问:什么是 Amazon Inspector?
Amazon Inspector 是一款自动化安全评估服务,可帮助您测试 Amazon EC2 上运行的应用程序的安全状态。

问:Amazon Inspector 有什么用处?
Amazon Inspector 可帮助您在整个开发和部署流程中或针对静态生产系统实现安全漏洞评估自动化。这样,您便可在开发和 IT 运营流程中更有规律地进行安全测试。Amazon Inspector 基于代理,由 API 驱动,并且以服务形式进行交付,从而使其易于部署、管理和自动化。

开始使用 Amazon Inspector

创建免费账户

问:Amazon Inspector 服务包括哪些内容?
Amazon Inspector 包含 Amazon EC2 实例的操作系统中所安装的由 Amazon 开发的代理,以及使用来自代理和 AWS 配置的遥测数据来评估实例中是否存在安全风险和漏洞的安全评估服务。

问:什么是评估模板?
评估模板是指在 Amazon Inspector 中创建的一项配置,用于定义评估运行。此评估模板包括规则包 (您希望 Amazon Inspector 根据其评估您的评估目标)、评估运行的持续时间、Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) 主题 (您希望 Amazon Inspector 向其发送有关评估运行状态和结果的通知) 以及 Amazon Inspector 的特定属性 (键/值对),您可以将这些属性指定给由评估运行生成的结果。

问:什么是评估运行?
评估运行是指通过根据指定的规则包分析评估目标的配置和行为来发现潜在安全问题的过程。在进行评估运行期间,代理将监控、收集和分析特定目标内的行为数据(遥测法),如安全通道的使用情况、正在运行的进程中的网络流量以及与 AWS 服务的通信详情。接下来,代理将分析数据并将其与评估运行期间所用评估模板中指定的一组安全规则包进行对比。完整的评估运行会生成结果列表(不同严重程度的潜在安全问题)。

问:在 Amazon Inspector 评估运行期间性能是否会受影响?
为了在评估运行过程中最大限度地降低对性能的影响,Amazon Inspector 和 Amazon Inspector 代理已经过专门设计。

问:什么是评估目标?
评估目标是指一组作为一个单元协同工作以助您实现业务目标的 AWS 资源。Amazon Inspector 会对评估目标所含资源的安全状态进行评估。您可以使用 Amazon EC2 标签来创建评估目标,然后将这些已添加标签的资源定义为评估目标,该目标将用于评估模板所定义的评估运行。

问:什么是结果?
结果是指在对特定目标进行 Amazon Inspector 评估运行的过程中所发现的潜在安全问题。结果显示在 Amazon Inspector 控制台中,也可以通过 API 进行检索,它既包括对安全问题的详细描述,又包括解决问题的建议。

问:什么是规则包?
规则包是指一组安全测试,可以将其作为评估模板和评估运行的一部分进行配置。Amazon Inspector 有很多规则包,其中包括常见漏洞 (CVE)、Center for Internet Security (CIS) 操作系统配置基准和安全最佳实践。有关可用规则包的完整列表,请参阅 Amazon Inspector 文档

问:能否自定义评估模板的规则?
不能。最初只允许评估运行使用预定义的规则。不过,我们会继续探索,争取加入 AWS Marketplace 中的供应商提供的高级规则集和自主开发的自定义规则。

问:Inspector 可以分析哪些应用程序的漏洞?
Amazon Inspector 通过查询安装了代理的操作系统上的软件包管理器或软件安装系统来查找应用程序。这意味着它可以对通过软件包管理器安装的软件执行漏洞评估。对于未通过这些方法安装的软件版本和补丁级别,Inspector 则无法识别。例如,通过 apt、yum 或 Microsoft 安装程序安装的软件可以由 Inspector 进行评估,而通过 make config/make install 安装的软件,或通过使用 Puppet 或 Ansible 等自动化软件将二进制文件直接复制到系统进行安装的软件,则无法由 Inspector 进行评估。

