什么是物联网(IoT)?

IoT(即物联网)一词是指互联设备的集合网络,以及促进设备与云之间以及设备自身之间通信的技术。由于价格低廉的计算机芯片和高带宽电信的出现,我们现在已有数十亿台设备连接到互联网。也就是说,牙刷、吸尘器、汽车、机器等日常设备可以利用传感器收集数据,智能地为用户服务。  

物联网将日常“事物”与互联网相结合。90 年代以来,计算机工程师一直在为日常用品添加传感器和处理器。但是,这项工作最初进展十分缓慢,因为芯片又大又笨重。名为 RFID 标签的低功耗计算机芯片是首个用于跟踪昂贵设备的芯片。随着计算设备尺寸不断缩小,这些芯片也越来越小,速度越来越快,并且更加智能。

将计算能力整合至小型物件中的成本如今已经大大下降。例如,您可以为嵌入 RAM 小于 1MB 的 MCU(例如电灯开关)添加 Alexa 语音服务连接功能。整个物联网行业如雨后春笋般涌现,让我们的家庭、企业和办公室充满物联网设备。这些智能物件可自动与互联网进行数据往来传输。所有这些“看不见的计算设备”及与此相关的技术统称为物联网。

IoT 的工作原理是什么?

一般的 IoT 系统通过实时收集和交换数据来运作。IoT 系统有三个组件:

智能设备

即具有计算能力的电视、安全摄像头或运动设备等装备。智能设备从环境、用户输入或使用模式中收集数据,通过网络与 IoT 应用程序进行数据通信。

IoT 应用程序

IoT 应用程序是一种服务和软件集合,整合了从各种 IoT 设备接收的数据。它使用机器学习或人工智能(AI)技术来分析此数据并据此做出明智决策。这些决策会传输回 IoT 设备,然后 IoT 设备会以智能方式对输入进行响应。 

图形用户界面

用户可以通过图形用户界面管理 IoT 设备或设备机群。常见示例包括用于注册和控制智能设备的移动应用程序或网站。 

IoT 设备示例有哪些?

我们看看目前使用的一些物联网系统示例:

互联汽车

汽车等车辆可通过多种方式连接到互联网。这可以通过智能仪表盘、信息娱乐系统设置车辆连接的网关实现。它们从加速器、制动器、车速表、里程表、车轮和油箱收集数据,以监测驾驶员的表现和车辆运行状况。互联汽车用途广泛:

  • 监控租赁车队以提高燃油效率并降低成本。
  • 帮助父母跟踪孩子的驾驶行为。
  • 发生车祸时自动通知朋友和家人。
  • 预测车辆维护需求并防止类似需求。

互联家居

智能家居设备致力于提高房屋的使用效率和安全性,并改善家庭联网能力。智能插座等设备可以监测用电量,智能温度调节器可以更好地控制温度。水耕系统可以使用 IoT 传感器管理庭院,而 IoT 烟雾感知器可以检测烟草烟雾。门锁、安全摄像头和漏水检测器等家庭安全系统可以检测和防范威胁,并向房主发出警报。 

家居互联设备可用于:

  • 自动关闭未在使用的设备。
  • 出租房产管理和维护。
  • 寻找放错地方的物品,例如钥匙或钱包。
  • 自动执行日常任务,如吸尘、煮咖啡等。

智慧城市

IoT 应用程序提高了城市规划和基础设施维护效率。政府正在使用 IoT 应用程序来解决基础设施、健康和环境方面的问题。IoT 应用程序可用于:

  • 测量空气质量和辐射水平。
  • 通过智能照明系统降低能源成本。
  • 检测街道、桥梁和管道等关键基础设施的维护需求。
  • 高效管理车辆停放事宜,从而提高利润。

智能建筑

大学校园和商业建筑等建筑物使用 IoT 应用程序来提高运营效率。在智能建筑中,IoT 设备可用于:

  • 减少能源消耗。
  • 降低维护成本。
  • 更高效地利用工作空间。

什么是工业 IoT?

