Q : Qu'est-ce qu'Amazon Inspector ?
Amazon Inspector est un service d'évaluation de la sécurité automatisé qui vous permet de tester l'état de sécurité de vos applications exécutées sur Amazon EC2.

Q : Que puis-je faire avec Amazon Inspector ?
Amazon Inspector vous permet d'automatiser les évaluations des failles de sécurité tout au long de votre pipeline de développement et de déploiement ou par rapport à des systèmes de production statiques. Cela vous permet d'augmenter la fréquence des tests de sécurité dans le cadre d'opérations de développement et informatiques. Amazon Inspector est basé sur des agents, sur l'API et est fourni sous forme de service pour faciliter le déploiement, la gestion et l'automatisation.

Démarrez avec Amazon Inspector

Créez un compte gratuit

Q : Qu'est-ce qu'un template d'évaluation ?
Un template d'évaluation est une configuration que vous créez dans Amazon Inspector pour définir l'exécution d'une évaluation. Ce template d'évaluation comprend des packages de règles en fonction desquels vous souhaitez qu'Amazon Inspector évalue l'objectif de votre évaluation, la durée de l'exécution d'évaluation, les sujets Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) auxquels vous souhaitez qu'Amazon Inspector envoie des notifications concernant les états et les résultats de l'exécution d'évaluation, et des attributs spécifiques à Amazon Inspector (paires clé/valeur) que vous pouvez attribuer aux résultats générés par l'exécution d'évaluation.

Q : Qu'est-ce qu'une exécution d'évaluation ?
Une exécution d'évaluation est un processus qui consiste à identifier les problèmes de sécurité potentiels en analysant la configuration et le comportement de l'objectif de votre évaluation en fonction de packages de règles définis. Lors d'une exécution d'évaluation, l'agent surveille, collecte et analyse des données comportementales (télémétrie) dans l'objectif spécifié, telles que l'utilisation de canaux sécurisés, le trafic réseau entre les processus en cours d'exécution et les détails de la communication avec les services AWS. L'agent analyse ensuite les données et les compare à un ensemble de packages de règles de sécurité spécifié dans le template d'évaluation utilisé pendant l'exécution d'évaluation. Une fois terminée, l'évaluation génère une liste de résultats – des problèmes de sécurité potentiels de différents niveaux de gravité.

Q : Qu'est-ce qu'un objectif d'évaluation ?
Un objectif d'évaluation représente un ensemble de ressources AWS qui fonctionnent conjointement comme une unité pour vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs commerciaux. Amazon Inspector évalue l'état de sécurité des ressources qui constituent l'objectif d'évaluation. Vous créez un objectif d'évaluation à l'aide de balises Amazon EC2. Vous pouvez ensuite définir ces ressources étiquetées en tant qu'objectif d'évaluation pour une exécution d'évaluation définie par le template d'évaluation.

Q : Qu'est-ce qu'un résultat ?
Un résultat est un problème de sécurité potentiel découvert pendant l'évaluation de l'objectif spécifié exécutée via Amazon Inspector. Les résultats sont affichés dans la console Amazon Inspector ou extraits via l'API, et contiennent une description détaillée du problème de sécurité et une recommandation quant à sa résolution.

Q : Qu'est-ce qu'un package de règles ?
Un package de règles est un ensemble de tests de sécurité configurables dans le cadre d'un template d'évaluation et d'une exécution d'évaluation. Amazon Inspector possède de nombreux packages de règles, notamment les vulnérabilités et les failles les plus répandues (CVE), des références de configuration de système d'exploitation CIS et des bonnes pratiques de sécurité. Consultez la documentation Amazon Inspector pour obtenir la liste complète des packages de règles disponibles.

Q : Qu'est-ce qu'un rapport d'évaluation et que comprend-il ?
Un rapport d'évaluation Amazon Inspector peut être généré pour une évaluation dès que celle-ci se termine avec succès. Il s'agit d'un document qui décrit en détail les éléments testés dans le cadre de l'évaluation, ainsi que les résultats de celle-ci. Les résultats de votre analyse sont publiés sous la forme d'un rapport standard, qui peut être généré de façon à partager les résultats avec les autres membres de votre équipe et prendre des mesures correctrices, à enrichir les données de vérification de conformité ou à être stocké pour référence ultérieure.

