一般性问题

问:什么是 AWS Snow 系列?

AWS Snow 系列是一系列物理设备,可帮助您在不依赖网络的情况下将大量数据传入和传出云。这可以帮助您将各种 AWS 服务用于数据的分析、文件系统和归档。 AWS Snowcone 是 AWS Snow 系列边缘计算和数据传输设备中尺寸最小的成员。Snowcone 便携、耐用且安全。您可以使用 Snowcone 收集、处理数据,并通过运送设备的离线方式或利用 AWS DataSync 的在线方式将数据移动到 AWS。AWS Snowball 是一种手提箱大小的数据迁移和边缘计算设备,具有两个设备选项:计算优化和存储优化。Snowball Edge Storage Optimized 设备提供了 40 个 vCPU 的计算容量,以及 80TB 的可用数据块或与 Amazon S3 兼容的对象存储。它非常适合本地存储和大规模数据传输。Snowball Edge Compute Optimized 提供了 52 个 vCPU、42TB 可用数据块或对象存储,以及适用于断开连接的环境中高级机器学习和完全动态视频分析等使用案例的可选 GPU。AWS Snowmobile 是一种用拖车移动的运输集装箱。这些服务可以帮助进行数据迁移、灾难恢复、数据中心关闭和远程数据收集项目。

问:示例使用案例有哪些?

您可以使用 AWS Snow 系列服务进行数据传输,并在站点进行临时预处理。一些大型数据传输示例包括云迁移、灾难恢复、数据中心重定位和/或远程数据收集项目。这些项目通常需要您在最短的时间内以最经济高效的方式迁移大量数据。

Snowcone 和 Snowball Edge 计算功能的一些示例使用案例包括 IoT 传感器流捕获、动态媒体转码、图像压缩、指标聚合和控制信令与警报。

问:我为什么需要 Snow 系列服务?

通过线路传输大量数据可能需要很长的时间,而有些位置根本无法建立任何连接。Snow 系列有助于以更安全且更具成本效益的方式加快数据传输。每项服务都具有预设的容量级别,以便于您轻松选择正确的选项。此外,Snowcone 和 Snowball Edge 有助于使计算应用程序更靠近数据源,以增强分析并交付实时结果。

问:哪种 Snow 系列服务最适合我?

Snow 系列提供多种容量和外形规格,适合大多数数据迁移和/或远程数据收集项目。 首先,确定所需的存储容量。然后,评估您对板载计算功能的需求。

请参阅功能对照表,了解更多详细信息。

问:我能以多快的速度迁移数据?

一般情况下,Snowball 服务可在大约一周内传输最多 100TB 的数据。Snowmobile 传输数据的速度高达 1TB/s,这表示只需几周时间即可加载 100PB 的数据。相比之下,速度为 50Mb/s 的专用 T3 线路则需要几年时间。

问:如何在 Snow 系列和其他 AWS 数据迁移服务之间进行取舍?

如果不存在网络带宽限制,那么 AWS Storage Gateway 和 AWS Direct Connect 服务是不错的选择。至于最高效的数据传输方法,无论是否连接到网络,Snow 系列的服务都可以提供理想的选择。AWS 提供了各种工具来帮助您通过网络、路径和技术合作伙伴迁移数据。请参阅以下页面,了解哪种服务最适合您。

在此处详细了解迁移到 AWS »

详细了解哪个数据迁移工具适合您 »

问:支持哪些 AWS 区域?

Snow 系列服务面向特定 AWS 区域提供。请参阅区域服务可用性页面,以了解更多信息。

了解有关 AWS Snow 系列的更多信息

访问 Snow 系列页面
准备好开始构建了吗?
开始使用 AWS Snow 系列
还有更多问题?
联系我们

General

Q: What is the AWS Snow Family?

The AWS Snow Family is a collection of physical devices that help migrate large amounts of data into and out of the cloud without depending on networks. This helps you apply the wide variety of AWS services for analytics, file systems, and archives to your data. AWS Snowcone is the smallest member of the AWS Snow Family of edge computing and data transfer devices. Snowcone is portable, rugged, and secure. You can use Snowcone to collect, process, and move data to AWS, either offline by shipping the device, or online with AWS DataSync. AWS Snowball is a suitcase-sized data migration and edge computing device that comes in two device options: Compute Optimized and Storage Optimized. Snowball Edge Storage Optimized devices provide 40 vCPUs of compute capacity coupled with 80 terabytes of usable block or Amazon S3-compatible object storage. It is well-suited for local storage and large-scale data transfer. Snowball Edge Compute Optimized devices provide 52 vCPUs, 42 terabytes of usable block or object storage, and an optional GPU for use cases such as advanced machine learning and full motion video analysis in disconnected environments. AWS Snowmobile is a shipping container moved with a tractor-trailer. These services can assist with data migration, disaster recovery, data center shutdown, and remote data collection projects.

Q: What are some example use cases?

You can use AWS Snow Family services for data transfer and occasional pre-processing on location. Some large data transfer examples include cloud migration, disaster recovery, data center relocation, and/or remote data collection projects. These projects typically require you to migrate large amounts of data in the shortest, and most cost-effective, amount of time.

Some example use cases for Snowcone and Snowball Edge computing capabilties include IoT sensor stream capture, on-the-fly media transcoding, image compression, aggregating metrics, and control signaling and alarming.

Q: Why do I need Snow Family services?

It can take a long time to transfer large amounts of data over the wire, and some locations don't have any connectivity at all. The Snow Family helps expedite data transfers in a more secure and cost-effective way. Each service has a pre-set capacity level to make it easy to choose the right option for you. Snowcone and Snowball Edge further help bring computing applications closer to the data source to enhance analysis and deliver real-time results.

Q: Which Snow Family service is best for me?

The Snow Family comes in multiple capacities and form factors to fit most data migration and/or remote data collection projects. First, determine the amount of storage capacity you need. Then, evaluate your need for onboard computing capabilities.

Please refer to the feature comparison table for more details.

Q: How quickly can I migrate data?

The Snowball services can typically transfer up to 100 TBs in about a week. Snowmobile can transfer data at a rate of up to 1TB/s, which means 100 PBs can be loaded in just a few weeks. In comparison, a dedicated T3 line at 50Mb/s takes years.

Q: How do I choose between Snow Family and other AWS data migration services?

AWS Storage Gateway and AWS Direct Connect services are good choices when network bandwidth limitations do not exist. For the most efficient means of data transfer, whether connected to a network or not, the Snow Family of services provides good choices as well. AWS offers a variety of tools to help you move data via networks, roads, and technology partners. See the pages below to find out which service is best for you.

Learn more about migrating to AWS here »

Learn more about which data migration tool is right for you »

Q: What AWS Regions are supported?

Snow Family services are available for use in specific AWS Regions. See the Regional Service Availability pages, for more information.

Learn more about AWS Snow Family

Visit the Snow Family page
Ready to build?
Get started with AWS Snow Family
Have more questions?
Contact us