功能

Amazon EC2 向您提供了一个真正的虚拟计算环境,让您使用 Web 服务接口启动多种操作系统的实例,通过自定义应用环境加载这些实例,管理您的网络访问权限,并根据自己需要的系统数量来运行您的映像。

要使用 Amazon EC2,您只需:

  • 选择一个预配置的模板化Amazon 系统映像 (AMI) 启动并立即运行。或者,创建一个包含您的应用程序、库、数据和相关配置设置的 AMI。
  • 在您的 Amazon EC2 实例上配置安全和网络访问权限。
  • 选择您想要的实例类型,然后使用 Web 服务 API 或提供的多种管理工具来启动、终止和监控您的 AMI 实例(实例数量可以按照您的需要增加)。
  • 确定是否要在多个位置上运行、使用静态 IP 终端节点,或将持久性块存储附加在您的实例上。
  • 只需支付您实际消耗的资源,例如实例小时数或数据传输。

功能

Amazon EC2 提供多种强大功能,用于构建可扩展、能够故障恢复的企业级应用程序。

​裸机实例

Amazon EC2 裸机实例为您的应用程序提供对底层服务器的处理器和内存的直接访问。这些实例非常适合需要访问硬件功能集(如 Intel® VT-x)的工作负载,或需要在非虚拟化环境中运行以符合许可或支持要求的应用程序。裸机实例基于 Nitro 系统构建而成。Nitro 系统是一系列由 AWS 构建的硬件卸载和硬件保护组件,这些组件一起安全地向 EC2 实例提供高性能网络和存储资源。裸机实例为 EC2 实例,因此可提供与其他虚拟 EC2 实例同样强大的安全性、可靠性、容量弹性,以及对多种操作系统和软件包的支持。您可以将裸机实例与多种 AWS 产品配合使用,这些产品包括 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)、Elastic Block Store (EBS) 和 Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) 等。

使用 Amazon EC2 队列优化计算性能和成本

借助 Amazon EC2 队列,您只需调用一次 API,即可跨 EC2 实例类型、可用区和购买模型预置计算容量,从而帮助优化规模、性能和成本。您可以指定要通过 EC2 队列启动的按需容量和 Spot 容量。您还可以定义首选实例类型,以及是否根据核心、实例或内存扩展容量。请阅读常见问题和 AWS 博客,了解更多信息。现在,您可以​通过 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 访问 EC2 队列功能,可以在一个 Auto Scaling 组中跨 EC2 实例类型、可用区和购买选项预置和自动扩展计算容量。了解更多>>

暂停和恢复您的实例

您​可以休眠由 Amazon EBS 支持的 Amazon EC2 实例,并在稍后从此状态恢复它们。在内存 (RAM) 中引导并保存状态需要一段时间的应用程序可受益于此功能。休眠将为您提供停止和启动功能的所有优势,此外,内存 (RAM) 中的数据也会在会话之间保存。当实例处于休眠状态时,您无需支付实例使用费用。​存储将按标准 EBS 费率收费。有关休眠以及受支持的实例类型和操作系统的更多信息,请访问常见问题

GPU 计算实例

需要大规模浮点处理能力的客户将通过 AWS 受益于新一代通用 GPU 计算实例,即最高配备 8 个 NVIDIA® V100 Tensor Core GPU 的 Amazon EC2 P3 实例。P3 实例可提供高达 1 PetaFLOPS 的混合精度、125 TeraFLOPS 的单精度和 62 TeraFLOPS 的双精度浮点性能。300GB/s 第二代 NVLink 互连实现了高速、低延迟的 GPU 到 GPU 通信。P3 实例还具有多达 96 个基于定制 Intel 处理器的 vCPU,768GB 的 DRAM,以及采用 Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) 的 100Gbps 专用聚合网络带宽。P3 计算实例非常适合用于机器学习、高性能数据库、计算流体动力学、计算金融学、地震分析、分子建模、基因组学和渲染工作负载。

