西门子使用 AWS 机器学习,每秒处理 60,000 起网络威胁

Siemens resize

全球科技领军企业西门子已有 170 年历史,一直密切关注不断演变的网络犯罪格局。西门子网络防御中心 (CDC) 的宗旨是保护西门子及其客户免受病毒、恶意软件、知识产权盗窃和其他形式的网络犯罪的侵害。这可不是一件小事:2017 年,全球平均每天收集 20 万个新恶意软件样本,比上一年增长了 300%。

“在 AWS 上,我们由 AI 驱动的网络安全平台可以轻松超越全球最强大的发布基准。”

-Jan Pospisil,西门子网络防御中心的高级数据科学家

  • 关于西门子
  • AWS 的优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于西门子
  • 西门子公司是全球电气化、自动化和数字化的领导者。该公司为发电和电力传输、医学成像、实验室诊断、工业基础设施和驱动系统提供解决方案。

  • AWS 的优势
    • 网络安全解决方案超过公布的标准
    • 每秒评估 60,000 起威胁
    • 取证分析不会降低系统性能
    • 解决方案由 12 名员工管理
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

超过人类的处理能力

这个问题的严重程度远远超出了人类团队的解决能力范围,因此 CDC 使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 来构建下一代数据分析平台,力求解决这个问题。

CDC 的高级数据科学家 Jan Pospisil 表示:“我们的目标是使用基于云的人工智能来处理这些庞大的数据,即时决定如何最好地应对任何检测到的威胁。考虑到目标是建立支持人工智能、高速、全自动、高度可扩展的平台,选择 AWS 可谓明智之举。”

使用 AWS 机器学习应对威胁

CDC 使用 Amazon SageMaker 来标记和准备数据,选择和训练机器学习算法,做出预测,然后行动。该解决方案也使用 AWS Glue(一项完全托管的提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 服务) 和 AWS Lambda(一项无服务器服务,对事件作出响应并运行代码)。

通过采用基于每天能够收集 6 TB 日志数据的 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 的数据湖,安全人员可以对多年的数据进行取证分析,而不影响西门子安全事件和事件管理 (SIEM) 解决方案的性能或可用性。无服务器的 AWS 网络威胁分析平台每秒能够处理 6 万个潜在威胁,本身却由一个不到 12 人的团队开发和管理。

Pospisil 表示:“当然,我无法确切地说出我们的威胁检测率是多少,以及我们在多大程度上降低了虚假报警率。但我可以说,在 AWS 上,我们由 AI 驱动的网络安全平台可以轻松超越全球最强大的发布基准。”


了解更多

了解有关 AWS 上的机器学习的更多信息。

Siemens Handles 60,000 Cyber Threats per Second Using AWS Machine Learning

Siemens resize

Siemens, the 170-year-old global technology leader, must keep a close eye on the ever-evolving landscape of cybercrime. The charter of the Siemens Cyber Defense Center (CDC) is to protect Siemens and its customers from viruses, malware, intellectual property theft, and other forms of cybercrime. It's no small job: Worldwide, an average of 200,000 new malware samples were collected daily in 2017, a 300 percent increase over the previous year.

"On AWS, our AI-driven cybersecurity platform easily exceeds the strongest published benchmarks in the world."

-Jan Pospisil, Senior Data Scientist, Siemens Cyber Defense Center

  • About Siemens
  • Benefits of AWS
  • AWS Services Used
  • About Siemens
  • Siemens AG is a global electrification, automation, and digitalization leader. The company provides solutions for power generation and transmission, medical imaging, laboratory diagnostics, and industrial infrastructure and drive systems.

  • Benefits of AWS
    • Cybersecurity solution exceeds published benchmarks
    • Evaluates 60,000 threats per second
    • Forensic analysis doesn’t slow system performance
    • Solution is managed by 12 employees
  • AWS Services Used

More Than Humans Can Handle

Because the magnitude of this problem far exceeds the capacity of human teams to solve it, CDC used Amazon Web Services (AWS) to build a next-generation data analytics platform to address the problem.

"Our goal was to use cloud-based artificial intelligence to process these huge amounts of data and make immediate decisions about how best to counter any detected threats," says Jan Pospisil, a senior data scientist at CDC. "Given the objective of an AI-enabled, high-speed, fully automated, and highly scalable platform, the decision to use AWS was easy."

Countering the Threat with AWS Machine Learning

The CDC uses Amazon SageMaker to label and prepare data, choose and train machine-learning algorithms, make predictions, and act. The solution also uses AWS Glue, a fully managed extract, transform, and load (ETL) service, and AWS Lambda, a serverless service that runs code in response to events.

With a data lake based on Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) capable of collecting 6 TB of log data per day, security staff can perform forensic analysis on years' worth of data without compromising the performance or availability of the Siemens security incident and event management (SIEM) solution. The serverless AWS cyber threat-analytics platform handles 60,000 potentially critical events per second but is developed and managed by a team of fewer than one dozen people.

"Naturally, I can't share exactly what our threat-detection rate is and how much we have reduced our false-alarm rate," says Pospisil. "But I can say that, on AWS, our AI-driven cybersecurity platform easily exceeds the strongest published benchmarks in the world."


Learn More

Learn more about Machine Learning on AWS.