AWS Database Migration Service – Häufig gestellte Fragen

Allgemeines

F: Was ist AWS Database Migration Service?

AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) ist ein verwalteter Migrations- und Replikationsservice, mit dem Sie Ihre Datenbank- und Analyse-Workloads schnell und sicher zu AWS verlagern können. Die Quelldatenbank bleibt während der Migration voll betriebsbereit, wodurch die Ausfallzeiten für Anwendungen, die von der Datenbank abhängig sind, minimiert werden.

Der AWS Database Migration Service kann auf Ihre Daten zugreifen, sie konvertieren und zu und von den meisten gängigen kommerziellen und Open-Source-Datenbanken migrieren. AWS Database Migration Service unterstützt homogene Migrationen wie Oracle zu Oracle sowie heterogene Migrationen zwischen verschiedenen Datenbanken wie Oracle oder Microsoft SQL Server zu Amazon Aurora.

Mit dem AWS Database Migration Service können Sie außerdem Daten kontinuierlich mit geringer Latenz von einer unterstützten Quelle zu einem unterstützten Ziel kopieren. Sie können zum Beispiel von mehreren Quellen zu Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) kopieren, um eine hochverfügbare und skalierbare Data-Lake-Lösung aufzubauen.

Sie können auch Datenbanken zu einem Data Warehouse im Petabyte-Bereich konsolidieren, indem Sie Daten zu Amazon Redshift streamen. Erfahren Sie mehr über die unterstützten Quell- und Zieldatenbanken.

F: Was sind die ersten Schritte mit AWS Database Migration Service?

Der Einstieg in AWS Database Migration Service ist schnell und einfach. Die meisten Replikationsaufgaben können in weniger als 10 Minuten eingerichtet werden.

Gehen Sie zum Abschnitt „AWS Database Migration Service“ der AWS-Managementkonsole und geben Sie „Start Migration wizard“ ein. Geben Sie die Quell- und Zielendpunkte ein, wählen Sie eine vorhandene Replikations-Instance aus bzw. erstellen Sie eine neue und akzeptieren Sie die vorgegebenen Schemazuweisungsregeln bzw. definieren Sie eigene Transformationen. Die Datenreplikation startet unmittelbar, nachdem Sie den Assistenten beendet haben.

F: Wie viel kostet AWS DMS?

AWS DMS ist eine kostengünstige Möglichkeit, Ihre Datenbanken und Analyse-Workloads zu migrieren. Sie zahlen nur für Replikations-Instances und etwaigen zusätzlichen Protokollspeicher. Die Datenübertragung ist kostenlos. Einzelheiten zu den Preisen finden Sie auf der Seite mit den DMS-Preisen.

F: Wie viel kostet AWS DMS Schema Conversion?

Die Nutzung von AWS DMS Schema Conversion als Teil von DMS ist kostenlos. Sie zahlen nur für den verwendeten Speicherplatz.

F: Wie sehen die einzelnen Datenbankmigrationsschritte aus, wenn AWS Database Migration Service verwendet wird?

Bei einer typischen einfachen Datenbankmigration erstellen Sie eine Zieldatenbank, migrieren das Datenbankschema, richten den Datenreplikationsprozess ein, starten das vollständige Laden und die nachfolgende Änderungsdatenerfassung und -anwendung und enden mit einem Umstieg der Produktionsumgebung auf die neue Datenbank, sobald die Zieldatenbank mit der Quelldatenbank übereinstimmt.

F: Unterscheidet sich der Prozess zur Datenbankmigration mithilfe von AWS DMS bei einer kontinuierlichen Datenreplikation?

Der einzige Unterschied besteht darin, dass der letzte Schritt (Umstellung der Produktionsumgebung) bei der kontinuierlichen Datenreplikation fehlt. Die Datenreplikationsaufgabe wird ausgeführt, solange bis Sie sie ändern oder beenden.

F: Kann ich den Fortschritt der Datenbankmigrationsaufgabe überwachen?

Ja. AWS Database Migration Service zeigt auf der AWS Management Console eine Reihe von Metriken an. Sie zeigt den vollständigen Datenreplikationsprozess an, einschließlich der Diagnose- und Performancedaten der einzelnen Schritte in der Replikations-Pipeline.

