Amazon Lex 现已全面推出

注册一个免费账户
或登录到控制台

您可以免费试用 Amazon Lex。

从开始使用 Amazon Lex 之日起,您在第一年内每月可以免费处理多达 10000 条文本请求和 5000 条语音请求。


问:什么是 Amazon Lex?

Amazon Lex 是一种使用语音和文本构建对话界面的服务。Amazon Lex 使用的对话引擎与 Alexa 相同,可以提供高质量的语音识别和语言理解功能,让您能够在新的或现有的应用程序中添加掌握自然语言的精密“聊天机器人”。Amazon Lex 可以减少多平台开发的工作量,让您能够轻松将语音或文本聊天机器人发布到移动设备以及 Facebook Messenger、Slack、Kik 或 Twilio SMS 等多种聊天服务。Amazon Lex 可在本地与 AWS Lambda、AWS MobileHub 和 Amazon CloudWatch 进行互操作,还可以轻松集成 AWS 平台上的许多其他服务 (包括 Amazon Cognito 和 Amazon DynamoDB),从而让您更轻松地开发机器人。

问:如何开始使用 Amazon Lex?

要开始使用 Amazon Lex,只需登录 AWS 管理控制台并导航到“人工智能”分类下的“Lex”即可。您必须具有一个 Amazon Web Services 账户才能开始使用 Amazon Lex。如果您没有账户,系统会在注册过程中提示您创建一个账户。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Lex 入门指南

问:Amazon Lex 最常见的使用案例有哪些?

Amazon Lex 最常见的使用案例包括:
• 信息机器人 – 创建能够回答问题的自动化客户支持代理或机器人
• 应用程序/事务性机器人 – 创建独立的披萨订购代理或旅游机器人
• 企业生产力机器人 – 创建连接企业数据资源的定制机器人
• 设备控制机器人 – 使用 Amazon Lex 向互联设备发布控制命令

问:Amazon Lex 如何与其他 AWS 服务配合使用?

Amazon Lex 利用 AWS Lambda 来实现意图,利用 Amazon Cognito 进行用户身份验证,并利用 Amazon Polly 将文本转换为语音。此外,还可以使用 AWS Mobile Hub 从模板自动预置机器人。

问:我是否必须是机器学习专家才能使用 Amazon Lex?

使用 Amazon Lex 不需要具备机器学习方面的专门知识。开发人员可以用声明的方式指定对话流程,Amazon Lex 会负责语音识别和自然语言理解工作。开发人员需要用简单的英语提供一些示例语句,并提供他们通过相应提示问题从用户收集的不同参数 (信息槽)。之后,Amazon Lex 会自动创建语言模型。

问:哪些 AWS 区域提供 Amazon Lex 服务?

有关支持 Amazon Lex 的 AWS 地区列表,请访问所有 AWS 全球基础设施的 AWS 地区表。有关更多信息,另请参阅 AWS 一般参考中的地区和终端节点

问:Amazon Lex 可以支持的最大带宽是多少?

Amazon Lex 可以根据您的需求进行扩展,不存在带宽限制。

问:Amazon Lex 是不是一种托管服务?

Amazon Lex 是一种完全托管的服务,所以您无需担心资源扩展或代码维护的问题。Amazon Lex 会自动备份您使用的交互模式和语言模型。我们还提供全面的版本控制功能,便于回滚。Amazon Lex 架构不要求存储或备份最终用户数据。

问:何时使用 Amazon Polly 和 Amazon Lex?

Amazon Polly 可以将文本转换为语音。Amazon Lex 是一种使用语音和文本构建对话界面的服务。

问:Amazon Lex 是否会不断提高智能化水平?

是的。借助深度学习技术,Amazon Lex 会不断完善。 

问:我之前加入了 Amazon Lex 预览计划。Amazon Lex 现在全面推出之后,我的账户会发生什么情况?

