开始使用 Amazon EFS

云文件存储是一种在云中存储数据的方法,允许服务器和应用程序通过共享文件系统访问数据。这种兼容性使得云文件存储非常适合依赖共享文件系统的工作负载,并且实现了无需更改代码的简单集成。

云中的文件系统是一种分层存储系统,允许以共享方式访问文件数据。用户可以创建、删除、修改、读取和写入文件,并在目录树中按逻辑进行整理,以便进行直观访问。

云文件共享可以理解为一种服务,可让多个用户同时访问云中的同一组文件数据。云文件共享的安全性通过用户和组权限予以保证,管理员可以使用这些权限严格控制对共享文件数据的访问。


在云中存储文件数据可在以下三项主要优势:

1. 可扩展性 – 虽然并非每个云文件存储解决方案都可以扩展,但通过利用云的所有功能,最先进的解决方案均可以从您目前所需的容量和性能开始,并根据需要增加容量。您无需进行过多预置来尝试满足或预测未来的需求。

2. 可互操作性 – 许多现有应用程序需要与遵循现有文件系统语义的共享文件服务进行集成。而云文件存储解决方案在这方面有着明显的优势,因为它无需编写新代码即可进行安全的共享文件访问。

3. 预算和资源 – 运行本地文件服务需要为硬件、持续维护、动力、冷却和物理空间制定预算。而借助云文件存储,组织可以将技术资源重新部署到能为公司带来更多价值的其他项目中。

云存储

大型内容存储库、开发环境、媒体存储和用户主目录等使用案例就是云文件存储的理想工作负载。

灵活地支持现有应用程序并可与其轻松集成,可轻松部署、管理、和维护云中的文件存储解决方案,能够支持广泛的应用程序和垂直领域。

Web 服务

集成后端应用程序后,对 Web 服务应用程序的共享文件存储的需求可能会成为一项挑战。网站内容通常由多个 Web 服务器共同提供,每个 Web 服务器都需要访问同一组文件。由于云文件存储解决方案符合 Web 开发人员业已习惯的既定文件系统语义、文件命名约定和权限,云文件存储可以轻松地集成其 Web 应用程序。

内容管理

内容管理系统 (CMS) 需要一个通用命名空间和对文件系统层次结构的访问权限。与 Web 服务使用案例类似,CMS 环境通常也有多个服务器,且所有服务器均需访问同一组文件以提供内容。由于云文件存储解决方案符合开发人员业已习惯的既定文件系统语义、文件命名约定和权限,文档和其他文件的存储可轻松集成到现有的 CMS 工作流中。

大数据分析

大数据所需的存储需要具备以下能力:处理海量数据、进行扩展以跟上增长速度,以及提供将数据传送到分析工具所需的性能。许多分析工作负载通过文件接口与数据进行交互,依赖于文件锁等文件语义,并要求能够写入文件的部分内容。由于云文件存储支持所需的文件系统语义,并可扩展容量以及性能,因此非常适合提供易于集成到现有大数据工作流的文件共享解决方案。

媒体与娱乐

数字媒体与娱乐的工作流一直在不断变化。许多人都在使用混合云部署,并需要使用网络文件协议 (如 NFS) 进行标准化访问。这些工作流需要能够对现成解决方案、定制解决方案和合作伙伴解决方案中的数据进行灵活、一致且安全的访问。由于云文件存储符合现有的文件系统语义,因此,用于处理和协作的富媒体内容存储可以轻松地整合在一起,以用于内容制作、数字供应链、流媒体、广播播放、分析和存档。

主目录

只有特定用户和组才能使用主目录来存储文件,主目录对于许多云工作流都非常有用。那些希望利用云的可扩展性和成本优势的企业正在为其众多用户扩展对主目录的使用权限。由于云文件存储解决方案符合所需的文件系统语义和标准权限模型,客户可以轻松地将应用程序直接迁移到需要此功能的云中。

数据库备份

使用现有机制、软件和语义来备份数据可以创建一个独立的恢复场景,并提供少许执行恢复的区位灵活性。许多企业希望利用在云中存储数据库备份的灵活性,以便在更新或开发和测试期间提供临时保护。云文件存储解决方案提供了可通过数据库服务器轻松安装的标准文件系统,因此成为了使用本机应用程序工具或企业备份应用程序创建便携式数据库备份的理想平台。