AWS Database Migration Service kann auch in andere AWS-Services integriert werden, z. B. in CloudTrail-Protokolle und CloudWatch-Protokolle. Sie können außerdem die AWS Database Migration Service API und AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) in Ihre vorhandenen Tools einbinden oder benutzerdefinierte Überwachungs-Tools erstellen, die an Ihre jeweiligen Bedürfnisse angepasst sind.

F: Wie integriere ich AWS Database Migration Service in andere Anwendungen?

AWS Database Migration Service hat eine Bereitstellungs-API, mit deren Hilfe Sie eine Replikationsaufgabe direkt in der Entwicklungsumgebung erstellen oder deren Erstellung auf bestimmte Zeiten des Tages in einem Skript festlegen können.

Mit der Service-API und CLI können Entwickler und Datenbankadministratoren die Erstellung, den Neustart, die Verwaltung und die Beendigung der Replikationsaufgaben automatisieren.

Unterstützte Quell- und Ziel-Engines

F: Welche Quell- und Zieldatenbanken unterstützt AWS Database Migration Service?

AWS Database Migration Service (DMS) unterstützt verschiedene homogene und heterogene Datenreplikationen.

Entweder die Quell- oder die Zieldatenbank (oder beide) müssen in RDS oder EC2 gespeichert sein. Eine Replikation zwischen dem lokalen System und lokalen Datenbanken wird nicht unterstützt.

F: Welche Quellen und Ziele unterstützt AWS DMS Schema Conversion?

AWS DMS Schema Conversion unterstützt eine Reihe beliebter Datenbanken, die hier aufgelistet sind.

F: Welche Quellen und Ziele unterstützt AWS Schema Conversion Tool?

AWS Schema Conversion Tool (AWS SCT) unterstützt verschiedene Datenbank- und Data Warehouse-Konvertierungen, die hier aufgeführt sind.

Schema Conversion

F: Kann AWS Database Migration Service mir helfen, Oracle PL/SQL- und SQL Server T-SQL-Code in gespeicherte Amazon-RDS-für-MySQL- und Amazon-RDS-für-PostgreSQL-Prozeduren zu konvertieren?

Ja, ein Bestandteil des AWS Database Migration Service ist die Funktion AWS DMS Schema Conversion (DMS SC), die die Konvertierung von Oracle PL/SQL- und SQL Server T-SQL-Code in entsprechenden Code im Amazon-RDS-für-MySQL-Dialekt von SQL oder in den entsprechenden PL/pgSQL-Code in PostgreSQL automatisiert.

Kann ein Code-Fragment nicht automatisch in die Zielsprache konvertiert werden, dokumentiert DMS SC deutlich die Stellen, an denen manuelle Eingriffe vom Anwendungsentwickler erforderlich werden. Es ist auch eine herunterladbare Version namens AWS Schema Conversion Tool (AWS SCT) verfügbar.

F: Migriert AWS Database Migration Service das Datenbankschema für mich?

Ja, wenn Sie einen besser anpassbaren Schemamigrationsprozess benötigen (wenn Sie beispielsweise die Produktionsdatenbank migrieren und die gespeicherten Prozeduren und sekundären Datenbankobjekte verschieben müssen), können Sie für heterogene Migrationen die integrierte Funktion „Schema Conversion“ von AWS DMS verwenden. Alternative Optionen sind das Herunterladen des AWS Schema Conversion Tools oder das Verwenden der nativen Schemaexport-Tools der Quell-Engine, wenn Sie homogene Migrationen durchführen, beispielsweise:

  1. Import- und Export-Assistent von SQL Server Management Studio.
  2. Oracle-Tool SQL Developer Database Export oder Erstellen eines Skripts für den Export mit dem Paket dbms_metadata.
  3. Workbench Migration Wizard von MySQL.

F: Inwiefern sind AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) und AWS Schema Conversion Tool (AWS SCT) miteinander verwandt?