问:什么是评估报告,评估报告包含哪些内容?
评估运行流程成功完成后,即会生成一份 Amazon Inspector 评估报告。评估报告是一份文档,详细说明评估运行流程中测试的内容以及评估结果。评估结果采用标准报告格式,可在生成后与团队成员共享,以便进行修复操作,从而丰富合规审核数据或留存以供将来参考。

评估报告有结果报告和完整报告这两种类型,您可以从中为您的评估进行选择。结果报告包含评估的执行摘要、针对的实例、测试的规则包、生成结果的规则和每条规则的详细信息,以及未通过审核的实例的列表。完整报告除包含结果报告中的所有信息外,还提供了在评估目标中针对所有实例接受审查且通过审查的规则的列表。

问:如果在我运行评估时一些目标不可用,会出现什么情况?
Amazon Inspector 将收集为评估模板所配置的所有可用目标的漏洞数据,并返回与可用目标对应的所有安全性检查结果。如果启动运行时没有可用于评估模板的目标,系统将报告无法运行评估并返回以下通知消息:“由于没有可用于所选评估模板的目标实例,当前无法执行评估。”

问:目标在何种情况下会不可用?
评估中的目标可能会不可用,原因有多种,例如:EC2 实例处于关闭状态或无响应;标记 (设为目标) 的实例未安装 Amazon Inspector 代理;安装的 Amazon Inspector 代理不可用或不能返回漏洞数据。

问:Amazon Inspector 如何定价?
Inspector 的定价基于评估运行的次数以及在进行这些运行期间所评估的代理或系统的数量。我们将此称为“代理评估”。与所有 AWS 服务类似,按需计费周期是指一个日历月。例如:

针对 1 个代理的 1 次评估运行 = 1 个代理评估
针对 10 个代理的 1 次评估运行 = 10 个代理评估
针对 2 个代理中每个代理的 10 次评估运行 = 20 个代理评估
针对 10 个代理中每个代理的 30 次评估运行 = 300 个代理评估

如果上述内容表示在给定计费周期内您的账户中 Amazon Inspector 评估运行的活动数,则将向您收取共 331 个代理评估的费用。

各个代理评估的价格将根据分级定价模型而定。随着给定计费周期内您的代理评估数量的增加,每个代理评估的支付价格将更低。例如,前两个级别的代理评估定价为:

前 250 个代理评估 = 每个代理评估 0.30 USD
之后的 750 个代理评估 = 每个代理评估 0.25 USD

因此,对于上述示例中给定计费周期内总数为 331 的代理评估,前 250 个的价格为 0.30 USD,之后的 81 个的价格为 0.25 USD,即计费周期内的全部费用为 95.25 USD。有关完整的定价表,请参阅 Amazon Inspector 定价页面。

问:Amazon Inspector 是否提供免费试用版?
是的。在使用该服务的前 90 天内可免费使用 Amazon Inspector 的前 250 个代理评估。新加入 Amazon Inspector 服务的所有 AWS 账户都符合条件。

问:Amazon Inspector 支持哪些操作系统?
有关受支持操作系统的最新列表,请参阅 Amazon Inspector 文档

问:在哪些地区可以使用 Amazon Inspector?
有关受支持地区的最新列表,请参阅 Amazon Inspector 文档

问:哪些 Linux 内核版本支持 Amazon Inspector 评估?
通过使用通用漏洞披露 (CVE)、互联网安全中心 (CIS) 基准,或与内核版本无关的安全性最佳实践规则包,您可以为配备基于 Linux 的操作系统的 EC2 实例运行成功的评估。但是,要使用运行时行为分析规则包运行评估,您的 Linux 实例必须具有支持 Amazon Inspector 的内核版本。此处提供了支持 Amazon Inspector 评估的 Linux 内核版本的最新列表。

问:Amazon Inspector 听起来很棒,如何开始使用?
只需在 AWS 管理控制台中注册 Amazon Inspector。注册完成后,在 Amazon EC2 实例上安装合适的 Amazon Inspector 代理、创建新的评估模板、选择要使用的规则包,然后安排一次评估运行。完成评估运行后,系统将针对其在您的环境中发现的所有问题生成一份结果报告。

