Amazon EC2 Mac 实例

在 Amazon EC2 上开发、构建、测试和登录 Apple 应用程序

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Mac 实例使客户能够首次在云中按需运行 macOS 工作负载,从而将 AWS 的灵活度、可扩展性和成本优势扩展到所有 Apple 开发人员。借助 EC2 Mac 实例,在 iPhone、iPad、Mac、Apple Watch、Apple TV 和 Safari 上创建应用程序的开发人员可以在数分钟内预置和访问 macOS 环境,根据需要动态扩展容量,并从 AWS 的随用随付定价中受益 。

基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例在搭载 Intel Core i7 处理器并由 AWS Nitro 系统提供支持的 Apple Mac 迷你计算机上构建。它们允许客户选择作为 Amazon Machine Image (AMI) 的 macOS Mojave (10.14)、macOS Catalina (10.15)、macOS Big Sur (11) 和 macOS Monterey (12) 。 可在此处了解详情并开始使用基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例。

EC2 M1 Mac 实例(目前为预览版)在 Apple M1 Mac 迷你计算机上构建并由AWS Nitro 系统提供支持。与基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例相比,可将面向 iOS 和 macOS 应用程序构建工作负载的性价比提高最多 60%。EC2 M1 Mac 实例首次在 AWS 中启用了 ARM64 macOS 环境,并支持作为 Amazon Machine Image (AMI) 的 macOS Big Sur (11) 和 macOS Monterey (12) 。请求访问预览

Mac 处理器

与基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例相比,Amazon EC2 M1 Mac 实例(目前为预览版)可将面向 iOS 和 macOS 应用程序构建工作负载的性价比提高最多 60%。请求访问预览

Amazon EC2 Mac 实例概览 (1:25)

优势

快速配置 macOS 环境

以前用在构建和维护本地 macOS 环境上花费的时间和资源,现在可以重新回归到构建创意和有用的应用程序上。开发团队现在可以按需无缝预置和访问 macOS 计算环境,享受便捷的分布式测试和快速的应用程序构建,为开发人员提供更多选择,从而能将 Mac 当作本地或在云环境中受信任的平台。EC2 Mac 实例减轻了管理 AWS 基础设施所带来的繁重工作,这意味着 Apple 开发人员可以完全专注于构建应用程序。

降低成本

EC2 Mac 实例使开发人员可以在数分钟内启动 macOS 环境,根据需要调整预置容量,并按 AWS 的随用随付定价仅为实际使用付费。而因为只需要为使用的系统付费,开发人员可以节省资金,例如,在构建应用程序时使用更多容量,而测试时可以使用较少的容量。

为 Apple 芯片简化重新架构、构建和测试

EC2 M1 Mac 实例(目前为预览版)还首次在 AWS 中启用 Apple 芯片和原生 ARM64 macOS 环境,用于开发、构建、测试、部署和运行 Apple 应用程序。对于重新架构其 macOS 应用程序以在 Apple 芯片 Macs 上原生支持 ARM64 架构的开发人员,其现在可以享受更快的构建和裸机性能以及方便的分布式测试,无需采购、安装、管理、修补和升级物理Apple 芯片基础设施。

扩展您的工具包

EC2 的 Mac 实例使开发人员可以无缝访问数十种 AWS 服务,可以更轻松,更有效地与团队成员进行协作,进行开发、构建、测试、分析和改进其应用程序。与其他 EC2 实例类似,客户可以轻松地将 EC2 Mac 实例与 AWS 服务和功能结合使用,例如用于网络安全的 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)、用于可扩展存储的 Amazon Elastic Block Storage (EBS)、用于分布构建队列Amazon Elastic Load Balancer (ELB)、用于可扩展文件存储的 Amazon FSx 和用于配置、管理和修补 macOS 环境的 AWS Systems Manager (SSM)。

功能

Apple Mac 硬件的选择

Amazon EC2 Mac 实例支持多台 Apple Mac 计算机解决各种使用案例和要求。我们的基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例建立在 Apple Mac 迷你计算机上,搭载了第 8 代 3.2GHz (4.6GHz turbo) 英特尔 Core i7 处理器(带有 6 个物理/12 个逻辑内核)和 32 GiB 内存。EC2 M1 Mac 实例(目前为预览版)建立在 Apple M1 Mac 迷你计算机上,搭载 M1 芯片(带有 8 个 CPU 内核)、8 个 GPU 内核、16 GiB 内存 和 16 核 Apple Neural Engine。