Amazon Web Services 在 2017 年 4 月 19 日宣布,Amazon Lex 结束预览,进入全面推出阶段。因此,我们会在 2017 年 5 月 1 日 终止 Amazon Lex 预览计划。从 5 月 1 日开始,我们会按照定价计划收取使用费。前 12 个月的免费套餐将从 5 月 1 日开始计时。请注意,Amazon Lex 现在受到开发人员支持计划、商业支持计划和企业支持计划的支持。您也可以在 Amazon Lex 公共论坛上发布您想查询的问题。

问:如何使用 Amazon Lex 创建机器人?

要创建机器人,您首先要定义机器人执行的操作。这些操作就是需要由机器人实现的意图。您需要为每个意图添加语句和信息槽。语句是指调用意图的短语。信息槽是指实现意图所需的输入数据。最后,您需要提供执行操作所需的业务逻辑。Amazon Lex 机器人可以通过控制台和 REST API 创建。

问:我是否可以在客户端实施业务逻辑?

可以。Amazon Lex 允许将解析后的意图和信息槽返回到客户端,以便实施业务逻辑。

问:如何验证用户输入?

Amazon Lex 可以与 AWS Lambda 深度集成,您可以使用初始化和验证 CodeHook 来验证用户输入。该代码会在每一轮对话开始时执行。您可以使用 Codehook 来设置会话参数、验证用户输入以及自定义响应。

问:什么是意图?

要创建 Amazon Lex 机器人,您需要指定一组操作,即要让机器人实现的“意图”。一个机器人可以有多个意图。例如,“订票”机器人的意图包括预定、取消预订和查看预定。

问:什么是语句?


“语句”是指说出或输入的、可以调用意图的短语。例如,要调用一个进行预定的意图,您需要提供一个示例语句,例如“Can I make a reservation?”

问:什么是信息槽?

要实现意图,Amazon Lex 机器人需要来自用户的信息。这些信息收集在“信息槽”中。例如,要实现进行预订的意图,您需要将显示名称和时间定义为信息槽。

问:什么是提示问题?

Amazon Lex 利用提供的“提示问题”来得出定义的“信息槽”的值。例如,要得出“时间”信息槽的值,您需要定义一个提示问题,例如“What show time would you like to reserve?”。Amazon Lex 能够通过多轮对话得出多个信息槽值。

问:如何实现一项操作?

Amazon Lex 集成了 AWS Lambda,可以“实现”操作或业务逻辑。或者,您可以将 Amazon Lex 配置为将解析后的意图和信息槽值返回到客户端,进而完成操作。

问:如何监控和跟踪机器人?

您可以在 Amazon Lex 控制台中的“Monitoring”控制面板上跟踪机器人的指标。目前,您可以按通道跟踪机器人错过的语句数量、请求延迟和流量。您可以查看未被机器人识别出的语句 (即“错过的语句”) 的列表。利用这些监控功能,您可以查看用户与机器人交互的方式并不断做出改进。

问:创建机器人后会怎样?

创建机器人会触发机器学习并创建适用于该机器人的模型。创建新版本的意图和信息槽类型。该版本一经创建就不可改变。

问:如何测试 Amazon Lex 机器人?

您可以通过控制台上的测试窗口来测试 Amazon Lex 机器人。也可以通过该控制台测试在 AWS Lambda 中实施的任何业务逻辑。所有受支持的浏览器都可以用于对 Amazon Lex 机器人进行文本测试;语音可以通过 Chrome 浏览器进行测试。 

问:我是否可以使用同一个机器人处理语音和文本输入?

可以。机器人一经创建便可用于处理语音和文本输入。

问:如何创建适用于移动设备的 Amazon Lex 机器人?

Amazon Lex 提供适用于 iOS 和 Android 的软件开发工具包。您可以使用这些软件开发工具包创建适用于您移动使用案例的机器人。可以借助 Amazon Cognito 进行用户身份验证。可以使用 AWS Mobile Hub 创建、测试和监控适用于移动平台的机器人。可以使用 AWS Mobile Hub 从模板自动预置 Amazon Lex 机器人。

问:如何将 Amazon Lex 机器人用于消息收发服务?