问:是否需要将 Amazon Inspector 代理安装在我要评估的所有 EC2 实例上?
是的。在评估运行期间,Amazon Inspector 代理将监控它所在的 EC2 实例的操作系统和应用程序的行为,收集配置和行为数据,并将数据传递给 Amazon Inspector 服务。

问:如何安装 Amazon Inspector 代理?
可通过多种方式来安装代理。对于简单安装,您可以在每个实例上手动安装,或者使用 AWS Systems Manager Run Command 文档 (AmazonInspector-ManageAWSAgent) 进行一次性加载。对于大型部署,您可以在配置实例时使用 EC2 用户数据功能自动安装代理,也可以使用 AWS Lambda 创建自动化的代理安装。您还可以通过从 EC2 控制台或 AWS Marketplace 将 Amazon Linux AMI 与预安装的 Amazon Inspector 代理结合使用来启动 EC2 实例。

问:如何检查 Amazon Inspector 代理是否已安装在我的 EC2 实例上并且正常运行?
您可以通过 Inspector 控制台中提供的“预览目标”功能以及 PreviewAgents API 查询,查看评估目标中所有 EC2 实例的 Amazon Inspector 代理状态。代理状态包括代理是否已安装在 EC2 实例上以及代理的运行状况。除了目标 EC2 实例上的 Inspector 代理状态,还会显示实例 ID、公有主机名和公有 IP 地址 (如果已定义),以及每个实例的 EC2 控制台链接。

问:Amazon Inspector 可以在不为资源添加标签的情况下运行吗?
不能。Amazon Inspector 需要您使用 Amazon EC2 实例标签来运行评估。

问:Amazon Inspector 是否会访问我账户中的其他 AWS 服务?
Amazon Inspector 需要枚举 EC2 实例和标签以识别评估目标中指定的实例。当您作为新客户或在新地区开始使用 Inspector 时,Amazon Inspector 会通过代表您创建的服务相关角色来访问这些内容。Inspector 服务相关角色由 Amazon Inspector 进行管理,因此您无需担心意外撤销了 Amazon Inspector 所需的权限。对于某些现有客户,在开始使用 Inspector 时注册的 IAM 角色可用于访问其他 AWS 服务,直到创建 Inspector 服务相关角色。您可以通过 Inspector 控制台的控制面板页面创建 Inspector 服务相关角色。

问:我的实例使用网络地址转换 (NAT)。Amazon Inspector 能否与这些实例配合使用?
可以。Amazon Inspector 支持使用 NAT 的实例,不需要您进行操作。

问:我的实例使用代理。Amazon Inspector 能否与这些实例配合使用?
可以。Amazon Inspector 代理支持代理环境对于 Linux 实例,我们支持 HTTPS 代理;对于 Windows 实例,我们支持 WinHTTP 代理。请参阅 Amazon Inspector 用户指南,了解如何为 AWS Inspector 代理配置代理支持。

问:我希望对基础设施定期自动进行评估,贵方是否提供自动提交评估的方式?
是的。Amazon Inspector 提供了一个完整的 API,允许自动创建应用环境、创建评估、评估策略、创建策略异常、创建筛选条件以及检索结果。

问:我能否安排安全评估在特定日期和时间运行?
可以。Amazon Inspector 评估可由任何 Amazon CloudWatch 事件触发。您可以使用简单的固定重复率或更详细的 Cron 表达式来设置重复的计划事件。

问:我可以触发基于事件运行的安全评估吗?
可以。您可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch Events 创建事件模式以监控其他 AWS 服务中是否存在触发评估的操作。例如,您可以创建一个事件来监控 AWS Auto Scaling 是否启动了新的 Amazon EC2 实例,或者监控 AWS CodeDeploy 通知以了解代码部署是否成功完成。一旦针对 Amazon Inspector 模板配置了 CloudWatch 事件,这些评估事件将作为评估模板的一部分显示在 Inspector 控制台中,以便您可以查看该评估的所有自动触发器。

