singsong-logo@2x

先声智能使用 AWS 应对工作负载高峰

2020 年

数百万名从幼儿园到 12 年级的学生依赖先声智能来评估他们的英语口语和写作能力。该公司的人工智能 (AI) 平台在云端运行,能够处理多达 1.6 亿项测试,这些测试可以衡量每天参加 300 多所教育机构(主要位于中国)的三百万名学生的口语和写作能力。

先声智能平台在每天下午 5 点到 10 点期间承受着沉重的工作负载,确保在这个时间段高效处理沉重的工作负载是确保学生在进行口语和写作测试时能够获得快速应用程序性能的关键。如果云基础设施无法快速提供问题和测试结果,先声智能就面临着丢失客户的风险。

Shot of two young women using a laptop together in a college library
kr_quotemark

AWS EdStart 计划帮助我们与客户和合作伙伴建立联系。这是在教育领域中进行联系的绝佳方法。”

Long Qin
先声智能联合创始人兼首席执行官

快速发展需要第二个云基础设施

先声智能于 2016 年成立,作为一家快速发展的公司,先声智能的联合创始人兼首席执行官 Long Qin 认识到,公司需要扩展其云环境才能满足学生们不断增加的需求。公司最初依赖于一家位于中国的备选云提供商,但学生们遇到了网络性能下降的情况,包括测试需要较长时间才能加载。

当在中国进行的季节性零售活动达到高峰,并且使用同一家云提供商的其他客户所产生的流量过多,严重影响了先声智能所共用的计算资源时,这一问题变得尤为突出。在一些时候,学生们根本无法进行测试。

“提供商建议我们购买更多的计算资源以在这些繁忙时段保持网络稳定,但这样会大幅增加我们的成本”,Qin 说。“尽管我们确实需要提高服务的可靠性,但我们也希望能够经济高效地实现这个目标,以保持较强的现金流。”

教育工作者计划助力实现云端创新式学习

为了解决性能问题,Qin 求助于 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 以获得更多支持。由于 AWS 已经为 Qin 之前工作过的一家公司预置了云环境,所以,他知道自己可以信任 AWS,相信 AWS 能够提供同样卓越的应用程序性能。Qin 还知道 AWS 能够以合理的成本预置计算资源。

吸引 Qin 的另一个关键因素是 AWS EdStart 计划。AWS EdStart 可以帮助初创公司在云中构建创新型教育和学习解决方案,同时还为符合条件的公司提供 AWS 云服务积分。通过 AWS EdStart,先声智能可以与其他教育初创公司一起,访问咨询服务、培训和社区论坛。

自从加入 AWS EdStart 计划后,Qin 一直与其他成员一起,积极参加各种社区论坛和教育训练营。在最近的一次活动中,Qin 向其他 AWS EdStart Member 发表了关于先声智能如何利用 AI 的见解。

“AWS EdStart 计划帮助我们与客户和合作伙伴建立联系,”Qin 指出。“这是在教育领域中进行联系的绝佳方法。”

与人声相似的仿真语音

先声智能云环境使用具有自动扩展功能的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 服务器实例和 Elastic Load Balancing 在服务器之间分发工作负载。为了进行对象存储,先声智能使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3),同时 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 还提供了数据块存储,Amazon S3 Glacier 通过长期备份服务提供数据存档。先声智能通过 Amazon CloudWatch 对环境进行监控。

Qin 特别称赞的一项 AWS 服务是 Amazon Polly,这项服务使用深度学习技术将文本转换为十分逼真的语音。文本转换为语音服务可将人类的自然声音与来自多种语言的几十种语音合并,以构建支持语言的应用程序。

“我们的服务使用 Amazon Polly,让学生能够听出演讲者发言中细微的英语语言差异,”Qin 解释说。“我们通常会雇佣演员,但有时候找不到,并且可能价格昂贵。AWS 为我们提供了低成本的备选方案,这项技术能够提供与人类非常相似的声音,并且提供男性和女性演讲者选项。”