GPU 图形实例

对于需要强大图形处理能力的客户,使用 GPU 图形实例将获得诸多优势。当前一代 GPU 图形实例“G3 实例”支持访问 NVIDIA Tesla M60 GPU,每个均配备多达 2048 个并行处理核心、8 GiB 的 GPU 内存和支持最多 10 个 H.265 (HEVC) 1080p30 流和最多 18 个 H.264 1080p30 流的硬件编码器。与最新的驱动程序版本配合使用时,这些 GPU 可支持 OpenGL、DirectX、CUDA、OpenCL 和 Capture SDK (以前称为 GRID SDK)。GPU 图形实例非常适合用于 3D 可视化、图形密集型远程工作站、3D 渲染、应用程序流式处理、视频编码以及其他服务器端图形工作负载。

高 I/O 实例

要求性能非常高、延迟低,以及随机 I/O 访问数据的客户都能受益于高 I/O 实例。高 I/O 实例是一种 Amazon EC2 实例类型,它能为客户提供超过 300 万 IOPS 的随机 I/O 速率。高 I/O I3 和 I3en 实例由 Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) SSD 提供支持,非常适合运行高性能 NoSQL 数据库、事务性系统和 Elastic Search 工作负载的客户。高 I/O 实例还可提供高达 16GB/s 的连续磁盘吞吐量,非常适合分析工作负载。

请参阅 Amazon EC2 实例类型,了解有关高 I/O 实例的更多信息。

密集 HDD 存储实例

对于要求为数据密集型应用(例如,大规模并行处理 (MPP) 数据仓库、MapReduce 和 Hadoop 分布式计算,以及日志和数据处理等)提供极高的每实例存储密度和高顺序 I/O 的客户,他们都能从密集型存储实例中受益。密集存储实例是一种 Amazon EC2 实例类型,可为客户提供最高 3.9GB/s 的顺序 I/O 吞吐量,为 24 个硬盘驱动器提供最高 48TB 的实例存储,还可以借助基于 ENA 的联网为每个 vCPU 提供较低的存储和内存的平衡,从而在一个置放群组中提供最高 25Gbps 的网络带宽。请参阅 Amazon EC2 实例类型,了解有关密集存储实例的更多信息。

经过优化的 CPU 配置

优化 CPU 功能使您能够在两个方面更好地控制 Amazon EC2 实例。首先,您可以在启动新实例时指定自定义数量的 vCPU,以节省基于 vCPU 的许可成本。其次,您可以针对在单线程 CPU 条件下运行良好的工作负载禁用 Intel 超线程技术 (Intel HT Technology),例如某些高性能计算 (HPC) 应用程序。要详细了解优化 CPU 如何为您提供帮助,请访问此处的优化 CPU 文档。

灵活的存储选项

不同 Amazon EC2 工作负载可能具有完全不同的存储要求。​除了内置实例存储,我们还提供 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS)Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS),以满足其他云存储工作负载要求。

Amazon EBS 提供持久、高度可用且一致的低延迟块存储卷,以用于 Amazon EC2 实例。每个 Amazon EBS 卷都会在其可用区内自动复制,以保护您免受组件故障的影响,同时提供高可用性和持久性。其设计用于需要针对容量、性能和成本调整工作负载的应用程序管理器。

Amazon EFS 提供简单、可扩展、持久且完全托管的云文件存储,以便实现共享访问。其设计用于跨多个可用区实现高可用性和持久性,它会向文件系统界面提供标准文件系统访问语义、自动增加和缩减容量,并为应用程序管理器实现 PB 级高吞吐量和一致的低延迟。

按实际用量付费

每个月底,您会收到一张根据您所实际消费 EC2 资源的付款账单。

例如,假设您在某一时刻启动 20 个价格为每小时 0.085 USD 的小型实例,这些实例将立即启动,但不一定在同一时刻全部启动。每个实例都会保存其实际的启动时间。每个实例都在启动后的每一个小时开始时,按执行小时数(0.085 USD/小时)计费。发生以下情况时,将停止运行每个实例:您调用 TerminateInstances API(或类似工具)终止实例;实例自动关闭(例如 UNIX 的 “shutdown” 命令);或主机因软件或硬件故障终止。未满一小时的实例按一小时计费。