工业 IoT (IIoT) 是指,制造、零售、健康和其他企业用来提高业务效率的智能设备。从传感器到设备等各种工业设备可为企业主提供详细的实时数据,这些数据可用来改进业务流程。它们提供有关供应链管理、物流、人力资源和生产的见解,从而降低成本并增加收入来源。 

我们来看一下现有的智能工业设备在不同行业中的应用情况:

制造业

制造业企业 IoT 通过预测性维护来减少计划外停机时间,并采用可穿戴技术进一步保护工人安全。IoT 应用程序可以在机器故障发生之前预测到故障,从而减少生产停机时间。头盔和腕带中的可穿戴设备以及计算机视觉摄像头可用来警告工人注意潜在危险。

汽车

基于传感器的分析和机器人技术可提高汽车制造和维护效率。例如,工业传感器用于提供内部车辆组件的 3D 实时图像。可更快完成诊断和故障排除,同时 IoT 系统会自动订购替换部件。  

物流和运输

商业和工业 IoT 设备可为供应链管理提供帮助,包括库存管理、供应商关系、车队管理以及定期维护。航运公司利用工业 IoT 应用程序跟踪资产,优化运输路线的燃料消耗。这项技术对于需要严格控制温度的冷藏集装箱特别有用。供应链经理可通过智能计算路线和重新计算路线算法做出明智预测。

零售

Amazon 正在推动零售业中的自动化和人机协作创新。Amazon 设施利用联网机器人来跟踪、定位、分类和搬运产品。

IoT 如何改善我们的生活?

物联网对人类生活与工作有着广泛影响。它可以让机器承担更多繁重工作,代劳冗长乏味的任务,并让生活更加健康、更有效率且更加舒适。 

例如,互联设备可能会改变您整个上午的日常生活。在您按下“小睡”按钮后,您的闹钟会自动启动咖啡机并打开您的百叶窗。您的冰箱会自动检测快消耗完的食品杂货,然后订购上门送货。您的智能烤箱会告知您今天的菜单,它甚至可以烹饪预先调配好的食材,并确保为您准备好午餐。您的智能手表会安排好会议,而您的互联汽车会自动设置 GPS 以方便停车加油。IoT 领域的机会数不胜数!

 

对于企业而言,IoT 有哪些优势?

加速创新

物联网能够使企业进行高级分析,发现新机遇。例如,企业可以收集有关客户行为的数据,从而制作针对性强的广告活动。

利用 AI 和 ML,将数据转化为洞察和行动

可根据收集的数据和历史趋势来预测未来结果。例如,保修信息可以与 IoT 收集的数据结合,用于预测维护事件。可据此主动为客户提供服务,从而提升客户忠诚度。

提高安全性

对数字和物理基础设施的持续监控可以优化性能、提高效率并降低安全风险。例如,可将从现场监控器中收集的数据与硬件和软件版本数据结合,自动安排系统更新。

扩展差异化解决方案

IoT 技术能够以客户为中心的方式进行部署,提高客户满意度。例如,可以及时补充热门产品,避免库存短缺。

有哪些 IoT 技术?

IoT 系统中使用的技术可能包括: 

边缘计算

边缘计算是指让智能设备向 IoT 平台发送或从中接收数据以及执行其他操作的技术。它提高了 IoT 网络边缘的计算能力,减少了通信延迟并缩短了响应时间。

云计算

云技术用于远程数据存储和 IoT 设备管理,可以让网络中的多个设备访问数据。

机器学习

机器学习是指用于处理数据并根据相关数据做出实时决策的软件和算法。这些机器学习算法可以部署在云中或边缘。

AWS IoT 的定义及其作用

AWS IoT 将 AI 与 IoT 相结合,改进业务成果。AWS IoT 是唯一一家将数据管理和丰富分析集成在易于使用的服务中的云供应商,这些服务专为庞大的 IoT 数据而设计。 

AWS IoT 包括安全、数据加密和设备数据访问控制等服务。AWS IoT 构建在安全且经过验证的云基础设施和 IoT 网络之上,可扩展到数十亿个设备和数万亿条消息。AWS IoT 还与其他 AWS 服务集成,让您可以构建完整的解决方案。

使用 AWS IoT 构建

AWS IoT 提供面向工业、消费者和商业解决方案的 IoT 服务。您可以使用 AWS IoT 服务来构建应用程序,从而发掘新的商业价值、运行复杂的分析,检测来自大量 IoT 设备的事件并予以响应。

创建免费 AWS 账户,立即开始使用 AWS IoT。刚开始使用 IoT? 学习基础知识,并开始构建简单的端到端 IoT 应用程序

IoT 后续步骤

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
浏览 IoT 免费套餐选项
查看 IoT 免费套餐 
Sign up for a free account
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。

注册 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
开始在控制台中构建

在 AWS 管理控制台中,使用 IoT 开始构建。

登录

What is the Internet of Things (IoT)?