问:我可以通过 AWS CloudFormation 设置 Amazon Inspector 评估吗?
是的,您可以使用 AWS CloudFormation 模板创建 Amazon Inspector 资源组、评估目标和评估模板。这样,可以在部署 EC2 实例时为其自动设置安全评估。在 CloudFormation 模板中,您还可以在 AWS::CloudFormation::InitEC2 用户数据脚本中使用代理安装命令,从而在 EC2 实例上进行 Inspector 代理的引导安装。或者,也可以通过使用带预安装 Inspector 代理的 AMI,在 CloudFormation 模板中创建 EC2 实例。

问:从哪里可以找到关于 Amazon Inspector 评估的指标信息?
Amazon Inspector 会自动将关于评估的指标数据发布到 Amazon CloudWatch。如果您是 CloudWatch 用户,那么您的 Inspector 评估统计数据会被自动填充到 CloudWatch 中。目前提供的 Inspector 指标包括评估次数、定为目标的代理和生成的结果。有关更多详细信息,请参阅 Amazon Inspector 文档,其中包含关于发布到 CloudWatch 的评估指标的详细信息。

问:Amazon Inspector 可以与其他 AWS 服务集成来进行日志记录和提供通知吗?
Amazon Inspector 通过与 Amazon SNS 集成来提供有关各种事件 (如监控重要事件、故障或异常到期) 的通知,通过与 AWS CloudTrail 集成来记录对 Amazon Inspector 的调用。

问:什么是“CIS 操作系统安全配置基准测试”规则包?
CIS 安全基准测试由 Internet 安全中心提供,仅仅是基于一致同意的最佳实践安全配置指南,由政府部门、工商企业和学术界共同开发和认可。Amazon Web Services 是 CIS 安全基准测试会员公司,可在此处查看 Amazon Inspector 证书列表。CIS 基准测试规则是一系列通过/失败安全检查。对于每一项失败的 CIS 检查,Inspector 会生成一个高严重性的问题。此外,Inspector 会为每个实例生成一个信息问题,列出其检查的所有 CIS 规则以及每条规则的通过/失败结果。

问:什么是“常见漏洞”规则包?
常见漏洞 (CVE) 规则可检查已公布的信息安全漏洞。CVE 规则详情可在美国国家漏洞数据库 (NVD) 中公开查询。我们使用 NVD 的通用漏洞评分系统 (CVSS) 作为严重性信息的主要来源。如果 CVE 在 NVD 中没有评分,但存在于 Amazon Linux AMI 安全报告 (ALAS) 中,则我们使用来自 Amazon Linux 报告的严重性。如果 CVE 没有这两种评分,则我们不会将该 CVE 报告为问题。我们会每天检查 NVD 和 ALAS 中的最新信息,并对我们的规则包进行相应的更新。

问:什么是问题的严重性?
每条 Amazon Inspector 规则都会分配一个严重性等级,Amazon 将其分类为高、中、低或信息。严重性可帮助区分您响应问题时的优先级。

问:如何确定严重性?
规则的严重性基于所发现的安全问题的潜在影响。尽管有些规则包会在提供的规则中包含严重性等级,但这种情况通常会随规则集而变化。Amazon Inspector 将各自的严重性等级对应到常见的高、中、低和信息分类,从而在所有可用的规则包中规范了问题的严重性。对于“高”、“中”和“低”严重性问题,问题的严重性越高,底层问题的安全影响就越大。而被分类为“信息”的问题则是告诉您这些安全性问题可能不会立即对安全造成影响。

  • 对于 AWS 支持的规则包,严重性由 AWS 安全组决定。
  • CIS 基准测试规则包问题始终具有“高”严重性。
  • 对于常见漏洞 (CVE) 规则包,Amazon Inspector 将对应到已提供的 CVSS 基准评分和 ALAS 严重性等级:
    Amazon Inspector 严重性 CVSS 基准评分 ALAS 严重性 (如果没有 CVSS 评分)
    高 >= 5 严重或重要
    中 < 5 且 >= 2.1 中
    低 < 2.1 且 >= 0.8 低
    信息 < 0.8 不适用

问:当通过 API 描述问题时 (DescribeFindings),每个问题都有“numericSeverity”属性。这个属性代表什么意思?
“numericSeverity”属性是问题严重性的数字表现形式。数字严重性值与严重性的映射关系如下所示:
            信息 = 0.0
            低 = 3.0
            中 = 6.0
            高 = 9.0