多个位置

Amazon EC2 可以将实例放在多个位置。Amazon EC2 位置由区域和可用区构成。可用区是专用于隔离其他可用区内故障的不同位置,可向相同地区中的其他可用区提供低延迟的廉价网络连接。通过启动独立可用区内的实例,您可以保护您的应用程序不受单一位置故障的影响。区域由一个或多个可用区组成,其地理位置分散分布于独立的地理区域或国家/地区。Amazon EC2 服务等级协议​的承诺是为每个 Amazon EC2 区域提供 99.99% 的可用性。​请参阅区域性产品和服务,进一步详细了解我们的产品和服务在不同区域的具体提供情况。

弹性 IP 地址

弹性 IP 地址是专用于动态云计算的静态 IP 地址。弹性 IP 地址与您的账户而非特殊实例关联,您可以控制该地址,直到您选择彻底释放该地址。与传统静态 IP 地址不同,使用弹性 IP 地址,您可以用编程的方法将您的公有 IP 地址重新映射到账户中的任何实例,从而掩盖实例故障或可用区故障。Amazon EC2 可以将您的弹性 IP 地址快速重新映射到替换实例,这样您便可以处理实例或软件问题,而不是等待数据技术人员重新配置或重新放置您的主机,或等待 DNS 传播到您的所有客户。此外,您还可以填写此选择性​配置任何弹性 IP 地址的反向 DNS 记录。

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 让您能够根据自己定义的条件自动扩展或缩减 Amazon EC2 容量。使用 EC2 Auto Scaling,您可以确保所使用的 Amazon EC2 实例数量在需求高峰期实现无缝增长以保持性能,也可以在需求平淡期自动缩减,以最大程度降低成本。EC2 Auto Scaling 特别适合每小时、每天或每周使用率都不同的应用程序。EC2 Auto Scaling 通过 Amazon CloudWatch 启用,除了 Amazon CloudWatch 费用外,无需支付其他任何费用。有关更多详细信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling。​要扩展 EC2 以外的其他服务,您可以使用 AWS Auto Scaling。​

高性能计算 (HPC) 集群

拥有复杂计算工作负荷(例如,紧耦合的并行进程)的客户或拥有网络性能敏感型应用程序的客户都可以实现自定义基础设施提供的同样卓越的计算和网络性能,同时享有 Amazon EC2 提供的可伸缩、灵活和经济实惠的优势。集群计算、集群 GPU 和内存增强型实例专用于提供高性能网络功能,并可通过编程的方法引入集群,从而让应用程序获得实现紧密结合、节点到节点通信所需的低延迟网络性能。集群实例还能大大提高吞吐量,因此非常适合需要执行网络密集型操作的客户应用程序。了解有关 Amazon EC2 和其他 AWS 服务如何用于 HPC 应用程序的更多信息

增强型联网

增强型联网可让您显著提高每秒数据包数 (PPS) 性能,降低网络抖动,并减少延迟。此功能使用一种全新的网络虚拟化堆栈,这种堆栈与传统的实现相比可提升 I/O 性能并降低 CPU 使用率。要利用增强型联网,您应在 VPC 中启动 HVM AMI 并安装适当的驱动程序。​有关如何在 EC2 实例上启用增强型联网功能的说明,请参阅 Linux 上的增强型联网Windows 上的增强型联网教程。要了解这一功能在不同实例上的可用性以及更多信息,请访问增强型联网常见问题部分。

Elastic Fabric Adapter(HPC 集群的快速互连)

Elastic Fabric Adapter (EFA) 是一种用于 Amazon EC2 实例的网络接口,让客户能够在 AWS 上大规模运行需要高级别实例间通信的 HPC 应用程序,例如计算流体动力学、天气建模和油藏模拟。EFA 使用定制的操作系统旁路技术来增强实例间通信的性能,这对于扩展 HPC 应用程序而言至关重要。借助 EFA,使用流行 HPC 技术(如消息传递接口 (MPI))的 HPC 应用程序可以扩展到数以千计的 CPU 内核。EFA 支持行业标准的 libfabric API,因此使用受支持的 MPI 库的应用程序几乎不需要修改就可以迁移到 AWS。

EFA 作为可选的 EC2 网络功能提供,您可以在 C5n.18xl、P3dn.24xl 和 I3en.24xl 实例上启用此功能。在随后的几个月内,我们将为其他实例类型提供相应支持。