Vous pouvez choisir entre deux types de rapports pour votre évaluation : un rapport de conclusion ou un rapport complet. Le rapport de conclusion contient une note de synthèse de l'évaluation, des instances visées, des ensembles de règles testés, des règles qui ont permis de produire les résultats, ainsi que des informations détaillées concernant chacune de ces règles et la liste des instances qui n'ont pas réussi la vérification. Le rapport complet contient toutes les informations du rapport de conclusion, mais également la liste des règles qui ont été vérifiées et ont réussi toutes les instances visées par l'évaluation.

Q : Que se passe-t-il si certains de mes objectifs sont indisponibles pendant une évaluation ?
Amazon Inspector rassemble les données de vulnérabilité de tous les objectifs disponibles et configurés dans le template d'évaluation, et renvoie les résultats de sécurité appropriés pour tous les objectifs disponibles. Si aucun objectif n'est disponible pour le template d'évaluation lors de son lancement, le système signale que l'évaluation ne peut pas avoir lieu et affiche la notification suivante : « The assessment run could not executed at this time as there are no targeted instances available for the selected assessment template. »

Q : Comment les objectifs peuvent-ils devenir indisponibles ?
Les objectifs d'une évaluation peuvent être indisponibles pour différentes raisons, dont voici quelques exemples : l'instance EC2 est hors ligne ou ne répond pas ; l'agent Amazon Inspector n'est pas installé sur l'instance balisée (ciblée) ; l'agent Amazon Inspector installé est indisponible ou dans l'incapacité de renvoyer des données de vulnérabilité.

Q : Quelle est la tarification d'Amazon Inspector ?
La tarification d'Inspector est calculée en fonction du nombre d'exécutions d'évaluation et du nombre d'agents ou de systèmes qui ont été évalués pendant ces exécutions. C'est ce que l'on appelle les « évaluations d'agents ». Une période de facturation à la demande correspond à un mois civil, comme pour tous les services AWS. Exemples :

     1 exécution d'évaluation par rapport à 1 agent = 1 évaluation d'agent
     1 exécution d'évaluation par rapport à 10 agents = 10 évaluations d'agents
     10 exécutions d'évaluation par rapport à 2 agents chacune = 20 évaluations d'agents
     30 exécutions d'évaluation par rapport à 10 agents chacune = 300 évaluations d'agents

Si la liste ci-dessus représentait l'activité de votre compte concernant les exécutions d'évaluation Amazon Inspector pour une période de facturation donnée, 331 évaluations d'agents vous seraient facturées au total.

Le prix de chaque évaluation d'agent est calculée sur la base d'un modèle de tarification progressif. Plus le volume d'évaluations d'agents est élevé pendant une période de facturation donnée, plus le prix unitaire diminue. Par exemple, les deux premiers niveaux de la tarification des évaluations d'agents sont les suivants :

     Les 250 premières évaluations d'agents = 0,30 USD par évaluation d'agent
     Les 750 évaluations d'agents suivantes = 0,25 USD par évaluation d'agent

Par conséquent, si l'on reprend l'exemple ci-dessus comprenant au total 331 évaluations d'agents pour une période de facturation donnée, 0,30 USD vous seront facturés pour les 250 premières évaluations et 0,25 USD pour les 81 suivantes, soit un total de 95,25 USD pour la période de facturation. Pour consulter le tableau de tarification complet, rendez-vous sur la page de tarification d'Amazon Inspector.

Q : Est-il possible d'essayer gratuitement Amazon Inspector ?
Oui. Les 250 premières évaluations d'agents sont gratuites pendant les 90 premiers jours d'utilisation du service Amazon Inspector. Tous les comptes AWS qui utilisent le service Amazon Inspector pour la première fois peuvent bénéficier de cette offre.

Q : Dans quelles régions le service Amazon Inspector est-il disponible ?
Amazon Inspector est actuellement disponible dans les régions Asie-Pacifique (Mumbai), Asie-Pacifique (Séoul), Asie-Pacifique (Sydney), Asie-Pacifique (Tokyo), UE (Irlande), USA Est (Virginie du Nord), USA Ouest (Californie du Nord) et USA Ouest (Oregon).

