领导者在大流行期间促进工作与生活和谐的五种方式

 Ian Wilson,AWS 人力资源副总裁

作者:Ian Wilson,AWS 人力资源副总裁

在正常情况下保持和谐并非总是那么容易,而大流行又加大了它的挑战性。AWS 人力资源副总裁 Ian Wilson 分享了他帮助员工在危机期间应对工作中的挑战和机遇的方法。

收听 SpotifyApple Podcasts 上的播客


现在,很多人都在考虑达到工作与生活的和谐。在 Amazon,我们认为工作与生活的和谐是指您能够充满活力,在工作内外都能表现出来。Jeff Bezos 曾用飞轮解释这一概念,即用来自生活一部分的能量帮助促进另一部分。

在正常情况下保持和谐并非总是那么容易,而大流行又加大了它的挑战性。帮助人们管理工作和生活的传统护栏,比如开车上班、社交聚会、照顾孩子或度假,突然发生了变化,而且还在继续发展。很多客户问我,在 AWS,我们是如何应对这些意外挑战的。

Ian Wilson,AWS 人力资源副总裁

对于亚马逊人,第一天心态是我们方法的重要组成部分,我们已经习惯了适应变化。Jeff Bezos 在 Amazon 创办初期便形成了第一天理念。它的意思是说,我们应该把在 Amazon 在每一天当作是在新初创公司的第一天。这意味着我们要关注现在和未来的需要,而不是在过去奏效的方法。意味着我们拥抱并期待改变。

第一天的理念让我们的员工能够看到眼前的东西并做出最佳决策,而这可能会与之前的做法不同。这就是我在 AWS 看到的员工和领导者所做的应对,他们欣然接受在此次危机中工作的挑战和机遇。

作为 AWS 的人力资源副总裁,我有机会和很多人谈论这个话题。我想与大家分享一些亚马逊人学习“第一天”理念的方法,以及 Amazon 的领导原则,以找到他们工作与生活的和谐。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

1.如果可能的话,选择指导而不是说明

当如此多剧烈的变化同时发生时,比如关闭办公室和学校、禁止旅行,这种中断会产生连锁反应,以独特的方式影响到每个人的生活。自然地,人们向他们的雇主寻求应对这种情况的方法。例如,员工们想知道他们是否可以改变自己的工作时间,以便帮助照顾或在家教育孩子,或者他们是否应该推迟出差或改为线上会面。

当涉及到我们的重要工作人员的安全时,我们的回答必须更加明确,因为我们实施了保护他们的程序。但在其他情况下,没有必要也没有可能回答每个问题。因此,在 AWS,我们会尽量给员工更多的灵活性。

例如,我们没有指示哪些员工应该在何时回到办公室,而是发出了指导:“欢迎可以在家有效完成工作的员工在 2021 年 6 月 30 日之前这样做。” 虽然很多员工都留在家中,但也有一些人决定回到办公室。因为这对他们是最有效的。在一些指导的范围内,员工可以选择他们想要如何解决面前的挑战,以及他们想要如何为自己工作。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

2.了解员工的意向

过去几年里,我们使用一种日常反馈程序 Connections 来更好地了解我们的员工。每天,成千上万的 Amazon 员工都可以选择回答有关工作的问题。这些信息被用来改善工作场所,而在大流行期间,很多日常问题都与员工在前所未有的环境中工作有关。

除了我们通过 Connections 收集的数据,我们还就某些主题进行了更深入的对话。在整个大流行期间,我们一直在问同样的问题来跟踪事情的变化情况。这些信息对于了解员工的情绪和寻找机会获得更有意义的支持是非常宝贵的。

如果组织肯花时间倾听员工的想法,他们可能会对他们所发现的信息感到惊讶。有一件很好的事让我感到很惊讶,也就是,现在我们的经理对 AWS 的满意度是我职业生涯中见过的最高的。这表明,我们的经理们在与员工保持联系和提供支持方面做得很好。如果我们没有收集这些数据,我们可能就不会认识到这些非凡的努力和我们的经理所起的重要作用。

通过收集反馈,组织可以做出数据驱动的决定,包括如何支持他们的员工,以及他们如何能够产生最大的影响。这与 Amazon 领导原则“深入探究”非常一致。 这条原则鼓励我们的员工随时掌控细节,经常进行审计,并在数据与传闻不一致时持有怀疑态度。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

3.欣然接受背景

这场危机迫使人们对自己有一个更完整的认识,认识更真实的自我。在过去的 6 个月里,我见过的同事的家人,包括宠物,比过去 10 年还多。在危机之前,我认为人们对这一点会比较不舒服。但现在,我们都在同一条船上,就好像墙要塌了。就我们所见,我们认为这是件好事。