在高度可靠的基础设施上扩展

EC2 Mac 实例的设计使客户可以放心地构建关键的应用程序。AWS 具有最安全、最广泛和最可靠的全球基础架构,可用于运行需要高可用性的工作负载,并且被公认为运行时间标准的行业领导者。EC2 Mac 实例使您的 macOS 工作负载受益于 AWS 的安全和按需基础设施在十多年来为数百万客户提供的规模、弹性,可靠性和体验。

由 AWS Nitro 系统启用

AWS Nitro 系统是一组丰富的构建数据块,可以将许多传统的软件定义功能转移到专用的硬件和软件中,从而提供高性能、高可用性和高安全性。Amazon EC2 Mac 实例由 AWS Nitro 系统提供独特支持,以完全集成和托管式的 EC2 实例方式为 Mac 迷你计算机提供 10 GBps 的 VPC 网络带宽和 8 GBps 的 Amazon EBS 存储带宽。

产品详细信息

  • 基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例
  • EC2 M1 Mac 实例(目前为预览版)
  • 基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例
  • 基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例由 Mac 迷你计算机和 AWS Nitro 系统提供支持,通过高速 Thunderbolt 3 连接实现高达 10 GBps VPC 网络带宽和 8 Gbps EBS 存储带宽。Mac 迷你计算机搭载英特尔第 8 代 3.2 GHz (4.6 GHz turbo) Core i7 处理器、6 个物理/12 个逻辑内核和 32 GiB 内存。基于 x86 的 EC2 Mac 实例由 AWS Nitro 系统提供独特支持,以完全集成和托管式的计算实例方式为 Mac 迷你计算机提供了 Amazon VPC 网络和 Amazon EBS 存储,就像任何其他 Amazon EC2 实例一样。EC2 Mac 实例提供裸机实例大小 (mac1.metal),支持作为 Amazon Machine Image (AMI) 的 macOS Mojave 10.14、macOS Catalina 10.15、macOS Big Sur 11 和 macOS Monterey 12。

    实例系列 实例大小 处理器 物理内核 vCPU 内存 (GiB) 实例存储 网络带宽 (Gbps) EBS 带宽 (Mbps)
    Mac1 mac1.metal Intel Core i7 6 12 32 仅限 EBS 10 8,000
  • EC2 M1 Mac 实例(目前为预览版)
  • EC2 M1 Mac 实例由采用 Apple 芯片的 Mac 迷你计算机和 AWS Nitro 系统提供支持,通过高速 Thunderbolt 连接实现高达 10 Gbps VPC 网络带宽和 8 Gbps EBS 存储带宽。其中,Apple 芯片 Mac 迷你计算机搭载 M1 芯片(带有 8 个 CPU 内核)、8 个 GPU 内核、16 GiB 内存 和 16 核 Apple 神经引擎。EC2 M1 Mac 实例由 AWS Nitro 系统提供独特支持,以完全集成和托管式的计算实例方式为 Mac 迷你计算机提供了 Amazon VPC 网络和 Amazon EBS 存储,就像任何其他 Amazon EC2 实例一样。EC2 M1 Mac 实例支持作为 Amazon Machine Image (AMI) 的 macOS Big Sur 11 和 macOS Monterey 12。

    实例系列 实例大小 处理器 物理内核 vCPU 内存 (GiB) 实例存储 网络带宽 (Gbps) EBS 带宽 (Mbps)
    Mac2 mac2.metal Apple M1 4 个性能核 + 4 个能效核 12 16 仅限 EBS 10 8,000

定价

Amazon EC2 Mac 实例可以通过按需和 Savings Plans 定价模型作为专属主机购买。为遵守 Apple macOS 软件许可协议,EC2 Mac 实例在最低 24 小时的分配期内按每秒计费。通过按需模型,您可以启动 EC2 Mac 主机,并在几分钟内启动并运行。在 24 小时的最低分配期结束后,主机可以随时发布,无需进一步承诺。使用计算和实例 Savings Plans 时,在三年承诺期下,您最多可以比按需模型节省 44% 的定价。有关专属主机的更多信息和完整的定价信息,请参阅专属主机产品页面 您还可以在 AWS 专属主机定价计算器上访问 EC2 Mac 定价。