您可以将 Amazon Lex 机器人发布到 Facebook Messenger、Slack、Kik 和 Twilio SMS 等消息收发平台。要发布机器人,您可以在控制台中提供用于身份验证的令牌,我们会将其安全存储起来并向您提供一个回调 URL,您可以将其提供给聊天服务。

问:我是否需要在部署前提交机器人进行认证?

您不需要在部署前将机器人提交给 Amazon 进行认证。

问:我能否在部署了某个版本的 Amazon Lex 供最终用户使用的同时,继续开发另一个版本?

是的。您可以创建一个版本的机器人并将其部署到生产环境中,同时继续开发另一个版本。每个版本的 Amazon Lex 机器人都有一个 ARN。每个版本都可以有不同的别名。您可以使用这些工具来设置开发、阶段和生产环境。

问:将机器人部署到不同的消息收发服务时,是否可以选择不同的版本?

可以。您可以为每项消息收发服务部署一个特定的版本。每个版本的 Amazon Lex 机器人都有一个 ARN。每个版本都可以关联一个别名。您可以使用这些别名将 Amazon Lex 机器人部署到不同的消息收发服务。您也可以将多个机器人部署到同一项消息收发服务。

问:语音输入最长可以持续多长时间?

Amazon Lex 可以支持最长 15 秒的语音输入。

问:我是否可以配置语音输入和文本输出?

可以。您只需要选择 PostContent API 就可以提供语音输入并选择文本输出。

问:Amazon Lex 支持多少种语言?

Amazon Lex 目前支持美式英语。

问:Amazon Lex 支持哪些音频格式?

Amazon Lex 支持以下输入音频格式:LPCM 和 Opus;支持以下输出音频格式:MPEG、OGG、PCM。

问:我是否可以在 VPC 中使用 Amazon Lex?

您可以通过公共终端节点从 VPC 访问 Amazon Lex,进而创建和运行机器人。目前,Amazon Lex 没有提供 VPC 终端节点。

问:是否可以在本地 (即没有 Internet 连接的情况下) 访问 Amazon Lex 机器人?

不能。最终用户需要通过 Internet 才能访问 Amazon Lex 运行时终端节点。

问:Amazon Lex 机器人与 Alexa 技能工具包有什么不同?

利用 Alexa 技能工具包,可以构建在 Alexa 生态系统和设备中使用的技能,并且开发人员可以充分利用所有的 Alexa 功能 (例如 Smart Home 和 Flash Briefing API)、流式音频和丰富的 GUI 经验。Amazon Lex 机器人支持语音和文本处理,并且可以部署到各种移动和消息收发平台。

问:要调用 Amazon Lex 意图,是否需要语音唤醒功能?

Amazon Lex 不支持语音唤醒功能。集成了 Amazon Lex 的应用程序将负责触发麦克风,即“即按即说”功能。

问:Amazon Lex 机器人是否可以使用 Alexa 语音做出响应?

目前,Amazon Lex 不支持使用 Alexa 语音做出响应。但是,我们提供了另外 7 种声音供您选择。

问:我能否从 Amazon Lex 机器人创建一项 Alexa 技能?

Amazon Lex 为您提供了将 Amazon Lex 机器人模式导出到与 Amazon Alexa 兼容的 JSON 文件的能力。一旦下载为 JSON,您需要登录到 Alexa 开发人员门户,导航到“交互模型”选项卡,启动 Alexa 技能构建器,并将机器人模式粘贴到 Alexa 技能的代码编辑器中。有关详细信息和步骤,请参阅 Amazon Lex 文档

问:在导出 Amazon Lex 机器人模式用于 Alexa 技能时,是否会将我的 AWS Lambda 函数导出并包含在机器人模式中?

不会。仅下载机器人定义。

问:我使用了模式导出功能,从 Amazon Lex 机器人中创建了一项 Alexa 技能。哪个 Alexa 平台会支持 Amazon Lex 机器人模式?

所有支持 Alexa 技能的 Alexa 平台都可以使用:Amazon Echo、Amazon Dot、Amazon Look、Amazon Tap、Amazon Echo Show,以及任何其他启用了 Alexa 的第三方设备

问:最终用户语句是否会存储起来?我是否可以删除这些语句?