Q : Quelles versions de noyau Linux sont prises en charge par Amazon Inspector ?
Vous disposez ici de la liste à jour des versions de noyau Linux prises en charge pour les évaluations d'Amazon Inspector.

Q : Quels sont les composants du service Amazon Inspector ?
Amazon Inspector se compose d'un agent développé par Amazon, installé sur le système d'exploitation de vos instances Amazon EC2, et d'un service IAM, créé en un clic pendant la configuration du service Amazon Inspector. Ce rôle du service accorde des permissions à Amazon Inspector pour énumérer les instances et les tags pour le ciblage d'évaluation. Veuillez consulter la documentation Amazon Inspector pour connaître la liste actuelle des systèmes d'exploitation pris en charge.

Q : Le service Amazon Inspector semble intéressant. Comment démarrer ?
Il suffit de vous inscrire à Amazon Inspector depuis AWS Management Console. Une fois votre inscription effectuée, installez l'agent Amazon Inspector approprié sur vos instances Amazon EC2, créez un nouveau modèle d'évaluation, sélectionnez les packages de règles que vous souhaitez utiliser et planifiez une exécution d'évaluation. Une fois le processus terminé, le système génère un rapport de résultats répertoriant tous les problèmes identifiés au niveau de votre environnement.

Q : Le service Amazon Inspector fonctionne-t-il avec les solutions des partenaires AWS ?
Oui, Amazon Inspector possède des API publiques que les clients et partenaires AWS peuvent utiliser. Plusieurs partenaires ont intégré Amazon Inspector en incorporant les résultats dans des systèmes de messagerie électronique, des systèmes de tickets, des plates-formes de bipeurs ou des tableaux de bord de sécurité plus vastes. Pour en savoir plus sur les partenaires, veuillez consulter la page de présentation des partenaires Amazon Inspector.

Q : J'utilise le protocole NAT pour mes instances. Sont-elles compatibles avec Amazon Inspector ?
Oui. Les instances utilisant le NAT sont prises en charge par Amazon Inspector sans nécessiter d'action particulière de votre part.

Q : J'utilise un proxy pour mes instances. Sont-elles compatibles avec Amazon Inspector ?
Oui. L'agent Amazon Inspector prend en charge les environnements de proxy. Les proxy HTTPS sont pris en charge pour les instances Linux, de même que le proxy WinHTTP pour les instances Windows. Consultez le guide de l'utilisateur Amazon InspectorUser Guide pour configurer la prise en charge d'un proxy par l'agent Amazon Inspector.

Q : Dans quelles applications la solution Amazon Inspector recherche-t-elle des vulnérabilités ?
Amazon Inspector identifie les applications en interrogeant le gestionnaire de package ou le système d'installation des logiciels sur le système d'exploitation où est installé l'agent. Ainsi, l'évaluation des vulnérabilités porte sur tous les logiciels installés via le gestionnaire de package. La version et le niveau de patch des logiciels installés via d'autres méthodes ne sont pas reconnus par Amazon Inspector. Par exemple, les logiciels installés via apt, yum ou Microsoft Installer sont évalués par Amazon Inspector. Les logiciels installés via les commandes make config et make install, ou via des fichiers binaires directement copiés sur le système à l'aide de logiciels d'automatisation (comme Puppet ou Ansible) ne sont pas évalués par Amazon Inspector.

Q : Où puis-je trouver des informations sur les métriques dans mes évaluations Amazon Inspector ?
Amazon Inspector publie automatiquement des données de métrique sur vos évaluations dans Amazon CloudWatch. Si vous utilisez CloudWatch, les statistiques d'évaluation de votre Inspector sont chargées automatiquement. Les métriques d'Inspector actuellement disponibles sont les suivantes : nombre d'évaluations exécutées, agents ciblés et résultats générés. Consultez la documentation sur Amazon Inspector pour en savoir plus sur les métriques d'évaluation publiées dans CloudWatch.

Q : Le service Amazon Inspector peut-il être intégré à d'autres services AWS pour la journalisation et les notifications ?
Amazon Inspector peut être intégré à SNS pour émettre des notifications concernant différents événements tels que les étapes de surveillance, les défaillances ou l'expiration des exceptions et peut être intégré à AWS CloudTrail pour la consignation des appels vers Amazon Inspector.