客户

Twitch
Pinterest
NBCUniversal
East Side Games
Flipboard
Intuit
Dimps Corp.
Incognia
宝可梦公司
Riot Games
Strabag
Goldman Sachs

客户

  • Pinterest
  • twitch
  • Flipboard
  • 宝可梦公司
  • Intuit
  • Riot Games
  • Pinterest
  • Pinterest 如何使用 Amazon EC2 Mac 实例实现 iOS 构建基础设施的现代化(40:34)

    “在使用 EC2 Mac 之前,物理采购和管理我们的 Mac 版本基础设施具有挑战性,我们的输出受到可用物理机器的限制。现在有了 EC2 Mac 实例,我们可以扩展我们的 iOS 版本机群,使用 AMI 轻松烘焙、回滚和前滚自定义 macOS 环境,并使用完全可复制的 macOS 环境调试任何版本或测试故障。我们还通过与多种 AWS 服务(例如提供最低权限访问的 IAM 角色和策略、用于集中执行 macOS 身份验证的 Secrets Manager、用于创建 Auto Scaling 组的 AWS Lambda 和 Amazon SNS 以及为我们提供集中监控的 CloudWatch)集成来实现 iOS 开发管道的现代化。今天,我们 100% 的生产版本都在 EC2 Mac 上运行(我们的版本速度提高了 18.4%,可靠性提高了 80.5%)我们的 iOS 开发人员喜欢它!”

    – Oliver Koo
    Pinterest 高级软件工程师

  • Twitch
  • twitch

    “在更新到 EC2 Mac 实例之前,我们没有获得对本地部署 Mac 计算机的立即访问或可靠 SLA – 这需要数天的时间调查离线构建代理或添加更多的容量。每当我们想要升级 Xcode 时,我们需要一次下载和安装一台计算机,这需要数个小时的时间。此外,须在每台本地部署计算机管理访问和安全凭证。现在有了 EC2 Mac 实例,我能在数分钟内启动一台新的虚拟机,使用 EC2 实例配置文件提高安全性,并以 4 倍的更快速度跨我们的所有构建代理创建、测试和推出新的 Xcode AMI。此外,EC2 Mac 实例比我们过去拥有的本地部署构建代理更强大,并且网络互联也更快。这些速度提高使我们能够将我们的 macOS 机群大小减少 50%。”

    – Heath Borders
    Twitch 高级移动工程师

  • 宝可梦国际公司
  • AWS 2021 年峰会:Flipboard 和 Amazon EC2 Mac 实例(05:16)

    “Flipboard 作为一款屡获殊荣的应用程序,以简单易用的杂志格式为数百万客户整理新闻和信息。 我们最近开始在 iOS 构建机器上使用 Amazon EC2 实例来执行各种任务,如日常测试、App Store 构建和提交,以及 UI 测试等。我们能够在三天内,轻松地从以前的解决方案迁移到 EC2 Mac 实例,包括安装的软件、VNC 会话、创建的账户以及搬迁所有 Jenkins 作业。不仅它的设置非常可靠,我们还可以灵活地使用命令行或屏幕共享。构建时间从 20 分钟缩短到 5 分钟。UI 自动化测试过去需要 3 个小时,现在只需不到 1 个小时。不仅下载速度惊人,VNC 会话也非常流畅。毋庸置疑,这个项目大获成功,我们对取得的成果非常满意。”

    – Colin Caufield
    Flipboard 首席 iOS 工程师

  • 宝可梦国际公司
  • Pokemon

    “在管理亚洲以外资产的宝可梦国际公司(日本宝可梦公司的附属公司),我们将我们完整的客户端构建农场和 Unity CI/CD 迁移到 EC2 Mac 实例,以整合我们的构建管道、利用构建自动化、利用 CI/CD 工具(例如 Jenkins 和 TeamCity),并加快构建时间。借助按需 EC2 Mac 实例,我们能更有效地扩展和支持我们产品的自动测试。在将 Unity CI/CD 从第三方提供商迁移到 EC2 Mac 后,Unity 构建的速度提高了 400%,我们感到非常兴奋。”