问:Amazon Inspector 可与 AWS 合作伙伴解决方案搭配使用吗?
可以,Amazon Inspector 配有面向公众的 API,这些 API 可供客户和 AWS 合作伙伴使用。一些合作伙伴已与 Amazon Inspector 集成,可将结果整合到电子邮件、票证系统、寻呼台或更加广泛的安全仪表板中。有关受支持合作伙伴的详细信息,请访问 Amazon Inspector 合作伙伴页面。

问:Amazon Inspector 服务是否符合 HIPAA 要求?
是的,Amazon Inspector 服务符合 HIPAA 要求,并且已被加入 AWS 商业伙伴协议 (BAA)。如果您已与 AWS 签订商业伙伴协议,那么您可以在包含受保护健康信息 (PHI) 的 EC2 实例上运行 Inspector。

问:Amazon Inspector 支持哪些合规性和保障计划?
Inspector 支持 SOC 1、SOC 2、SOC 3、ISO 9001、ISO 27001、ISO 27017、ISO 27018 和 HIPAA。Inspector 满足对 FedRAMP 实施的控制,目前我们在等待审计报告完成。如果您想要了解 AWS 按合规性计划提供的范围内服务的更多信息,请访问范围内的 AWS 产品页面

Q: What is Amazon Inspector?
Amazon Inspector is an automated security assessment service that helps you test the security state of your applications running on Amazon EC2.

Q: What can I do with Amazon Inspector?
Amazon Inspector allows you to automate security vulnerability assessments throughout your development and deployment pipeline or against static production systems. This allows you to make security testing a more regular occurrence as part of development and IT operations. Amazon Inspector is agent-based, API-driven, and delivered as a service to make it easy to deploy, manage, and automate.

Get Started with Amazon Inspector

Create a Free Account

Q: What makes up the Amazon Inspector service?
Amazon Inspector consists of an Amazon-developed agent that is installed in the operating system of your Amazon EC2 instances and a security assessment service that uses telemetry from the agent and AWS configuration to assess instances for security exposures and vulnerabilities.

Q: What is an assessment template?
An assessment template is a configuration that you create in Amazon Inspector to define your assessment run. This assessment template includes a rules package against which you want Amazon Inspector to evaluate your assessment target, the duration of the assessment run, Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) topics to which you want Amazon Inspector to send notifications about assessment run states and findings, and Amazon Inspector-specific attributes (key/value pairs) that you can assign to findings generated by the assessment run.

Q: What is an assessment run?
An assessment run is the process of discovering potential security issues through the analysis of your assessment target's configuration and behavior against specified rule packages. During an assessment run, the agent monitors, collects, and analyzes behavioral data (telemetry) within the specified target, such as the use of secure channels, network traffic among running processes, and details of communication with AWS services. Next, the agent analyzes the data and compares it against a set of security rule packages specified in the assessment template used during the assessment run. A completed assessment run produces a list of findings - potential security issues of various severity.

Q: Is there any performance impact during an Amazon Inspector assessment run?
Amazon Inspector and the Amazon Inspector Agent have been designed for minimal performance impact during the assessment run process.

Q: What is an assessment target?
An assessment target represents a collection of AWS resources that work together as a unit to help you accomplish your business goal(s). Amazon Inspector evaluates the security state of the resources that constitute the assessment target. You create an assessment target by using Amazon EC2 tags, and you can then define these tagged resources as an assessment target for an assessment run defined by the assessment template.

Q: What is a finding?
A finding is a potential security issue discovered during the Amazon Inspector assessment run of the specified target. Findings are displayed in the Amazon Inspector console or retrieved through the API, and contain both a detailed description of the security issue and a recommendation on how to fix it.

Q: What is a rules package?
A rules package is a collection of security tests that can be configured as part of an assessment template and assessment run. Amazon Inspector has many rules packages including common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE), Center for Internet Security (CIS) Operating System configuration benchmarks, and security best practices. See the Amazon Inspector documentation for a full list of rules packages available.

