AWS 云
开始使用缓存

缓存适用于各种各样的使用案例,但要充分利用缓存,需要进行一定的规划。在决定是否缓存一段数据时,请考虑以下问题:

  • 使用缓存值是否安全?同一段数据在不同的上下文中可能具有不同的一致性要求。例如,在线结账期间,您需要物品的确切价格,因此不适合使用缓存。但在其他页面上,价格晚几分钟更新不会给用户带来负面影响。
  • 对于该数据而言,缓存是否是高效的?某些应用程序会生成不适合缓存的访问模式;例如,扫描频繁变化的大型数据集的键空间。在这种情况下,保持缓存更新可能会抵消缓存带来的所有优势。
  • 数据结构是否适合缓存?简单地缓存数据库记录通常足以提供显著的性能优势。但在其他一些时候,数据最好以多条记录组合在一起的格式进行缓存。缓存以简单的键值形式存储,因此您可能还需要以多种不同格式缓存数据记录,以便按记录中的不同属性进行访问。

您不必预先做出所有决定。您可以逐步扩展对缓存的使用,但请在决定是否缓存给定数据时牢记这些准则。


惰性缓存

惰性缓存 (也称作惰性填充或缓存端) 是最常见的缓存形式。所有良好的缓存策略都应以“惰性”为基础。其基本思想是仅在应用程序实际请求对象时才填充缓存。整个应用程序流程如下所示:

  1. 应用程序收到数据查询,例如头 10 条最新的新闻报道。
  2. 应用程序检查缓存,查看对象是否在缓存中。
  3. 如果是 (缓存命中),则返回缓存的对象,调用流程结束。
  4. 如果不是 (缓存未命中),则从数据库查询对象。填充缓存,返回对象。

与其他方法相比,这种方法具有以下几个优势:

  • 缓存仅包含应用程序实际请求的对象,有助于使缓存大小维持在可管理范围内。新对象仅在需要时添加至缓存。这样,当缓存满时,您可以让所用的引擎移出最少访问的键 (引擎默认行为),从而被动地管理缓存内存。
  • 新缓存节点上线 (例如应用程序扩展时) 时,惰性填充方法会在应用程序首次请求对象时将这些对象自动添加至新缓存节点。
  • 缓存过期很容易处理:只需删除缓存的对象,下次请求新对象时,从数据库获取对象。
  • 惰性缓存模式获得了广泛接受,许多 Web 和应用程序框架都对其提供了“开箱即用”的支持。

以下是用 Python 伪代码演示的惰性缓存示例:

# Python
def get_user(user_id):
    # 检查缓存
    record = cache.get(user_id)
    if record is None:       
       # 运行数据库查询       
       record = db.query("select * from users where id = ?",user_id)
       # 填充缓存
       cache.set(user_id, record)
    return record
# 应用程序代码
user = get_user(17)

您可以在许多流行的编程框架中找到封装了此模式的库。不管使用何种编程语言,总体做法是一样的。

只要应用程序符合“经常读取但很少写入数据”的模式,您就应该采用惰性缓存策略。例如,在典型的 Web 或移动应用程序中,用户个人资料很少发生变化,但需要在应用程序的许多地方访问。用户一年可能只更新个人资料几次,但根据用户类型,其个人资料每天可能要被访问几十甚至上百次。如果设置了移出策略,流行的缓存技术 (例如 Memcached、Redis 等) 会自动移出不常使用的缓存键以释放内存。因此,您可以自由地应用惰性缓存,而不造成任何严重的不良后果。

直写

在直写缓存中,缓存在数据库更新时实时更新。因此,如果用户更新了个人资料,更新后的个人资料也会推送到缓存中。如果您知道哪些数据一定会访问到,就可以借助这种方式主动避免不必要的缓存未命中情况。所有聚合类型都适合采用这种方法,例如游戏排行榜的前 100 位玩家、最热门的 10 条新闻报道、甚至是推荐内容。这些数据通常由特定的应用程序或后台作业代码更新,因此更新缓存也很简单。

直写模式也很容易通过伪代码演示:

# Python
def save_user(user_id, values):
    # 保存到数据库
    record = db.query("update users ... where id = ?", user_id, values)
    # 推入缓存
    cache.set(user_id, record)
    return record
# 应用程序代码
user = save_user(17, {"name": "Nate Dogg"})

与惰性填充相比,这种方法有一定优势:

  • 它避免了缓存未命中,可帮助应用程序更好、更快捷地运行。
  • 它将一切应用程序延迟转移到用户更新数据,更符合用户预期。相比之下,一系列缓存未命中会给用户留下应用程序运行缓慢的印象。
  • 它简化了缓存过期。缓存始终是最新的。

但是,直写缓存也有一些缺点:

  • 可能会向缓存中填充一些实际上访问不到的多余对象。这不仅占用了额外的内存,而且未用到的项目还可能将更有用的项目“驱逐”出缓存。
  • 如果某些记录反复更新,可能导致大量缓存改动。
  • 缓存节点出现故障时,缓存中的这些对象都将丢失。您需要通过某种方法 (例如惰性填充) 将缺失对象重新填充至缓存。

显然,您可以将惰性缓存与直写缓存结合使用,以帮助解决上述问题,因为它们与数据流的两端相关联。惰性缓存在读取时捕获缓存未命中情况,而直写缓存在写入时填充数据,因此这两种方法是相辅相成的。有鉴于此,最好的做法通常是使用惰性缓存作为整个应用程序的基础,在特定情况下将直写缓存用作有针对性的优化手段。

生存时间

缓存过期可能会在短时间内演变成极其复杂的问题。在之前的示例中,我们只对单一用户记录进行操作。而在实际应用程序中,给定页面或屏幕通常会同时缓存大量不同的内容 - 个人资料数据、热门新闻报道、建议、评论等等,所有这些内容以不同方式进行更新。

遗憾的是,没有解决这一问题的“灵丹妙药”,缓存过期是计算机科学的一个重大研究课题。但有几个简单的策略可供您选用:

  • 始终向所有缓存键应用生存时间 (TTL) - 以直写缓存方式更新的缓存键除外。您可以将生存时间指定为很长的时间,例如数小时,甚至数天。这种方法能够捕获应用程序错误,例如在更新底层记录时,您忘记更新或删除给定的缓存键。最终,缓存键会自动过期并刷新。
  • 对于频繁更改的数据,例如评论、排行榜、活动流等,不要添加直写缓存或复杂的过期逻辑,只需设置较短的 TTL (几秒钟) 即可。如果某条数据库查询在生产环境中被大量访问,您只需改动几行代码就能为此查询添加 TTL 为 5 秒的缓存键。此代码可谓是一种美妙的“创可贴”,能够在您评估更优雅的解决方案时让您的应用程序保持正常运行。
  • Ruby on Rails 团队研究出了一种更新的模式 - 俄罗斯套娃缓存。在这种模式下,嵌套记录通过其自有缓存键进行管理,顶层资源就是这些缓存键的集合。假设您有一个包含用户、文章和评论的新闻网页。在这种方法中,他们中的每个都是自己的缓存键,页面则分别查询每个键。
  • 如果您不确定某个缓存键是否受到给定数据库更新与否的影响,只需删除此缓存键。底层的惰性缓存机制会在需要时刷新此键。同时,您的数据库不会比没有缓存时更糟糕。

有关缓存过期和俄罗斯套娃缓存的详细介绍,请参阅 Basecamp Signal vs Noise 博客文章 The performance impact of "Russian doll" caching

移出

当内存满溢或超出缓存中的 maxmemory 设置时,就会发生“移出”- 导致引擎选择要移出的键以管理其内存。键的选择基于所选的移出策略。

默认情况下,适用于 Redis 的 Amazon ElastiCache 将 volatile-lru 移出策略设置为您的 Redis 群集。此策略选择设置了过期 (TTL) 值的最近最少使用的键。可将其他可用的移出策略作为可配置的 maxmemory-policy 参数,以应用其他移出策略。移出策略概述如下:

allkeys-lru:           缓存移出最近最少使用 (LRU) 的键,忽略 TTL 设置
volatile-lru:           缓存移出具有 TTL 设置的最近最少使用 (LRU) 的键
volatile-ttl:            缓存移出具有最短 TTL 设置的键
volatile-random:   缓存随机移出具有 TTL 设置的键
allkeys-random:    缓存随机移出键,忽略 TTL 设置
no-eviction:          缓存不移出任何键。这将阻止后续写入,直到内存释放。