Amazon Lex 可以根据您的内容来改善服务产品的质量,并改善 AWS 及其附属公司提供的与机器学习相关的其他产品和服务的质量。您提供的某些内容对于开发底层技术和改善 Amazon Lex 客户体验至关重要。您的信任、隐私和内容的安全性是我们最重视的问题,我们会实施负责任的、先进的技术和物理控制,以防止对您的内容进行未经授权的访问或披露,并确保我们依照对您的承诺使用您的内容。有关更多信息,请参阅 https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/data-privacy-faq/

您可以通过 API 以编程方式删除与账户关联的语音记录。删除录音可能会降低您的 Amazon Lex 体验。

问:我的数据是否已加密/安全?

Amazon Lex 仅支持安全的 HTTPS 协议。因此,所有的线上数据都是安全的。进行身份验证时,Amazon Lex API 请求会要求提供使用 AWS 秘密访问密钥计算的签名。Amazon Lex 在保留与机器人相关的信息的同时,严格遵循安全策略。在代表您与其他服务 (例如 AWS Lambda 和 Amazon Polly) 进行通信时,Amazon Lex 使用 HTTPS 协议和 AWS 签名。我们使用 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 密钥来保护您的敏感通道配置信息。

问:哪些人可以访问我的数据?

只有经过授权的 Amazon 员工才可以访问您的数据。您的信任、隐私和内容的安全性是我们最重视的问题,我们会实施负责任的、先进的技术和物理控制,以防止对您的内容进行未经授权的访问或披露,并确保我们依照对您的承诺使用您的内容。有关更多信息,请参阅 https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/data-privacy-faq/

问:能否将 Amazon Lex 用于针对不满 13 岁的儿童并受《儿童网络隐私保护法》(COPPA) 约束的网站、项目或其他应用程序?

可以。但您需要遵守 Amazon Lex 服务条款的规定,包括按照 COPPA 的要求来提供任何需要的通知并获得任何需要的、可验证的家长同意,才能将 Amazon Lex 用于全部或部分针对不满 13 岁的儿童的网站、项目或其他应用程序。对于客户按照 Amazon Lex 服务条款将其确定为全部或部分针对不满 13 岁的儿童并且受 COPPA 约束的网站、项目或应用程序,Amazon Lex 不会存储或保留其中的语音或文本语句信息。

问:怎样确定我的网站、项目或应用程序是否受 COPPA 的约束?

要了解 COPPA 的要求并获取指南以便确定您的网站、项目或应用程序是否受 COPPA 的约束,请直接参阅美国联邦贸易委员会提供并维护的各种资源。该网站还包含有关如何确定某种服务是否全部或部分针对不满 13 岁的儿童的信息。

问:Amazon Lex 可以支持哪些软件开发工具包?
Amazon Lex 目前支持适用于运行时服务的软件开发工具包。IoS 和 Android 软件工具包、以及 Java、JS、Python、CLI、.Net、Ruby、PHP、Go 和 CPP 均支持文本和语音输入。

问:能否用 SDK 来创建机器人?

您可以使用 Java、JavaScript、Python、CLI、.NET、Ruby on Rails、PHP、Go 和 CPP 等 SDK 来创建机器人。

问:Amazon Lex 支持哪些企业级连接器?

Amazon Lex 通过 AWS Lambda 集成了企业级连接器。借助 AWS Mobile Hub,可以预配置以下企业级连接器:Salesforce、Microsoft Dynamics、Marketo、Zendesk、Quickbooks 和 HubSpot。

问:为 Amazon Lex 提供了哪些支持?

根据您签订的 AWS 支持合同,Amazon Lex 可以获得开发人员支持计划、商业支持计划和企业支持计划的支持。您也可以在 Amazon Lex 论坛上发布您想查询的问题。

问:Amazon Lex 如何计算请求数量?

提供给 Amazon Lex 机器人的每条输入都被计为一条请求。例如,如果一位最终用户在对话过程中向机器人提供了 5 条输入,那么,这 5 条输入将被计为 5 条请求。使用费用是按请求数计量和收费的。

问:Amazon Lex 如何收费?