The term IoT, or Internet of Things, refers to the collective network of connected devices and the technology that facilitates communication between devices and the cloud, as well as between the devices themselves. Thanks to the advent of inexpensive computer chips and high bandwidth telecommunication, we now have billions of devices  connected to the internet. This means everyday devices like toothbrushes, vacuums, cars, and machines can use sensors to collect data and respond intelligently to users.  

The Internet of Things integrates everyday “things” with the internet. Computer Engineers have been adding sensors and processors to everyday objects since the 90s. However, progress was initially slow because the chips were big and bulky. Low power computer chips called RFID tags were first used to track expensive equipment. As computing devices shrank in size, these chips also became smaller, faster, and smarter over time.

The cost of integrating computing power into small objects has now dropped considerably. For example, you can add connectivity with Alexa voice services capabilities to MCUs  with less than 1MB embedded RAM, such as for light switches. A whole industry has sprung up with a focus on filling our homes, businesses, and offices with IoT devices. These smart objects can automatically transmit data to and from the Internet. All these “invisible computing devices” and the technology associated with them are collectively referred to as the Internet of Things.

How does IoT work?

A typical IoT system works through the real-time collection and exchange of data. An IoT system has three components:

Smart devices

This is a device, like a television, security camera, or exercise equipment that has been given computing capabilities. It collects data from its environment, user inputs, or usage patterns and communicates data over the internet to and from its IoT application.

IoT application

An IoT application is a collection of services and software that integrates data received from various IoT devices. It uses machine learning or artificial intelligence (AI) technology to analyze this data and make informed decisions. These decisions are communicated back to the IoT device and the IoT device then responds intelligently to inputs. 

A graphical user interface

The IoT device or fleet of devices can be managed through a graphical user interface. Common examples include a mobile application or website that can be used to register and control smart devices. 

What are examples of IoT devices?

Let’s look at some examples of IoT systems in use today:

Connected cars

There are many ways vehicles, such as cars, can be connected to the internet. It can be through smart dashcams, infotainment systems, or even the vehicle's connected gateway. They collect data from the accelerator, brakes, speedometer, odometer, wheels, and fuel tanks to monitor both driver performance and vehicle health. Connected cars have a range of uses:

  • Monitoring rental car fleets to increase fuel efficiency and reduce costs.
  • Helping parents track the driving behavior of their children.
  • Notifying friends and family automatically in case of a car crash.
  • Predicting and preventing vehicle maintenance needs.

Connected homes

Smart home devices are mainly focused on improving the efficiency and safety of the house, as well as improving home networking. Devices like smart outlets monitor electricity usage and smart thermostats provide better temperature control. Hydroponic systems can use IoT sensors to manage the garden while IoT smoke detectors can detect tobacco smoke. Home security systems like door locks, security cameras, and water leak detectors can detect and prevent threats, and send alerts to homeowners. 

Connected devices for the home can be used for:

  • Automatically turning off devices not being used.
  • Rental property management and maintenance.
  • Finding misplaced items like keys or wallets.
  • Automating daily tasks like vacuuming, making coffee, etc.

Smart cities

IoT applications have made urban planning and infrastructure maintenance more efficient. Governments are using IoT applications to tackle problems in infrastructure, health, and the environment. IoT applications can be used for:

  • Measuring air quality and radiation levels.
  • Reducing energy bills with smart lighting systems.
  • Detecting maintenance needs for critical infrastructures such as streets, bridges, and pipelines.
  • Increasing profits through efficient parking management.

Smart buildings

Buildings such as college campuses and commercial buildings use IoT applications to drive greater operational efficiencies. IoT devices can be use in smart buildings for:

  • Reducing energy consumption.
  • Lowering maintenance costs.
  • Utilizing work spaces more efficiently.

What is Industrial IoT?

Industrial IoT (IIoT) refers to smart devices used in manufacturing, retail, health, and other enterprises to create business efficiencies. Industrial devices, from sensors to equipment, give business owners detailed, real-time data that can be used to improve business processes. They provide insights on supply chain management, logistics, human resource, and production – decreasing costs and increasing revenue streams. 