Q : Je souhaiterais régulièrement automatiser l'évaluation de mon infrastructure. Proposez-vous un mode de soumission automatisé des évaluations ?
Oui. Amazon Inspector fournit une API complète permettant la création automatique d'environnements d'application, la création d'évaluations, l'évaluation de politiques, la création d'exceptions de politique, des filtres, ainsi que l'extraction des résultats.

Q : Puis-je prévoir que des évaluations de sécurité s'exécutent à certaines dates et certaines heures ?
Oui. Amazon Inspector a mis à votre disposition un plan AWS Lambda pour la création d'événements réguliers planifiés. Une fois que vous avez créé un modèle d'analyse pour l'analyse de sécurité que vous souhaitez exécuter, il vous suffit d'accéder à AWS Lambda depuis l'AWS Management Console. Dans AWS Lambda, cliquez sur « Create a Lambda function » et sélectionnez le plan « inspector-scheduled-run ». Le plan vous explique étape par étape la création d'un programme régulier pour l'exécution de votre analyse.

Q : Le service Amazon Inspector peut-il être exécuté sans tagging des ressources ?
Non. Avec Amazon Inspector, vous devez utiliser des tags d'instance Amazon EC2 pour pouvoir exécuter une évaluation.

Q : L'exécution d'une analyse Amazon Inspector a-t-elle un impact sur les performances ?
Amazon Inspector et son agent ont été conçus pour avoir un impact minimal sur les performances pendant l'exécution d'une évaluation.

Q : Puis-je définir mes propres règles pour les templates d'évaluation ?
Non. Seules les règles prédéfinies sont initialement autorisées pour les exécutions d'évaluation. Cependant, au fil du temps, nous envisageons d'inclure des ensembles de règles premium provenant de fournisseurs sur AWS Marketplace et des règles personnalisées auto-développées.

Q : qu'est-ce que la sévérité d'un résultat ?
Chaque règle Amazon Inspector a un niveau de sévérité associé, qu'Amazon classe en élevé, moyen, bas ou informatif. La sévérité vous aide à hiérarchiser vos réponses face aux résultats.

Q : qu'est-ce que le package de règles « Références de configuration de sécurité du Center for Internet Security pour les systèmes d'exploitation » ?
Les références de sécurité du CIS sont fournies par le Center for Internet Security et sont les seuls guides consensuels de bonnes pratiques en matière de configuration de sécurité. Ils sont développés et acceptés par les gouvernements, les entreprises, le secteur économique et le monde universitaire. Amazon Web Services est une entreprise membre des références de sécurité du CIS et la liste des certifications d'Amazon Inspector peut être consultée ici. Les règles de références CIS sont conçues comme des vérifications de sécurité réussies/échouées. Pour chaque vérification CIS échouée, Inspector génère un résultat avec une sévérité élevée. De plus, un résultat informatif est généré pour chaque instance qui liste toutes les règles CIS réussies et le résultat réussite/échec pour chaque règle.

Q : qu'est-ce que le package de règles « Vulnérabilités et expositions habituelles » ?
Les règles de faiblesses et expositions habituelles ou CVE vérifient l'exposition à des failles et des expositions de sécurité d'informations généralement connues. Les détails sur les règles CVE sont mis à disposition de tous sur la National Vulnerability Database (NVD). Nous utilisons le NVD's Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS) comme source principale pour les informations de sévérité. Dans le cas où une CVE n'est pas noté par la NVD mais est présente dans l'Amazon Linux AMI Security Advisory (ALAS), nous utilisons la sévérité de l'avis d'Amazon Linux. Dans le cas où aucun score n'est disponible pour une CVE, nous ne reportons pas cette CVE comme résultat. Nous vérifions chaque jour les actualités de NVD et d'ALAS et nous mettons à jour nos packages de règles en conséquence.