刚开始使用 Amazon Lex 时是免费的。有关最新定价信息,请参阅 Amazon Lex 定价页面

问:AWS 免费套餐是否包括 Amazon Lex?

是的。您可以免费试用 Amazon Lex。从开始使用 Amazon Lex 之日起,您在第一年内每月可以免费处理多达 10000 条文本请求和 5000 条语音请求。

问:我之前加入了 Amazon Lex 预览计划。Amazon Lex 现在全面推出之后,我的账户会发生什么情况?

Amazon Web Services 在 2017 年 4 月 19 日宣布,Amazon Lex 结束预览,进入全面推出阶段。因此,我们会在 2017 年 5 月 1 日 终止 Amazon Lex 预览计划。从 5 月 1 日开始,我们会按照定价计划收取使用费。前 12 个月的免费套餐将从 5 月 1 日开始计时。请注意,Amazon Lex 现在受到开发人员支持计划、商业支持计划和企业支持计划的支持。您也可以在 Amazon Lex 公共论坛上发布您想查询的问题。

Amazon Lex is now Generally Available

Sign up for a Free Account
Or Sign in to the Console

You can try Amazon Lex for free.

From the date you get started with Amazon Lex, you can process up to 10,000 text requests and 5,000 speech requests per month for free for the first year.


Q: What is Amazon Lex?

Amazon Lex is a service for building conversational interfaces using voice and text. Powered by the same conversational engine as Alexa, Amazon Lex provides high quality speech recognition and language understanding capabilities, enabling addition of sophisticated, natural language ‘chatbots’ to new and existing applications. Amazon Lex reduces multi-platform development effort, allowing you to easily publish your speech or text chatbots to mobile devices and multiple chat services, like Facebook Messenger, Slack, or Twilio SMS. Native interoperability with AWS Lambda, AWS MobileHub and Amazon CloudWatch and easy integration with many other services on the AWS platform including Amazon Cognito, and Amazon DynamoDB makes bot development effortless.

Q. How can I get started with Amazon Lex?

To start using Amazon Lex, simply sign into the AWS Management Console and navigate to “Lex” under the “Artificial Intelligence” category. You must have an Amazon Web Services account to start using Amazon Lex. If you do not already have one, you will be prompted to create one during the sign-up process. Please refer to the Amazon Lex Getting Started Guide for more information. 

Q. What are the most common use cases for Amazon Lex?

The most common use-cases include:
• Informational bot – build an automated customer support agent or bot that answers questions
• Application/Transactional bot – build a stand-alone pizza ordering agent or a travel bot
• Enterprise Productivity bot – build custom bots to connect to enterprise data resources
• Device Control bot– use Amazon Lex to issue control commands to connected devices

Q. How does Amazon Lex work with other AWS services?

Amazon Lex leverages AWS Lambda for Intent fulfillment, Amazon Cognito for user authentication, and Amazon Polly for text to speech.  In addition, AWS Mobile Hub can be used to automatically provision bots from a template.

Q. Do I have to be a machine learning expert to use Amazon Lex?

No machine learning expertise is necessary to use Amazon Lex. Developers can declaratively specify the conversation flow and Amazon Lex will take care of the speech recognition and natural language understanding functionality. Developers provide some sample utterances in plain English and the different parameters (slots) that they would like to collect from their user with the corresponding prompts. The language model gets built automatically.

Q. In which AWS regions is Amazon Lex available?

For a list of the supported Amazon Lex AWS regions, please visit the AWS Region Table for all AWS global infrastructure.  Also for more information, see Regions and Endpoints in the AWS General Reference.

Q. What is the maximum bandwidth supported on Amazon Lex?

Amazon Lex scales to your needs and does not impose bandwidth constraints.

Q: Is Amazon Lex a managed service?

Amazon Lex is a completely managed service so you don’t have to manage scaling of resources or maintenance of code. Your interaction schema and language models are automatically backed up. We also provide comprehensive versioning capability for easy rollback. Amazon Lex architecture does not require storage or backups of end user data.