AWS DMS und AWS SCT arbeiten zusammen, um Datenbanken zu migrieren und die fortlaufende Replikation für verschiedene Anwendungsfälle wie das Auffüllen von Data Lakes und Warehouses, das Synchronisieren von Systemen usw. zu unterstützen. AWS SCT kann Datenbankschemas für homogene Migrationen kopieren und sie für heterogene Migrationen konvertieren. Die Schemas können sich zwischen Datenbanken (etwa Oracle zu PostgreSQL) oder zwischen Data Warehouses (etwa Netezza zu Amazon Redshift) befinden.

Sobald ein Schema in einem leeren Ziel erstellt wurde, wird je nach Datenmenge und/oder unterstützten Engines AWS DMS oder AWS SCT zum Verschieben der Daten verwendet. AWS DMS verschiebt traditionell kleinere relationale Verarbeitungslasten (<10 TB), während AWS SCT primär zum Migrieren großer Data Warehouse-Verarbeitungslasten verwendet wird. DMS unterstützt die fortlaufende Replikation, um das Ziel mit der Quelle zu synchronisieren. Das ist bei AWS SCT nicht der Fall.

Datenreplikation

F: Kann ich AWS Database Migration Service, außer für eine einmalige Datenmigration, auch für kontinuierliche Datenreplikationen verwenden?

Ja. Sie können AWS Database Migration Service für einmalige Datenreplikationen in RDS- und EC2-basierten Datenbanken und für kontinuierliche Datenreplikationen verwenden. AWS Database Migration Service erfasst Änderungen an der Quelldatenbank und wendet sie bei allen Transaktionen konsistent auf das Ziel an.

Die kontinuierliche Replikation kann im Rechenzentrum an Datenbanken in AWS oder umgekehrt erfolgen. Dabei werden Daten aus einer Datenbank in AWS in eine Datenbank im Rechenzentrum repliziert. Fortgesetzte kontinuierliche Replikationen können auch zwischen homogenen oder heterogenen Datenbanken vorgenommen werden. Bei einer andauernden Replikation ist die Verwendung von Multi-AZ (Availability Zone) für hohe Verfügbarkeit vorzuziehen.

F: Warum sollte ich AWS Database Migration Service anstelle meiner eigenen selbstverwalteten Replikationslösung verwenden?

AWS Database Migration Service ist sehr anwenderfreundlich. Replikationsaufgaben können im Vergleich zu selbstverwalteten Replikationslösungen, die installiert und konfiguriert werden müssen, in wenigen Minuten statt in Stunden oder Tagen eingerichtet werden. AWS Database Migration Service überwacht Replikationsaufgaben, Netzwerk-oder Host-Fehler und stellt automatisch Host-Ersatz zur Verfügung, wenn Fehler nicht erfolgreich bearbeitet werden können. Nutzer des AWS Database Migration Service haben müssen keine Überkapazitäten bereitstellen oder in teure Hardware oder Replikationsoftware investieren, da sie üblicherweise ihre eigenen selbstverwalteten Lösungen haben.

Mit AWS Database Migration Service können Benutzer die Vorteile von On-Demand-Preisen nutzen und ihre Replikationsinfrastruktur abhängig von der Auslastung skalieren. Die AWS Database Migration Service-Datenmigration arbeitet eng mit dem AWS Schema Conversion Tool zusammen und vereinfacht somit heterogene Datenbankmigrationsprojekte.

F: Kann ich Daten aus verschlüsselten Datenquellen replizieren?

Ja, AWS Database Migration Service kann verschlüsselte Datenbanken lesen und schreiben und umgekehrt. AWS Database Migration Service verbindet sich auf der SQL-Schnittstellenebene mit den Datenbankendpunkten. Wenn Sie die Funktion der transparenten Datenverschlüsslung von Oracle oder SQL Server verwenden, kann AWS Database Migration Service verschlüsselte Daten aus solchen Quellen extrahieren und in das Ziel replizieren.

Gleiches gilt für die Verschlüsselung auf Speicherebene. Solange AWS Database Migration Service über die richtigen Anmeldeinformationen zur Datenbankquelle verfügt, kann sich das Programm mit der Quelle verbinden und Daten (in verschlüsselter Form) ins Ziel propagieren.

Wir empfehlen die Verwendung von Verschlüsselung im Ruhezustand für das Ziel, um die Vertraulichkeit Ihrer Informationen beizubehalten. Bei einer Verschlüsselung auf Anwendungsebene werden die Daten als solche über AWS Database Migration Service in verschlüsselter Form übertragen und dann in die Zieldatenbank eingefügt.