Q: Can I define my own rules for assessment templates?
No. Only the pre-defined rules will initially be allowed for assessment runs. However, over time we are exploring the inclusion of both premium rules sets from vendors in the AWS Marketplace and self-developed custom rules.

Q: Which applications can Inspector analyze for vulnerabilities?
Amazon Inspector finds applications by querying the package manager or software installation system on the operating system where the agent is installed. This means that software that was installed through the package manager is assessed for vulnerabilities. The version and patch level of software that is not installed through these methods is not recognized by Inspector. For example, software installed via apt, yum, or Microsoft Installer will be assessed by Inspector. Software installed through make config / make install, or binary files copied directly to the system using automation software such as Puppet or Ansible will not be assessed by Inspector.

Q: What is an assessment report, and what does it include?
An Amazon Inspector assessment report can be generated for an assessment run once it has been successfully completed. An assessment report is a document that details what is tested in the assessment run, and the results of the assessment. The results of your assessment are formatted into a standard report, which can be generated to share results within your team for remediation actions, to enrich compliance audit data, or to store for future reference.

You can select from two types of report for your assessment, a findings report or a full report. The findings report contains an executive summary of the assessment, the instances targeted, the rules packages tested, the rules that generated findings, and detailed information about each of these rules along with the list of instances that failed the check. The full report contains all the information in the findings report, and additionally provides the list of rules that were checked and passed on all instances in the assessment target.

Q: What happens if some of my targets are unavailable when I run an assessment?
Amazon Inspector will gather vulnerability data for all available targets configured for the assessment template and return any appropriate security findings for the available targets. If there are no available targets for the assessment template when the run is started, the system will report that the assessment could not be run and will return the following notification: “The assessment run could not executed at this time as there are no targeted instances available for the selected assessment template.”

Q: How do Targets become unavailable?
Targets in an assessment could be unavailable for a number of reasons, such as: the EC2 instance is down or unresponsive; the Tagged (targeted) instance does not have the Amazon Inspector Agent installed; the installed Amazon Inspector Agent is unavailable or cannot return vulnerability data.

Q: What is the pricing for Amazon Inspector?
Inspector pricing is based on the number of assessment runs and the number of agents or systems that were assessed during those runs. We call this “agent-assessments.” An on-demand billing period is one calendar month like all AWS services. For example:

     1 assessment run against 1 agent = 1 agent-assessment
     1 assessment run against 10 agents = 10 agents-assessments
     10 assessment runs against 2 agents each = 20 agent-assessments
     30 assessment runs against 10 agents each = 300 agent-assessments

If the above represented the Amazon Inspector assessment runs activity in your account for a given billing period, you would be charged for 331 total agent-assessments.

The price of each individual agent-assessment is based on a tiered pricing model. As you move up the volume of agent-assessments in a given billing period, you pay a lower price per agent-assessment. For example, the first two tiers of agent-assessment pricing are:

     First 250 agent-assessments = $0.30 per agent-assessment
     Next 750 agent-assessments = $0.25 per agent-assessment

So for our example above of 331 total agent-assessments in a given billing period, you would be charged $0.30 for the first 250 and $0.25 for the next 81, or $95.25 total for the billing period. See the Amazon Inspector pricing page for the full pricing table.

Q: Is there a free trial for Amazon Inspector?
Yes. Amazon Inspector offers the first 250 agent-assessments at no cost for the first 90 days of using the service. All AWS accounts new to the Amazon Inspector service are eligible.

Q: What Operating Systems does Amazon Inspector support?
Please see the Amazon Inspector documentation for a current list of supported operating systems.

Q: In what regions is Amazon Inspector available?
Please see the Amazon Inspector documentation for a current list of supported regions.

Q: Which Linux kernel versions are supported by Amazon Inspector?
An up-to-date list of Linux kernel versions that are supported for Amazon Inspector assessments is available here.

Q: Amazon Inspector sounds great, how do I get started?
Simply sign up for Amazon Inspector from the AWS Management Console. Once signed up, you install the appropriate Amazon Inspector Agent on your Amazon EC2 instances, create a new assessment template, select the rules packages you want to use, and schedule an assessment run. Once it completes, the system will generate a findings report on any issues it identified for your environment.

