Die Igreja Universal do Reino de Deus (Universal Church bzw. UCKG) wurde 1977 in Brasilien gegründet. In den darauf folgenden Jahrzehnten wuchs diese Kirche der Pfingstbewegung sehr schnell und ist heute in mehr als 170 Ländern vertreten. Die Universal Church nutzt Fernsehen, Internet, Zeitungen, Radio und Blogs für ihre Missionsarbeit. Nach eigenen Angaben gehen auf ihrer Website, dem Portal Arca Universal ("Universelle Arche") und im Blog des Kirchengründers Bischof Macedo mehr als 30 Millionen Seitenaufrufe pro Monat ein.

Die Universal Church hatte ihr Rechenzentrum an einen brasilianischen Hosting-Anbieter ausgelagert. Besondere Fernseh- und Radiosendungen der Kirche waren jedoch so gefragt, dass die Ausstrahlungen die Serverkapazität überschritten, was zu einem Leistungsabfall und Ausfällen führte. "Wir hatten 20 Server und dennoch reichte die Kapazität nicht", meint Rodrigo Prota, Pastor und IT Director der Universal Church. "Die Situation konnte man schon als kritisch bezeichnen. Der Kauf zusätzlicher Server für Spitzenzugriffszeiten wäre jedoch eine kostspielige Investition gewesen." Ausfälle und Kapazitätsmangel veranlassten die Kirche schließlich, sich nach Alternativen umzusehen.

"Zur Debatte stand, unsere gehostete Lösung auf Colocation-Services zu migrieren oder in die Cloud zu verlagern", so Prota. "Dass wir uns schließlich für Amazon Web Services (AWS) entschieden, liegt daran, dass es die schnellste Lösung war und die Kosten reduzierte." Unterstützung erhielt die Universal Church von Dedalus, einem Mitglied und Beratungspartner des AWS-Partnernetzwerks (APN), mit dessen Hilfe die Migration in nur vier Tagen abgeschlossen werden konnte.

Die Cloud-Umgebung der Universal Church ist in der Region USA Ost (Nord-Virginia) wie folgt organisiert:

  • Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) stellt für die Website Portal Arca Universal eine sichere, private Umgebung bereit. Die Universal Church führt ihre Website unter Red Hat Linux mit MySQL-Datenbanken und mit Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Elastic Load Balancing und Auto Scaling aus.
  • Alle Blogs und Kampagnen nutzen WordPress unter Red Hat Linux mit MySQL-Datenbanken, Amazon S3 und Elastic Load Balancing.
  • Zum Streamen von IURD TV verwendet die Universal Church Amazon VPC, wobei sie auch die geringe Latenz und die hohen Datengeschwindigkeiten von Amazon CloudFront sehr zu schätzen weiß. IURD TV läuft unter Microsoft Windows mit MySQL-Datenbanken, Elastic Load Balancing und Amazon S3.

Prota: "WordPress erfordert sehr viel Serverkapazität. Wir stellten aber fest, dass AWS selbst bei intensivem WordPress-Konsum sehr leistungsstark ist." Insgesamt stellt Universal Church 30 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)-Instances bereit und speichert nahezu 5 TB Daten in Amazon S3-Buckets. Abbildung 1 zeigt die Umgebung der Organisation auf AWS.

Universal Church architecture diagram

Abbildung 1. Architektur der Universal Church auf AWS

"Wir erreichen unsere Zielgruppe über unsere Websites. Deswegen müssen diese unbedingt verfügbar sein", so Prota. "Seit wir auf AWS umgestiegen sind, brauchen wir kein Geld mehr zu investieren, um den Zugriffsspitzen bei gefragten Sendungen standzuhalten. Wir können die Kapazität und die Zahl der Server jederzeit erhöhen oder reduzieren und bezahlen nur das, was wir auch nutzen. Dabei funktioniert das Zusammenspiel unserer Anwendungen auf AWS sehr gut, was eine hohe Verfügbarkeit garantiert. Wir schätzen, dass unsere Organisation durch den Betrieb seiner Programme auf AWS etwa 1,25 Millionen US-Dollar an Hardware- und Arbeitskosten spart."

"Die AWS-Cloud brachte uns Sicherheit, Geschwindigkeit und Flexibilität", fährt Prota fort. "Mit Blick nach vorne planen wir, noch mehr Lösungen auf AWS bereitzustellen. Wir wollen zu 100 Prozent in der AWS-Cloud operieren."