Q : comment la sévérité est-elle déterminée ?
La sévérité d'une règle se base sur l'impact potentiel du problème de sécurité trouvé. Bien que certains packages de règles aient des niveaux de sévérité intégrés à la règle qu'ils fournissent, ce paramètre change souvent suivant l'ensemble de règles. Amazon Inspector normalise la sévérité des résultats dans l'ensemble des packages de règles disponibles en mappant les gravités individuelles aux classifications courantes élevée, moyenne, basse et informative. Pour les résultats avec une sévérité élevée, moyenne et basse, plus la sévérité du résultat est élevée, plus le problème sous-jacent a un impact de sécurité. Les résultats classés comme informatifs vous avertissent de problèmes de sécurité qui n'ont peut-être pas d'impact immédiat.

  • Pour les packages de règles pris en charge AWS, la sévérité est déterminée par l'équipe de sécurité AWS.
  • La sévérité du résultat du package de règles de références CIS est toujours paramétrée sur « élevée ».
  • Pour le package de règles CVE, Amazon Inspector a mappé la notation de base CVSS et les niveaux de sévérité ALAS fournis :
            sévérité Amazon Inspector        notation de base CVSS           gravité ALAS (si CVSS n'est pas noté)
            Elevée                                               >= 5                                  critique ou importante
            Moyenne                                         < 5 et >= 2,1                   moyenne
            Basse                                               < 2,1 et >= 0,8                basse
            Informative                                 < 0,8                                  non applicable

 

Q : Lorsque je décris les résultats via l'API (DescribeFindings), chaque résultat a un attribut « numericSeverity ». Qu'est-ce que cela signifie ?
L'attribut « numericSeverity » est la représentation numérique de la sévérité d'un résultat. Les valeurs attribuées à chaque niveau de sévérité sont les suivantes :
            Informative = 0,0
            Faible = 3,0
            Moyenne = 6,0
            Elevée = 9,0

Q: What is Amazon Inspector?
Amazon Inspector is an automated security assessment service that helps you test the security state of your applications running on Amazon EC2.

Q: What can I do with Amazon Inspector?
Amazon Inspector allows you to automate security vulnerability assessments throughout your development and deployment pipeline or against static production systems. This allows you to make security testing a more regular occurrence as part of development and IT operations. Amazon Inspector is agent-based, API-driven, and delivered as a service to make it easy to deploy, manage, and automate.

Get Started with Amazon Inspector

Create a Free Account

Q: What makes up the Amazon Inspector service?
Amazon Inspector consists of an Amazon-developed agent that is installed in the operating system of your Amazon EC2 instances and a security assessment service that uses telemetry from the agent and AWS configuration to assess instances for security exposures and vulnerabilities.

Q: What is an assessment template?
An assessment template is a configuration that you create in Amazon Inspector to define your assessment run. This assessment template includes a rules package against which you want Amazon Inspector to evaluate your assessment target, the duration of the assessment run, Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) topics to which you want Amazon Inspector to send notifications about assessment run states and findings, and Amazon Inspector-specific attributes (key/value pairs) that you can assign to findings generated by the assessment run.

Q: What is an assessment run?
An assessment run is the process of discovering potential security issues through the analysis of your assessment target's configuration and behavior against specified rule packages. During an assessment run, the agent monitors, collects, and analyzes behavioral data (telemetry) within the specified target, such as the use of secure channels, network traffic among running processes, and details of communication with AWS services. Next, the agent analyzes the data and compares it against a set of security rule packages specified in the assessment template used during the assessment run. A completed assessment run produces a list of findings - potential security issues of various severity.

Q: Is there any performance impact during an Amazon Inspector assessment run?
Amazon Inspector and the Amazon Inspector Agent have been designed for minimal performance impact during the assessment run process.

Q: What is an assessment target?
An assessment target represents a collection of AWS resources that work together as a unit to help you accomplish your business goal(s). Amazon Inspector evaluates the security state of the resources that constitute the assessment target. You create an assessment target by using Amazon EC2 tags, and you can then define these tagged resources as an assessment target for an assessment run defined by the assessment template.

Q: What is a finding?
A finding is a potential security issue discovered during the Amazon Inspector assessment run of the specified target. Findings are displayed in the Amazon Inspector console or retrieved through the API, and contain both a detailed description of the security issue and a recommendation on how to fix it.

