Capital-One_Logo_@1x

AWS 上的 Capital One

Capital One 是一家领先的信息技术企业,以实现银行业的独创性、简易性和人性化,帮助客户成功为使命。

Capital One 完成了从数据中心到 AWS 的迁移,成为首家宣布全面转向云的美国银行

2020 年

Capital One 通过迁移到 AWS,退出了 8 个本地数据中心,改变了过程中的客户体验。“数字银行”成立于 1994 年,通过技术帮助客户取得成功。Capital One 将其技术团队人数增加到 11000 名,增加了软件工程师和开发人员,通过 Amazon EC2、Amazon RDS 和 AWS Lambda 等 AWS 服务打造创新的客户体验。 

阅读更多
Capital One 通过技术转型提高了敏捷性和创新能力

quote-marks

我们已成功退出所有数据中心,并全面转向 AWS,从而实现了架构的即时预置和快速创新。现在,我们能够以更大的规模管理数据,并解锁机器学习的力量,从而提供优化的客户体验。在 AWS,我们的技术团队可以集中精力处理自己最擅长的方面:构建出色的软件并为客户提供创新。”

Rob Alexander
Capital One 首席信息官


Capital One 为其云迁移带来可持续性

2021 年

Capital One 决定向云迁移时,制定了一项计划,负责处理其数据中心设备。在迁移过程中,该公司回收了 41 吨铜和 62 吨钢,并从最后三个数据中心移走了总计 1350 万英尺的电缆。退出数据中心后,Capital One 预计每年将节省 10 兆瓦的电力,相当于 650,000 个LED灯泡。 “从一开始,Capital One 就致力于以最负责任、管理最完善的方式向云中进行迁移”,Capital One 的技术副总裁 Joe Muratore 说。“通过回收废弃资产、关闭数据中心以减少碳排放量,从而为环境的可持续发展做出贡献,这是非常值得的事情。”

阅读更多
Capital One 使用 AWS 重新构想银行业务

Capital One 如何使用 AWS 来缩小其数据中心占用空间、扩展其微服务的使用以及重新构想银行业务

2018 年

为了更好地理解 Capital One 及其长期战略,我们最好把它看作一家公司而非银行。尽管这家多元化金融服务公司实际上是美国十大银行之一(按资产和存款计算),但它同时也是一家提供银行服务的数字技术公司。在 Capital One,激励大家的核心信念是:下一代银行业务的赢家将是以最具创造性和创新性的方式使用技术,以提供无缝的智能优质客户体验的公司。

阅读更多

支持学习 AWS 和其他新技术助力 Capital One 吸引顶尖人才

2018 年

为了在全公司范围内获得对云计算优先政策(所有新应用程序都在云中构建和部署)的支持,Capital One 实施了一项强大的云计算培训计划。该计划取得了成功,部分原因在于它全面撒网,面向直接在 AWS 工作的工程师,以及需要理解云计算转型潜力并予以支持的业务主管和其他非技术利益相关者提供了精心设计和量身定制的培训。

阅读更多

Capital One 联络中心使用 Amazon Connect 加快创新

2018 年

使用 Amazon Connect,Capital One 在 30 分钟内就完成了对联络中心员工的培训,并在五个月内实现了 100% 的采用率。Capital One 是美国最大的银行之一,为消费者和企业提供信用卡、支票和储蓄账户、汽车贷款、报酬和网上银行服务。借助 Amazon Connect 的灵活性,该公司在几周内即可添加新功能,而之前的解决方案则需要三到六个月。

阅读更多

Capital One 通过 AWS Machine Learning 加强欺诈防护

2020 年

Capital One 是美国最大的银行之一,也是最大的数字银行。随着消费者逐渐抛弃实体店,纷纷光顾数字优先店,Capital One 采用了新技术,将 AWS 支持的人工智能 (AI) 和机器学习解决方案应用到了业务的各方各面,并将智能注入客户体验。而且,由于 AWS 与本地数据中心一样安全(通常更为安全),因此 AWS 云能够在担起保护客户及其数据的责任的同时,实施应用这些创新。