    – Carla Dreyer
    宝可梦国际公司 DevOps Engineering 高级经理

  • Intuit
  • Intuit 和 Amazon EC2 Mac 实例

    “Intuit 是一家以任务为导向的全球金融平台公司。其产品包括 TurboTax、QuickBooks 和 Mint,旨在为全球超过 5000 万的消费者、小型企业和自雇客户提供支持,以改善他们的财务状况。EC2 Mac 实例及其熟悉的 EC2 接口和 API 使我们能够将现有的 iOS 和 macOS 构建测试管道无缝迁移到 AWS,从而提高开发人员的工作效率。得益于弹性容量扩展和利用多个区的高可用性设置,我们的数据中心基础设施性能提高了 30%。现在,我们约有 80% 的产品在 EC2 Mac 实例上运行,我们很高兴看到 AWS 在此领域的创新前景。”

    – Pratik Wadher
    Intuit 产品开发副总裁

  • Riot Games
  • riot_games

    “Legends of Runeterra 团队很高兴利用 EC2 Mac 实例在 AWS 上整合我们的整个构建管道(Windows、Linux 以及现在的 macOS)。我们的构建管道目前支持每天大约 100 次构建,每月构建次数可达 3000,迄今为止我们的源控制超过 27万次提交。在迁移到 EC2 Mac 实例之前,我们的团队必须花时间来管理本地 Mac。现在,通过 EC2 Mac 实例,我们的构建管道可为 AWS 云中的 Unity CI/CD 提供完整的端到端跨平台构建流程。这样,我们由一百多位天才工程师、艺术家和设计人员组成的团队能够缩短开发时间,加快创新速度,使 Riot 游戏玩家快速地了解并喜欢上它。”

    – Guy Kisel
    LoR 的 Riot Games 高级软件工程师

资源

Amazon EC2 Mac 实例技术教程 - 第 1 部分 - 入门 (7:40)
Amazon EC2 Mac 实例技术教程 - 第 2 部分 - 如何使用数据块和文件存储 (7:32)
Amazon EC2 Mac 实例技术教程 – 第 3 部分 – macOS 工作程序与 Kubernetes 和 Jenkins(5:03)
WIRED 功能:Bye, Bye Bender
2022 年 1 月 29 日

阅读更多 »

AWS re:Invent 2021:使用 EC2 M1 Mac 实例构建原生 Apple 芯片应用程序。Goldman Sachs
2021 年 12 月 2 日

观看视频 »

采用 EC2 macOS 的移动 CI/CD:Goldman Sachs 功能
2021 年 12 月 2 日

阅读更多 »

推出适合于 macOS 的 Amazon EC2 M1 Mac 实例
2021 年 12 月 2 日

阅读更多 »

Amazon EC2 Mac 实例现在支持 macOS Monterey
2021 年 11 月 22 日

阅读更多 »

Amazon EC2 Mac 实例现在支持 macOS Big Sur
2021 年 2 月 23 日

阅读更多 »

开始使用 AWS

注册 AWS 账户

注册 AWS 账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐

通过简单教程进行学习

通过 10 分钟教程进行学习

通过简单教程进行探讨和学习。

开始在控制台中使用 EC2 构建

开始在控制台中构建

按照可帮助您启动 AWS 项目的分步指南开始构建。

Amazon EC2 Mac Instances

Develop, build, test, and sign Apple apps on Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Mac instances allow customers to run on-demand macOS workloads in the cloud for the first time, extending the flexibility, scalability, and cost benefits of AWS to all Apple developers. With EC2 Mac instances, developers creating apps for iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Apple TV, and Safari can provision and access macOS environments within minutes, dynamically scale capacity as needed, and benefit from AWS’s pay-as-you-go pricing.

x86-based EC2 Mac instances are built on Apple Mac mini computers featuring Intel Core i7 processors and are powered by the AWS Nitro System. They offer customers a choice of macOS Mojave (10.14), macOS Catalina (10.15), macOS Big Sur (11), and macOS Monterey (12) as Amazon Machine Images (AMIs). Learn more and get started with x86-based EC2 Mac instances here.

EC2 M1 Mac instances (now in preview) are built on Apple M1 Mac mini computers and are powered by the AWS Nitro System. They deliver up to 60% better price performance over x86-based EC2 Mac instances for iOS and macOS application build workloads. EC2 M1 Mac instances enable ARM64 macOS environments for the first time in AWS, and support macOS Big Sur (11) and macOS Monterey (12) as Amazon Machine Images (AMIs). Request access for the preview.