选择适当的移出策略时,较好的策略是考虑您的群集存储的数据以及移出键的后果。
一般而言,基本缓存使用案例较常使用基于 LRU 的策略,但根据具体目标,您也可以使用更契合您需求的 TTL 或随机移出策略。

此外,如果遇到群集移出的情况,这通常表明您需要进行纵向扩展 (使用内存占用量更大的节点) 或横向扩展 (为群集添加节点),以容纳更多数据。但此规则有一个例外:您有意依靠缓存引擎通过移出方法管理您的键 (也称作 LRU 缓存)。

惊群效应

如果许多不同的应用程序进程同时请求一个缓存键,但出现缓存未命中,随后所有应用程序进程都并行执行相同的数据库查询,此时就会发生惊群效应 (也称作叠罗汉效应)。此查询的代价越高,对数据库的影响就越大。如果此查询是需要对大数据集进行排名的“前 10 查询”,就可能产生极其严重的后果。

向所有缓存键添加 TTL 带来的一个问题就是会加剧上述问题。例如,假设有数百万用户在您的网站上关注了某位受欢迎的用户。即使此用户未更新其个人资料或发布任何新消息,但其个人资料缓存仍会因为 TTL 而过期。您的数据库可能突然之间遭到一系列相同查询的“围攻”。

除了 TTL 以外,在添加新缓存节点时,由于新缓存节点的内存是空的,也很可能引发惊群效应。上述两种情况都可以通过执行以下步骤预热缓存来解决:

  1. 编写一个脚本,执行与您的应用程序相同的请求。如果是 Web 应用程序,此脚本可能是查询一组 URL 的 shell 脚本。
  2. 如果您的应用程序设置为惰性缓存,则缓存未命中会导致填充缓存键,从而填满新缓存节点。
  3. 添加新缓存节点时,请在将新节点附加到应用程序前运行脚本。您的应用程序需要重新配置以将新节点添加到一致的哈希环,因此可将此脚本作为触发应用程序重新配置前的步骤插入。
  4. 如果您预计会定期添加和删除缓存节点,则只需在应用程序通过 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 收到群集重新配置事件时触发脚本运行,就能实现自动预热。

最后,广泛使用 TTL 还有一个很小的副作用。如果您持续使用相同的 TTL 时长 (例如 60 分钟),则即使进行了缓存预热,也可能会有许多缓存键同时过期。一个易于实现的策略是为 TTL 增加一些随机性:

ttl = 3600 + (rand() * 120)  /* +/- 2 分钟 */ 

好消息是,通常只有大规模的网站才需要担心这种层级的扩展问题。但反过来说,这真是个令人羡慕的烦恼。 

最后,虽说您应该只缓存频繁使用的数据库查询和代价高昂的计算,但应用程序的其他部分可能不会因为使用缓存而受益。实际上,内存缓存非常有用,因为从内存中检索简单缓存键比执行最优的数据库查询或远程 API 调用还要快得多。但请牢记,缓存的数据实质上是过时的数据,也就是说,有些情况不适合使用缓存,例如在线结账期间访问物品价格。您可以监测缓存未命中等统计数据,以了解缓存是否有效。

