小米是一家专注于自主研发高端智能手机的移动互联网公司。该公司成立于 2010 年 4 月,小米手机、MIUI 和米聊是旗下三大核心业务领域。秉承着“为发烧而生”的理念,小米采用了众包模式来开发其移动操作系统,共有 600000 多名粉丝帮助构建。如今,成立不过三年,小米在中国大陆、香港特别行政区和台湾地区就拥有超过 1420 万移动用户,创收 132.7 亿人民币。

小米知道,要想在竞争激烈的智能手机行业取得成功,公司需要通过两种方式让自己脱颖而出:为用户提供内容服务和构建可持续发展的全球业务。据小米的 IT 基础设施负责人李永斌所说,除了要在产品设计、硬件配置和定价方面做到出色之外,内容服务也已成为提升消费者满意度的重要因素。推出应用商店成为了该公司的当务之急。

2012 年,该智能手机提供商发布了一项全球业务计划,旨在将小米移动设备推介给全球受众。小米期望为客户交付快速下载速度,同时构建一种可靠的基础设施,以便公司能够随着发展规模的壮大而快速扩展。为此,小米开始评估各大云计算提供商。“我们需要一种能够保证可靠性和连接速度的解决方案,以便不同国家和地区的用户都满意。”李永斌说,“我们还想确保能够在发展过程中无缝扩展自己的服务。” 

“在评估云提供商的过程中,我们发现只有 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 能够提供全球用户要求的可靠基础设施和连接速度。”李永斌说。

为运行其应用商店,小米在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 上部署了一台基于 Linux 的虚拟服务器设备,用于向公司提供其所需的灵活计算资源。AWS 还向小米提供了一种简洁易用的 Web 界面,以供其进行配置和管理。该公司通过将智能手机应用资源包、配置文件和相关内容存储在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中,实现了可靠的数据存储、访问和搜索。

小米还使用了 Amazon CloudFront,以便降低延迟并快速交付内容。“我们设置 Amazon CloudFront 只需一天时间。”李永斌说,“将流量转移到 CloudFront 后,我们的 IT 团队能够没有任何延迟地为业务增长提供支持。”

在推出应用商店 5 个月之后,小米就获得了超过 1 亿次用户下载。通过使用 AWS 云,小米已能满足全球用户要求的下载速度并快速推出新的在线业务。在 AWS 上,该公司的下载速度提高了 30%,并且该公司能够快速部署计算资源,以支持其不断增长的业务。李永斌解释说:“在如此短的时间获得这么高的下载量,真是让人兴奋不已。AWS 提供的成熟服务不仅能够节约我们的部署和测试时间,还帮助我们以非常快的速度推出了应用下载中心。”

在 AWS 云上运行也使得小米并未投入大量前期资金就推出了其应用下载中心。“与 AWS 合作,我们能够将资本支出缩减为零。”李永斌说,“使用 Amazon CloudFront 让我们第一个月的订阅节省了约 50%,并且显著缩短了海外服务器的响应时间,从而提升了用户体验。” 

“AWS 使得我们能够提高访问速度、降低前期投资成本,以及缩短服务交付周期。”他总结道,“使用 AWS 云有助于我们开发创新产品和向用户提供卓越服务。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足移动应用程序需求,请访问我们的移动应用详情页面:http://aws.amazon.com/mobile-apps/

Xiaomi is a mobile Internet company that focuses on independent research and development of high-end smartphones. Established in April 2010, the company has three primary business areas including Xiaomi Mobiles, MIUI, and Mi-Chat. With a motto of “born for the enthusiast,” Xiaomi used crowdsourcing to develop its mobile operating system, which more than 600,000 fans helped create. Three years after being founded, Xiaomi now has more than 14.2 million mobile users in mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan as well as ¥13.27 billion in revenues.

Xiaomi knew that in order to succeed in the competitive smartphone industry, the company needed to differentiate itself in two ways: by providing content services for its users and building a sustainable, global business. According to Yongbin Li, IT Infrastructure Manager at Xiaomi, content services have become an important driver for consumer satisfaction, along with excellence in product design, hardware configuration, and pricing. Launching an app store became a top priority for the company.

In 2012, the smartphone provider launched a global business plan to introduce Xiaomi mobile devices to a worldwide audience. Xiaomi wanted to deliver fast download speeds for customers and build a reliable infrastructure that would allow the company to scale up quickly as it grew. To do that, Xiaomi began evaluating cloud computing providers. “We needed a solution that could provide the reliability and connection speeds that would satisfy our users in various countries and regions,” Li says. “We also wanted to make sure that we could seamlessly expand our services as we grew.” 

“When we were evaluating cloud providers, we realized that only Amazon Web Services (AWS) had the experience to provide a reliable infrastructure and connection speeds demanded by global users,” Li says.

To run its app store, Xiaomi deploys a Linux-based virtual server machine on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) that provides the company with the flexible computing resources it needs. AWS also provides Xiaomi with a simple and user-friendly web interface for configuration and management. The company achieves reliable data storage, access, and search by storing smartphone app resource packages, configuration files, and related content in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3).

Xiaomi also uses Amazon CloudFront to reduce latency and deliver content quickly. “We were able to set up Amazon CloudFront in just one day,” Li says. “By shifting our traffic to CloudFront, our IT team was able to support our business growth without delay.”

Five months after the app store launched, Xiaomi exceeded 100 million user downloads. By using the AWS Cloud, Xiaomi has been able to satisfy the download speed that global users require and quickly launch a new online business. The company’s download speeds are 30 percent faster running on AWS, and the company can rapidly deploy computing resources to support its growing business. Li explains, “It’s exciting to see such a large number of downloads in such a short period of time. The mature services provided by AWS enable us to save time on deployment and testing, and helped us launch the app download center very quickly.”

Running on the AWS Cloud also allowed Xiaomi to launch its app download center without a large upfront capital investment. “With AWS, we were able to cut our capital expenditure to zero,” Li says. “Using Amazon CloudFront enabled us to save about 50 percent in the first month of our subscription, and significantly reduce the response time of our servers overseas—improving our user experience.” 

"AWS enables us to provide superior access speed, reduce our upfront investment cost, and shorten our service delivery cycle,” he concludes. “Using the AWS Cloud helps us develop innovative products and provide quality services to our users.”

To learn more about how AWS can help your mobile application needs, visit our Mobile Apps details page: http://aws.amazon.com/mobile-apps/.