GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

赢得人心的收购和整合战略

与 Moody’s Analytics Accelerator 技术和创新部门常务董事 Chris Thomas 的访谈


Moody’s Analytics Accelerator 技术和创新部门常务董事 Chris Thomas

并购后最困难的事情之一是整合两家公司的技术。这正是 Moody’s Analytics Accelerator 技术和创新部门常务董事 Chris Thomas 在 Moody’s 收购 REIS(美国商业房地产数据提供商)后做的事。作为 Moody’s Analytics Accelerator 的技术负责人,Thomas 的职责是支持新产品开发和并购整合,确保技术有效地整合。AWS 的 Jeff Drew 与 Thomas 讨论了 REIS 和 Moody’s Analytics Accelerator 是如何实现他们的整合目标的,以及从中获得了哪些可以对未来的收购有利的信息。 

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

从一开始就并肩合作

Jeff Drew:您制定了什么计划来确保 REIS 收购的技术方面取得成功?

Chris Thomas:我们收购 REIS 是因为他们的数据资产和深厚的专业知识,以及成为商业房地产数据和分析领导者的愿景。我们一直都知道,技术将是一个重点关注的关键领域,并且将它视为一个机遇。

Jeff Drew:从一开始,您就采取了一些文化整合措施。跟我们说说您是怎么开始的?

Chris Thomas:理解文化对于成功的技术整合至关重要。通过理解工作人员为什么采用了某些过程,我们可以更清楚地了解如何创建结合了这两种方法的最佳基础设施。在收购之后,我们将整个 Accelerator 团队搬到了 REIS 办公室,并与他们的团队并肩合作。我们想让他们明白我们是来一起工作的。我们还做出了战略选择,在一开始就让 AWS 参与技术整合,以确保我们朝着为业务和项目目标做出最佳选择的方向前进。我们花了两个月的时间来了解这项技术的历史,并评估了其中的挑战。这次评估奠定了基础,对我们未来的国家技术规划至关重要。

Jeff Drew:您是如何对收购的人员方面进行管理的?

Chris Thomas:最初几个月里,我花了很多时间通过一对一见面、午餐和团队会议的形式了解 REIS 技术团队,目的是创造一个环境让 REIS 和我们的 Accelerator 团队可以互相了解并为发展技术奠定基础。REIS 团队接收项目的方式与我想象的有很大不同,这让我学到很多。例如,我不确定他们的团队对我们的新方向接纳程度如何,但一开始我就感到非常惊讶。从一开始,这个团队就渴望提高他们的技能和对 AWS 的理解,并与我们一起接受新方法。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

赢得人心

Jeff Drew:我们谈到了通过整合来赢得人心。您认为哪项计划从一开始就很关键?

Chris Thomas:我们希望我们的第一个最小可行产品 (MVP) 就能产生巨大的商业影响、是可以实现的,并且是可以在 10 到 12 周内交付的东西,以提高组织的信心。这对于为整合设定基调很重要。

Jeff Drew:同意,这是一个非常重要的“人”的因素。在不同的项目中,有什么例子能说明如何简化新团队并建立信心?

Chris Thomas:我们决定先解决一个繁琐的税务文件提取过程。这个过程需要 8 到 10 周的时间结合使用 Excel、Access 和 SQL server 来处理数据。如果有什么地方失败了,就得重新开始整个过程。我们将这个人工过程转变为一个自动的基于云的过程后,就可以在 4 个小时内运行。我们没有一次批量处理 800 万个属性,而是通过在云中扩展捕获全部 6000 万个属性。这是一次巨大的胜利。

Chris 的成功整合关键

  • 将两个团队并到一起:让收购方的人知道你会和他们一起工作。
  • 花几个月的时间去了解他们的人:你的第一印象可能会不正确。
  • 选择一个成功几率高的初始 MVP:一个较大的商业影响可以提振信心。
  • 对他们的工作给予充分的肯定:这样有助于赢得人心。
  • 采取混合方法:改变企业文化,但要让他们的人帮助你。

Jeff Drew:这个例子非常好,这对巩固团队的整合有什么影响吗?

Chris Thomas:当你完成这样的一个项目后,会形成凝聚力。你们不仅作为一个团队一起工作,而且还分享了成功的喜悦,这会产生很大的影响。我们确保我们所收购的团队有机会扩展他们的思维,并且可以因努力工作获得很多认可,这有助于赢得人心。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

一种混合的整合方法

Jeff Drew:您如何描述您的技术整合方法与其他公司的不同之处?

Chris Thomas:当你收购一家公司时,有三件事可以做。一件是让收购顺其自然。你买了一家很有价值的公司,不要去破坏它。第二件是走进去,将他们的整个技术堆栈整合到你的集中平台中。最后,如果你一切都做对了,你就会得到一个完全整合的收购。我们采用了一种混合方法与 REIS 技术进行整合。我们没有试图改变他们团队的技术文化,而是鼓励他们与我们一起创新。当涉及到共享数据和构建新产品时,我们通过利用应用程序编程接口 (API) 来实现,而不是让每个人都使用一个主数据库。通过这种方法,我们现在可以让两个企业像一个企业一样运转。这使我们能够在新同事中建立信誉,同时在整合方面取得重大进展。

Jeff Drew:看过 Moody’s 整合收购,感觉您似乎不会让问题打败您。您总能解决它们。您非常的灵活。看起来可能感觉像是一系列的挑战,但实际上您已经制定了一个成功的策略。我知道你们扩展了这种收购方法,可以说说你们是怎么做到的吗?

