开始免费使用 AWS

创建免费账户

获得 12 个月的 AWS 免费套餐,同时享受 AWS 的基本支持功能,包括全年全天候无休客户服务、支持论坛及更多。

问:什么是 AWS Snowmobile?

AWS Snowmobile 是首个 EB 级数据迁移服务,让您可以将海量数据集从本地移动到 AWS。每个 Snowmobile 都是一台存储容量高达 100PB 的安全数据卡车,可以分派到您的站点并直接连接您的网络主干,进行高速数据迁移。您可以并行使用 10 个 Snowmobile 从单个位置或多个数据中心快速迁移 1EB 的数据。Snowmobile 是由 AWS 进行操作的一项托管式服务。

问:Snowmobile 的工作原理是什么?

在您提出有关 Snowmobile 的咨询之后,AWS 工作人员将联系您以便确定部署 Snowmobile 要满足的要求并制定作业计划,然后我们会将所需的 Snowmobile 设备运送您的站点并将其连接至您的本地网络,这样,您就可以使用高速本地连接将数据从本地存储设备快速传输到 Snowmobile。完成数据传输后,Snowmobile 将返回指定的 AWS 区域,而您的数据会在该区域上传到您选择的 AWS 存储服务中,例如 S3 或 Glacier。最后,AWS 将与您共同验证数据是否已成功上传。

问:哪些人应该使用 Snowmobile?

借助 Snowmobile,客户能够以非常的成本将 EB 级数据集安全快速地从本地迁移到 AWS。使用情形包括迁移数百 PB 的数据 (例如视频库、基因组序列、地震数据和财务记录) 以便在 AWS 上运行大数据分析,还包括关闭传统数据中心并将规模达到 EB 级的所有本地数据移动到 AWS。Snowmobile 面世之前,迁移这种规模的数据通常需要花费几年时间,这对于很多客户来说实在太慢。有了 Snowmobile,您现在可以请求我们将多辆容量高达 100PB 的数据卡车分派到您的现场,将其连接本地高速网络主干,然后将 EB 级数据集传输到 AWS 中,全程只需几个星期 (不包括运输时间)。

问:Snowmobile 的规格如何?

每个 Snowmobile 的存储容量高达 100PB,装载在一个 45 英尺长、8 英尺宽、9.6 英尺高、空车重量约为 68000 磅的高集装箱中。集装箱非常坚固、防拆、防水,并具有温度控制和 GPS 追踪功能。

问:在 Snowmobile 和 Snowball 之间,我应该如何选择?

要在一个位置迁移 10PB 或更大的大型数据集,您应该使用 Snowmobile。对于小于 10PB 或分布在多个位置的数据集,您应该使用 Snowball。另外,您应该评估网络主干中的可用带宽。如果您有高速网络主干并且其空余吞吐量可以达到数百 Gb/s,则可以使用 Snowmobile 来一次性迁移大型数据集。如果主干上的带宽有限,那么您应考虑使用多个 Snowball 以增量方式迁移数据。

问:可以向 Snowmobile 传输多少数据?

每个 Snowmobile 的总容量高达 100PB,而并行使用多个 Snowmobile 可以传输 EB 级数据。

问:使用 Snowmobile 时是否有环境要求?

Snowmobile 需要以物理方式访问您的数据中心以便连接网络。它随附一个可拆卸的连接器机架和长达 2 千米的联网电缆,可以直接连接您数据中心中的网络主干。Snowmobile 可以停放在数据中心室内,也可以停放在邻近数据中心的室外,但距离要足够近以便连接网络电缆。停放区域应能容纳一辆标准的 45 英尺高集装箱拖车,且周边间距至少达到 6 英尺 (1.83 米)。不使用辅助冷却设备,Snowmobile 可以在高达 85F (29.4C) 的环境温度下运行。AWS 可以根据现场勘测结果在需要时提供辅助冷却设备。

问:Snowmobile 如何供电?

Snowmobile 在电力充足时的功率约为 350KW。如果容量充足,可以将 Snowmobile 连接到您所在位置的市电电源。否则,AWS 会在分派 Snowmobile 时随附一个独立的发电机组 (如果您的站点允许使用此类发电机)。此发电机组占用的空间与 Snowmobile 接近,应能停放一辆与 45 英尺集装箱拖车的体积大致相同的车辆。


问:什么是 Snowmobile 作业?

