AWS Security Blog

Tag: Public Sector

Flag of Italy

AWS achieves QI2/QC2 qualification to host critical data and workloads from the Italian Public Administration

Amazon Web Service (AWS) is pleased to announce that it has achieved the QI2/QC2 qualification level, set out by the Italian National Cybersecurity Agency (ACN) in Determination No. 307/2022, for AWS cloud infrastructure and 130 AWS cloud services. The scope of this qualification level includes the management of Critical data and workloads for Italian public […]

AWS Logo

Customer Compliance Guides now available on AWS Artifact

Amazon Web Services (AWS) has released Customer Compliance Guides (CCGs) to support customers, partners, and auditors in their understanding of how compliance requirements from leading frameworks map to AWS service security recommendations. CCGs cover 100+ services and features offering security guidance mapped to 10 different compliance frameworks. Customers can select any of the available frameworks and services […]

AWS Logo

The National Intelligence Center of Spain and AWS collaborate to promote public sector cybersecurity

Spanish version » The National Intelligence Center and National Cryptological Center (CNI-CCN)—attached to the Spanish Ministry of Defense—and Amazon Web Services (AWS) have signed a strategic collaboration agreement to jointly promote cybersecurity and innovation in the public sector through AWS Cloud technology. Under the umbrella of this alliance, the CNI-CCN will benefit from the help […]


AWS now licensed by DESC to operate as a Tier 1 cloud service provider in the Middle East (UAE) Region

We continue to expand the scope of our assurance programs at Amazon Web Services (AWS) and are pleased to announce that our Middle East (UAE) Region is now certified by the Dubai Electronic Security Centre (DESC) to operate as a Tier 1 cloud service provider (CSP). This alignment with DESC requirements demonstrates our continuous commitment […]

AWS achieves ISO 20000-1:2018 certification for 109 services

We continue to expand the scope of our assurance programs at Amazon Web Services (AWS) and are pleased to announce that AWS Regions and AWS Edge locations are now certified by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 20000-1:2018 standard. This certification demonstrates our continuous commitment to adhere to the heightened expectations for cloud service providers. […]

Authority to operate (ATO) on AWS Program now available for customers in Spain

Meeting stringent security and compliance requirements in regulated or public sector environments can be challenging and time consuming, even for organizations with strong technical competencies. To help customers navigate the different requirements and processes, we launched the ATO on AWS Program in June 2019 for US customers. The program involves a community of expert AWS […]

Canada flag

2022 Canadian Centre for Cyber Security Assessment Summary report available with 12 additional services

We are pleased to announce the availability of the 2022 Canadian Centre for Cyber Security (CCCS) assessment summary report for Amazon Web Services (AWS). This assessment will bring the total to 132 AWS services and features assessed in the Canada (Central) AWS Region, including 12 additional AWS services. A copy of the summary assessment report is available for […]

Spain’s ENS High certification logo

AWS achieves Spain’s ENS High certification across 166 services

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is committed to bringing additional services and AWS Regions into the scope of our Esquema Nacional de Seguridad (ENS) High certification to help customers meet their regulatory needs. ENS is Spain’s National Security Framework. The ENS certification is regulated under the Spanish Royal Decree 3/2010 and is a compulsory requirement for […]

AWS achieves FedRAMP P-ATO for 20 services in the AWS US East/West Regions and AWS GovCloud (US) Regions

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is pleased to announce that 20 additional AWS services have achieved Provisional Authority to Operate (P-ATO) from the Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP) Joint Authorization Board (JAB). The following are the 20 AWS services with FedRAMP authorization for the U.S. federal government and organizations with regulated workloads: AWS App […]

AWS announces migration plans for NIST 800-53 Revision 5

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is excited to begin migration plans for National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 800-53 Revision 5. The NIST 800-53 framework is a regulatory standard that defines the minimum baseline of security controls for U.S. federal information systems. In 2020, NIST released Revision 5 of the framework to improve security standards […]