SMS steht für Short Message Service. SMS bezieht sich auf die Systeme, mit denen Mobilfunkanbieter auf der ganzen Welt Textnachrichten zwischen Mobiltelefonen übertragen. Eine einzelne SMS-Nachricht kann je nach Art der enthaltenen Zeichen zwischen 70 und 160 Zeichen enthalten.

Die Geschichte der SMS

Die Entwicklung von SMS begann in den frühen 1980er Jahren, als eine multinationale Gruppe mit der Arbeit an einem Standard für das Versenden alphanumerischer Nachrichten an Benutzer mobiler Geräte begann. Die erste SMS-Nachricht wurde am 3. Dezember 1992 versendet. In ihr stand lediglich "Frohe Weihnachten". Im Jahre 1993 boten Dienstleister in Skandinavien, den Vereinigten Staaten und Großbritannien SMS an.

Seitdem ist die Popularität von SMS in die Höhe geschnellt. Im Jahr 1995 schickte der durchschnittliche Mobiltelefonnutzer 0,4 Nachrichten pro Monat 1. Im Jahr 2005 war diese Zahl auf 62 Nachrichten pro Benutzer und Monat gestiegen – und 2015 waren es sogar 548 Nachrichten pro Benutzer und Monat 2. SMS ist heute der meistgenutzte Datendienst der Welt. Schätzungen zufolge wurden im Jahr 2017 weltweit über 15 Millionen SMS-Nachrichten pro Minute versendet. Das sind etwa 8 Billionen Nachrichten pro Jahr 3!

Verschicken von SMS-Nachrichten

Es gibt zwei Hauptarten, SMS-Nachrichten zu versenden: von einem mobilen Gerät an ein anderes mobiles Gerät oder von einem Computer an ein mobiles Gerät. Das Senden von einem Gerät zum anderen wird als Person-to-Person- oder P2P-Messaging bezeichnet. Das Senden von einem Computer an ein mobiles Gerät wird als Application-to-Person- oder A2P-Messaging bezeichnet.

P2P-Nachrichten sind bei weitem die am häufigsten verwendete Art von SMS-Nachrichten. Entwickler, Werbetreibende und Geschäftskunden kommunizieren mit ihren Kunden jedoch eher über A2P-Nachrichten. Die gebräuchlichste Art, A2P-Nachrichten zu versenden, ist die Verwendung einer Cloud-basierten Kundenbindungs- oder Messaging-Anwendung. Diese Anwendungen bieten in der Regel neben der Möglichkeit, E-Mails zu versenden, noch weitere Funktionen. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Tools, die Ihnen helfen, Ihre Kunden in Zielsegmente einzuteilen, um die Effektivität Ihrer SMS-Kampagnen zu maximieren. Oder sie bieten Analysetools, die Ihnen helfen, Ihre Kundenbindungsquote zu visualisieren.

SMS und Kundenbindung

Abhängig von Ihrem Anwendungsfall können Sie feststellen, dass SMS-Nachrichten eine der effektivsten Möglichkeiten sind, um dringende oder zeitkritische Informationen an Ihre Kunden zu senden. Studien zeigen, dass SMS-Nachrichten eine Öffnungsrate von bis zu 90 % haben 4. Die Öffnungsrate für E-Mails liegt dagegen etwas unter 25 % 5. Darüber hinaus erfolgen bis zu 90 % der SMS-Öffnungen innerhalb von drei Minuten nach Erhalt der Nachricht 4, während nur 13,7 % der E-Mails innerhalb der ersten Stunde nach Erhalt 5 geöffnet werden.

SMS-Nachrichten und AWS

Mit Amazon Pinpoint können Sie das Verhalten Ihrer Kunden verfolgen und auf der Grundlage dieser Daten Segmente erstellen. Sie können dann SMS-Nachrichten an Ihre Kunden auf der ganzen Welt senden. Die SMS-Versand- und -Empfangspreise von Amazon Pinpoint sind äußerst wettbewerbsfähig und Sie bezahlen nur für die Nachrichten, die Sie versenden.