Snowmobile 作业包含使用 Snowmobile 进行端到端数据迁移的过程。作业有 5 个主要步骤:1) 现场勘测:AWS 工作人员与您共同分析迁移目标、数据中心环境和网络配置,以便制定迁移计划;2) 站点准备:您 (客户) 确定并提供本地资源,例如停车空间、Snowmobile 的电源、本地安全措施、网络地址、端口和可以将 Snowmobile 与本地网络主干连接的可用机架位置;3) 分派与设置:AWS 工作人员向您的站点分派 Snowmobile 并为您进行配置,使其成为可安全访问的网络存储目标;4) 数据迁移:您将数据从数据中心内任意数量的来源复制到 Snowmobile 中;5) 返回和上传:Snowmobile 返回您指定的 AWS 区域,而数据在此上传到您选择的 AWS 存储服务中。参阅 AWS Snowmobile 以了解更多信息。

问:如何将数据中心连接到 Snowmobile?

每个 Snowmobile 均随附一个可拆卸的高速连接器机架 (位于车轮上) 和一条 2 千米长的加固型联网电缆。连接器机架可以滚动到数据中心内某个位置并直接连接您的网络主干。这样,Snowmobile 就会成为您网络内的一个网络存储目标,可以进行高速数据传输。

问:如何将数据复制到 Snowmobile?

将 Snowmobile 连接到您的数据中心后,它将显示为一个网络存储目标。如同通过 NFS 接口将数据复制到任何联网存储设备上一样,您可以使用相同的工具和相同的方式将数据从本地存储设备复制到 Snowmobile。

问:是否能通过 NFS 终端节点连接 Snowmobile?

可以。Snowmobile 将显示为您网络上的一个标准 NFS 挂载,您可以通过现有工具和应用程序与其建立连接。

问:如何开始使用 Snowmobile?

请联系销售团队以便申请使用 Snowmobile。


问:将数据传输到 Snowmobile 需要多长时间?

Snowmobile 的最快数据传输速度为 1 Tb/s,这意味着您可以在 10 天之内传满一个 100PB 的 Snowmobile。实际的传输速度可能会有所不同,具体取决于您站点上的可用本地网络容量以及本地存储设备的速度。AWS 会在分派 Snowmobile 之前,为您提供一种方式来测试您的本地网络吞吐量以及数据源的复制速度,以便正确调整 Snowmobile 作业。

问:Snowmobile 可以提供哪些连接类型?

Snowmobile 随附一个可拆卸的连接器机架,需要安装在您数据中心内的机架上,然后才能直接连接到您的高速网络主干。连接器机架可以提供多个 40Gb/s 的接口,累计传输速度可达 1 Tb/s。

问:将我的数据导入 AWS 后,如何处置 Snowmobile 上的副本?

处理并验证完数据传输后,AWS 将按照美国国家标准技术局 (NIST) 的介质清理准则对 Snowmobile 执行软件擦除。

问:如何验证数据是否已成功复制到 Snowmobile?

将数据复制到 Snowmobile 后,系统会生成一组日志,其中带有针对每个已传输文件的校验和。您可以使用这些日志进行验证。将数据从 Snowmobile 导入 AWS 时,我们也会使用这些日志来验证所有数据是否已成功传输完毕。

问:当数据在 Snowmobile 上运回 AWS 时,我是否需要保留数据的本地副本?

您应始终保留源数据,直到 AWS 与您共同确认 Snowmobile 副本已成功上传到 AWS 为止。

问:是否能用 Snowmobile 从 AWS 导出数据?

Snowmobile 不支持数据导出。其旨在让您快速、轻松、安全地将 EB 级数据迁移到 AWS。当您需要从 AWS 导出数据时,可以使用 AWS Snowball Edge 来快速导出高达 100TB 的数据 (每台设备),如有必要,还可以并行运行多个导出作业。参阅 Snowball Edge 常见问题以了解更多信息。


问:Snowmobile 如何以数字方式保证数据的安全性?

您的数据会在写入 Snowmobile 之前使用您提供的密钥加密。所有数据均采用 256 位加密。您可以使用 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 来管理加密密钥。您的密钥不会永久存储在 Snowmobile 上,Snowmobile 断电之后,密钥会被立即擦除。

问:Snowmobile 如何以物理方式保证数据的安全性?

除了数字加密外,Snowmobile 只有 AWS 工作人员才可以操作,并通过安全访问硬件控制装置来控制对数据容器的物理接触。所有数据存储设备均与用于加载或删除数据的网络访问端口隔离。因此在设置容器之后,对数据容器进行操作并不需要物理接触。Snowmobile 在运输途中处于全天候视频监控、警报监控和 GPS 追踪的保护之下,并且可以由安全车辆护送。

问:是否可以在向 Snowmobile 传输之前将数据加密?

可以。您始终可以在向 Snowmobile 传输数据之前对其进行加密。


问:支持哪些 AWS 区域?

Snowmobile 可以与任何 AWS 区域中的 AWS 服务配合使用。要分析特定于您的区域的数据传输需求,请联系 AWS 销售


问:Snowmobile 作业如何收费?

