关于未来一年科技将如何继续改变我们的生活的八个预测

Werner Vogels 博士,Amazon.com 副总裁兼首席技术官
作者:Werner Vogels 博士,Amazon.com 副总裁兼首席技术官

企业无论大小,政府无论新旧,都必须彻底改变他们所做的事和运作方式。帮助我们应对这种巨大变化的是技术。无论是 Blackboard 继续进行着我们孩子的教育,Zoom 成为我们的商业会议室(和酒吧),还是 Netflix 成为我们晚上出去看电影的去处,我们都在依靠科技来养活我们的家庭、教育我们的孩子、与同事合作,甚至在家里呆了一天又一天,自娱自乐。2020 年并没有让我们放慢脚步,而是加速了我们向数字化世界的转变,而且我预计我们短期内不会回去了。得益于这种加速,从我的角度来看,2021 年将是各种变化的起点,而下面这些领域将会推动这一趋势。


预测一:云将无处不在

所有的云能力都集中在数据中心的日子开始消失。您会发现基于云的应用程序将帮助提高海上船只、空中飞机以及汽车和家庭的性能。对云计算和存储的访问正从密集的数据中心扩展到农村社区、偏远的荒野,甚至于近地轨道。实际来说,云将无处不在。

今天,AWS 拥有的区域和节点 (PoP) 可使云技术比以往任何时候都更接近世界各地的客户。客户正部署 AWS Snowball 之类的设备从夏威夷的火山斜坡和南极洲的研究中心收集 PB 级的数据。而将云基础设施和工具扩展到客户建筑物中的 AWS Outposts 和将特色级基础设施放在客户需要的地方的 AWS Local Zones 正在帮助城市地区的用户迅速缩小繁冗复杂的数据中心。有了 AWS IoT Greengrass,边缘设备可以相互连接,无论是在厨房里,还是在健身房自行车的车把上。随着 5G 网络的扩展,运营商正在进行 Wavelength 区域部署,以便 5G 设备的应用程序流量可以充分利用低延迟和高带宽。而当云快速连接被推向网络的最边缘区域时,往往会发生伟大的事情。

关于未来一年科技将如何继续改变我们的生活的八个预测
关于科技将如何继续改变我们的生活的八个预测
2021 年将是变化的起点,接下来会发生什么呢

通过消除延迟,并在网络边缘的设备上进行更多的计算,我们将开始克服地球上所有技术仍然面临的一个限制,即光速。从自动驾驶到自然语音处理和翻译,再到重要基础设施的主动管理,这些需要很超延迟的操作不再需要在地球的遥远角落和中央服务器之间进行往返。现在,任务可以在最需要结果的地方开始。而结果呢? 无人驾驶汽车会成为现实。您可以开始用 Alexa 这样的服务进行更多自然的对话。我们的工厂、家庭和办公空间会变得越来越高效、越来越灵活。而如果您喜欢玩游戏,那么您不仅无需担心滞后会阻碍您的体验,而且您的技能也将得到充分发挥,无论您身在何处。

随着云从集中位置延伸出来到进入我们每天生活和工作的环境,我们将越来越多地看到,运行在云中的软件将在您附近运行,这将导致我们生活的方方面面得到改善,从医疗保健到交通、娱乐、制造业等等。2021 年,这种向边缘的推动将会加速。


AWS Executive Insights 新闻通讯

从 AWS 内部和外部获取高管关于技术、转型以及云新闻和趋势的最新见解和观点,并将其发送到您的收件箱。



相关阅读材料

Amazon 的积极创新技术
GARTNER 创新案例研究
Amazon 的积极创新技术
面向首席信息官和创新领导者的探索创新最佳实践系列
Amazon 第 1 天文化的要素
文章
Amazon 第 1 天文化的要素
把“第一天”付诸实践,需要长期保持关注、对客户执着,以及大胆的创新
提供以客户为中心的创新
哈佛商业评论分析服务
提供以客户为中心的创新
一项对 585 名企业高管的调查发现,创新领导者更有可能对客户投入关注