在工作负载峰值期间保持一致的性能

Qin 说,在 AWS 上设置 IT 基础设施非常简单。先声智能依赖于位于中国的两个 AWS 数据中心,Qin 知道,如果先声智能需要扩大目标市场,可以使用位于世界其他区域的数据中心。“我们还非常看重 AWS 定期升级计算资源,”Qin 补充道。“这样可以在保持相同的新资源成本的同时,降低较旧资源的成本。这在不增加成本的情况下,为我们提供了更强大的 CPU 和更多内存。”

由于 AWS 环境与先声智能的初始云提供商的环境是并行运行的,先声智能现在可以使用 Web 访问点随时测量哪个云服务能够提供更快速的响应。“AWS 环境能够始终一致地提供较高的性能,”Qin 说。“我们的学生客户不会遇到任何测试问题。”

事实证明,当实施封锁,学生们不得不在家学习时,指引学生使用 AWS 基础设施能够带来更多益处。在实施封锁的前几周内,点击先声智能网站的流量增加了八倍,并且从此之后一直保持较高水平。“幸好有 AWS,我们才能在没有花费较大成本的情况下成功处理了这一高峰期流量问题,”Qin 说。

值得信赖的建议助力实现超出预期的服务

先声智能除了从 AWS 获得了技术和成本方面的优势之外,Qin 还强调了 AWS 团队所发挥的重要作用:“我们喜欢 AWS 与我们合作的方式,他们提供多种服务,让我们能够清楚地了解我们的投资回报情况。他们还让我们相信,我们能够获得帮助我们的公司成功实现目标的最佳建议。我们信任 AWS,他们推荐的服务始终超出我们的预期。”


关于先声智能

先声智能利用人工智能、语音识别和语言处理技术为教育机构提供英语语音评估和作文评分服务。每天有多达 300 万名从幼儿园到 12 年级的学生依靠先声智能学习英语。

AWS 的优势

• 每天向多达 300 万名学生提供可靠的性能
• 处理应用程序工作负载中八倍的峰值流量
• 降低并控制计算资源的成本
• 将文本转换为逼真的语音


使用的 AWS 服务

AWS EdStart

AWS EdStart 作为 AWS 教育技术 (EdTech) 初创公司加速器,旨在帮助创业者在 AWS 云上构建新一代在线学习、分析和校园管理解决方案。

了解更多 »

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,能在云中提供安全且可调整大小的计算容量。

了解更多 »

Amazon Simple Storage Service

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »

Amazon Polly

Amazon Polly 是一种将文本转换为逼真语音的服务,它允许您创建能够说话的应用程序,并构建全新类别的支持语音功能的产品。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

singsong-logo@2x

Singsound Turns to AWS to Handle Workload Spikes

2020

Millions of students in grades K–12 rely on Singsound to assess their English speaking and writing capabilities. The company’s artificial intelligence (AI) platform runs on the cloud and processes up to 160 million tests that measure the speaking and writing competencies for as many as three million students every day who attend over 300 educational institutions, primarily in China.

The Singsound platform experiences heavy workloads between the hours of 5 and 10 PM, making that time window critical for ensuring students receive fast application performance as they take speech and writing tests. If the cloud infrastructure does not deliver questions and test results quickly, Singsound risks losing customers.

Shot of two young women using a laptop together in a college library
kr_quotemark

The AWS EdStart program helps us connect with customers and partners. It’s a great way to network within the education sector.”

Long Qin
Cofounder and Chief Executive Officer, Singsound

Rapid Growth Requires Second Cloud Infrastructure

As the company grew rapidly following its launch in 2016, Singsound’s cofounder and chief executive officer, Long Qin, realized the company needed to expand its cloud environment to keep up with increased student testing demands. The company initially relied on an alternate cloud provider based in China, but students encountered degraded web performance, including tests taking a long time to load.

This issue grew particularly acute when seasonal retail activity in China spiked and other customers sharing the same cloud provider generated excess traffic that negatively impacted compute resources shared by Singsound. In some cases, students couldn’t access tests at all.

“The provider suggested we purchase more compute resources to keep on standby for these busy time periods, but that would have increased our costs considerably,” says Qin. “Yes, we needed to improve the reliability of our services, but we wanted to do so cost effectively to maintain a strong cash flow.”