Q: What is a rules package?
A rules package is a collection of security tests that can be configured as part of an assessment template and assessment run. Amazon Inspector has many rules packages including common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE), Center for Internet Security (CIS) Operating System configuration benchmarks, and security best practices. See the Amazon Inspector documentation for a full list of rules packages available.

Q: Can I define my own rules for assessment templates?
No. Only the pre-defined rules will initially be allowed for assessment runs. However, over time we are exploring the inclusion of both premium rules sets from vendors in the AWS Marketplace and self-developed custom rules.

Q: Which applications can Inspector analyze for vulnerabilities?
Amazon Inspector finds applications by querying the package manager or software installation system on the operating system where the agent is installed. This means that software that was installed through the package manager is assessed for vulnerabilities. The version and patch level of software that is not installed through these methods is not recognized by Inspector. For example, software installed via apt, yum, or Microsoft Installer will be assessed by Inspector. Software installed through make config / make install, or binary files copied directly to the system using automation software such as Puppet or Ansible will not be assessed by Inspector.

Q: What is an assessment report, and what does it include?
An Amazon Inspector assessment report can be generated for an assessment run once it has been successfully completed. An assessment report is a document that details what is tested in the assessment run, and the results of the assessment. The results of your assessment are formatted into a standard report, which can be generated to share results within your team for remediation actions, to enrich compliance audit data, or to store for future reference.

You can select from two types of report for your assessment, a findings report or a full report. The findings report contains an executive summary of the assessment, the instances targeted, the rules packages tested, the rules that generated findings, and detailed information about each of these rules along with the list of instances that failed the check. The full report contains all the information in the findings report, and additionally provides the list of rules that were checked and passed on all instances in the assessment target.

Q: What happens if some of my targets are unavailable when I run an assessment?
Amazon Inspector will gather vulnerability data for all available targets configured for the assessment template and return any appropriate security findings for the available targets. If there are no available targets for the assessment template when the run is started, the system will report that the assessment could not be run and will return the following notification: “The assessment run could not executed at this time as there are no targeted instances available for the selected assessment template.”

Q: How do Targets become unavailable?
Targets in an assessment could be unavailable for a number of reasons, such as: the EC2 instance is down or unresponsive; the Tagged (targeted) instance does not have the Amazon Inspector Agent installed; the installed Amazon Inspector Agent is unavailable or cannot return vulnerability data.

Q: What is the pricing for Amazon Inspector?
Inspector pricing is based on the number of assessment runs and the number of agents or systems that were assessed during those runs. We call this “agent-assessments.” An on-demand billing period is one calendar month like all AWS services. For example:

     1 assessment run against 1 agent = 1 agent-assessment
     1 assessment run against 10 agents = 10 agents-assessments
     10 assessment runs against 2 agents each = 20 agent-assessments
     30 assessment runs against 10 agents each = 300 agent-assessments

If the above represented the Amazon Inspector assessment runs activity in your account for a given billing period, you would be charged for 331 total agent-assessments.

The price of each individual agent-assessment is based on a tiered pricing model. As you move up the volume of agent-assessments in a given billing period, you pay a lower price per agent-assessment. For example, the first two tiers of agent-assessment pricing are:

     First 250 agent-assessments = $0.30 per agent-assessment
     Next 750 agent-assessments = $0.25 per agent-assessment

So for our example above of 331 total agent-assessments in a given billing period, you would be charged $0.30 for the first 250 and $0.25 for the next 81, or $95.25 total for the billing period. See the Amazon Inspector pricing page for the full pricing table.

Q: Is there a free trial for Amazon Inspector?
Yes. Amazon Inspector offers the first 250 agent-assessments at no cost for the first 90 days of using the service. All AWS accounts new to the Amazon Inspector service are eligible.

Q: What Operating Systems does Amazon Inspector support?
Please see the Amazon Inspector documentation for a current list of supported operating systems.

Q: In what regions is Amazon Inspector available?
Please see the Amazon Inspector documentation for a current list of supported regions.

Q: Which Linux kernel versions are supported by Amazon Inspector?
An up-to-date list of Linux kernel versions that are supported for Amazon Inspector assessments is available here.