阅读更多

AWS 上的按需基础设施帮助 Capital One 开发运维团队以史无前例的速度迁移

2018 年

Capital One 以率先采用新技术帮助改变银行客户体验而闻名。虽然不明显,但这些实践和思维方式的重要性却不容小觑,是它们推动着该公司有效利用这些新技术。实践和思维模式是该公司有意识地自我转变为数字技术公司的结果。该公司最近对开发运营的采用就是最新的一步。

阅读更多

quote-marks

我们确实整体依托于云,AWS 在帮助我们充分利用云业务优势方面发挥了重大作用。 全面转向云既可以即时预置基础设施,又可以实现快速创新。我们能够管理更大规模的数据,并解锁机器学习的力量,从而提供优化的客户体验。”

Chris Nims
Capital One 云与生产力工程高级副总裁


借助 Cloud Custodian 大规模实施 AWS 策略

在“This is My Architecture”的这一集中,Capital One 的工程总监 Kapil Thangavelu 介绍了他们用于队列管理的开源规则引擎:Cloud Custodian。您将了解到 Capital One 如何使用此工具和基于 YAML 的简单 DSL 来消除管理数以百计或千计的脚本和策略的必要性,并大规模提供实时合规性和成本管理。

观看视频 
capital-one-architecture
AWS 案例研究

2018 年
使用 AWS,Capital One 可以通过机器学习将数据转化为见解,使公司能够代表客户快速创新。Capital One 是美国最大的银行之一,为消费者和企业提供信用卡、支票和储蓄账户、汽车贷款、报酬和网上银行服务。Capital One 使用包括 Amazon S3 在内的 AWS 服务来推动其机器学习创新。
阅读更多 
RE:INVENT 2017

2017 年
AWS re:Invent 2017:优化无服务器应用程序数据层
作为完全托管的数据库服务,Amazon DynamoDB 非常适合无服务器架构。在本次会议中,我们深入探讨了在无服务器应用程序中使用 DynamoDB 的原因和方式,然后展示了 CapitalOne 利用大型机数据的实际使用案例。
观看视频 
AWS 计算博客

2016 年
Capital One 正在迅速采用原生云微服务架构,并将其应用于现有的和新的工作负载。为了加快微服务的采用、提高云资源的效率并将应用层与底层基础设施解耦,公司开始使用 Docker 来容器化工作负载,并使用 Amazon Elastic Container Service 来管理这些工作负载。
阅读更多 
RE:INVENT 2016

2016 年
AWS re:Invent 2016:将企业消息传递迁移到云
在本次会话中,企业架构师和开发人员将了解如何通过使用 Amazon SQS 将本地消息收发中间件迁移到托管的云服务来提高可扩展性、可用性和运营效率。了解 Capital One 如何使用 SQS 将若干核心银行应用程序迁移到云中以确保高可用性和成本效益。我们还将分享一些令人兴奋的 SQS 新功能,这些功能支持更多工作负载利用云。
观看视频 

来自 AWS 外部

福布斯

在 Capital One 工作的 18 年中,Rob Alexander 大约有一半时间一直担任该公司的首席信息官。他获得这个角色的方式是非传统的。他在哈佛大学攻读物理专业,然后去了空军,并获得了哈佛商学院 MBA 学位,并在 Bain & Company 担任顾问大约五年半。他在 1998 年加入 Capital One,并负责 Capital One 的一些贷款业务,包括美国消费者信用卡和分期贷款业务。
阅读更多 
CAPITAL ONE

对于大多数其他企业来说,超快的速度是勇敢的云之旅中最难以捉摸的超级力量,而且是最必要的力量。在 Capital One,规模化速度一直是精益企业追求的目标。有赖于敏捷的思维模式和开发运营文化,快速的采用率推动了云之旅,将 Capital One 转变为了现在的大型金融科技初创公司。
阅读更多 
中型