Educator Program Enables Innovative Learning in the Cloud

To resolve the performance issue, Qin turned to Amazon Web Services (AWS) for additional support. AWS had provisioned a cloud environment for a previous company that Qin worked for, so he knew he could trust AWS to deliver consistent application performance. Qin also knew AWS could provision compute resources at a reasonable cost.

Another key factor that attracted Qin was the AWS EdStart program. AWS EdStart helps startups build innovative teaching and learning solutions in the cloud while also providing qualifying companies with promotional credits for AWS Cloud services. With AWS EdStart, Singsound can access consultation services, training, and community forums with other education startups.

Since joining AWS EdStart, Qin has been actively participating in and attending community forums and education bootcamps with other members. At a recent event, Qin presented insights to other AWS EdStart Members on how Singsound leverages AI.

“The AWS EdStart program helps us connect with customers and partners,” Qin points out. “It’s a great way to network within the education sector.”

Artificial Voices That Sound Human

The Singsound cloud environment uses Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) server instances with autoscaling capabilities and Elastic Load Balancing to distribute workloads across the servers. For object storage, Singsound uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) while Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) provides block storage and Amazon S3 Glacier delivers data archiving with long-term backup services. Singsound monitors the environment with Amazon CloudWatch.

An AWS service Qin particularly appreciates is Amazon Polly, which turns text into lifelike speech using deep learning technology. The text-to-speech service synthesizes natural-sounding human speech with dozens of voices across a broad set of languages to build speech-enabled applications.

“We use Amazon Polly for our service that lets students listen to speakers to pick up the nuances of the English language,” Qin explains. “We typically hire actors, but they aren’t always available and can be expensive. AWS gives us a lower-cost alternative, and the technology comes very close to sounding like humans, with options for male and female speakers.”

Consistent Performance Maintained during Workload Spikes

According to Qin, setting up the IT infrastructure on AWS was easy. Singsound relies on two AWS data centers in China, and Qin knows Singsound can use data centers in other parts of the world when it expands its target markets. “We also value that AWS upgrades the compute resources regularly,” adds Qin. “They reduce the cost of older resources while maintaining the same costs for new resources. That gives us more powerful CPUs and additional memory without increasing our costs.”

With the AWS environment running in parallel with Singsound’s initial cloud provider’s environment, Singsound can now use web access points to measure which cloud service delivers the fastest response at any point in time. “The AWS environment consistently performs at a higher level,” Qin says. “The students of our customers do not experience testing issues.”

Directing students to the AWS infrastructure proved particularly beneficial when the shutdown struck, and students were forced to learn from home. The traffic hitting the Singsound site increased eightfold within the first couple of weeks of the shutdown and has remained high ever since. “Thanks to AWS, we have handled this spike without our costs spiraling out of control,” Qin says.

Trustworthy Advice Drives Services That Exceed Expectations

In addition to the technology and cost benefits Singsound receives from AWS, Qin emphasizes the key role of the AWS team: “We like the way AWS works with us and presents various services so we can clearly understand the return on our investment. They also communicate in a way that gives us confidence we get the best advice for helping our company succeed in our mission. We trust AWS—the services recommended always exceed our expectations.”


About Singsound

Singsound leverages artificial intelligence, voice recognition, and language processing technologies to provide English speech assessments and essay grading services to education organizations. Up to three million K–12 students rely on Singsound daily to learn the English language.

Benefits of AWS

• Delivers reliable performance to as many as 3 million students daily
• Handles an eightfold spike in application workloads
• Reduces and controls costs of compute resources
• Turns text into lifelike speech


AWS Services Used

AWS EdStart

AWS EdStart, the AWS educational technology (EdTech) startup accelerator, is designed to help entrepreneurs build the next generation of online learning, analytics, and campus management solutions on the AWS Cloud.

Learn more »

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud.

Learn more »

Amazon Simple Storage Service

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance.

Learn more »

Amazon Polly

Amazon Polly is a service that turns text into lifelike speech, allowing you to create applications that talk, and build entirely new categories of speech-enabled products.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.