Mac processor

Amazon EC2 M1 Mac instances (now in preview) deliver up to 60% better price performance over x86-based EC2 Mac instances for iOS and macOS application build workloads. Request access for the preview.

Overview of Amazon EC2 Mac Instances (1:25)

Benefits

Quickly provision macOS environments

Time and resources previously spent building and maintaining on-premises macOS environments can now be refocused on building creative and useful apps. Development teams can now seamlessly provision and access macOS compute environments on demand to enjoy convenient, distributed testing and fast app builds, bringing additional choices to developers so they can use Mac as their trusted platform, on premises or in the cloud. EC2 Mac instances offload the heavy lifting that comes with managing infrastructure to AWS, which means Apple developers can focus entirely on building their applications.

Reduced costs

EC2 Mac instances allow developers to launch macOS environments within minutes, adjust provisioned capacity as needed, and only pay for actual usage with AWS’s pay-as-you-go pricing. Developers save money since they only need to pay for the systems that are in use. For example, more capacity can be used when building an app, and less capacity when testing.

Simplify rearchitecting, building, and testing for Apple silicon

EC2 M1 Mac instances, now in preview, enable Apple silicon and native ARM64 macOS environments for the first time in AWS to develop, build, test, deploy, and run Apple applications. Developers rearchitecting their macOS applications to natively support ARM64 architecture for Apple silicon Macs can now enjoy faster builds with bare metal performance, and convenient distributed testing without having to procure, install, manage, patch, and upgrade physical Apple silicon infrastructure.

Extend your toolkits

EC2 Mac instances provide developers with seamless access to dozens of AWS services so they can more easily and efficiently collaborate with team members, and develop, build, test, analyze, and improve their apps. Similar to other EC2 instances, customers can easily use EC2 Mac instances together with AWS services and features like Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) for network security, Amazon Elastic Block Storage (EBS) for expandable storage, Amazon Elastic Load Balancer (ELB) for distributing build queues, Amazon FSx for scalable file storage, and AWS Systems Manager (SSM) for configuring, managing, and patching macOS environments.

Features

Choice of Apple Mac hardware

Amazon EC2 Mac instances support multiple Apple Mac computers to address diverse use cases and requirements. Our x86-based EC2 Mac instances are built on Apple’s Mac mini computers, featuring 8th Generation 3.2 GHz (4.6 GHz turbo) Intel Core i7 processors with six physical/twelve logical cores, and 32 GiB of memory. EC2 M1 Mac instances (now in preview) are built on Apple M1 Mac mini computers featuring an M1 chip with 8 CPU cores, 8 GPU cores, 16 GiB of memory, and a 16core Apple Neural Engine.

Scaled on highly reliable infrastructure

EC2 Mac instances are designed so that customers can build critical applications with confidence. AWS has the most secure, extensive, and reliable global infrastructure for running workloads that require high availability, and is recognized as an industry leader for uptime standards. EC2 Mac instances enable your macOS workloads to benefit from the scale, elasticity, reliability, and experience that AWS’s secure, on-demand infrastructure has offered to millions of customers for more than a decade.

Enabled by the AWS Nitro System

The AWS Nitro System is a rich collection of building blocks that offloads many traditional software-defined functions to dedicated hardware and software to deliver high performance, high availability, and high security. Amazon EC2 Mac instances are uniquely enabled by the AWS Nitro System, which makes it possible to offer Mac mini computers as fully integrated and managed EC2 instances, providing 10 GBps of Amazon VPC network bandwidth and 8 GBps of Amazon EBS storage bandwidth.

Product Details

  • x86-based EC2 Mac Instances
  • EC2 M1 Mac instances (now in preview)
  • x86-based EC2 Mac Instances
  • x86-based EC2 Mac instances are powered by a combination of Mac mini computers—featuring Intel’s 8th generation 3.2 GHz (4.6 GHz turbo) Core i7 processors, 6 physical/12 logical cores, and 32 GiB of memory, as well as the AWS Nitro System, providing up to 10 GBps of VPC network bandwidth and 8 Gbps of EBS storage bandwidth through high-speed Thunderbolt 3 connections. x86-based EC2 Mac instances are uniquely enabled by the AWS Nitro System, which makes it possible to offer Mac mini computers as a fully integrated and managed compute instances with Amazon VPC networking and Amazon EBS storage just like any other Amazon EC2 instance. EC2 Mac instances are available in bare metal instance size (mac1.metal), and support macOS Mojave 10.14, macOS Catalina 10.15, macOS Big Sur 11, and macOS Monterey 12 as Amazon Machine Images (AMIs).