Q: Does the Amazon Inspector Agent have to be installed on all of the EC2 instances I wish to assess?
Yes. During an assessment run, the Amazon Inspector Agent monitors the behavior of the operating system and applications of the EC2 instance it's installed on, collects configuation and behavioral data, and passes the data to the Amazon Inspector service.

Q: How can I install the Amazon Inspector Agent?
There are several ways to install the agent. For simple installations, you can install it manually on each instance or do a one-time load using the AWS Systems Manager Run Command document (AmazonInspector-ManageAWSAgent). For larger deployments, you can automate agent installations using the EC2 User Data Function when configuring your instances or you can create automated installs of the agent using AWS Lambda. You can also launch an EC2 instance using the Amazon Linux AMI with the pre-installed Amazon Inspector Agent from the EC2 Console or the AWS Marketplace.

Q: How do I check whether the Amazon Inspector Agent is installed and healthy on my EC2 instances?
You can view the status of the Amazon Inspector Agent for all the EC2 instances in your assessment target by using the ‘Preview Targets’ functionality available in the Inspector console and through the PreviewAgents API query. Agent status includes whether the agent is installed on the EC2 instance and the health of the agent. Along with the Inspector Agent status on the targeted EC2 instance, the instance ID, public hostname, and public IP address (if defined) are also displayed, along with links into the EC2 console for each instance.

Q: Can Amazon Inspector run without tagging the resources?
No. Amazon Inspector requires you to use Amazon EC2 instance tags in order to run an assessment.

Q: Does Amazon Inspector access other AWS services in my account?
Amazon Inspector needs to enumerate your EC2 instances and tags to identify the instances specified in the assessment target. Amazon Inspector gets access to these through a service-linked role that is created on your behalf when you get started with Inspector as a new customer or in a new region. The Inspector service-linked role is managed by Amazon Inspector, so you don’t have to worry about inadvertently revoking permissions required by Amazon Inspector. For some existing customers, an IAM role that was registered while getting started with Inspector might be used for accessing other AWS services until the Inspector service-linked role is created. You can create the Inspector service-linked role through the Inspector console’s dashboard page.

Q: I use a Network Address Translation (NAT) for my instances. Will Amazon Inspector work with these instances?
Yes. Instances that use a NAT are supported by Amazon Inspector with no action required from you.

Q: I use a Proxy for my instances. Will Amazon Inspector work with these instances?
Yes. The Amazon Inspector Agent supports proxy environments. For Linux instances, we support HTTPS Proxy, and for Windows instances, we support WinHTTP proxy. See the Amazon Inspector User Guide for instructions to configure Proxy support for the Amazon Inspector Agent.

Q: I would like to automate the assessment of my infrastructure on a regular basis. Do you provide an automated way to submit assessments?
Yes. Amazon Inspector provides a full API allowing automatic creation of application environments, creation of assessments, evaluation of policies, creation of policy exceptions, and filters as well as retrieval of the results.

Q: Can I schedule security assessments to run at certain dates and times?
Yes. Amazon Inspector assessments can be triggered by any Amazon CloudWatch Event. You can set up a recurring Schedule event with either a simple fixed recurring rate or a more detailed Cron expression.

Q: Can I trigger security assessments to run based on an event?
Yes. You can use Amazon CloudWatch Events to create event patterns which monitor other AWS services for actions to trigger an assessment. For example, you can create an event which monitors AWS Auto Scaling for new Amazon EC2 Instances being launched, or monitors AWS CodeDeploy notifications for when a code deployment has been successfully completed. Once CloudWatch Events have been configured against Amazon Inspector templates, these assessment events will be displayed in the Inspector console as part of your assessment templates so you can see all of the automated triggers for that assessment.

Q: Can I set up Amazon Inspector assessments through AWS CloudFormation?
Yes, you can create Amazon Inspector resource groups, assessment targets, and assessment templates using AWS CloudFormation templates. This allows you to automatically set up security assessments for your EC2 instances as they are deployed. In your CloudFormation template, you can also bootstrap installation of the Inspector Agent on EC2 instances by using agent installation commands in either AWS::CloudFormation::Init or EC2 user data. Alternatively, you can create EC2 instances in your CloudFormation template using an AMI with the Inspector Agent pre-installed.