Q. When do I use Amazon Polly vs. Amazon Lex?

Amazon Polly converts text inputs to speech. Amazon Lex is a service for building conversational interfaces using voice and text.

Q. Does Amazon Lex get more intelligent over time?

Yes. Amazon Lex uses deep learning to improve over time.  

Q: I was in the Amazon Lex preview program.  Now that Amazon Lex is GA, what happens to my account?

On April 19, 2017, Amazon Web Services announced that Amazon Lex exited Preview and entered General Availability. As such, we will be terminating the Amazon Lex Preview Program on May 1, 2017. Usage will be charged as per the pricing plan starting May 1st. Your first 12 months for the free tier will start on May 1st. Please note that Amazon Lex is now supported under Developer Support, Business Support and Enterprise Support plans. You can also post your queries on the public Amazon Lex forums

Q: How do I create a bot in Amazon Lex?

To create a bot, you will first define the actions performed by the bot. These actions are the intents that need to be fulfilled by the bot. For each intent, you will add sample utterances and slots. Utterances are phrases that invoke the intent. Slots are input data required to fulfill the intent. Lastly, you will provide the business logic necessary to execute the action. An Amazon Lex bot can be created both via Console and REST APIs.

Q. Can I implement business logic on the client?

Yes. Amazon Lex provides the option of returning parsed intent and slots back to the client for business logic implementation.

Q. How can I validate user input?

Amazon Lex provides deep integration with AWS Lambda and you can validate user input using the initialization and validation codeHook. This code gets executed at every turn of the conversation. The codehook can be used to set up session parameters, validate user input and customize responses.

Q. What is an Intent?

To build an Amazon Lex bot, you will need to identify a set of actions - known as  ‘intents’ -- that you want your bot to fulfill. A bot can have multiple intents. For example, a ‘BookTickets’ bot can have intents to make reservations, cancel reservations and review reservations.

Q. What is an utterance?


An ‘utterance’ is the spoken or typed phrase to invoke an intent. For example, to invoke the intent to make reservations, you would provide a sample utterance such as, “Can I make a reservation?”

Q. What are slots?

To fulfill an intent, the Amazon Lex bot needs information from the user. This information is captured in ‘slots’. For example, you would define show name and time as slots for intent to make reservations.

Q. What are prompts?

Amazon Lex elicits the defined ‘slots’ by using the ‘prompts’ provided. For example, to elicit value for the slot ‘time’ you will define a prompt such as “What show time would you like to reserve?”. Amazon Lex is capable of eliciting multiple slot values via a multi-turn conversation.

Q. How is an action fulfilled?

Amazon Lex integrates with AWS Lambda for ‘fulfillment’ of the action or business logic. Alternately, you can configure Amazon Lex to return parsed intent and slot values to the client for action fulfillment.

Q. How do I monitor and track my bot?

You can track metrics for your bot on the ‘Monitoring’ dashboard in the Amazon Lex Console. Currently, you can track the number of missed utterances, request latency and traffic by channel for your bot. You can view list of utterances that were not recognized by your bot, aka 'missed utterances'. With these monitoring capabilities, you view how your users are interacting with the bot and make improvements over time.

Q: What happens when I ‘build’ a bot?

Building a bot triggers machine learning and creates the models for your bot. A new version of your intents and slot types is created. Once created a version is immutable.

Q. How can I test an Amazon Lex bot?

You can test your Amazon Lex bot via the test window on the console.  Any business logic implemented in AWS Lambda can be tested via this console as well.  All supported browsers allow for testing text with your Amazon Lex bot; voice can be tested from a Chrome browser.  

Q: Can I use the same bot for voice and text inputs?

Yes. Once you have built a bot it can be used for voice as well as text inputs.

Q. How can I create Amazon Lex bots for mobile?

Amazon Lex provides SDKs for iOS and Android. You can develop bots for your mobile use cases with these SDKs. User authentication can be enabled via Amazon Cognito. You can use AWS Mobile Hub to build, test and monitor bots for your mobile platforms. AWS Mobile Hub can be used to automatically provision Amazon Lex bots from a template.