通过不断的创新来更新您的竞争优势

了解行业领导者如何持续创新,以发展他们的业务,并提供差异化的客户体验。

Eight Predictions on How Technology Will Continue to Change Our Lives in the Coming Year

Dr. Werner Vogels, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Amazon.com
by Dr. Werner Vogels, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Amazon.com

Businesses large and small, governments new and old all had to completely change what they do and how they operate. Helping us to manage this dramatic change was technology. Whether it was Blackboard continuing our children’s education, Zoom becoming our business boardroom (and our pub), or Netflix being our night out at the movies, we relied on technology to help feed our families, teach our children, collaborate with co-workers, even entertain ourselves after yet another day in the house. Rather than slow us down, 2020 accelerated our shift to a digital world and I anticipate we won’t go back any time soon. Thanks to this acceleration, from my vantage point, 2021 is going to be a launchpad for all kinds of change, and here are some of the areas that will be driving it.


Prediction One: Cloud will be everywhere

The days of all cloud capabilities being centralized in data centers are beginning to disappear. You can find cloud-based applications helping to boost the performance of ships out at sea, aircraft traversing the sky, and in our cars and homes. Access to the compute and storage of the cloud is spreading out of dense data centers and reaching into rural communities, remote wilderness, and even nearearth orbit. Practically speaking, the cloud is going everywhere.

Today, AWS has regions and Points of Presence (PoPs) that enable cloud technologies to be closer than ever to customers across the world. Customers are deploying devices like AWS Snowball to gather petabytes of data from the slopes of volcanoes in Hawaii and research centers in Antarctica. AWS Outposts, which extend cloud infrastructure and tools into our customer’s buildings, and AWS Local Zones, which put select infrastructure close to where customers need it, are helping those in urban areas to rapidly shrink their cumbersome datacenters. With AWS IoT Greengrass, edge devices can connect with each other, whether that is from inside someone’s kitchen or from the handlebars of a cycle in the gym. As 5G networks expand, operators are deploying Wavelength Zones so application traffic from 5G devices can take full advantage of the low latency and high bandwidth. And when fast connections to the cloud are pushed to the farthest edges of the network, great things can happen.

Eight Predictions on How Technology Will Continue to Change Our Lives in the Coming Year
Eight Predictions on How Technology Will Continue to Change Our Lives
2021 is going to be a launchpad for change, and here’s what’s coming

By removing latency, and conducting more of the compute on the device at the edge of the network, we are beginning to overcome the one limitation that still faces all technology on earth, the speed of light. Those operations that require very low latency—from autonomous driving, to natural speech processing and translation, and the active management of vital infrastructure–no longer need to conduct round trips from remote corners of the earth to a central server. Tasks can now start to happen where the results are needed most. The outcome? Driverless cars become real. You can start to have more natural conversations with services like Alexa. Our factories, homes, and office spaces become increasingly efficient and resilient. And if gaming is your thing, not only will you no longer need to worry about lag hampering your experience, your skills will also be at full strength, wherever you are.

As the cloud extends out of centralized locations and into the environments that we live and work in every day, what we will increasingly see is the same software that runs in the cloud will run close to you, and that will lead to improvements in all aspects of our lives, from healthcare to transportation, entertainment, manufacturing, and more. In 2021, this push to the edge will accelerate.


AWS Executive Insights newsletter

Get the latest insights and perspectives from executives inside and outside of AWS on technology, transformation, and cloud news and trends delivered to your inbox.



Related reading

Amazons Go-To Innovation Techniques
GARTNER INNOVATION CASE STUDY
Amazon’s Go-To Innovation Techniques
A series for CIOs and Innovation Leaders to explore innovation best practices
Elements of Amazons Day 1 Culture
ARTICLE
Elements of Amazon’s Day 1 Culture
Putting "Day 1" into practice relies on maintaining a long-term focus, obsessing over customers, and bold innovation
Delivering Customer-Focused Innovation
HARVARD BUSINESS REVIEW ANALYTIC SERVICES
Delivering Customer-Focused Innovation
A survey of 585 business executives found that innovation leaders are much more likely to focus on customers

Renew your competitive advantage through continuous innovation

Learn how industry leaders sustain continual innovation that grows their business and delivers differentiated customer experiences.