Q: Where can I find metrics information on my Amazon Inspector assessments?
Amazon Inspector automatically publishes metrics data on your assessments to Amazon CloudWatch. If you are a CloudWatch user, your Inspector assessment statistics will automatically be populated to CloudWatch. The Inspector metrics that are currently available are: number of assessment runs, agents targeted, and findings generated. For more details, see the Amazon Inspector documentation for details on the assessment metrics published to CloudWatch.

Q: Can Amazon Inspector be integrated with other AWS services for logging and notifications?
Amazon Inspector integrates with Amazon SNS to provide notification for various events such as monitoring milestones, failures, or expiration of exceptions and integrates with AWS CloudTrail for logging of calls to Amazon Inspector.

Q: What is the “CIS Operating System Security Configuration Benchmarks” rules package?
CIS Security Benchmarks are provided by the Center for Internet Security and are the only consensus-based, best-practice security configuration guides both developed and accepted by government, business, industry, and academia. Amazon Web Services is a CIS Security Benchmarks Member company and the list of Amazon Inspector certifications can be viewed here. CIS benchmark rules are designed to be pass/fail security checks. For every CIS check that fails, Inspector generates a finding with High severity. Additionally, an Informational finding is generated for each instance that lists all the CIS rules that are checked, and the pass/fail result for each rule.

Q: What is the “Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures” rules package?
The Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures or CVE rules check for exposure to publicly known information security vulnerabilities and exposures. CVE rule details are available publicly at the National Vulnerability Database (NVD). We use the NVD's Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS) as the primary source of severity information. In case a CVE is not scored by NVD but is present in Amazon Linux AMI Security Advisory (ALAS), we use the severity from Amazon Linux advisory. In case neither of these scores is available for a CVE, we do not report that CVE as a finding. We check daily for latest information from NVD and ALAS and update our rules packages accordingly.

Q: What is the severity of a finding?
Each Amazon Inspector rule has an assigned severity level, which Amazon has classified as High, Medium, Low, or Informational. Severity is intended to help you prioritize your responses to findings.

Q: How is the severity determined?
Severity of a rule is based on potential impact of the security issue found. Although some rules packages have Severity levels provided as part of the rules they provide, these can often differ by rules set. Amazon Inspector has normalized the severity for findings across all available rules packages by mapping the individual severities to common High, Medium, Low, and Informational classifications. For “High”, “Medium”, and “Low” severity findings, the higher the severity of the finding, the more security impact the underlying issue has. Findings that are classified as “Informational” are provided to advise you of security issues which might not have an immediate security impact.

  • For AWS supported rules packages, the severity is determined by the AWS security team.
  • The CIS Benchmarks rules package findings always have severity set to “High”.
  • For the Common Vulnerabilities & Exploits (CVE) rules package, Amazon Inspector has mapped the provided CVSS Base Scoring and ALAS Severity levels provided:
            Amazon Inspector Severity        CVSS Base Score           ALAS Severity (if CVSS not scored)
            High                                               >= 5                                  Critical or Important
            Medium                                         < 5 and >= 2.1                   Medium
            Low                                               < 2.1 and >= 0.8                Low
            Informational                                 < 0.8                                  N/A

Q: When I describe findings via the API (DescribeFindings), each finding has a “numericSeverity” attribute. What does this attribute signify?
The “numericSeverity” attribute is the numeric representation of the severity of a finding. The numeric severity values map to Severity as follows:
            Informational = 0.0
            Low = 3.0
            Medium = 6.0
            High = 9.0

Q: Does Amazon Inspector work with AWS partner solutions?
Yes, Amazon Inspector has public facing APIs that are available for customers and AWS partners to utilize. Several partners have integrated with Amazon Inspector incorporating findings into email, ticketing systems, pager platforms, or broader security dashboards. For detail on supporting partners, please visit the Amazon Inspector Partners page.