AWS News Blog

Red Hat Enterprise Linux Now Available on AWS GovCloud (US)

The AWS GovCloud (US) Region is an isolated AWS Region designed to allow US government agencies and customers to move sensitive workloads into the cloud by addressing their specific regulatory and compliance requirements.

Today we are making Red Hat Enterprise Linux (which everyone calls RHEL), available in the AWS GovCloud (US) Region.

Red Hat Enterprise Linux was designed for secure, enterprise computing. The Security-Enhanced Linux (SELinux) capabilities found in RHEL have fostered adoption across many agencies of the United States government.

With a total of 15 Common Criteria certifications across four hardware platforms, RHEL is one of the industry’s most certified operating systems. Today’s launch of RHEL in AWS GovCloud (US) means that government users can now standardize on a single operating system for on-premises and cloud-based deployments.

Update: I have received several questrions about the ITAR restriction shown in the image above. Here’s some background information:

Red Hat Enterprise Linux customers on AWS GovCloud (US) receive full support from Amazon Web Services, which is backed by Red Hat’s award-winning Global Support Services. Because Red Hat is not currently equipped to accept export controlled materials (ITAR), Amazon Web Services and Red Hat customers must verify that any data provided to Red Hat is compliant with any export controls that may apply. For more information, please see

— Jeff;

Jeff Barr

Jeff Barr

Jeff Barr is Chief Evangelist for AWS. He started this blog in 2004 and has been writing posts just about non-stop ever since.