最流行的缓存技术是内存键值类别的 NoSQL 数据库。内存键值存储是针对读取密集型应用程序工作负载 (例如社交网络、游戏、媒体共享和 Q&A 门户网站) 或计算密集型工作负载 (如推荐引擎) 而优化的 NoSQL 数据库。内存键值存储有两大优势 - 速度快和简单易用,这使其成为十分流行的缓存解决方案。键值存储没有复杂的查询或聚合逻辑,因而查询速度快。由于使用内存而不是较慢的磁盘,内存键值存储速度极快。此外,它还十分简单,很容易掌握和使用。市面上有各种各样的键值技术,其中许多可以用作缓存解决方案。Memcached 和 Redis 就是两种广受欢迎的内存键值存储解决方案。AWS 允许通过 Amazon ElastiCache 以完全托管方式运行这两种引擎。

使用 Amazon ElastiCache 等完全托管的服务在云中进行缓存,可以很轻松上手。这种服务降低了设置、管理和管理缓存的复杂性,让您专注于能为组织带来价值的内容。立即注册 Amazon ElastiCache

开始使用 Amazon ElastiCache

AWS Cloud
Get Started with Caching

Caching is applicable to a wide variety of use cases, but fully exploiting caching requires some planning. When deciding whether to cache a piece of data, consider the following questions:

  • Is it safe to use a cached value? The same piece of data can have different consistency requirements in different contexts. For example, during online checkout, you need the authoritative price of an item, so caching might not be appropriate. On other pages, however, the price might be a few minutes out of date without a negative impact on users.
  • Is caching effective for that data? Some applications generate access patterns that are not suitable for caching—for example, sweeping through the key space of a large dataset that is changing frequently. In this case, keeping the cache up to date could offset any advantage caching could offer.
  • Is the data structured well for caching? Simply caching a database record can often be enough to offer significant performance advantages. However, other times, data is best cached in a format that combines multiple records together. Because caches are simple key-value stores, you might also need to cache a data record in multiple different formats, so you can access it by different attributes in the record.

You don’t need to make all of these decisions up front. As you expand your usage of caching, keep these guidelines in mind when deciding whether to cache a given piece of data.


Lazy Caching

Lazy caching, also called lazy population or cache-aside, is the most prevalent form of caching. Laziness should serve as the foundation of any good caching strategy. The basic idea is to populate the cache only when an object is actually requested by the application. The overall application flow goes like this:

  1. Your app receives a query for data, for example the top 10 most recent news stories.
  2. Your app checks the cache to see if the object is in cache.
  3. If so (a cache hit), the cached object is returned, and the call flow ends.
  4. If not (a cache miss), then the database is queried for the object. The cache is populated, and the object is returned.

This approach has several advantages over other methods:

  • The cache only contains objects that the application actually requests, which helps keep the cache size manageable. New objects are only added to the cache as needed. You can then manage your cache memory passively, by simply letting the engine you are using evict the least-accessed keys as your cache fills up, which it does by default.
  • As new cache nodes come online, for example as your application scales up, the lazy population method will automatically add objects to the new cache nodes when the application first requests them.
  • Cache expiration is easily handled by simply deleting the cached object. A new object will be fetched from the database the next time it is requested.
  •  Lazy caching is widely understood, and many web and app frameworks include support out of the box.

Here is an example of lazy caching in Python pseudocode:

# Python
def get_user(user_id):
    # Check the cache
    record = cache.get(user_id)
    if record is None:       
       # Run a DB query       
       record = db.query("select * from users where id = ?",user_id)
       # Populate the cache
       cache.set(user_id, record)
    return record
# App code
user = get_user(17)

You can find libraries in many popular programming frameworks that encapsulate this pattern. But regardless of programming language, the overall approach is the same.

You should apply a lazy caching strategy anywhere in your app where you have data that is going to be read often, but written infrequently. In a typical web or mobile app, for example, a user's profile rarely changes, but is accessed throughout the app. A person might only update his or her profile a few times a year, but the profile might be accessed dozens or hundreds of times a day, depending on the user. Popular technologies that are used for caching like Memcached and Redis will automatically evict the less frequently used cache keys to free up memory if you set an eviction policy. Thus you can apply lazy caching liberally with little downside.