在 AWS PrivateLink 上可用

客户可以从他们的 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 或通过 AWS Direct Connect 对 Amazon EC2 API 进行私有访问,而无需使用公有 IP,也无需使用流量遍历整个 Internet。AWS PrivateLink 是专为客户设计用于特定用途的技术,采用高性能且高度可用的方式来访问 Amazon 服务,同时将所有网络流量保持在 AWS 网络内。要将 Amazon EC2 和 AWS PrivateLink 结合使用,您需要在 VPC 中为 EC2 创建一个终端节点。任何指定到此终端节点的流量都将被以私有方式路由到 EC2 服务。要了解关于 AWS PrivateLink 的更多信息,请参阅 PrivateLink 文档

Amazon Time Sync Service

Amazon Time Sync Service 为包括 EC2 实例在内的 AWS 产品提供高度准确、可靠且可用的时间源。在 VPC 中运行的所有实例都可以通过一个普遍可及的 IP 地址访问该服务。该服务在 AWS 地区内使用一组冗余的、连接卫星的原子参考时钟提供符合协调世界时 (UTC) 全球标准的高度准确且可靠的当前时间读数。有关如何访问该服务的说明,请参阅《Linux 用户指南》《Windows 用户指南》的“设置时间”部分。

操作系统

Amazon 系统映像 (AMI) 预配置了一张可不断增加的操作系统列表。我们与合作伙伴和社区共同努力,为您提供最多的选择。您还可以使用我们的捆绑工具上传自己的操作系统。目前针对 Amazon EC2 实例提供的操作系统包括:

AWSLogo

Amazon Linux
Amazon
每小时 0.02 USD 到 5.67 USD,包括 EC2 费用 + 其他 AWS 使用费
Microsoft

Windows Server 2012
Microsoft
每小时 0.02 USD 到 4.72 USD,包括 EC2 费用 + 其他 AWS 使用费
centos-logo

CentOS 6.5
CentOS
从 0.00 USD/小时起的软件费用 + AWS 使用费
logo-debian-mp-nav

Debian
从 0.00 USD/小时起的软件费用 + AWS 使用费

软件

AWS Marketplace ​提供了知名供应商专为在 EC2 实例上运行而设计的多种商品化软件和免费软件。例如以下产品。要查看所有选择,请访问 AWS Marketplace。​

logo-SAP

SAP BusinessObjects
SAP
从 150.00 USD/月 + 0.50 USD/小时起的软件费用 + AWS 使用费
lamp_logo

LAMP
最低 0.00 USD/小时的软件费用 + AWS 使用费
drupal_logo

Drupal
Drupal
最低 0.00 USD/小时的软件费用 + AWS 使用费

​预期用途和限制

使用本服务需遵循 Amazon Web Services 客户协议

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
探索实例类型

​访问实例类型页面

了解更多 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
开始在控制台中构建

在 AWS 控制台中开始使用 Amazon EC2 进行构建。

开始使用

Functionality

Amazon EC2 presents a true virtual computing environment, allowing you to use web service interfaces to launch instances with a variety of operating systems, load them with your custom application environment, manage your network’s access permissions, and run your image using as many or few systems as you desire.

To use Amazon EC2, you simply:

  • Select a pre-configured, templated Amazon Machine Image (AMI) to get up and running immediately. Or create an AMI containing your applications, libraries, data, and associated configuration settings.
  • Configure security and network access on your Amazon EC2 instance.
  • Choose which instance type(s) you want, then start, terminate, and monitor as many instances of your AMI as needed, using the web service APIs or the variety of management tools provided.
  • Determine whether you want to run in multiple locations, utilize static IP endpoints, or attach persistent block storage to your instances.
  • Pay only for the resources that you actually consume, like instance-hours or data transfer.

Features

Amazon EC2 provides a number of powerful features for building scalable, failure resilient, enterprise class applications.

Bare Metal instances

Amazon EC2 bare metal instances provide your applications with direct access to the processor and memory of the underlying server. These instances are ideal for workloads that require access to hardware feature sets (such as Intel® VT-x), or for applications that need to run in non-virtualized environments for licensing or support requirements. Bare metal instances are built on the Nitro system, a collection of AWS-built hardware offload and hardware protection components that come together to securely provide high performance networking and storage resources to EC2 instances. Bare metal instances are EC2 instances and thus offer the same robust security, reliability, capacity elasticity, and support for different operating systems and software packages as other virtual EC2 instances. You can also use bare metal instances with AWS services such as Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC), Elastic Block Store (EBS), Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) and more.