Referenzen

  1. Ericsson, "Twenty years of Short Message Service (SMS): how text messaging helped to change the world", https://www.ericsson.com/en/news/2012/11/twenty-years-of-short-message-service-sms-how-text-messaging-helped-to-change-the-world (Zugriff am 13. April 2018).
  2. Statistic Brain, "Text Message Statistics – United States", https://www.statisticbrain.com/text-message-statistics/ (Zugriff am 13. April 2018).
  3. Domo, "Data Never Sleeps 5.0", https://www.domo.com/learn/data-never-sleeps-5 (Zugriff am 13. April 2018).
  4. Tatango, "Beginner's Guide to SMS Marketing", http://get.tatango.com/guide-beginners-guide-to-sms-marketing (Zugriff am 13. April 2018).
  5. Smart Insights, "Email marketing engagement and response statistics 2018," https://www.smartinsights.com/email-marketing/email-communications-strategy/statistics-sources-for-email-marketing/ (Zugriff am 13. April 2018).
  6. Marketing-Charts, "US E-Mail Open and Click Rates, by Hour Scheduled, 2015", https://www.marketingcharts.com/digital-68598 (Zugriff am 13. April 2018).

Weitere Informationen über Amazon Pinpoint-Preise

Zur Seite mit den Preisen
Bereit zum Entwickeln?
Erste Schritte mit Amazon Pinpoint
Haben Sie Fragen?
Kontakt

SMS stands for Short Message Service. SMS refers to the systems that mobile carriers around the world use to transmit text messages between mobile phones. A single SMS message can contain between 70 and 160 characters, depending on the type of characters it contains.


The development of SMS began in the early 1980s, when a multinational group began work on a standard for sending alphanumeric messages to users of mobile devices. The first SMS text message was sent December 3, 1992. It said, simply, "Merry Christmas." By 1993, carriers in Scandinavia, the United States, and the United Kingdom were offering SMS to consumers.

Since that time, the popularity of SMS has skyrocketed. In 1995, the average mobile phone user sent 0.4 messages per month1. By 2005, that number had increased to 62 messages per user per month—and by 2015, it reached 548 messages per user per month2. Today, SMS is the most-used data service on the planet. It's estimated that over 15 million SMS messages were sent worldwide every minute of 2017. That's about 8 trillion messages per year3!

There are two main ways to send SMS messages: from one mobile device to another mobile device, or from a computer to a mobile device. Sending from one device to another is known as Person-to-Person, or P2P messaging. Sending from a computer to a mobile device is known as Application-to-Person, or A2P messaging.

P2P messages are by far the most commonly used type of SMS messages. However, developers, marketers, and business users are more likely to communicate with their

customers by using A2P messages. The most common way to send A2P messages is by using a cloud-based customer engagement or messaging application. These applications typically include other features in addition to the ability to send email. For example, they might include tools that help you divide your customers into targeted segments in order to maximize the effectiveness of your SMS campaigns. Or they might provide analytics tools that help you visualize your engagement rates.

Depending on your use case, you may find SMS messaging to be one of the most effective ways to send urgent or time-sensitive information to your customers. Studies show that SMS messages have an open rate as high as 90%4. The open rate for email, on the other hand, is slightly less than 25%5. Furthermore, as many as 90% of SMS opens occur within three minutes of receiving the message4, while only 13.7% of emails are opened within the in the first hour of receipt5.

You can use Amazon Pinpoint to track your customers' behaviors and create segments based on that data. You can then send SMS messages to your customers all around the world. Amazon Pinpoint's SMS sending and receiving rates are very competitive, and you only pay for the messages you send.


References

  1. Ericsson, "Twenty years of Short Message Service (SMS): how text messaging helped to change the world," https://www.ericsson.com/en/news/2012/11/twenty-years-of-short-message-service-sms-how-text-messaging-helped-to-change-the-world (accessed April 13, 2018).
  2. Statistic Brain, "Text Message Statistics – United States," https://www.statisticbrain.com/text-message-statistics/ (accessed April 13, 2018).
  3. Domo, "Data Never Sleeps 5.0," https://www.domo.com/learn/data-never-sleeps-5 (accessed April 13, 2018).
  4. Tatango, "Beginner's Guide to SMS Marketing," http://get.tatango.com/guide-beginners-guide-to-sms-marketing (accessed April 13, 2018).
  5. Smart Insights, "Email marketing engagement and response statistics 2018," https://www.smartinsights.com/email-marketing/email-communications-strategy/statistics-sources-for-email-marketing/ (accessed April 13, 2018).
  6. Marketing Charts, "US Email Open and Click Rates, by Hour Scheduled, in 2015," https://www.marketingcharts.com/digital-68598 (accessed April 13, 2018).

 


Ready to get started with Amazon Pinpoint? Take a look at our Getting Started guide for helpful instructions, important information and practical advice.

You can target up to 5,000 users, track up to 100 million mobile application events, and send up to 1 million push messages per month at no charge. To learn more, see Pricing.

Get Started with Amazon Pinpoint