Weitere Informationen zur Verwendung von AWS für Webanwendungen finden Sie auf unserer Seite zu Web-, mobilen und sozialen Netzwerkanwendungen unter http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/.

Weitere Informationen darüber, wie Dedalus Ihnen beim Betrieb Ihres Unternehmens in der AWS-Cloud helfen kann, finden Sie unter dem Eintrag Dedalus im AWS-Partnerverzeichnis.

UniversalChurch_Customer-Reference_Logo

Universal Church Case Study

2014

Igreja Universal do Reino de Deus (Universal Church or UCKG) was founded in Brazil in 1977. The Pentecostal Christian organization expanded rapidly over the following decades, and today has a presence in more than 170 countries. The Universal Church uses television, the Internet, newspaper, radio broadcasts, and blogs to promote its ministry. According to the church, its website, the Portal Arca Universal (Universal Ark Portal), and the blog of founder Bishop Macedo receive more than 30 million page views per month.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

We plan to operate more solutions on AWS in the future. We want to be 100 percent on the AWS Cloud.”

Rodrigo Prota
Pastor and IT Director, Universal Church.

The Challenge

The Universal Church used to outsource its data center with a Brazilian host provider. However, whenever the organization broadcast special television and radio programs, the popularity of these events would cause the church to exceed server capacity, causing degradation and failure. “We had 20 servers and we were out of capacity,” says Rodrigo Prota, Pastor and IT Director of the Universal Church. “Our situation was critical. Purchasing additional servers to accommodate peak usage would have been a costly investment.” The outages and lack of capacity led the church to consider other alternatives.

Why Amazon Web Services

“We considered migrating our hosted solution to colocation services or shifting to the cloud,” says Prota. “We chose Amazon Web Services (AWS) because it was the fastest solution and would reduce costs.” The Universal Church worked with Dedalus, a member and consulting partner with the AWS Partner Network (APN), and completed the migration in just four days.

The Universal Church organizes its cloud environment in the US East (Northern Virginia) Region as follows:

  • Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) provides a secure, private environment for the Portal Arca Universal website. The Universal Church runs the website using Red Hat Linux and MySQL databases with Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Elastic Load Balancing, and Auto Scaling.
  • All blogs and campaigns use WordPress running on Red Hat Linux with MySQL databases, Amazon S3, Elastic Load Balancing.
  • The Universal Church also uses Amazon VPC to stream IURD TV, and deploys Amazon CloudFront for low latency and high data speeds. IURD TV runs on Microsoft Windows with MySQL databases, Elastic Load Balancing and Amazon S3.

Prota comments, “WordPress uses a lot of server capacity. We found that AWS has high performance, even with intensive WordPress consumption.” Overall, the Universal Church provisions 30 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances and stores nearly 5 TB of data in Amazon S3 buckets.

The Benefits

“We rely on our websites to reach our audience, so they need to be available,” says Prota. “By using AWS, we no longer need to invest money to support high traffic resulting from our events. We can increase or reduce the capacity and quantity of servers and pay only for what we use, when we use it. Our applications work well together on AWS, which ensures high availability. We estimate that the organization is saving approximately $1.25 million in hardware and labor by operating its properties on AWS.”

“The AWS Cloud brought us security, speed and flexibility,” Prota continues. “We plan to operate more solutions on AWS in the future. We want to be 100 percent on the AWS Cloud.”

Universal Church architecture diagram

About Universal Church

Igreja Universal do Reino de Deus (Universal Church or UCKG) was founded in Brazil in 1977. The Pentecostal Christian organization expanded rapidly over the following decades, and today has a presence in more than 170 countries.


AWS Services Used

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance. 

Learn more »

Amazon VPC

Provision a logically isolated section of the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud where you can launch AWS resources in a virtual network that you define.

Learn more >>

Elastic Load Balancing

Elastic Load Balancing automatically distributes incoming application traffic across multiple targets, such as Amazon EC2 instances, containers, IP addresses, and Lambda functions.

Learn more >>

Amazon CloudFront

Amazon CloudFront is a fast content delivery network (CDN) service that securely delivers data, videos, applications, and APIs to customers globally.

Learn more >>


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.