Let’s look at existing smart industrial systems in different verticals:

Manufacturing

Enterprise IoT in manufacturing uses predictive maintenance to reduce unplanned downtime and wearable technology to improve worker safety. IoT applications can predict machine failure before it happens, reducing production downtime. Wearables in helmets and wristbands, as well as computer vision cameras, are used to warn workers about potential hazards.

Automobile

Sensor-driven analytics and robotics increase efficiency in automobile manufacturing and maintenance. For example, industrial sensors are used to provide 3D real-time images of internal vehicle components. Diagnostics and troubleshooting can be done much faster while the IoT system orders replacement parts automatically.  

Logistics and transport

Commercial and Industrial IoT devices can help with supply chain management, including inventory management, vendor relationships, fleet management, and scheduled maintenance. Shipping companies use Industrial IoT applications to keep track of assets and optimize fuel consumption on shipping routes. The technology is especially useful for tight temperature control in refrigerated containers. Supply chain managers make informed predictions through smart routing and rerouting algorithms.

Retail

Amazon is driving innovation in automation and human-machine collaboration in retail. Amazon facilities make use of internet-connected robots for tracking, locating, sorting, and moving products.

How can IoT improve our lives?

The Internet of Things has a wide-ranging impact on human life and work. It allows machines to do more heavy lifting, take over tedious tasks and make life more healthy, productive, and comfortable. 

For example, connected devices could change your entire morning routine. When you hit the snooze button, your alarm clock would automatically get the coffee machine to turn on and open your window blinds. Your refrigerator would auto-detect finishing groceries and order them for home delivery. Your smart oven would tell you the menu for the day — it might even cook pre-assembled ingredients and make sure your lunch is ready. Your smartwatch will schedule meetings as your connected car automatically sets the GPS to stop for a fuel refill. The opportunities are endless in an IoT world!

 

What are the benefits of IoT for business?

Accelerate innovation

The Internet of Things gives businesses access to advanced analytics that uncover new opportunities. For example, businesses can create highly targeted advertising campaigns by collecting data on customer behavior.

Turn data into insights and actions with AI and ML

Collected data and historical trends can be used to predict future outcomes. For example, warranty information can be paired with IoT-collected data to predict maintenance incidents. This can be used to proactively provide customer service and build customer loyalty.

Increase security

Continuous monitoring of digital and physical infrastructure can optimize performance, improve efficiency and reduce safety risks. For example, data collected from an onsite monitor can be combined with hardware and firmware version data to automatically schedule system updates.

Scale differentiated solutions

IoT technologies can be deployed in a customer focused way to increase satisfaction. For example, trending products can be restocked promptly to avoid shortages.

What are IoT technologies?

Technologies used in IoT systems may include: 

Edge computing

Edge computing refers to the technology used to make smart devices do more than just send or receive data to their IoT platform. It increases the computing power at the edges of an IoT network, reducing communication latency and improving response time.

Cloud computing

Cloud technology is used for remote data storage and IoT device management – making the data accessible to multiple devices in the network.

Machine learning

Machine learning refers to the software and algorithms used to process data and make real-time decisions based on that data. These machine learning algorithms can be deployed in the cloud or at the edge.

What is AWS IoT and how can it help

AWS IoT brings AI and IoT together to improve business outcomes. It is the only cloud vendor that combines data management and rich analytics to create easy-to-use services designed for high-volume IoT data. 

AWS IoT includes services like security, data encryption, and access control to device data. It is built on secure and proven cloud infrastructure and IoT networks and scales to billions of devices and trillions of messages. AWS IoT also integrates with other AWS services so you can create complete solutions.

Build with AWS IoT

AWS IoT provides IoT services for industrial, consumer, and commercial solutions. You can rely on AWS IoT services to build applications that uncover new business value, run sophisticated analytics and detect and respond to events from large number of IoT devices.

Get started with AWS IoT by creating a free AWS account. New to IoT? Learn the basics and get started building simple end-to-end IoT applications.

IoT next steps

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
Browse IoT free tier options
View IoT free tier 
Sign up for a free account
Sign up for a free account

Instant get access to the AWS Free Tier.

Sign up 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
Start building in the console

Get started building with IoT in the AWS management console.

Sign in