Q: Amazon Inspector sounds great, how do I get started?
Simply sign up for Amazon Inspector from the AWS Management Console. Once signed up, you install the appropriate Amazon Inspector Agent on your Amazon EC2 instances, create a new assessment template, select the rules packages you want to use, and schedule an assessment run. Once it completes, the system will generate a findings report on any issues it identified for your environment.

Q: Does the Amazon Inspector Agent have to be installed on all of the EC2 instances I wish to assess?
Yes. During an assessment run, the Amazon Inspector Agent monitors the behavior of the operating system and applications of the EC2 instance it's installed on, collects configuation and behavioral data, and passes the data to the Amazon Inspector service.

Q: How can I install the Amazon Inspector Agent?
There are several ways to install the agent. For simple installations, you can install it manually on each instance or do a one-time load using the AWS Systems Manager Run Command document (AmazonInspector-ManageAWSAgent). For larger deployments, you can automate agent installations using the EC2 User Data Function when configuring your instances or you can create automated installs of the agent using AWS Lambda. You can also launch an EC2 instance using the Amazon Linux AMI with the pre-installed Amazon Inspector Agent from the EC2 Console or the AWS Marketplace.

Q: How do I check whether the Amazon Inspector Agent is installed and healthy on my EC2 instances?
You can view the status of the Amazon Inspector Agent for all the EC2 instances in your assessment target by using the ‘Preview Targets’ functionality available in the Inspector console and through the PreviewAgents API query. Agent status includes whether the agent is installed on the EC2 instance and the health of the agent. Along with the Inspector Agent status on the targeted EC2 instance, the instance ID, public hostname, and public IP address (if defined) are also displayed, along with links into the EC2 console for each instance.

Q: Can Amazon Inspector run without tagging the resources?
No. Amazon Inspector requires you to use Amazon EC2 instance tags in order to run an assessment.

Q: Does Amazon Inspector access other AWS services in my account?
Amazon Inspector needs to enumerate your EC2 instances and tags to identify the instances specified in the assessment target. Amazon Inspector gets access to these through a service-linked role that is created on your behalf when you get started with Inspector as a new customer or in a new region. The Inspector service-linked role is managed by Amazon Inspector, so you don’t have to worry about inadvertently revoking permissions required by Amazon Inspector. For some existing customers, an IAM role that was registered while getting started with Inspector might be used for accessing other AWS services until the Inspector service-linked role is created. You can create the Inspector service-linked role through the Inspector console’s dashboard page.

Q: I use a Network Address Translation (NAT) for my instances. Will Amazon Inspector work with these instances?
Yes. Instances that use a NAT are supported by Amazon Inspector with no action required from you.

Q: I use a Proxy for my instances. Will Amazon Inspector work with these instances?
Yes. The Amazon Inspector Agent supports proxy environments. For Linux instances, we support HTTPS Proxy, and for Windows instances, we support WinHTTP proxy. See the Amazon Inspector User Guide for instructions to configure Proxy support for the Amazon Inspector Agent.

Q: I would like to automate the assessment of my infrastructure on a regular basis. Do you provide an automated way to submit assessments?
Yes. Amazon Inspector provides a full API allowing automatic creation of application environments, creation of assessments, evaluation of policies, creation of policy exceptions, and filters as well as retrieval of the results.

Q: Can I schedule security assessments to run at certain dates and times?
Yes. Amazon Inspector assessments can be triggered by any Amazon CloudWatch Event. You can set up a recurring Schedule event with either a simple fixed recurring rate or a more detailed Cron expression.

Q: Can I trigger security assessments to run based on an event?
Yes. You can use Amazon CloudWatch Events to create event patterns which monitor other AWS services for actions to trigger an assessment. For example, you can create an event which monitors AWS Auto Scaling for new Amazon EC2 Instances being launched, or monitors AWS CodeDeploy notifications for when a code deployment has been successfully completed. Once CloudWatch Events have been configured against Amazon Inspector templates, these assessment events will be displayed in the Inspector console as part of your assessment templates so you can see all of the automated triggers for that assessment.