Optimize Compute Performance and Cost with Amazon EC2 Fleet

With a single API call, Amazon EC2 Fleet lets you provision compute capacity across EC2 instance types, Availability Zones, and purchase models to help optimize scale, performance and cost. You can specify how much On-Demand and Spot capacity to launch via EC2 Fleet. You can also define which instance types you prefer and whether to scale capacity based on cores, instances or memory. Read FAQs and AWS blog to learn more. Now you can access EC2 Fleet capabilities via Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling to provision and automatically scale compute capacity across EC2 instance types, Availability Zones, and purchase options in a single Auto Scaling Group. Learn more>>

Pause and Resume Your Instances

You can hibernate your Amazon EC2 instances backed by Amazon EBS, and resume them from this state at a later time. Applications that take a while to bootstrap and persist state into memory (RAM) can benefit from this feature. Hibernation gives you all the benefits of Stop and Start, and additionally, data from memory (RAM) is also persisted between sessions. You will not be charged for instance usage while your instance is hibernated. Storage is charged at standard EBS rates. For more information about hibernation, and supported instance types and operating systems, visit the FAQs.

GPU Compute Instances

Customers requiring massive floating point processing power will benefit from the next-generation of general-purpose GPU compute instances from AWS, Amazon EC2 P3 instances with up to 8 NVIDIA Volta GV100 GPUs. P3 instances provide up to 1 petaFLOPS of mixed-precision, 125 teraFLOPS of single-precision and 62 teraFLOPS of double-precision floating point performance. A 300 GB/s second generation NVLink interconnect allows GPU-to-GPU communication at high speed and low latency. P3 instances also feature up to 64 vCPUs based on custom Intel Xeon E5 (codename Broadwell) processor, 488 gigabytes of DRAM, and 25 gigabytes per second of dedicated aggregate network bandwidth using the Elastic Network Adapter (ENA). P3 instances are ideally suited for machine learning, high-performance computing, computational fluid dynamics, computational finance, seismic analysis, molecular modeling, genomics, and rendering workloads.

GPU Graphics Instances

Customers requiring high graphics capability will benefit from GPU graphics instances. The current generation GPU graphics instance, G3 instance, provides access to NVIDIA Tesla M60 GPUs, each with up to 2,048 parallel processing cores, 8 GiB of GPU memory and a hardware encoder supporting up to 10 H.265 (HEVC) 1080p30 streams and up to 18 H.264 1080p30 streams. With the latest driver releases, these GPUs provide support for OpenGL, DirectX, CUDA, OpenCL, and Capture SDK (formerly known as GRID SDK). GPU graphics instances are ideally suited for 3D visualizations, graphics-intensive remote workstation, 3D rendering, application streaming, video encoding, and other server-side graphics workloads.

High I/O Instances

Customers requiring very high, low latency, random I/O access to their data can benefit from High I/O instances. High I/O instances are an Amazon EC2 instance type that can provide customers with random I/O rates over 3 million IOPS. High I/O I3 instances are backed by Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) based SSDs, and are ideally suited for customers running very high performance NoSQL databases, transactional systems, and Elastic Search workloads. High I/O instances also offers sequential disk throughput up to 16 GB/s, which is ideal for analytics workloads.

See Amazon EC2 Instance Types to find out more about High I/O instances.

Dense Storage Instances

Customers requiring very high storage density per instance, and high sequential I/O for data-intensive applications like Massively Parallel Processing (MPP) data warehouse, MapReduce and Hadoop distributed computing, and log and data processing can benefit from Dense Storage instances. Dense Storage instances are an Amazon EC2 instance type that can provide customers with sequential I/O throughout of up to 3.9 GB/s and provide customers with up to 48 TB of instance storage across 24 hard disk drives, or offer a balance with lesser storage and memory per vCPU with ENA based networking for up to 25 Gbps of Network Bandwidth within a placement group. See Amazon EC2 Instance Types to find out more about Dense Storage instances.