基于网络的解决方案可能要花费数十年的时间,并需要在联网和物流方面投入数百万美元。与之相比,Snowmobile 可以提供一种实用的 EB 级数据迁移解决方案,而且在速度和成本上具有巨大的优势。Snowmobile 作业的费用为 0.005 USD/GB/月,具体取决于预置的 Snowmobile 存储容量和作业的端到端持续时间 (从 Snowmobile 离开 AWS 数据中心开始,到数据完整导入 AWS 时结束)。请联系销售人员进行评估。

Get Started with AWS for Free

Create a Free Account

Receive twelve months of access to the AWS Free Tier and enjoy AWS Basic Support features including, 24x7x365 customer service, support forums, and more.

Q. What is AWS Snowmobile?

AWS Snowmobile is the first exabyte-scale data migration service that allows you to move very large datasets from on-premises to AWS. Each Snowmobile is a secure data truck with up to 100PB storage capacity that can be dispatched to your site and connected directly to your network backbone to perform high-speed data migration.You can quickly migrate an exabyte of data with ten Snowmobiles in parallel from a single location or multiple data centers. Snowmobile is operated by AWS as a managed service.

Q. How does Snowmobile work?

After you have placed your inquiry for a Snowmobile, AWS personnel will contact you to determine requirements for deploying a Snowmobile and schedule the job, and will drive the required Snowmobile equipment to your site and connect it to your local network so that you can use your high-speed local connection to quickly transfer data from your local storage appliances to the Snowmobile. After the data transfer is complete, the Snowmobile will be returned to a designated AWS region where your data will be uploaded into the AWS storage services you have selected, such as S3 or Glacier. Finally, AWS will work with you to validate that your data has been successfully uploaded.

Q. Who should use a Snowmobile?

Snowmobile enables customers to quickly migrate exabyte-scale datasets from on-premises to AWS in a secure, fast, and low-cost manner. Use cases include migrating 100’s of petabytes of data, such as video libraries, genomic sequences, seismic data, and financial records to run big data analytics on AWS or shutting down legacy data centers and moving all local data in exabytes to AWS. Before Snowmobile, migrating data at such scale would typically take years which was too slow for many customers. With Snowmobile, you can now request multiple data trucks each with up to 100PB capacity to be dispatched on-site, connected to your local high speed network backbone, and transfer your exabyte-scale datasets to AWS in as quickly as a few weeks, plus transport time.

Q. What are the specifications of a Snowmobile?

Each Snowmobile comes with up to 100PB of storage capacity housed in a 45-foot long High Cube shipping container that measures 8 foot wide, 9.6 foot tall and has a curb weight of approximately 68,000 pounds. The ruggedized shipping container is tamper-resistant, water-resistant, temperature controlled, and GPS-tracked.

Q. How should I choose between Snowmobile and Snowball?

To migrate large datasets of 10PB or more in a single location, you should use Snowmobile. For datasets less than 10PB or distributed in multiple locations, you should use Snowball. In addition, you should evaluate the amount of available bandwidth in your network backbone. If you have a high speed backbone with hundreds of Gb/s of spare throughput, then you can use Snowmobile to migrate the large datasets all at once. If you have limited bandwidth on your backbone, you should consider using multiple Snowballs to migrate the data incrementally.

Q. How much data can I transfer to Snowmobile?

Each Snowmobile has a total capacity of up to 100 petabytes and multiple Snowmobiles can be used in parallel to transfer exabytes of data.

Q. Are there environmental requirements to use a Snowmobile?

The Snowmobile needs physical access to your data center to allow for network connectivity. It comes with a removable connector rack with up to two kilometers of networking cable that can directly connect to the network backbone in your data center. The Snowmobile can be parked in a covered area at your data center or in an uncovered area that is adjacent to your data center and close enough to run the networking cable. The parking area needs to hold a standard 45-foot High Cube trailer with a minimum of 6’-0” (1.83m) of peripheral clearance. Snowmobile can operate at ambient temperatures up to 85F (29.4C) before an auxiliary chiller unit is required. AWS can provide the auxiliary chiller if needed based on the site survey findings.

Q. How is a Snowmobile powered?

A fully powered Snowmobile requires ~350KW. Snowmobile can be connected to available utility power sources at your location if sufficient capacity is available. Otherwise, AWS can dispatch a separate generator set along with the Snowmobile if your site permits such generator use. This generator set takes a similar amount of space as the Snowmobile which is parking for a vehicle approximately the same size as a 45-foot container trailer.


