NewRelic_Logo@2x

New Relic 利用 Amazon EKS 改变业务模式,管理前所未有的发展

2021 年

成立于 2008 年的 New Relic 是可观测性领域的领导者,为工程师提供软件即服务(SaaS)平台,以便对其整个软件堆栈进行分析、故障排除和优化。在 2020 年,New Relic 开启了业务转型之旅,从基于主机的定价模式转移到基于消费的模式。此外,New Relic 还为所有客户推出免费服务套餐,为平台上的需求大幅增长而做准备。公司决定将其整个平台迁移到 Amazon Web Services(AWS),以适应预计的发展轨迹。在 8 个月时间里,New Relic 利用其自身工具和流程,以及 AWS 的功能及产品,迁移超过 2 万个服务器并对其服务平台进行重构。平台的重构利用了 Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service(Amazon EKS)。在这个迁移和重构计划中,New Relic 见证了工程效率和平台弹性的实质性改善,并借助长期可扩展性路径来支持其积极的成长目标。

由专业人员组成的团队针对项目开展协作
kr_quotemark

使用 AWS 让我们更专注于我们的核心能力;使我们能够更快、更频繁地发布更好的产品。”

Andrew Harnett
New Relic 托管服务高级总监

海量数据增加以及提高客户需求

New Relic 将遥测数据聚合在一个地方,并且实时为客户提供可操作的数据,从而帮助客户深入地了解其基础设施、云资源、容器和应用程序的性能。截至 2021 年 2 月,New Relic 每月会引入 120PiB 数据,并希望将该数字提高到每月 126PiB。这种爆炸式成长,加之对 New Relic 服务的需求升高,导致可扩展性障碍加剧,使单纯更新私有云数据中心内的旧式硬件和软件变成一项难以承受的负担。作为可观测性领域的领导者,New Relic 及其工程团队想要继续专注于提供平台来改善客户对自身平台进行检测的方式,而不是费心于管理基础设施。

借助 Amazon EKS 提高可扩展性,以助力产品发展

New Relic 开始迁移到 AWS 以利用多项全托管式服务,包括 Amazon EKS 和 Amazon Managed Streaming for Apache Kafka(Amazon MSK),并成为这些服务的最主要消费者之一。New Relic 最初迁移自身 Kubernetes 集群,以便在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud(Amazon EC2)上运行,为最终迁移到 Amazon EKS 做准备。即使使用此配置,New Relic 依然能够快速地扩展与创新,在 6 个月内迁移其引入数据的几乎 30%。因为迁移到 Amazon EKS,New Relic 可以加快迁移,如今会在 Amazon EKS 集群上引入将近 90% 的客户数据。虽然 New Relic 迁移到 Amazon EKS 的过程仍处于早期阶段,该公司已运行数十个 Amazon EKS 集群,包括总计 1.9 万多个节点和超过 15 万个容器组(pod),并计划在下一年将这些数字提高到三倍。

利用 AWS 托管服务加快创新部分

无需执行 Kubernetes 升级和安装安全补丁使 New Relic 团队节省超过 10% 的时间,允许他们更频繁地发布代码并开发新产品和功能,为客户创造附加价值。迁移到 Amazon EKS 帮助 New Relic 工程师专注于客户体验,将它们作为适用于云、DevOps 和数字化转型计划的首选解决方案,以便更好地根据公司的市场地位对此体验进行调整。

利用甲方的可观测性专长来消除迁移风险

作为一家可观测性公司,New Relic 采用仪表化系统,可大幅加快大规模重大更改的实施,如将其核心平台迁移到 AWS。New Relic 对任何可能的瓶颈十分熟悉。相对于低级别主机指标,New Relic 团队能够查看其系统拓扑,并随着时间推移持续地密切观察系统中的异常情况。工程师使用 New Relic 平台同时可视化从其整体式私有云数据中心到微服务架构的大规模数据迁移,并且彻底检测 Kubernetes 工作负载以检测迁移过程中的个别系统性能。这种级别的可观测性和信息让 New Relic 能够在非常短的时间内自信地迁移大量数据,并且快速将生产流量切换到 Amazon EKS 环境。而且,由于处于迁移旅程的早期阶段,New Relic 工程团队能够使用其自身平台来理解其当前的私有云计算需求。从节约成本的角度来看,这也是决定重构到 Amazon EKS 的一项显而易见的原因。