Q. How can I make Amazon Lex bots available on messaging services?

Amazon Lex bots can be published to messaging platforms like Facebook Messenger, Slack, and Twilio SMS. To publish the bot you can provide the tokens for authentication in the console, and we will store it securely and provide a callback URL that you can provide to the chat service.

Q. Do I have to submit my bot for certification prior to deployment?

You don’t need to certify your bot with Amazon prior to deployment.

Q. Can I have an Amazon Lex bot version deployed for use by end users while I continue to develop on a different version?

Yes. You can build and deploy a version of your bot into production while you continue to develop on a different version. Every version of an Amazon Lex bot will have an ARN. Each version can be associated with a different alias. You can use these tools to set up dev, stage and prod environments.

Q. Can I choose different versions while deploying to different messaging services?

Yes. You can deploy a specific version to each messaging service. Every version of Amazon Lex will have an ARN. Each version can be associated with an alias. You can use different aliases for deployment to different messaging service. Also, you can have multiple bots deployed to the same messaging service.

Q. What is the maximum duration of speech input?

Amazon Lex supports up to 15 seconds of speech input.

Q. Can I configure for speech input and text output?

Yes, you can just choose the PostContent API to provide voice input and choose text output.

Q. How many languages are supported on Amazon Lex?

Currently, Amazon Lex supports US English.

Q. What audio formats does Amazon Lex support?

Amazon Lex supports the following formats for input audio: LPCM and Opus; Supported output audio formats: MPEG, OGG, PCM.

Q. Can I use Amazon Lex in VPC?

Amazon Lex can be accessed from VPC via public endpoints for building and running a bot. Currently, Amazon Lex does not provide a VPC endpoint.

Q. Can I access Amazon Lex bots locally i.e. without an Internet connection?

No. End users will need to access the Amazon Lex runtime endpoint over the Internet.

Q. How is this different from Alexa Skills Kit?

Alexa Skills Kit (ASK) is used to build skills for use in the Alexa ecosystem and devices and lets developers take advantage of all Alexa capabilities such as the Smart Home and Flash Briefing API, streaming audio and rich GUI experiences. Amazon Lex bots support both voice and text and can be deployed across mobile and messaging platforms.

Q. Do I need a wake word to invoke an Amazon Lex intent?

Amazon Lex does not support wake word functionality. The app that integrates with Amazon Lex will be responsible for triggering the microphone, i.e. push to talk.

Q. Can an Amazon Lex bot respond using Alexa’s voice?

Currently we do not support the Alexa voice for Amazon Lex responses. However, there are 7 other voices from which to choose.

Q. Can I create an Alexa Skill from an Amazon Lex bot ?

Amazon Lex provides the ability for you to export your Amazon Lex bot schema into a JSON file that is compatible with Amazon Alexa. Once downloaded as JSON, you need to log in to the Alexa developer portal, navigate to the ‘Interaction Model’ tab, launch the Alexa Skill Builder, and paste the bot schema into the Code Editor of your Alexa Skill.  More details and steps can be found in the Amazon Lex documentation.

Q: When exporting my Amazon Lex bot schema to use in an Alexa skill, are my AWS Lambda functions exported and included in the bot schema?

No. Only the bot definition will be downloaded.

Q: I have created an Alexa Skill from an Amazon Lex bot using the schema export feature. Which Alexa platforms support the Amazon Lex bot schema?

All Alexa platforms that support Alexa skills can be used: The Amazon Echo, Amazon Dot, Amazon Look, Amazon Tap, Amazon Echo Show and any third-party Alexa-enabled devices.

Q. Are end user utterances stored? Can I delete these?

Amazon Lex may use your content to improve the quality of our service offerings and other machine learning related products and services offered by AWS and its affiliates. Some use of your content is crucial for further development of the underlying technology and improvement of the Amazon Lex customer experience. Your trust, privacy and the security of your content are our highest priority and we implement responsible and sophisticated technical and physical controls designed to prevent unauthorized access to or disclosure of your content and ensure that our use complies with our commitments to you. Please see https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/data-privacy-faq/ for more information.