Write-Through

In a write-through cache, the cache is updated in real time when the database is updated. So, if a user updates his or her profile, the updated profile is also pushed into the cache. You can think of this as being proactive to avoid unnecessary cache misses, in the case that you have data that you absolutely know is going to be accessed. A good example is any type of aggregate, such as a top 100 game leaderboard, or the top 10 most popular news stories, or even recommendations. Because this data is typically updated by a specific piece of application or background job code, it's straightforward to update the cache as well.

The write-through pattern is also easy to demonstrate in pseudocode:

# Python
def save_user(user_id, values):
    # Save to DB 
    record = db.query("update users ... where id = ?", user_id, values)
    # Push into cache
    cache.set(user_id, record)
    return record
# App code
user = save_user(17, {"name": "Nate Dogg"})

This approach has certain advantages over lazy population:

  • It avoids cache misses, which can help the application perform better and feel snappier.
  • It shifts any application delay to the user updating data, which maps better to user expectations. By contrast, a series of cache misses can give a user the impression that your app is just slow.
  • It simplifies cache expiration. The cache is always up-to-date.

However, write-through caching also has some disadvantages:

  • The cache can be filled with unnecessary objects that aren't actually being accessed. Not only could this consume extra memory, but unused items can evict more useful items out of the cache.
  • It can result in lots of cache churn if certain records are updated repeatedly.
  • When (not if) cache nodes fail, those objects will no longer be in the cache. You need some way to repopulate the cache of missing objects, for example by lazy population.

As might be obvious, you can combine lazy caching with write-through caching to help address these issues, because they are associated with opposite sides of the data flow. Lazy caching catches cache misses on reads, and write-through caching populates data on writes, so the two approaches complement each other. For this reason, it's often best to think of lazy caching as a foundation that you can use throughout your app, and write-through caching as a targeted optimization that you apply to specific situations.

Time-to-live

Cache expiration can get really complex really quickly. In our previous examples, we were only operating on a single user record. In a real app, a given page or screen often caches a whole bunch of different stuff at once—profile data, top news stories, recommendations, comments, and so forth, all of which are being updated by different methods.

Unfortunately, there is no silver bullet for this problem, and cache expiration is a whole arm of computer science. But there are a few simple strategies that you can use:

  • Always apply a time to live (TTL) to all of your cache keys, except those you are updating by write-through caching. You can use a long time, say hours or even days. This approach catches application bugs, where you forget to update or delete a given cache key when updating the underlying record. Eventually, the cache key will auto-expire and get refreshed.
  • For rapidly changing data such as comments, leaderboards, or activity streams, rather than adding write-through caching or complex expiration logic, just set a short TTL of a few seconds. If you have a database query that is getting hammered in production, it's just a few lines of code to add a cache key with a 5 second TTL around the query. This code can be a wonderful Band-Aid to keep your application up and running while you evaluate more elegant solutions.
  • A newer pattern, Russian doll caching, has come out of work done by the Ruby on Rails team. In this pattern, nested records are managed with their own cache keys, and then the top-level resource is a collection of those cache keys. Say you have a news webpage that contains users, stories, and comments. In this approach, each of those is its own cache key, and the page queries each of those keys respectively.
  • When in doubt, just delete a cache key if you're not sure whether it's affected by a given database update or not. Your lazy caching foundation will refresh the key when needed. In the meantime, your database will be no worse off than it was without caching.

For a good overview of cache expiration and Russian doll caching, refer to The performance impact of "Russian doll" caching, a post in the Basecamp Signal vs Noise blog.

Evictions

Evictions occur when memory is over filled or greater than maxmemory setting in the cache, resulting into the engine to select keys to evict in order to manage its memory. The keys that are chosen are based on the eviction policy that is selected.

By default, Amazon ElastiCache for Redis sets the volatile-lru eviction policy to your Redis cluster. This policy selects the least recently used keys that have an expiration (TTL) value set. Other eviction policies are available can be applied as configurable maxmemory-policy parameter. Eviction policies can be summarized as the following:

allkeys-lru:           The cache evicts the least recently used (LRU) regardless of TTL set
volatile-lru:           The cache evicts the least recently used (LRU) from those that have a TTL set
volatile-ttl:            The cache evicts the keys with shortest TTL set
volatile-random:   The cache randomly evicts keys with a TTL set
allkeys-random:    The cache randomly evicts keys regardless of TTL set
no-eviction:          The cache doesn’t evict keys at all. This blocks future writes until memory frees up.