这让我想起了我最喜欢的 Amazon 领导原则之一——“学习并保持好奇心”,这条原则鼓励我们的员工永远不停止学习。现在我们更了解彼此了。事实上,我们在研究中还发现了一个情况,那就是员工之间的包容,这种“我感到被包容”的感觉,实际上已经显著上升,并且在整个危机期间都保持得非常高。

我从来没有预料到,在我们的距离被拉的越来越远的时候,这种包容性会上升到如此之高。我认为这是因为我们现在在更人性化的层面上与彼此相处。这不仅在于我的同事 Ian。Ian 在家中与他的孩子们一起学习。他有很多事在家里和他的家人一起做。

彼此增加了解也让我们更具有同理心,这对于建立关系非常重要。基于这个原因,我鼓励组织拥抱这个我们走进彼此生活的新窗口,而不是隐藏它。

欣然接受背景
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

4.腾出时间休息

不管大多数人会怎么想,但在家工作并不总能创造更多的空闲时间。虽然他们不再需要通勤了,但空出来的时间并不能用来休息,而是有了更多的工作时间。事实上,在工作唾手可得的情况下,想要生产更多产品的诱惑对某些人来说是难以抵抗的。因此,他们发现自己在家工作的时间比在办公室要多。

另一个问题是,人们休息的时间不够多,这使问题更加严重。对一些人来说,因为他们不能去任何地方旅行,所以这似乎是在浪费假期。对于另一些人来说,他们把假期节省下来,以防病毒卷土重来,而隔离限制又让他们无法照顾孩子。而不幸的是,我认为这场大流行持续的时间比我们所有人最初预期的都要长,而且可能还需要一段时间才能结束。在此期间,每个人都需要休息。

所有这些加上大流行带来的压力正让人们感到精疲力竭。我从未想过说服人们减少工作这么困难。但如果员工不抽出时间给自己、给家人或其他能给他们带来快乐的事情,他们就不会健康。而从长远来看,这往往会对他们的工作产生负面影响,与他们想要的效果相反。

当我们头脑清楚时,我们能作出更好的决定。这就是休息为什么很重要的原因。通过下面这些方法我确保可以实现休息:在日历上划出休息的时间,当完成工作时,会关掉电脑,这样我就不会忍不住回头看一眼,然后正常休假,即使只是和孩子们在后院露营。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

5.塑造健康的行为方式

俗话说:“重要的是你做了什么,而不是你说了什么。” 例如,如果一位经理鼓励员工在晚上关机并在白天休息一下,但显然自己并没有遵循这个建议,那么他们的团队也不太可能会这样做。如果团队的其他成员都在不停地工作,没有人希望自己被认为是“懒虫”。但是一直工作是不健康的状态,而且不可持续。

对于管理者来说,这是一个“赢得信任”的好方法,这也是 Amazon 的领导原则。当一个人的言行一致时,人们会更加信任他。除了确保自己有时间休息外,我还做了一些其他事情,让我的团队看到我的言行一致。例如,在视频会议期间,如果我的孩子走过我的办公桌,我不会赶着他们离开,相反,我会向他们致谢,有时甚至会把他们介绍给参加会议的其他人。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

客户影响

工作与生活的和谐不仅对员工有好处,对客户也有好处。这跟你在飞机上,空乘人员要求乘客“在帮助别人之前先戴上氧气面罩”的情况有点类似。 这是因为如果你自己缺氧了,你就帮不了别人了。

当员工充满活力、充满灵感地工作时,他们会更好地照顾客户,有更多创新的想法,并能更好地接受挑战,而这些挑战在今年似乎永无止境。我们不能给出所有的答案,但通过遵循第一天理念和 Amazon 领导原则,我们的很多员工已经顺利地度过了这些波澜起伏的时期,并找到了一种新的工作与生活的和谐。

------------------

本文是“重塑职场”系列博客的一部分,AWS 和 Amazon 的高管们将在此系列博客中分享他们在大流行期间的经验和见解。如果您想阅读此系列的其他博客文章,请单击此处

关于作者

Ian Wilson,AWS 人力资源副总裁

Ian Wilson
AWS 人力资源副总裁

Ian Wilson 自 2018 年加入 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 以来担任人力资源副总裁。他的 AWS 人力资源团队在数十个国家/地区运营,为数千名员工提供支持,以培育 AWS 文化、培养人才,并建立支持 AWS 客户的能力。

在担任现任职务之前,Ian 是 Microsoft 的 Windows 和设备部门人力资源主管,领导硬件工程、制造和供应链以及 互动娱乐业务 (Xbox) 的人力资源计划。在加入 Microsoft 的早些时候,Ian 曾在中国北京担任大中华区人力资源总监。在加入 Microsoft 之前,Ian 在 Allied Signal/Honeywell 的航空航天和工业自动化业务部门工作了 7 年,担任过各种业务线的人力资源专员和专家职位。

Ian 拥有康奈尔大学工业和劳动关系学院的学士学位。他与妻子和两个孩子住在华盛顿州的伊瑟阔。Ian 目前是 Kindering 的董事会成员,这是一家位于华盛顿的非营利性儿童早期发展中心。


相关阅读材料


如何带领您的团队采用云?