    Instance Family  Instance Size Processor Physical cores vCPUs Memory (GiB) Instance Storage Network Bandwidth (Gbps) EBS Bandwidth (Mbps)
    Mac1 mac1.metal Intel Core i7 6 12 32 EBS-Only 10 8,000
  • EC2 M1 Mac instances (now in preview)
  • EC2 M1 Mac instances are powered by a combination of Apple silicon Mac mini computers—featuring the M1 chip with 8 CPU cores, 8 GPU cores, 16 GiB of memory, 16 core Apple Neural Engine—and the AWS Nitro System, providing up to 10 Gbps of VPC network bandwidth and 8 Gbps of EBS storage bandwidth through high speed Thunderbolt connections. EC2 M1 Mac instances are uniquely enabled by the AWS Nitro System, which makes it possible to offer Mac mini computers as a fully integrated and managed compute instances with Amazon VPC networking and Amazon EBS storage just like any other Amazon EC2 instance. EC2 M1 Mac instances support both macOS Big Sur 11 and macOS Monterey 12 as Amazon Machine Images (AMIs).

    Instance Family  Instance Size Processor Physical cores vCPUs Memory (GiB) Instance Storage Network Bandwidth (Gbps) EBS Bandwidth (Mbps)
    Mac2 mac2.metal Apple M1 4 performance +4 efficiency cores 12 16 EBS-Only 10 8,000

Pricing

Amazon EC2 Mac instances are available for purchase as Dedicated Hosts through On Demand and Savings Plans pricing models. Billing for EC2 Mac instances is per second with a 24-hour minimum allocation period to comply with the Apple macOS Software License Agreement. Through On Demand, you can launch an EC2 Mac host and be up and running within minutes. At the end of the 24-hour minimum allocation period, the host can be released at any time with no further commitment. With both Compute and Instance Savings Plans available, you can save up to 44% off On Demand pricing with a three-year commitment. For more information on Dedicated Hosts and complete pricing information, please see the Dedicated Hosts product page. You can also access EC2 Mac pricing on the AWS Pricing Calculator for Dedicated Hosts.

Customers

  • Pinterest
  • twitch
  • Flipboard
  • The Pokemon Company
  • Intuit
  • Riot Games
  • Pinterest
  • How Pinterest Modernized iOS Build Infrastructure with Amazon EC2 Mac Instances (40:34)

    “Before EC2 Mac, physically procuring and managing our Mac build infrastructure was challenging, and our output was limited by the available physical machines. Now with EC2 Mac instances, we can scale our iOS build fleet, easily bake, roll back, and roll forward custom macOS environments with AMIs, and debug any build or test failures with fully reproducible macOS environments. We have also modernized our iOS development pipeline by integrating with multiple AWS services such as IAM roles and policies to provide least privilege access, Secrets Manager to centralize macOS authentication, AWS Lambda and Amazon SNS to create Auto Scaling groups, and CloudWatch to give us centralized monitoring. Today, 100% of our production builds are running on EC2 Mac - our builds are 18.4% faster and 80.5% more reliable - and our iOS developers love it!”

    - Oliver Koo
    Senior Software Engineer, Pinterest

  • Twitch
  • twitch

    "Before updating to EC2 Mac instances, we didn't have immediate access or a reliable SLA for our on-premises Mac machines— it could take days to get an offline build agent investigated or more capacity added. Whenever we wanted to upgrade Xcode, we had to download and install it one machine at a time which took us hours. Additionally, access and security credentials had to be managed per on-premises machine. Now with EC2 Mac instances, I can spin up a new virtual machine in minutes, improve security by using EC2 Instance Profiles, and create, test, and roll-out a new Xcode AMI across all of our build agents 4x faster. To top it all off - EC2 Mac instances are more powerful than the on-premises build agents we used to have and the network interconnect is faster as well. These speed improvements enabled us to reduce our macOS fleet size by 50%."