Planung der Migration

F: Was ist AWS DMS Fleet Advisor?

AWS DMS Fleet Advisor ist eine kostenlose, vollständig verwaltete Funktion des AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS). Sie automatisiert die Migrationsplanung und hilft Ihnen, Datenbanken und Analyseflotten mit minimalem Aufwand in die Cloud zu migrieren.

F: Wann sollte ich lieber den AWS DMS Fleet Advisor statt dem AWS Application Discovery Service and Migration Evaluator nutzen?

AWS DMS Fleet Advisor ist für Benutzer gedacht, die eine große Anzahl von Datenbank- und Analyseservern zu AWS migrieren möchten. Wenn Sie bereit sind, Ihre Datenbank- und Analytik-Workloads in Ziel AWS-Services zu migrieren, sollten Sie AWS DMS Fleet Advisor nutzen, um Ihre Online Transaction Processing(OLTP)- und Online Analytical Processing (OLAP)-Workloads zu entdecken und zu analysieren. Anschließend können Sie mit Fleet Advisor einen individuellen Migrationsplan erstellen, indem Sie die Komplexität der Migration Ihrer Quelldatenbanken zu den Zielservices in AWS bestimmen.

Der AWS Application Discovery Service (ADS) und der Migration Evaluator zielen auf breit-basierte Computing- angehängte Block-Storage-Discovery ab. Der Migration Evaluator wird von Kunden, die einen datengesteurten Business Case für AWS suchen, genutzt, um ihre Migrationsreise zu beginnen. ADS wird verwendet, um über das AWS Migration Hub Server-zu-Server-Abhängigkeiten zu visualisieren, Anwendungsgruppen zu schaffen und den Migrationsprozess zu überwachen.

F: Wann sollte ich den AWS DMS Fleet Advisor in Verbindung mit dem AWS Application Discovery Service und Migration Evaluator nutzen?

Migration Evaluator undAWS Application Discovery Service erleichtern Ihnen, frühe Erkenntnisse über das Inventar-Portfolio Ihres gesamten On-Premises-Rechenzentrums zu erhalten. Wenn Sie bereit sind, eine tiefere Analyse Ihrer Datenbank Analyse-Workloads durchzuführen, um die Migrationspfade zu AWS festzulegen, sollten Sie den AWS DMS Fleet Advisor nutzen, um eine Datenbank-Migration zu AWS zu planen.

Zur Seite mit den Preisen

Preisoptionen für AWS Database Migration Service erkunden.

Weitere Informationen 
Für ein kostenloses Konto registrieren

Sie erhalten sofort Zugriff auf das kostenlose AWS-Kontingent. 

Registrieren 
Bereit zum Entwickeln?

Erste Schritte mit dem AWS Database Migration Service.

Anmeldung

AWS Database Migration Service FAQs

General

Q: What is AWS Database Migration Service?

AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) is a managed migration and replication service that helps you move your databases and analytics workloads to AWS quickly and securely. The source database remains fully operational during the migration, minimizing downtime to applications that rely on the database.

The AWS Database Migration Service can assess, convert, and migrate your data to and from the most widely used commercial and open-source databases. AWS Database Migration Service supports homogeneous migrations such as Oracle to Oracle, as well as heterogeneous migrations between different databases, such as Oracle or Microsoft SQL Server to Amazon Aurora.

With AWS Database Migration Service, you can also continuously replicate data with low latency from a supported source to a supported target. For example, you can replicate from multiple sources to Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to build a highly available and scalable data lake solution.

You can also consolidate databases into a petabyte-scale data warehouse by streaming data to Amazon Redshift. Learn more about the supported source and target databases.

Q: How do I get started with AWS Database Migration Service?

Getting started with AWS Database Migration Service is quick and simple. Most data replication tasks can be set up in less than 10 minutes.

Visit the AWS Database Migration Service section of the AWS Management Console and enter the Start Migration wizard. Specify your source and target endpoints, select an existing replication instance or create a new one, and accept the default schema mapping rules or define your own transformations. Data replication will start immediately after you complete the wizard.