Capital One 云之旅的采用阶段
Capital One 于 2013 年开始了其公有云之旅,即所谓的“实验阶段”,它利用 AWS 的创新实验室来测试技术和运营模型。自那之后,该公司经历了云采用的所有阶段:构建云基础,迁移应用程序并关闭数据中心,最后致力于优化其 AWS 足迹。
阅读更多 
中型

在开始云迁移时,Capital One 意识到其工程师需要掌握一套新技能才能在云中工作。该公司没有寻求雇用外部人才,而是优先考虑对现有工程师进行 AWS 认证,以帮助更快地克服技能差距。
阅读更多 

入门

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Capital-One_Logo_@1x

Capital One on AWS

Capital One is a leading information-based technology company that is on a mission to help its customers succeed by bringing ingenuity, simplicity, and humanity to banking.

Capital One Completes Migration from Data Centers to AWS, Becomes First US Bank to Announce Going All In on the Cloud

2020

Capital One exited eight on-premises data centers by migrating to AWS, transforming the customer experience in the process. Founded in 1994, the “digital bank” uses technology to help its customers succeed. Capital One scaled its technology team to 11,000, adding software engineers and developers to build innovative customer experiences using AWS services such as Amazon EC2, Amazon RDS, and AWS Lambda. 

Read more
Capital One Reimagines Banking Using AWS

quote-marks

We have successfully exited all of our data centers and gone all in on AWS, enabling instant provisioning of architecture and rapid innovation. We are now able to manage data at a much larger scale and unlock the power of machine learning to deliver enhanced customer experiences. On AWS, our technology teams are freed to focus on what they do best: building great software and delivering innovation to our customers."

Rob Alexander
Chief Information Officer, Capital One


Capital One Contact Centers Innovate Faster Using Amazon Connect

2018

To best understand Capital One and its long-term strategy, it helps to think of the company not as a bank—despite the fact that the diversified financial services company is, in fact, one of the ten largest U.S. banks by assets and deposits—but as a digital technology company that offers banking services. At Capital One, the central motivating belief is that the winners in next-generation banking will be the companies that make the most creative and innovative use of technology to provide seamless, intelligent, truly excellent customer experiences.

Read more

How Capital One Reduced its Data-Center Footprint, Expanded its Use of Microservices, and Reimagined Banking Using AWS

2018

To best understand Capital One and its long-term strategy, it helps to think of the company not as a bank—despite the fact that the diversified financial services company is, in fact, one of the ten largest U.S. banks by assets and deposits—but as a digital technology company that offers banking services. At Capital One, the central motivating belief is that the winners in next-generation banking will be the companies that make the most creative and innovative use of technology to provide seamless, intelligent, truly excellent customer experiences.

Read more

Support for Learning AWS and Other New Technologies Helps Capital One Attract Top Talent

2018

One of the ways Capital One achieved companywide buy-in for its cloud-first policy—under which all new applications are architected for and deployed in the cloud—was by implementing a robust cloud-computing training program. That program was successful partly because of the wide net that it cast, offering carefully designed and tailored training not only to the engineers who would work directly on AWS but also to the business executives and other non-technical stakeholders who needed to be able to understand and advocate for cloud computing's transformational potential.

Read more

AWS Technology Enables Capital One's Move to Machine Learning

2018

Using AWS, Capital One turns data into insights through machine learning, allowing the company to quickly innovate on behalf of its customers. Capital One is one of the largest banks in the United States and offers credit cards, checking and savings accounts, auto loans, rewards, and online banking services for consumers and businesses. Capital One uses AWS services including Amazon S3 to power its machine-learning innovation.