Optimized CPU Configurations

Optimize CPUs feature gives you greater control of your Amazon EC2 instances on two fronts. First, you can specify a custom number of vCPUs when launching new instances to save on vCPU-based licensing costs. Second, you can disable Intel Hyper-Threading Technology (Intel HT Technology) for workloads that perform well with single-threaded CPUs, such as certain high-performance computing (HPC) applications. To learn more about how Optimize CPUs can help you, visit the Optimize CPUs documentation here.

Flexible Storage Options

Different Amazon EC2 workloads can have vastly different storage requirements. Beyond the built-in instance storage, we also have Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) and Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) to suit other cloud storage workload requirements.

Amazon EBS provides persistent, highly available, consistent, low-latency block storage volumes for use with Amazon EC2 instances. Each Amazon EBS volume is automatically replicated within its Availability Zone to protect you from component failure, offering high availability and durability. It is designed for application managers who need to tune workloads for capacity, performance and cost.

Amazon EFS provides simple, scalable, persistent, fully managed cloud file storage for shared access. Designed for high availability and durability across multiple Availability Zones it delivers a file system interface with standard file system access semantics, grows and shrinks capacity automatically, and provides application managers with high throughput and consistently low latencies at petabyte scale.

Paying for What You Use

You will be charged at the end of each month for your EC2 resources actually consumed.

As an example, assume you launch 20 instances of the Small type costing $0.085 per hour at some point in time. The instances will begin booting immediately, but they won’t necessarily all start at the same moment. Each instance will store its actual launch time. Thereafter, each instance will charge for its hours (at $.085/hour) of execution at the beginning of each hour relative to the time it launched. Each instance will run until one of the following occurs: you terminate the instance with the TerminateInstances API call (or an equivalent tool), the instance shuts itself down (e.g. UNIX “shutdown” command), or the host terminates due to software or hardware failure. Partial instance hours consumed are billed as full hours.

Multiple Locations

Amazon EC2 provides the ability to place instances in multiple locations. Amazon EC2 locations are composed of Regions and Availability Zones. Availability Zones are distinct locations that are engineered to be insulated from failures in other Availability Zones and provide inexpensive, low latency network connectivity to other Availability Zones in the same Region. By launching instances in separate Availability Zones, you can protect your applications from failure of a single location. Regions consist of one or more Availability Zones, are geographically dispersed, and will be in separate geographic areas or countries. The Amazon EC2 Service Level Agreement commitment is 99.99% availability for each Amazon EC2 Region. Please refer to Regional Products and Services for more details of our product and service availability by region.

Elastic IP Addresses

Elastic IP addresses are static IP addresses designed for dynamic cloud computing. An Elastic IP address is associated with your account not a particular instance, and you control that address until you choose to explicitly release it. Unlike traditional static IP addresses, however, Elastic IP addresses allow you to mask instance or Availability Zone failures by programmatically remapping your public IP addresses to any instance in your account. Rather than waiting on a data technician to reconfigure or replace your host, or waiting for DNS to propagate to all of your customers, Amazon EC2 enables you to engineer around problems with your instance or software by quickly remapping your Elastic IP address to a replacement instance. In addition, you can optionally configure the reverse DNS record of any of your Elastic IP addresses by filling out this form.

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling allows you to automatically scale your Amazon EC2 capacity up or down according to conditions you define. With EC2 Auto Scaling, you can ensure that the number of Amazon EC2 instances you’re using scales up seamlessly during demand spikes to maintain performance, and scales down automatically during demand lulls to minimize costs. EC2 Auto Scaling is particularly well suited for applications that experience hourly, daily, or weekly variability in usage. EC2 Auto Scaling is enabled by Amazon CloudWatch and available at no additional charge beyond Amazon CloudWatch fees. See Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling for more details. To scale other services in addition to EC2, you can use AWS Auto Scaling.

High Performance Computing (HPC) Clusters

Customers with complex computational workloads such as tightly coupled parallel processes, or with applications sensitive to network performance, can achieve the same high compute and network performance provided by custom-built infrastructure while benefiting from the elasticity, flexibility and cost advantages of Amazon EC2. Cluster Compute, Cluster GPU, and High Memory Cluster instances have been specifically engineered to provide high-performance network capability and can be programmatically launched into clusters – allowing applications to get the low-latency network performance required for tightly coupled, node-to-node communication. Cluster instances also provide significantly increased throughput making them well suited for customer applications that need to perform network-intensive operations. Learn more about how Amazon EC2 and other AWS services can be used for HPC Applications.