Chris Thomas:我们让所有人都使用相同的通信渠道,比如 Slack,并让新团队使用相同的电子邮件工具,这样我们就可以看到彼此的日程表。这些事很多人都想不到,但却会带来很大的不同。您越早让这两家公司使用同一个工具和通信系统,你们就能越快地一起前进。

关于我们的客户

Moody’s Analytics Accelerator 技术和创新部门常务董事 Chris Thomas

Chris Thomas
Moody’s Analytics Accelerator 技术和创新部门常务董事

Chris 是 Moody’s 分析内容部门的常务董事,负责平台技术解决方案团队,并向执行董事 Dan Russell 汇报工作。Chris 于 2001 年加入 Moody’s,作为研究部门的一员,在那里他构建了风险管理预期违约频率 (EDF) 生产流程。2008 年,他转到 Moodys.com 开发团队,并在 2009 年推出了重新设计的网站。

在加入 Moody’s 之前,Chris 是 Ernst and Young 的安全审计业务经理,他领导的团队为财富 500 强公司提供信息安全和风险领域的解决方案。在加入 E&Y 之前,他是 IBM 全球服务部门的顾问,为银行和保险行业提供战略方向。

Chris 是加拿大滑铁卢大学的数学和计算机科学专业优秀毕业生,拥有学士学位。

Jeff Drew,Amazon Web Services 客户经理

Jeff Drew
Amazon Web Services 客户经理

Jeff 起初是一名网络程序员,后来跳槽到 McKinsey。离开 McKinsey 后,Jeff 创立并出售了两家提供金融服务的小型科技公司。他还为 NYSE(现在是 ICE 的子公司)和 Thomson Reuters 推出并发展了全球科技产品。近来,Jeff 为 Ernst and Young 提供咨询服务,为金融客户提供从弹性成熟度到收购整合,再到 IT 政策、标准和控制措施等技术战略方面的建议。Jeff 通过编程(包括 Android 应用程序)保持了解最新趋势。


相关阅读材料

金融服务的云时代
电子书
金融服务的云时代
对云如何塑造行业未来的看法
加速金融服务行业采用机器学习,作者:Mark Schwartz
博客
加速采用机器学习
将机器学习应用于当今的金融服务挑战的具体想法
AWS 金融服务
行业解决方案
AWS 金融服务
开发安全的创新性解决方案,提高客户和利益相关者的价值

如何带领您的团队采用云?

让现有员工学习新技能并扩大其规模的成本比招募新团队低。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Winning Hearts and Minds Strategy for Acquisition and Integration

A conversation with Chris Thomas, Managing Director, Technology and Innovation, Moody’s Analytics Accelerator


Chris Thomas, Managing Director, Technology and Innovation, Moody’s Analytics Accelerator

One of the hardest things to get right after an acquisition is integrating the two company’s technologies. That’s precisely what Chris Thomas, Managing Director of Technology and Innovation in the Moody’s Analytics Accelerator did after Moody’s acquired REIS, a U.S. commercial real estate data provider. As the technology lead of Moody’s Analytics Accelerator, Thomas’s role is to support new product development and integration of acquisitions, making sure that technologies are aligned effectively. Jeff Drew from AWS spoke with Thomas about how REIS and the Moody’s Analytics Accelerator met their integration goals and what learnings were derived that could benefit future acquisitions. 

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Side-by-side from the beginning

Jeff Drew: What planning did you do to make sure the technology aspects of the REIS acquisition would be successful?

Chris Thomas: We acquired REIS because of their data assets and depth of expertise and with a vision to become a leader in commercial real estate data and analytics. We always knew technology was going to be a key area of focus and viewed it as an opportunity.

Jeff Drew: From the beginning, you took some culture-meshing steps. Tell us how you got started?

Chris Thomas: Understanding culture is essential to a successful technology integration. By understanding why certain processes have been adopted by the workforce, we can get much clearer insight into how to create infrastructure that combines the best of both approaches. Right after the acquisition, we moved the entire Accelerator team into the REIS offices and embedded ourselves side-by-side with their team. We wanted them to understand that we were there to work together. We also made the strategic choice to involve AWS in the technology integration at the beginning to ensure we were moving forward making the best choices for the business and project goals. It took us two months to get through the history of the technology and assess the challenges. That assessment laid the groundwork and was essential in planning our future state technology.

Jeff Drew: How did you manage the people side of the acquisition?

Chris Thomas: I spent a lot of time in the first few months getting to know the REIS technology team in one-on-one meetings, lunches, and team meetings with the goal of creating an environment where REIS and our Accelerator team could get to know one another and lay the groundwork to evolve the technology. A big learning for me was that the REIS team received projects very different than I assumed they would. For example, I was unsure about how open the team would be toward our new direction, but was positively surprised early on. From the outset, the team was eager to advance their skills and understanding of AWS and work with us to embrace new approaches.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Winning hearts and minds

Jeff Drew: We’ve talked about winning hearts and minds through integration. Which initiative do you think was key at the beginning?