You can delete voice recordings associated with your account programmatically via an API. Deleting voice recordings may degrade your Amazon Lex experience.

Q. Is my data encrypted/secure?

Amazon Lex supports only HTTPS protocol which is secure. So, all your data is secure on the wire. Amazon Lex API requests require signatures computed using AWS Secret Access Key for authentication. Amazon Lex follows strict security policies while persisting information about your bots. Amazon Lex uses HTTPS protocol & AWS signatures while communicating with other services (such as AWS Lambda and Amazon Polly) on your behalf.  AWS Key Management Service (KMS) key is used to protect your sensitive channel configuration information.

Q: Who has access to my data?

Only authorized Amazon employees, will have access to this data. Your trust, privacy and the security of Your Content are our highest priority and we implement responsible and sophisticated technical and physical controls designed to prevent unauthorized access to or disclosure of Your Content and ensure that our use complies with our commitments to you. Please see https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/data-privacy-faq/ for more information

Q:  Can I use Amazon Lex in connection with websites, programs or other applications that are directed or targeted to children under age 13 and subject to the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA)?

Yes, subject to your compliance with the Amazon Lex Service Terms, including your obligation to provide any required notices and obtain any required verifiable parental consent under COPPA, you may use Amazon Lex in connection with websites, programs, or other applications that are directed or targeted, in whole or in part, to children under age 13. Amazon Lex does not store or retain voice or text utterance information from websites, programs, or applications that are identified by customers in accordance with the Amazon Lex Service Terms as being directed or targeted, in whole or in part, to children under age 13 and subject to COPPA.

Q: How do I determine whether my website, program, or application is subject to COPPA?

For information about the requirements of COPPA and guidance for determining whether your website, program, or other application is subject to COPPA, please refer directly to the resources provided and maintained by the United States Federal Trade Commission. This site also contains information regarding how to determine whether a service is directed or targeted, in whole or in part, to children under age 13.

Q. What SDKs are supported for Amazon Lex?
Amazon Lex currently supports SDKs for runtime services. IoS and Android SDKs, as well as Java, JS, Python, CLI, .Net, Ruby, PHP, Go, and CPP support both text and speech input.

Q. Can I use SDKs to build bots?

You can build bots using SDKs: Java, JavaScript, Python, CLI, .NET, Ruby on Rails, PHP, Go, and CPP.

Q. Which enterprise connectors are supported on Amazon Lex?

Amazon Lex integrates with enterprise connectors via AWS Lambda. The following enterprise connectors can be provisioned via AWS Mobile Hub: Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, Marketo, Zendesk, Quickbooks, and HubSpot.

Q. What support is provided for Amazon Lex?

Depending on your AWS support contract, Amazon Lex is supported under Developer Support, Business Support and Enterprise Support plans.  You can also post your queries on the Amazon Lex forums.

Q. How does Amazon Lex count the number of requests?

Every input to an Amazon Lex bot is counted as a request. For example, if an end user provides 5 inputs to the bot as part of conversation, these are billed as 5 requests. Usage is metered and billed per request.

Q. How much does Amazon Lex cost?

It is free to get started. Please see Amazon Lex Pricing Page for current pricing information.

Q. Does Amazon Lex participate in the AWS Free Tier?

Yes.  You can try Amazon Lex for free. From the date you get started with Amazon Lex, you can process up to 10,000 text requests and 5,000 speech requests per month for free during the first year.

Q: I was in the Amazon Lex preview program. Now that Amazon Lex is GA, what happens to my account?

On April 19, 2017, Amazon Web Services announced that Amazon Lex exited Preview and entered General Availability. As such, we will be terminating the Amazon Lex Preview Program on May 1, 2017. Usage will be charged as per the pricing plan starting May 1st. Your first 12 months for the free tier will start on May 1st. Please note that Amazon Lex is now supported under Developer Support, Business Support and Enterprise Support plans. You can also post your queries on the public Amazon Lex forums.