Enhanced Networking

Enhanced Networking enables you to get significantly higher packet per second (PPS) performance, lower network jitter and lower latencies. This feature uses a new network virtualization stack that provides higher I/O performance and lower CPU utilization compared to traditional implementations. In order to take advantage of Enhanced Networking, you should launch an HVM AMI in VPC, and install the appropriate driver. For instructions on how to enable Enhanced Networking on EC2 instances, see the Enhanced Networking on Linux and Enhanced Networking on Windows tutorials. For availability of this feature by instance, or to learn more, visit the Enhanced Networking FAQ section.

Elastic Fabric Adapter (Fast interconnect for HPC clusters)

Elastic Fabric Adapter (EFA) is a network interface for Amazon EC2 instances that enables customers to run HPC applications requiring high levels of inter-instance communications, like computational fluid dynamics, weather modeling, and reservoir simulation, at scale on AWS. It uses a custom-built operating system bypass technique to enhance the performance of inter-instance communications, which is critical to scaling HPC applications. With EFA, HPC applications using popular HPC technologies like Message Passing Interface (MPI) can scale to thousands of CPU cores. EFA supports industry-standard libfabric APIs, so applications that use a supported MPI library can be migrated to AWS with little or no modification.

EFA is available as an optional EC2 networking feature that you can enable on C5n.9xl, C5n.18xl, and P3dn.24xl instances. Additional instance types will be supported in the coming months.

Sign up for a preview of EFA capabilities to enhance your HPC applications.

Available on AWS PrivateLink

Customers can privately access Amazon EC2 APIs from their Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) or over AWS Direct Connect, without using public IPs, and without requiring the traffic to traverse across the Internet. AWS PrivateLink is a purpose-built technology designed for customers to access Amazon services in a high performance and highly available manner, while keeping all the network traffic within the AWS network. In order to use Amazon EC2 with AWS PrivateLink, you will need to create an endpoint for EC2 in your VPC. Any traffic destined to this endpoint will get privately routed to the EC2 service. To learn more about AWS PrivateLink, read the PrivateLink documentation.

Amazon Time Sync Service

The Amazon Time Sync Service provides a highly accurate, reliable and available time source to AWS services including EC2 instances. All instances running in a VPC can access the service at a universally reachable IP address. The service uses a fleet of redundant satellite-connected and atomic reference clocks in AWS regions to deliver highly accurate and reliable current time readings of the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) global standard. For instructions on how to access the service, see Setting the Time sections of the Linux and Windows User Guides.

Operating systems

Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) are preconfigured with an ever-growing list of operating systems. We work with our partners and community to provide you with the most choice possible. You are also empowered to use our bundling tools to upload your own operating systems. The operating systems currently available to use with your Amazon EC2 instances include:

AWSLogo

Amazon Linux
Amazon
$0.02 to $5.67/hr incl EC2 charges + other AWS usage fees
Microsoft

Windows Server 2012
Microsoft
$0.02 to $4.72/hr incl EC2 charges + other AWS usage fees
centos-logo

CentOS 6.5
CentOS
$0.00/hr for software + AWS usage fees
logo-debian-mp-nav

Debian
$0.00/hr for software + AWS usage fees

Software

AWS Marketplace features a wide selection of commercial and free software from well-known vendors, designed to run on your EC2 instances. A sample of products are below. To see the full selection, visit AWS Marketplace.

logo-SAP

SAP BusinessObjects
SAP
$150.00/mo + $0.50/hr for software + AWS usage fees
lamp_logo

LAMP
From $0.00/hr for software + AWS usage fees
drupal_logo

Drupal
Drupal
From $0.00/hr for software + AWS usage fees

Intended usage & restrictions

Your use of this service is subject to the Amazon Web Services Customer Agreement.

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
Explore instance types

Visit the instance types page

Learn more 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
Start building in the console

Get started building with Amazon EC2 in the AWS Console.

Get started