Q. What is a Snowmobile job?

A Snowmobile job encapsulates the end-to-end data migration process using a Snowmobile. There are five main steps, including 1) Site Survey, where AWS personnel will work with you to understand your migration objectives, data center environment, and network configurations in order to determine a migration plan, 2) Site Preparation, where you (the customer) will identify and make available local resources such as parking space and power source for the Snowmobile, local security, network address, ports, and available rack positions to connect the Snowmobile with the local network backbone, 3) Dispatch and Setup, where AWS personnel will dispatch a Snowmobile to your site and configure it for you so it can be accessed securely as a network storage target, 4) Data Migration, where you will copy data from any number of sources within your data center to the Snowmobile, and 5) Return and Upload, where the Snowmobile is returned to an AWS region that you have designated where you data will be uploaded into the AWS storage services you have selected. Visit AWS Snowmobile to learn more.

Q. How do I connect my data center to Snowmobile?

Each Snowmobile comes with a removable high-speed connector rack on wheels with two kilometers of ruggedized networking cable. The connector rack can be rolled to a location inside your data center and connected directly to your network backbone. This way, the Snowmobile will operate as a network storage target inside your network for you to perform high-speed data transfer.

Q. How do I copy my data to a Snowmobile?

Once the Snowmobile is connected to your data center, it will appear as a network storage target. You can copy data from local storage devices to the Snowmobile using the same tools and in the same manner as data is copied to any network attached storage device with an NFS interface.

Q. Can I connect to Snowmobile via an NFS endpoint?

Yes. The Snowmobile will appear as a standard NFS mount on your network that you can connect to via your existing tools and applications.

Q. How do I get started with Snowmobile?

Please contact your sales team to request a Snowmobile.


Q. How long does it take to transfer my data to a Snowmobile?

The Snowmobile is designed to transfer data at a rate up to 1 Tb/s, which means you could fill a 100PB Snowmobile in less than 10 days. The actual transfer speed may vary depending on the available local network capacity at your site and the speed of your on-premises storage devices. AWS will provide a way for you to test your local network throughput and the copy speed from your data sources to properly size the Snowmobile job, before dispatching the Snowmobile.

Q. What type of connections does Snowmobile provide?

The Snowmobile comes with a removable connector rack that needs to be mounted on one of your data center racks where it can be connected directly to your high-speed network backbone. The connector racks provides multiple 40Gb/s interfaces that can transfer up to 1 Tb/s in aggregate.

Q. After my data has been imported to AWS, what happens to the copy on Snowmobile?

When the data import has been processed and verified, AWS performs a software erasure of the Snowmobile that follows the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) guidelines for media sanitization (NIST 800-88).

Q. How do I verify that my data has been successfully copied to Snowmobile?

At the time your data is copied into the Snowmobile, a set of logs will be generated with checksums for each file transferred. These logs are available to you for verification. The logs are also used when data is imported from the Snowmobile to AWS to verify that all data has been transferred successfully.

Q. Do I need to keep a local copy of my data while a copy is shipped back to AWS on a Snowmobile?

You should always keep your source copy until AWS has worked with you to verify that the Snowmobile copy has been successfully uploaded to AWS.

Q. Can I export data from AWS with Snowmobile?

Snowmobile does not support data export. It is designed to let you quickly, easily, and securely migrate exabytes of data to AWS. When you need to export data from AWS, you can use AWS Snowball Edge to quickly export up to 100TB per appliance and run multiple export jobs in parallel as necessary. Visit the Snowball Edge FAQ to learn more.


Q. How is Snowmobile designed to keep data secure digitally?

Your data is encrypted with keys you provided before it is written to the Snowmobile. All data is encrypted with 256-bit encryption. You can manage your encryption keys with the AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS). Your keys are never permanently stored on the Snowmobile, and are erased as soon as power is removed from the Snowmobile.

Q. How is Snowmobile designed to keep data secure physically?

In addition to digital encryption, the Snowmobile is only operated by AWS personnel and physical access to the data container is controlled via secure access hardware controls. All data storage equipment is separated from the network access ports used to load or remove data.This way, physical access to the data container is not needed to operate the container after it has been set up. In addition, Snowmobile is protected by 24/7 video surveillance and alarm monitoring, GPS tracking, and may be escorted by a security vehicle during transit.

Q. Can I still choose to encrypt my data before transferring to Snowmobile?

Yes. You can always encrypt your data before transferring it to the Snowmobile.


Q: What AWS Regions are supported?

Snowmobile can be made available for use with AWS services in any AWS region. To discuss data transport needs specific for your region please follow up with AWS Sales.


Q: How much does a Snowmobile job cost?

Snowmobile provides a practical solution to exabyte-scale data migration and is significantly faster and cheaper than any network-based solutions, which can take decades and millions of dollars of investment in networking and logistics. Snowmobile jobs cost $0.005/GB/month based on the amount of provisioned Snowmobile storage capacity and the end to end duration of the job, which starts when a Snowmobile departs an AWS data center for delivery to the time when data ingestion into AWS is complete. Please contact sales for an evaluation.