Q: How much does AWS DMS cost?

AWS DMS is an affordable, low-cost option to migrate your databases and analytics workloads. You pay only for the replication instances and any additional log storage. Data transfer is free. You can find full pricing details on the DMS pricing page.

Q: How much does AWS DMS Schema Conversion cost?

AWS DMS Schema Conversion is free to use as a part of DMS. Pay only for the storage used.

Q. What are the database migration steps when using AWS Database Migration Service?

During a typical simple database migration, you will create a target database, migrate the database schema, set up the data replication process, initiate the full load and a subsequent change data capture and apply, and conclude with a switchover of your production environment to the new database once the target database is caught up with the source database.

Q. Is the database migration process using AWS DMS different for continuous data replication?

The only difference is in the last step (the production environment switchover), which is absent for continuous data replication. Your data replication task will run until you change or terminate it.

Q: Can I monitor the progress of a database migration task?

Yes. AWS Database Migration Service has a variety of metrics displayed in the AWS Management Console. It provides an end-to-end view of the data replication process, including diagnostic and performance data for each point in the replication pipeline.

AWS Database Migration Service also integrates with other AWS services such as CloudTrail and CloudWatch Logs. You can also leverage the AWS Database Migration Service API and AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) to integrate with your existing tools or build custom monitoring tools to suit your specific needs.

Q: How do I integrate AWS Database Migration Service with other applications?

AWS Database Migration Service provides a provisioning API that allows creating a replication task directly from your development environment, or scripting their creation at scheduled times during the day.

The service API and CLI allows developers and database administrators to automate the creation, restart, management and termination of replication tasks.

Supported sources and target engines

Q: What source databases and target databases does AWS Database Migration Service support?

AWS Database Migration Service (DMS) supports a range of homogeneous and heterogeneous data replications.

Either the source or the target database (or both) need to reside in RDS or on EC2. Replication between on-premises to on-premises databases is not supported.

 
Q: What sources and targets does AWS DMS Schema Conversion support?
 
AWS DMS Schema Conversion supports a range of popular databases, which are listed  here.
 
Q: What sources and targets does AWS Schema Conversion Tool support?
 
AWS Schema Conversion Tool (AWS SCT) supports a range of database and data warehouse conversions, which are listed  here.

Schema conversion

Q. Will AWS Database Migration Service help me convert my Oracle PL/SQL and SQL Server T-SQL code to Amazon RDS for MySQL and Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL stored procedures?

Yes, part of the AWS Database Migration Service is AWS DMS Schema Conversion (DMS SC) which automates the conversion of Oracle PL/SQL and SQL Server T-SQL code to equivalent code in the Amazon RDS for MySQL dialect of SQL or the equivalent PL/pgSQL code in PostgreSQL.

When a code fragment cannot be automatically converted to the target language, DMS SC will clearly document the locations that require manual input from the application developer. A downloadable version, called AWS Schema Conversion Tool (AWS SCT), is also available.

Q: Does AWS Database Migration Service migrate the database schema for me?

Yes, when you need to use a more customizable schema migration process (for example, when you are migrating your production database and need to move your stored procedures and secondary database objects), you can use the built-in Schema Conversion feature of AWS DMS for heterogeneous migrations. Alternative options include downloading AWS Schema Conversion Tool or using the schema export tools native to the source engine, if you are doing homogeneous migrations such as:

  1. SQL Server Management Studio's Import and Export Wizard.
  2. Oracle's SQL Developer Database Export tool or script the export using the dbms_metadata package.
  3. MySQL's Workbench Migration Wizard.

Q. How are AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) and AWS Schema Conversion Tool (AWS SCT) related?

AWS DMS and AWS SCT work in conjunction to both migrate databases and support ongoing replication for a variety of uses such as populating data lakes and warehouses, synchronizing systems, and so on. AWS SCT can copy database schemas for homogeneous migrations and convert them for heterogeneous migrations. The schemas can be between databases (for example, Oracle to PostgreSQL), or between data warehouses (for example, Netezza to Amazon Redshift).