让现有员工学习新技能并扩大其规模的成本比招募新团队低。

Five Ways Leaders Can Promote Work-life Harmony During the Pandemic

 Ian Wilson, Vice President of Human Resources at AWS

by Ian Wilson, Vice President of Human Resources at AWS

Sustaining harmony under normal circumstances isn’t always easy, and the pandemic has made this even more challenging. Ian Wilson, Vice President of Human Resources at AWS, shares his approach on how to help employees navigate through the challenges and opportunities of working during this crisis.

Listen to the podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts


Work-life harmony is on a lot of people’s minds right now. At Amazon, we think of work-life harmony as when you’re able to be energized and present both at work and outside of work. Jeff Bezos once explained this concept in terms of a flywheel, with the energy from one part of your life helping to fuel the other.

Sustaining harmony under normal circumstances isn’t always easy, and the pandemic has made this even more challenging. The traditional guardrails that have helped people manage work-life, like driving to work, social gatherings, childcare, or vacations, have changed abruptly and are continuing to evolve. I’ve had a lot customers ask how we’ve approached these unexpected challenges at AWS.

Ian Wilson, Vice President of Human Resources, AWS

For Amazonians, the Day 1 mindset is so much a part of our approach that adjusting to changes is something we’re fairly used to. Jeff Bezos formed the concept of Day 1 in the early days of Amazon. It means that we should treat every day at Amazon like it’s the first day at a new startup. It means focusing on what the present and future call for, not what’s worked in the past. It means we embrace and expect change.

The Day 1 concept gives our employees permission to look at what's in front of them and make the best decision, which might be different than what made sense previously. That’s what I see employees and leaders doing at AWS as they embrace the challenges and opportunities of working during this crisis.

As VP of Human Resources at AWS, I’ve had the chance to talk to a lot of people about this topic. I’d like to share some of the ways Amazonians are leaning into the Day 1 concept and our Amazon Leadership Principles to find their new work-life harmony.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

1. When possible, choose guidance over instructions

When so many drastic changes happen all at once, like offices and schools closing and travel bans, the disruption has a ripple effect that touches everyone’s lives in unique ways. Naturally, people have questions for their employers about how to handle this. For example, employees are wondering if they can change their working hours so they can help care for or home school a child, or if they should postpone a work trip or meet virtually instead.

When it comes to the safety of our essential workers, we have to be more explicit when answering questions because there are procedures in place for their protection. But in other settings, it’s not necessary or possible to answer every question. So instead, at AWS, we’ve tried to give employees as much flexibility as we possibly can.

For example, instead of instructing employees who should come back to the office and when, we sent out guidance: “Employees who work in a role that can effectively be done from home are welcome to do so until June 30, 2021.” Although many employees have remained at home, some have also decided to return. Because that’s what worked best for them. Employees choose, within the boundaries of some guidance, how they want to solve the challenges ahead of them and how they want to approach work for themselves.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

2. Check the pulse of your workforce

For the last few years, we’ve used a daily feedback program, Connections, to better understand our workforce. Every day thousands of Amazon employees have the option to answer a question about work. This information is used to improve the workplace, and many of the daily questions during the pandemic have been related to employees working in unprecedented circumstances.

In addition to the data we’ve collected through Connections, we’ve also had conversations on certain topics to dig deeper. And we’ve been asking the same questions throughout the pandemic to track how things are changing. This information has been invaluable in understanding employee sentiment and identifying opportunity for more meaningful support.

If organizations take the time to listen to their workforce, they may be surprised by the information they uncover. Something that surprised me, in a good way, is that right now our manager satisfaction scores for AWS are literally the highest I've ever seen in my career. This tells me our managers are doing an excellent job of staying connected with their employees and providing support where they can. If we hadn’t collected this data, we may not have recognized these extraordinary efforts and the valuable role our managers have been playing.

By collecting feedback, organizations can make data-driven decisions about how to support their employees and how they can make the biggest impact. This aligns closely with the Amazon Leadership Principle “Dive Deep.” This principle encourages our employees to stay connected to the details, audit frequently, and be skeptical when metrics and anecdotes differ.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

3. Embrace the background

This crisis has forced people to share a more complete picture of who they are, more of their full authentic self. I’ve met and seen more family members of my co-workers, including pets, in the last six months than in the last decade. Before the crisis, I think people were more uncomfortable with this. But now that we’re all in the same boat, it’s like the walls are coming down. From what we’ve seen, it’s a good thing.

