Amazon EC2 i2s instances; the Amazon EBS volumes are attached to the instances and used as temporary storage before being sent to Amazon S3. Slack replaced hundreds of terabytes of Amazon EBS gp2 volumes with lower-cost Amazon EBS sc1 volumes for database backups. Since the switch, the company continues to grow the data on its user base.

For security, Slack uses Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) to control security groups and firewall rules and AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) to control user credentials and roles. The company uses Amazon CloudTrail for monitoring logs related to Amazon EC2 instances, and Amazon Route 53 for DNS management.

Along with the AWS services, Slack is using the Redis data structure server, the Apache Solr search tool, the Squid caching proxy, and a MySQL database.

slack-arch-diagram

Using AWS as its IT infrastructure has helped Slack achieve an astonishing growth rate and a multibillion-dollar valuation with a platform that supports speed of innovation and responsiveness, reliability, and security features to ensure the confidentiality of customer information.

Crowley says AWS gives fast-growing companies like Slack the ability to minimize their involvement with daily IT management. That lets them focus on pushing innovative products and services to market quickly. “We have a lot of metrics and programs that tell us about available capacity for new customer teams to join and existing customers to grow their Slack usage,” he says. “With traditional IT, it would take weeks or months to contend with hardware lead times to add more capacity. Using AWS, we can look at user metrics weekly or daily and react with new capacity in 30 seconds.”

The ease of provisioning resources in the AWS cloud allows Slack to practice disaster recovery scenarios, which is essential for assuring existing and prospective customers that their information will always be there, when and where they need it. “One of the real strengths of AWS is that we can do a lot of re-provisioning of our infrastructure, making sure that we can recover quickly and competently in the event that something goes down,” Crowley says. “Having the ability to quickly grab twice as many of a certain class of instances is great. It gives us the ability to regularly practice our disaster-recovery scenarios.” Slack is also saving money with the lower-cost Amazon EBS sc1 volumes, providing the requisite speed at approximately one-fourth the cost. And, with the Amazon EBS sc1 volumes, the price is so low that Slack can leave them running continuously without having to build and operate special volume management tooling.

A large part of the appeal of Slack is that it replaces disparate communications tools with a single, unified platform. But that puts an increased burden on Slack to ensure that its customers' information is safe, and that Slack can deliver the kind of enterprise reliability and high availability to support the service-level agreements expected of robust enterprise applications.

“As a company, our business is integral to our customers’ daily lives,” Crowley says. “So in our customers’ eyes, our security controls and ability to deliver a reliable service become incredibly important, and it’s a responsibility we take incredibly seriously.”

He says AWS immediately addresses customers’ security concerns because AWS publishes service organization control (SOC) reports, which are based on third-party examinations evaluating how AWS achieves compliance controls and objectives. “The fact that we can rely on the AWS security posture to boost our own security is really important for our business. AWS does a much better job at security than we could ever do running a cage in a data center,” Crowley says. ”Hosting Slack in AWS makes our customers more confident that Slack is safe, secure, and always on.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you deploy and manage web apps, visit our Websites and Website hosting details page.


Facebook-Social-Sharing-Button_v5
Twitter-Social-Sharing-Button_v4
GooglePlus-Social-Sharing-Button_v4
LinkedIn-Social-Sharing-Button_v4