Chris Thomas: We wanted our first minimum viable product (MVP) to have an immense business impact, be achievable, and be something we could deliver in 10 to 12 weeks to drive confidence in the organization. That’s important for setting the tone for any integration.

Jeff Drew: Agreed, it’s an important “people” factor. Of the different projects, what’s an example of simplifying and building confidence with the new team?

Chris Thomas: We decided to tackle a cumbersome tax file ingestion process first. The process we started with took eight to 10 weeks to process the data using a mixture of Excel, Access, and SQL server. And if something failed, you had to restart the whole thing. We took this manual process and turned it into an automated cloud-based process that ran in four hours. And instead of just processing in batches of 8 million properties at a time, we captured the entire universe of 60 million properties by scaling it in the cloud. That was a huge win.

Chris’ Keys to Successful Integration

  • Embed the two teams side-by-side: Let the acquistion’s folks know you are there to work with them.
  • Spend a few months getting to know their people: Your first impressions may not be right.
  • Choose an initial MVP with a high chance of success: And a big business impact to boost confidence.
  • Give lots of recognition for their efforts: It helps win hearts and minds.
  • Take a hybrid approach: Change the culture, but have their people help you do it.

Jeff Drew: That’s a great example, what impact did that have on solidifying the integration of the team?

Chris Thomas: When you go through a project like that, it has a bonding effect. You not only work together as a team, but you share in the celebration of success, which has a big impact. We made sure the team we acquired had the opportunity to expand their thinking, and got a lot of recognition for their efforts, which helped to win hearts and minds.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

A hybrid approach to integration

Jeff Drew: How would you describe your approach to technology integration as compared to other companies?

Chris Thomas: When you acquire a company, there are three things you can do. One is to leave the acquisition alone. You bought a valuable business, so don’t break it. The second is to go in and integrate their entire technology stack into your centralized platform. In the end, if you do everything right, you’ve got a completely integrated acquisition. . We took a hybrid approach with the REIS technology integration. Rather than try to change the technology culture of the team, we encouraged them innovate with us. When it comes to sharing data and building new products, we do it by leveraging application programming interfaces (APIs), not by getting everyone into one master database. With this approach, we now have two businesses that can act like one. This enables us to establish credibility with our new colleagues while making significant progress with the integration.

Jeff Drew: Watching Moody’s integrate acquisitions, it seems you don’t let problems defeat you. You work through them. You’re resilient. What may have felt like a series of challenges, you’ve actually developed a successful strategy. I know you’ve scaled this acquisition approach, tell us how you’ve done that?

Chris Thomas: We got everyone into the same communication pipelines, like Slack, and got the new teams into the same email utility so we could see each other’s calendars. These are the things that a lot of people don’t think about, but that make a big difference. The sooner you get these two companies on one tooling and communication system, the more quickly you can move forward together.

About our guests

Chris Thomas, Managing Director, Technology and Innovation, Moody’s Analytics Accelerator

Chris Thomas
Managing Director, Technology and Innovation, Moody’s Analytics Accelerator

Chris is a Managing Director of the Moody’s Analytics Content division heading the Platform Technology Solutions team and reporting to Dan Russell, Executive Director. Chris joined Moody’s in 2001, as part of the research division, where he built the Expected Default Frequency (EDF) production process. In 2008 he transitioned to lead the Moodys.com development team, launching the redesigned website in 2009.

Prior to Moody’s, Chris was a manager in Ernst and Young’s Security Audit practice, he lead a team that provided solutions to fortune 500 firms in the area of information security and risk. Prior to E&Y, he was a consultant for IBM’s Global Services division, providing strategic direction for both the Banking and Insurance sectors.

Chris holds a Bachelor of Mathematics and Computer Science with distinction, from the University of Waterloo, Canada.

Jeff Drew, Account Manager, Amazon Web Services

Jeff Drew
Account Manager, Amazon Web Services

Jeff started as a network programmer then transitioned to McKinsey. Leaving McKinsey, Jeff started and sold two small technology companies serving financial services. He has also launched and grown global technology products for NYSE, now an ICE subsidiary, and Thomson Reuters. Recently, Jeff consulted for Ernst and Young, advising financial clients on technology strategy ranging from resiliency maturity to acquisition integration to IT policy, standards, and controls. Jeff stays current by programming, including an Android app.


Related reading

The Cloud Era of Financial Services
ebook
The Cloud Era of Financial Services
Perspectives on how cloud is shaping the future of the industry
Accelerating Adoption of Machine Learning in the Financial Services Industry by Mark Schwartz
blog
Accelerating Adoption of Machine Learning
Concrete ideas for applying machine learning to today's FinServ challenges
AWS Financial Services
industry solutions
AWS Financial Services
Develop secure and innovative solutions to increase customer and shareholder value

How do you take your teams to the cloud?

It's less expensive to reskill and scale up your current staff than it is to hire new teams.