利用 Amazon EKS 的内置功能提高性能、可靠性和安全性

客户信赖 New Relic,并将其最敏感而及时的数据托付给他们。通过依靠 Amazon EKS 等服务,New Relic 可以专注于他们的核心能力,而不是数据中心和硬件管理。例如,有关的物理硬件随时都有可能发生故障。New Relic 不必再疲于应对这些故障和恢复问题,它们现在由 Amazon EKS 上的自动化工具进行托管。这意味着不用在半夜叫醒工程师,更快从故障中恢复,为客户缩短停机时间,尤其像黑色星期五和网络星期一这样的高峰扩展活动。

更高的可靠性和更高的安全性一样,能够增强客户的信心。部分得益于 Amazon EKS,New Relic 已经取得 FedRAMP 认证,目前正利用 Amazon EKS 的映像生成功能努力想要通过 HITRUST 认证。而且,Amazon EKS 本身也正致力于取得 FedRAMP 中等/高等认证,这和 New Relic 想要最终取得 FedRAMP 高等认证的计划相契合。

借助于 AWS 提供的计算弹性,New Relic 提高了自己的工程能力,开发出产品创新和市场扩张的新机会。其结果是,New Relic 为实现其最远大的目标而做好了充分准备,那就是构建更完美的互联网。

nr-gif

关于 New Relic

New Relic 为领先的工程团队提供一个功能强大的基于云的可观测性平台,帮助他们了解其软件的性能并缩短上市时间。

AWS 的优势

  • 迁移 2 万多个服务器,同时对其服务平台进行重构
  • 节省超过 10% 的运营时间
  • 更专注于核心能力,而不是基础设施管理
  • 取得 FedRAMP 认证并且正努力想要通过 HITRUST 认证

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EKS

Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service(Amazon EKS)为您提供在 AWS Cloud 和本地启动、运行和扩展 Kubernetes 应用程序所需的灵活性。

了解更多 »

Amazon MSK

Amazon Managed Streaming for Apache Kafka(Amazon MSK)是一项完全托管的服务,让您能够轻松构建并运行使用 Apache Kafka 的应用程序来处理流数据。

了解更多 »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可应需调整的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS Cloud 之旅。

NewRelic_Logo@2x

New Relic Shifts Business Mode, Manages Unprecedented Growth with Amazon EKS

2021

Founded in 2008, New Relic is a leader in the observability space, providing engineers with a software-as-a-service (SaaS) platform that analyzes, troubleshoots, and optimizes their entire software stack. In 2020, New Relic went on a journey to transform its business, moving from a host-based to a consumption-based pricing model. In addition, New Relic introduced a free service tier to all customers and prepared for a significant increase in demand on its platform. The company decided to migrate its entire platform to Amazon Web Services (AWS) to accommodate the projected trajectory of growth. In a period of 8 months, New Relic leveraged its own tools and processes, as well as AWS capabilities and offerings, to migrate over 20,000 servers and refactor its services platform. The refactoring of the platform utilized Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (Amazon EKS). In this migration and refactoring program, New Relic saw material improvements in engineering efficiency and platform resiliency, along with a path for long-term scalability to support its aggressive growth targets.

Group of professionals collaborating on a project
kr_quotemark

Consuming AWS lets us focus on our core competencies, enabling us to release better products faster and more frequently."

Andrew Harnett
Senior Director of Managed Services, New Relic

Enormous Data Growth and Increasing Customer Demand

New Relic provides customers with insights into the performance of their infrastructure, cloud resources, containers, and applications by aggregating telemetry data in one place and delivering actionable data to customers in real time. As of February 2021, New Relic ingests 120 PiB of data per month and expects that number to climb by 6 PiB per month. This explosive growth, coupled with the increase in demand for New Relic services, led to hard scalability barriers that threatened to make the mere act of updating the legacy hardware and software in their private cloud data center extremely burdensome. As a leader in the observability space, New Relic and its engineering team wanted to continue to focus on delivering a platform that improves how customers instrument their systems—not on managing infrastructure.