    - Heath Borders
    Senior Mobile Engineer, Twitch

  • The Pokémon Company International
  • AWS Summit 2021: Flipboard and Amazon EC2 Mac instances (05:16)

    "Flipboard is an award-winning app that curates news and information for millions of customers in a user-friendly magazine format. We recently started using Amazon EC2 instances for our iOS build machines for tasks such as daily betas, App Store builds and submissions, and UI testing. We were able to easily migrate from our previous solution to EC2 Mac instances in three days including software installation, VNC sessions, accounts created, and moving all of our Jenkins jobs. The setup has been very reliable, and we also enjoy the flexibility to use either command line or screen sharing. Build times have reduced from 20 minutes to 5 minutes. UI automation tests that used to take 3 hours now take less than 1 hour. Download speeds are amazing, and the VNC sessions are as smooth as butter. Needless to say, this project was a huge success and we are super happy with the finished results.”

    - Colin Caufield
    Lead iOS Engineer, Flipboard

  • The Pokémon Company International
  • Pokemon

    “At The Pokémon Company International, a subsidiary of The Pokémon Company in Japan that manages the property outside of Asia, we migrated our entire client build farm and Unity CI/CD to EC2 Mac instances to consolidate our build pipeline, take advantage of build automation, leverage CI/CD tooling such as Jenkins and TeamCity, and speed up build times. With the on-demand EC2 Mac instances, we are able to more effectively scale and support automated testing of our products. After migrating our Unity CI/CD from a third-party provider to EC2 Mac, we were thrilled that our Unity builds are 400 percent faster.”

    - Carla Dreyer
    Senior Manager of DevOps Engineering, The Pokémon Company International

  • Intuit
  • Intuit and Amazon EC2 Mac Instances

    "Intuit is a mission-driven, global financial platform company. Its products - including TurboTax, QuickBooks, and Mint - are designed to empower more than 50 million consumer, small business and self-employed customers around the world to improve their financial lives. EC2 Mac instances, with their familiar EC2 interfaces and APIs, have enabled us to seamlessly migrate our existing iOS and macOS build-and-test pipelines to AWS, altogether improving developer productivity. We’re experiencing up to 30 percent better performance over our data center infrastructure, thanks to elastic capacity expansion, and a high availability setup leveraging multiple zones. We’re now running around 80 percent of our production builds on EC2 Mac instances, and are excited to see what the future holds for AWS innovation in this space."

    - Pratik Wadher
    VP of Product Development, Intuit

  • Riot Games
  • riot_games

    “The Legends of Runeterra team was excited to take advantage of EC2 Mac instances to consolidate our entire build pipeline (Windows, Linux, and now macOS) on AWS. Our build pipeline currently supports ~100 builds per day, up to 3,000 builds per month, and our source control has over 270K commits to-date. Prior to migrating to EC2 Mac instances, our team had to spend time on managing on-premises Macs. Now, with EC2 Mac instances our build pipeline delivers a complete end-to-end cross-platform build process for Unity CI/CD in the AWS cloud. This has allowed our team of over one hundred talented engineers, artists, and designers to decrease development time and accelerate innovation for the games Riot players have come to know and love."

    - Guy Kisel
    Staff Software Engineer, LoR, Riot Games

Resources

Amazon EC2 Mac Instances Tech Tutorials - Part 1 - Getting Started (7:40)
Amazon EC2 Mac Instances Tech Tutorials - Part 2 - How to Use Block and File Storage (7:32)
Amazon EC2 Mac Instances Tech Tutorials - Part 3 - macOS Workers with Kubernetes and Jenkins (5:03)
WIRED feature: Bye, Bye Bender
January 29, 2022

Read more »

AWS re:Invent 2021: Build native Apple silicon apps with EC2 M1 Mac instances, ft. Goldman Sachs
December 2, 2021

Watch video »

Mobile CI/CD with EC2 macOS: Goldman Sachs feature
December 2, 2021

Read more »

Announcing Amazon EC2 M1 Mac instances for macOS
December 2, 2021

Read more »

Amazon EC2 Mac Instances now support macOS Monterey
November 22, 2021

Read more »

Amazon EC2 Mac Instances now support macOS Big Sur
February 23, 2021

Read more »

Get started with AWS

Sign up for an AWS account

Sign up for an AWS account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier.

Learn with simple tutorials

Learn with 10-minute tutorials

Explore and learn with simple tutorials.

Start building with EC2 in the console

Start building in the console

Begin building with step-by-step guides to help you launch your AWS project.