A good strategy in selecting an appropriate eviction policy is to consider the data stored in your cluster and the outcome of keys being evicted.
Generally, LRU based policies are more common for basic caching use-cases, but depending on your objectives, you may want to leverage a TTL or Random based eviction policy if that better suits your requirements.

Also, if you are experiencing evictions with your cluster, it is usually a sign that you need to scale up (use a node that has a larger memory footprint) or scale out (add additional nodes to the cluster) in order to accommodate the additional data. An exception to this rule is if you are purposefully relying on the cache engine to manage your keys by means of eviction, also referred to an LRU cache.

The Thundering Herd

Also known as dog piling, the thundering herd effect is what happens when many different application processes simultaneously request a cache key, get a cache miss, and then each hits the same database query in parallel. The more expensive this query is, the bigger impact it has on the database. If the query involved is a top 10 query that requires ranking a large dataset, the impact can be a significant hit.

One problem with adding TTLs to all of your cache keys is that it can exacerbate this problem. For example, let's say millions of people are following a popular user on your site. That user hasn't updated his profile or published any new messages, yet his profile cache still expires due to a TTL. Your database might suddenly be swamped with a series of identical queries.

TTLs aside, this effect is also common when adding a new cache node, because the new cache node's memory is empty. In both cases, the solution is to prewarm the cache by following these steps:

  1. Write a script that performs the same requests that your application will. If it's a web app, this script can be a shell script that hits a set of URLs.
  2. If your app is set up for lazy caching, cache misses will result in cache keys being populated, and the new cache node will fill up.
  3. When you add new cache nodes, run your script before you attach the new node to your application. Because your application needs to be reconfigured to add a new node to the consistent hashing ring, insert this script as a step before triggering the app reconfiguration.
  4. If you anticipate adding and removing cache nodes on a regular basis, prewarming can be automated by triggering the script to run whenever your app receives a cluster reconfiguration event through Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS).

Finally, there is one last subtle side effect of using TTLs everywhere. If you use the same TTL length (say 60 minutes) consistently, then many of your cache keys might expire within the same time window, even after prewarming your cache. One strategy that's easy to implement is to add some randomness to your TTL:

ttl = 3600 + (rand() * 120)  /* +/- 2 minutes */ 

The good news is that only sites at large scale typically have to worry about this level of scaling problem. It's good to be aware of, but it's also a good problem to have.  

Finally, it might seem as if you should only cache your heavily hit database queries and expensive calculations, but that other parts of your app might not benefit from caching. In practice, in-memory caching is widely useful, because it is much faster to retrieve a flat cache key from memory than to perform even the most highly optimized database query or remote API call. Just keep in mind that cached data is stale data by definition, meaning there may be cases where it’s not appropriate, such as accessing an item’s price during online checkout. You can monitor statistics like cache misses to see whether your cache is effective.

The most popular caching technologies are in the in-memory Key-Value category of NoSQL databases. An in-memory key-value store is a NoSQL database optimized for read-heavy application workloads (such as social networking, gaming, media sharing and Q&A portals) or compute-intensive workloads (such as a recommendation engine). Two key benefits make in-memory key-value stores popular as caching solutions – speed and simplicity. Key value stores don’t have complex query or aggregation logic, making queries fast. The in-memory key-value stores are especially fast due to them utilizing memory rather than slower disk. In addition, their simplicity makes them easy to master and utilize. There are numerous key-value technologies available on the market, many of them could be used as caching solutions. Two highly popular in-memory key-value stores are Memcached and Redis. AWS allows running both these engines in a fully managed fashion through Amazon ElastiCache.

It's easy to get started with caching in the cloud with a fully-managed service like Amazon ElastiCache. It removes the complexity of setting up, managing and administering your cache, and frees you up to focus on what brings value to your organization. Sign up today for Amazon ElastiCache.

Get started with Amazon ElastiCache