Read more

On-Demand Infrastructure on AWS Helps Capital One DevOps Teams Move Faster Than Ever

2018

Capital One is well known for its early adoption of new technologies to help it transform the banking customer experience. Less obvious, but no less crucial, are the practices and mindsets that position the company to make such effective use of those new technologies—practices and mindsets that are the result of the company's conscious self-transformation into a digital technology company. The company’s recent embrace of DevOps is just the latest step.

Read more

quote-marks

We are truly all in on the cloud, and AWS has been instrumental in enabling us to take full advantage of the benefits of being in the cloud. Going all in on the cloud has enabled both instant provisioning of infrastructure and rapid innovation. We are able to manage data at a much larger scale and unlock the power of machine learning to deliver enhanced customer  experiences."

Chris Nims
Senior Vice President of Cloud and Productivity Engineering, Capital One


AWS Policy Enforcement at Scale with Cloud Custodian

On this episode of This is My Architecture, Kapil Thangavelu, Director of Engineering, at Capital One, explains their open-sourced rules engine for fleet management: Cloud Custodian. You'll see how Capital One uses this tool and a simple YAML-based DSL to eliminate the need to manage hundreds or thousands of scripts and policies, and offer "real-time" compliance and cost management at scale.

Watch the video 
capital-one-architecture
RE:INVENT 2017

2017
AWS re:Invent 2017: Optimizing Serverless Application Data Tiers
As a fully managed database service, Amazon DynamoDB is a natural fit for serverless architectures. In this session, we dive deep into why and how to use DynamoDB in serverless applications, followed by a real-world use case from CapitalOne leveraging Mainframe data.
Watch the video 
RE:INVENT 2016

2016
AWS re:Invent 2016: Migrating Enterprise Messaging to the Cloud
In this session, enterprise architects and developers learn how to improve scalability, availability, and operational efficiency by migrating on-premises messaging middleware to a managed cloud service using Amazon SQS. Hear how Capital One is using SQS to migrate several core banking applications to the cloud to ensure high availability and cost efficiency. We also share some exciting new SQS features that allow even more workloads to take advantage of the cloud.
Watch the video 
AWS COMPUTE BLOG

2016
Capital One is rapidly embracing cloud-native microservices architectures and applying them to both existing and new workloads. To advance microservices adoption, increase efficiencies of cloud resources and decouple application layer from the underlying infrastructure, the company is starting to use Docker to containerize the workloads and Amazon Elastic Container Service to manage them.
Read more 

FROM OUTSIDE AWS

FORBES

Rob Alexander has been been the CIO of Capital one for roughly half of his 18 years with the company. He had a non-traditional path to the role. He studied physics as an undergraduate at Harvard, spent time in the Air Force, received an MBA from Harvard Business School, and spent roughly five and a half years as a consultant at Bain & Company. He joined Capital One in 1998, and would assume responsibility for a number of Capital One's lending businesses, including the U.S. consumer credit card and installment loan businesses.
Read more 
CAPITAL ONE

For most other enterprises, supersonic speed is the most elusive superpower for a heroic cloud journey — and the most necessary to harness. At Capital One, speed at scale has long been the modus operandi of the lean enterprise. Accelerated by an agile mindset and DevOps culture, the rapid rate of adoption enabled a cloud journey that transformed Capital One into what is now essentially a large fintech startup.
Read more 
Medium

Capital One’s Cloud Journey Through the Stages of Adoption
Capital One started its public cloud journey in 2013 in what it called an "Experimentation Phase," leveraging AWS in its innovation labs to test the technology and operating model. The company has since moved through all the stages of cloud adoption: building its cloud foundation, migrating applications and closing data centers, and finally working to optimize its AWS footprint.
Read more 
Medium

As it began its cloud migration, Capital One realized that its engineers would need a new set of skills to work in the cloud. Instead of looking to hire external talent, the company prioritized AWS certification for existing engineers, helping overcome skill gaps more rapidly.
Read more 

Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.