Once a schema has been created on an empty target, depending on the volume of data and/or supported engines, either AWS DMS or AWS SCT are then used to move the data. AWS DMS traditionally moves smaller relational workloads (<10 TB), whereas AWS SCT is primarily used to migrate large data warehouse workloads. AWS DMS supports ongoing replication to keep the target in sync with the source; AWS SCT does not.

Data replication

Q: In addition to one-time data migration, can I use AWS Database Migration Service for continuous data replication?

Yes, you can use AWS Database Migration Service for one-time data migration into RDS and EC2-based databases as well as for continuous data replication. AWS Database Migration Service will capture changes on the source database and apply them in a transactionally consistent way to the target.

Continuous replication can be done from your data center to the databases in AWS or in the reverse, replicating to a database in your data center from a database in AWS. Ongoing continuous replication can also be done between homogeneous or heterogeneous databases. For ongoing replication, it would be preferable to use Multi-AZ for high availability.

Q. Why should I use AWS Database Migration Service instead of my own self-managed replication solution?

AWS Database Migration Service is very simple to use. Replication tasks can be set up in minutes instead of hours or days, compared to the self-managed replication solutions that have to be installed and configured. AWS Database Migration Service monitors for replication tasks, network or host failures, and automatically provisions a host replacement in case of failures that can’t be repaired. Users of AWS Database Migration Service don’t have to overprovision capacity and invest in expensive hardware and replication software, as they typically have to do with self-managed solutions. 

With AWS Database Migration Service users can take advantage of on-demand pricing and scale their replication infrastructure up or down, depending on the load. AWS Database Migration Service data replication integrates tightly with the AWS Schema Conversion Tool, simplifying heterogeneous database migration projects.

Q: Can I replicate data from encrypted data sources?

Yes, AWS Database Migration Service can read and write from and to encrypted databases. AWS Database Migration Service connects to your database endpoints on the SQL interface layer. If you use the Transparent Data Encryption features of Oracle or SQL Server, AWS Database Migration Service will be able to extract decrypted data from such sources and replicate it to the target.

The same applies to storage-level encryption. As long as AWS Database Migration Service has the correct credentials to the database source, it will be able to connect to the source and propagate data (in decrypted form) to the target.

We recommend using encryption-at-rest on the target to maintain the confidentiality of your information. If you use application-level encryption, the data will be transmitted through AWS Database Migration Service as is, in encrypted format, and then inserted into the target database.

Migration planning

Q: What is AWS DMS Fleet Advisor?

AWS DMS Fleet Advisor is a free, fully managed capability of AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS). It automates migration planning and helps you migrate database and analytics fleets to the cloud at scale with minimal effort.

Q: When should I use AWS DMS Fleet Advisor versus AWS Application Discovery Service and Migration Evaluator?

AWS DMS Fleet Advisor is intended for users looking to migrate a large number of database and analytics servers to AWS. When you are ready to migrate your database and analytics workloads to target services in AWS, you should use AWS DMS Fleet Advisor to discover and analyze your Online Transaction Processing (OLTP) and Online Analytical Processing (OLAP) database workloads. Fleet Advisor allows you to build a customized migration plan by determining the complexity of migrating your source databases to target services in AWS.

The AWS Application Discovery Service (ADS) and Migration Evaluator are targeted for broad-based compute and attached block storage discovery. The Migration Evaluator is used by customers starting their migration journey who are looking for a data-driven business case for AWS. ADS is used to feed the AWS Migration Hub to visualize server to server dependencies, create application groups, and track migration progress.

Q: When should I use AWS DMS Fleet Advisor in conjunction with AWS Application Discovery Service and Migration Evaluator?

Migration Evaluator and AWS Application Discovery Service help you gain early insights into the inventory portfolio of your entire on-premises data center. When you are ready to perform a deeper analysis of your database and analytics workloads to determine the migration paths in AWS, you should use AWS DMS Fleet Advisor to create a database migration plan to AWS.

Lifecycle policy

Q: What is the AWS DMS support lifecycle policy?

The AWS DMS support lifecycle policy specifies how long support will be available for each DMS version, from when a version is released to when it is no longer supported. 

Q: What is the purpose of the support lifecycle policy?

The support lifecycle policy aims to provide predictable and consistent guidelines for support for each AWS DMS version release. The guidelines will benefit customers to strategically plan their migration and upgrades.