Unlocking Scalability to Fuel Product Growth with Amazon EKS

New Relic started its migration to AWS to take advantage of several fully managed services, including Amazon EKS and Amazon Managed Streaming for Apache Kafka (Amazon MSK), and has become one of the largest consumers of those services. New Relic initially migrated its own Kubernetes clusters to run on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) in preparation for the eventual move to Amazon EKS. While under this configuration, New Relic was able to quickly scale and innovate, migrating almost 30 percent of its ingestion in 6 months. Since the move to Amazon EKS, New Relic has been able to speed this migration and now ingests almost 90 percent of customer data on Amazon EKS clusters. While New Relic’s migration to Amazon EKS is still in its early stages, the company is already running dozens of Amazon EKS clusters, including over 19,000 total nodes and more than 150,000 pods with plans to triple these numbers over the next year.

Accelerating the Pace of Innovation with AWS Managed Services

Not having to perform Kubernetes upgrades and security patches saves the New Relic team over 10 percent of its time, allowing it to release code more frequently and develop new products and features that create additional value for customers. Migrating to Amazon EKS enabled New Relic’s engineers to focus on the customer experience, better aligning that experience with the company’s market position as the go-to solution for cloud, DevOps, and digital transformation initiatives.

Leveraging First-Party Expertise in Observability to De-risk the Migration

As an observability company, New Relic’s systems are instrumented, which hugely accelerated its ability to make large changes at scale, such as migrating its core platform to AWS. New Relic knew exactly where any potential bottlenecks could be. Rather than looking at low-level host metrics, the New Relic team had visibility into the topology of its systems and could look closely at anomalies that were developing in the system on a time continuum. Engineers used the New Relic platform to simultaneously visualize large-scale data migration from its monolithic private cloud data center to a microservice-cell based architecture and fully instrument Kubernetes workloads to detect individual system performance across the migration. This level of observability and information gave NewRelic the confidence to move massive amounts of data in a very short time and quickly switch production traffic to the Amazon EKS environment. In addition, early on in its migration journey, the New Relic engineering team used its own platform to understand its current private cloud compute needs. This made refactoring to Amazon EKS an obvious decision from a cost saving perspective as well.

Improving Performance, Reliability, and Security Using Built-in Capabilities of Amazon EKS

Customers trust New Relic with their most sensitive and timely data. By relying on a service like Amazon EKS, New Relic can focus on its core competencies instead of data center and hardware management. For example, any time physical hardware is involved, that hardware can fail. New Relic no longer has to deal with failure and recovery issues, which are now managed through automated tooling on Amazon EKS. That means no more waking up engineers in the middle of the night, quicker recovery from failure, and less downtime for customers, particularly during peak scaling events like Black Friday and Cyber Monday.

Greater reliability increases customer confidence, as does greater security. Thanks in part to Amazon EKS, New Relic has already achieved FedRAMP certification and is currently working toward HITRUST certification by leveraging Amazon EKS image build capabilities. In addition, Amazon EKS itself is on the way to FedRAMP moderate/high certification, which aligns with New Relic’s plans to eventually achieve FedRAMP high.

By leveraging the compute elasticity provided by AWS, New Relic has increased engineering capacity and developed new opportunities for product innovation and market expansion. As a result, New Relic is well positioned to meet its most ambitious goal: building a more perfect internet.

nr-gif

About New Relic

New Relic offers leading engineering teams a powerful cloud-based observability platform that allows them to view their software’s performance and improve their time to market.

Benefits of AWS

  • Migrated over 20,000 servers while refactoring its services platform
  • Saved more than 10% of operational time
  • Increased focus on core competencies instead of infrastructure management
  • Achieved FedRAMP certification and working towards HITRUST certification

AWS Services Used

Amazon EKS

Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (Amazon EKS) gives you the flexibility to start, run, and scale Kubernetes applications in the AWS cloud or on-premises.

Learn more »

Amazon MSK

Amazon Managed Streaming for Apache Kafka (Amazon MSK) is a fully managed service that makes it easy for you to build and run applications that use Apache Kafka to process streaming data.

Learn more »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.