Q: Can I set up Amazon Inspector assessments through AWS CloudFormation?
Yes, you can create Amazon Inspector resource groups, assessment targets, and assessment templates using AWS CloudFormation templates. This allows you to automatically set up security assessments for your EC2 instances as they are deployed. In your CloudFormation template, you can also bootstrap installation of the Inspector Agent on EC2 instances by using agent installation commands in either AWS::CloudFormation::Init or EC2 user data. Alternatively, you can create EC2 instances in your CloudFormation template using an AMI with the Inspector Agent pre-installed.

Q: Where can I find metrics information on my Amazon Inspector assessments?
Amazon Inspector automatically publishes metrics data on your assessments to Amazon CloudWatch. If you are a CloudWatch user, your Inspector assessment statistics will automatically be populated to CloudWatch. The Inspector metrics that are currently available are: number of assessment runs, agents targeted, and findings generated. For more details, see the Amazon Inspector documentation for details on the assessment metrics published to CloudWatch.

Q: Can Amazon Inspector be integrated with other AWS services for logging and notifications?
Amazon Inspector integrates with Amazon SNS to provide notification for various events such as monitoring milestones, failures, or expiration of exceptions and integrates with AWS CloudTrail for logging of calls to Amazon Inspector.

Q: What is the “CIS Operating System Security Configuration Benchmarks” rules package?
CIS Security Benchmarks are provided by the Center for Internet Security and are the only consensus-based, best-practice security configuration guides both developed and accepted by government, business, industry, and academia. Amazon Web Services is a CIS Security Benchmarks Member company and the list of Amazon Inspector certifications can be viewed here. CIS benchmark rules are designed to be pass/fail security checks. For every CIS check that fails, Inspector generates a finding with High severity. Additionally, an Informational finding is generated for each instance that lists all the CIS rules that are checked, and the pass/fail result for each rule.

Q: What is the “Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures” rules package?
The Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures or CVE rules check for exposure to publicly known information security vulnerabilities and exposures. CVE rule details are available publicly at the National Vulnerability Database (NVD). We use the NVD's Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS) as the primary source of severity information. In case a CVE is not scored by NVD but is present in Amazon Linux AMI Security Advisory (ALAS), we use the severity from Amazon Linux advisory. In case neither of these scores is available for a CVE, we do not report that CVE as a finding. We check daily for latest information from NVD and ALAS and update our rules packages accordingly.

Q: What is the severity of a finding?
Each Amazon Inspector rule has an assigned severity level, which Amazon has classified as High, Medium, Low, or Informational. Severity is intended to help you prioritize your responses to findings.

Q: How is the severity determined?
Severity of a rule is based on potential impact of the security issue found. Although some rules packages have Severity levels provided as part of the rules they provide, these can often differ by rules set. Amazon Inspector has normalized the severity for findings across all available rules packages by mapping the individual severities to common High, Medium, Low, and Informational classifications. For “High”, “Medium”, and “Low” severity findings, the higher the severity of the finding, the more security impact the underlying issue has. Findings that are classified as “Informational” are provided to advise you of security issues which might not have an immediate security impact.

  • For AWS supported rules packages, the severity is determined by the AWS security team.
  • The CIS Benchmarks rules package findings always have severity set to “High”.
  • For the Common Vulnerabilities & Exploits (CVE) rules package, Amazon Inspector has mapped the provided CVSS Base Scoring and ALAS Severity levels provided:
            Amazon Inspector Severity        CVSS Base Score           ALAS Severity (if CVSS not scored)
            High                                               >= 5                                  Critical or Important
            Medium                                         < 5 and >= 2.1                   Medium
            Low                                               < 2.1 and >= 0.8                Low
            Informational                                 < 0.8                                  N/A

Q: When I describe findings via the API (DescribeFindings), each finding has a “numericSeverity” attribute. What does this attribute signify?
The “numericSeverity” attribute is the numeric representation of the severity of a finding. The numeric severity values map to Severity as follows:
            Informational = 0.0
            Low = 3.0
            Medium = 6.0
            High = 9.0

Q: Does Amazon Inspector work with AWS partner solutions?
Yes, Amazon Inspector has public facing APIs that are available for customers and AWS partners to utilize. Several partners have integrated with Amazon Inspector incorporating findings into email, ticketing systems, pager platforms, or broader security dashboards. For detail on supporting partners, please visit the Amazon Inspector Partners page.