It makes me think of one of my favorite Amazon Leadership Principles—“Learn and Be Curious,” which encourages our employees to never stop learning. And now we’re learning more about each other. In fact, one of the things that we've found in our research is that inclusion among employees, this sense of “I feel included,” has actually gone up significantly and stayed very high throughout this crisis.

I would have never predicted that during a time when we have been pulled further apart, that inclusion would go up as much as it has. I think it’s because we’re relating to each other on a more human level now. It's not just Ian, my coworker. It's Ian, who's in an environment with his kids learning at home. He's got stuff going on with his family and his house.

Learning more about each other also gives us more empathy, which is important for relationship building. For this reason, I would encourage organizations to embrace this new window we have into each other’s lives, as opposed to hiding it.

Embrace the background
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

4. Make time for breaks

Despite what most people would think, working from home doesn’t always create more free time. Instead of replacing the new time they have available with down time, because they don’t have to commute anymore, they replace it with more working. Indeed, the temptation to produce more when work is so readily accessible is too much for some people. As a result, they find themselves working more at home than they did in the office.

Another issue is that people aren’t taking as much time off, which compounds the problem. For some, it’s because they can’t travel anywhere, so it seems like a waste of vacation days. For others, they’re saving the vacation days in case there is a resurgence in the virus and quarantine restrictions leave them without childcare, again. Unfortunately, I think this pandemic is lasting longer than any of us had originally expected, and it still might be a while before it’s over. In the meantime, everyone needs a break.

All of this combined with the stresses of the pandemic means people are experiencing burnout. I never imagined it would be so hard to convince people to work less. But if employees don’t take time out for themselves, their family, or whatever else brings them joy, they won’t be well. And this usually negatively impacts their work in the long run, having the opposite effect of what they wanted.

We all make better decisions when our minds are clear. That’s why breaks and rest are important. Here are a few ways I make sure I get them: I block times on my calendar for breaks throughout the day, shut down the computer when I’m done working so I’m not tempted to peek back in, and take my vacation time, even if it’s just to camp out in the backyard with my kids.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

5. Model healthy behavior

As the saying goes: “It’s what you do, not what you say, that matters.” For example, if a manager encourages employees to log off at night and take breaks throughout the day, but clearly isn’t following this advice themselves, it’s unlikely their team will. Nobody wants to feel like they’re the “slacker” if the rest of the team is working non-stop. But working all the time is not healthy or sustainable.

For managers, this is a great way to “Earn Trust,” which is another Amazon Leadership Principle. People have greater trust for someone when their words match their actions. In addition to making sure I take time off, I’ve done a few other things so my team can see that I practice what I preach. For example, instead of hurrying my children away if they walk by my desk during a video meeting, I acknowledge them and, sometimes, even introduce them to the other people in my meeting.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

The customer impact

Not only does having work-life harmony benefit employees, it benefits customers, too. It’s kind of like when you’re on an airplane, and the flight attendant instructs passengers to “put your oxygen mask on before helping others.” That’s because if you run out of oxygen yourself, you can’t help anyone else.

When employees come to work energized and inspired, they will take better care of customers, have more innovative ideas, and be better positioned to take on challenges, which seem to be in a never ending supply this year. We don’t have all the answers, but by following the Day 1 philosophy and leaning into our Amazon Leadership Principles, many of our employees have navigated their way through these choppy waters and found a new work-life harmony.

------------------

This post is part of a new Reimagining the Workforce Blog series where AWS and Amazon executives are sharing their experiences and insights during the pandemic. If you’d like to see other posts from the series, click here.

About the author

Ian Wilson, Vice President of Human Resources, AWS

Ian Wilson
Vice President of Human Resources, AWS

Ian Wilson is the Vice President of Human Resources for Amazon Web Services (AWS) since joining in 2018. His AWS HR team operates in dozens of countries, supporting thousands of employees, to cultivate the AWS culture, grow talent, and build the capability to enable AWS customers.

Prior to his current role, Ian was the HR leader for Microsoft’s Windows and Devices Group, and lead HR initiatives for Hardware Engineering, Manufacturing and Supply Chain, and the Interactive Entertainment Business (Xbox). Earlier with Microsoft, Ian was based in Beijing, China, as the Regional HR Director for the Greater China Region. Prior to joining Microsoft, Ian spent seven years at Allied Signal/Honeywell’s aerospace and industrial automation businesses in a variety of line HR generalist and specialist roles.

Ian holds a bachelor’s degree from Cornell University’s School of Industrial and Labor Relations. He lives in Issaquah, WA with his wife and two children. Ian currently serves on the Board of Directors for Kindering, a not-for-profit early childhood developmental center in Washington.


How do you take your teams to the cloud?

It's less expensive to reskill and scale up your current staff than it is to hire new teams.