Q: What are the support timelines for AWS DMS Releases?

Below is a summary of the support timelines for all AWS DMS releases. This table will be updated as we release new DMS versions. The end of support date will start 18 months after each version release, with the exception of a longer support period for versions launched prior to 2022.

Version

Release Date

End of Support Start Date

3.3.3

6/2020

02/2023

3.3.4

8/2020

02/2023

3.4.2

11/2020

02/2023

3.4.3

12/2020

02/2023

3.4.4

5/2021

02/2023

3.4.5

9/2021

3/2023

3.4.6

12/2021

12/2023

3.4.7

6/2022

12/2023

Q: What is the AWS DMS support lifecycle policy?

The AWS DMS support lifecycle policy specifies how long support will be available for each DMS version, from when a version is released to when it is no longer supported. 

Q: What is the purpose of the support lifecycle policy?

The support lifecycle policy aims to provide predictable and consistent guidelines for support for each AWS DMS version release. The guidelines will benefit customers to strategically plan their migration and upgrades.

Q: What are the support timelines for AWS DMS Releases?

Below is a summary of the support timelines for all AWS DMS releases. This table will be updated as we release new DMS versions. The end of support date will start 18 months after each version release, with the exception of a longer support period for version 3.3.3, 3.3.4, 3.4.2, 3.4.3 and 3.4.4.

Q: How are the timelines communicated?

Support timelines for each AWS DMS version release will be included in the associated DMS Release Notes. In addition, AWS will send DMS instance owners a quarterly reminder of they are running a release that will no longer be supported in the following quarter.

Q: When does the AWS DMS Release Support Lifecycle policy go into effect? 

The policy will be effective starting January 1st, 2023. All instances that have reached the end of support date of 18 months after release will be automatically upgraded to the latest preferred DMS version regardless of the automatic upgrade setting.

Q: What is a preferred DMS version?

The DMS service designates one of the newest releases of DMS as the preferred version. This preferred version is the version that will be used for automatic upgrades and is the default choice for customers creating a new DMS instance.

Q: How do you define the latest preferred AWS DMS version?

New DMS versions are only released after extensive testing. After the release of a new version, the DMS service team closely monitors reliability metrics and customer feedback. Once we are confident that there are no significant issues with the new release, we will mark that release as the new preferred version which you can find when selecting the version upon creation of the replication instance.

Q: Is the support policy term the same for major and minor version of DMS?

AWS DMS does not differentiate between a major and minor version release, and does not plan to have a different support policy. 

Q: Will AWS DMS automatically update my instance to latest preferred version?

If you enable auto upgrade, your replication instance will be automatically updated to the latest preferred version as it becomes available. If you opt out of the auto-upgrade, AWS DMS will update your instances to the latest preferred version once the end-of-life date has been reached, which will be communicated via email and console notification prior to upgrade. You can learn more about how to upgrade the DMS engine version using the AWS Console or AWS CLI in this DMS User Guide.

Q: How do I enable auto-upgrade?

The auto upgrade setting in your replication instance is turned on by default. To check or make any modification to this setting using AWS CLI, DMS API, or console you can use this Modifying a Replication Instance guide.

Q: What happens to your task during the upgrade? 

If the tables in the migration task are in the replicating ongoing changes phase (CDC), AWS DMS pauses the task while the patch is applied. The migration then continues from where it was left off when the patch was applied.
If AWS DMS is running a full load operation when the patch is applied, AWS DMS restarts the migration for the table. These upgrades will occur during the maintenance window specified for the replication instance. You can find more details on Working with the AWS DMS Maintenance Window guide.

Q: I have instances on a version that is not covered in support. How does this affect my existing instances and jobs? What do you recommend as next steps?

After the end of life date for a replication instance version has passed, AWS DMS may remove the release version from the console and upgrade your replication instance to the latest preferred version in order to continue providing support. We recommend you to upgrade to the latest AWS DMS release as soon as possible.

Q: Who can I reach out to if I need more information?

You can reach out to AWS Developer Support for more information.

Visit the pricing page

Explore pricing options for AWS Database Migration Service.

Learn more 
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Ready to build?

Get started with AWS Database Migration Service.

Sign in