开发工具

在协作开发最新创新的同时以安全可靠的方式共享数据,这对于开发环境而言可能是一项挑战。由于需要以有组织的方式轻松共享代码和其他文件,利用共享云文件存储,组织可以提供一个可在其云开发环境中轻松访问的有组织的安全存储库。云文件存储提供了可扩展且高度可用的解决方案,是进行协作的理想之选。

容器存储

Docker 容器非常适合构建微服务,因为它们容易携带,可进行快速预置并可提供处理隔离。每次启动时需要访问原始数据的容器可能需要一个共享文件系统,这样一来,无论它们在哪个实例上运行,都可以连接到该文件系统。云文件存储可对集群中所有容器均可使用的数据进行持续的共享访问。


一个出色的云文件存储解决方案必须能够交付满足目前需求的性能和容量,并能够随着业务需求的变化而无缝扩展。

可扩展性

自动增长和缩减,以支持容量需求

性能

提供一致的吞吐量和低延迟性能

兼容性

与现有应用程序无缝集成,无需编写新代码

安全性

提供网络安全性和访问控制权限

可用性

跨多个站点提供冗余,可根据需要随时访问

经济实惠

用户只需为实际使用的容量付费,无预付预置成本


云文件存储的的优势是显而易见的,但还需要重点注意的是,并非所有云文件存储解决方案都是千篇一律。解决方案有很多种,有使用数据块存储作为基础的计算实例上的单节点文件服务器,没有可扩展性或只有少量冗余,无法保护数据;有自己动手的集群解决方案,需要进行耗时的设置、管理和维护;有完全托管的解决方案 (如 Amazon EFS),需要很少或无需设置或维护,可弹性扩展容量与性能,以满足要求最严苛的应用程序工作负载的需求。

云文件存储可通过以下两种方式之一提供:通过完全托管型解决方案,这种方案设置量最小且很少需要甚至无需维护;或通过具有独立计算、存储、软件和许可的自助式解决方案,这种方案需要配备专业人员进行配置和维护。例如,Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) 就是一种完全托管型解决方案,提供简单、可扩展的文件存储,用于 AWS 云中的 Amazon EC2 实例。

云存储有三种类型:对象存储、文件存储和数据块存储。每种类型均有独特的优势。

1. 对象存储 – 在云中开发的应用程序通常可利用对象存储的高度可扩展性和元数据特性。Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 等对象存储解决方案非常适合用于从头构建需要扩展和灵活性的现代应用程序;您还可以使用这些解决方案导入现有数据存储以进行分析、备份或存档。

2. 文件存储 – 许多应用程序需要访问共享文件并需要文件系统。通常使用网络附加存储 (NAS) 服务器支持这种类型的存储。Amazon Elastic File System (EFS) 等文件存储解决方案非常适合大型内容存储库、开发环境、媒体存储或用户主目录等使用案例。

3. 数据块存储 – 数据库或 ERP 系统等其他企业应用程序通常需要针对每个主机的专用低延迟存储。这种存储与直接连接存储 (DAS) 或存储区域网络 (SAN) 类似。Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 等基于数据块的云存储解决方案使用各个虚拟服务器进行预配置,可提供高性能工作负载所需的超低延迟。

虽然对象存储解决方案可以将文件存储用作对象,但使用现有应用程序进行访问仍需新代码、API 和命名语义的直接知识。支持现有文件系统语义和权限模型的文件存储解决方案在这方面具有显著的优势,因为它们不需要编写新代码即可与易于配置为用于共享文件存储的应用程序进行集成。

数据块存储可以用作自我管理型文件存储解决方案的底层存储组件。然而,主机和卷之间所需的一对一关系使得用户很难获得完全托管型文件存储解决方案的可扩展性、可用性和可负担性,并且需要额外的预算和管理资源来提供支持。使用完全托管的文件存储解决方案可以消除复杂性,降低成本,并简化管理。


联系销售人员

Get Started with Amazon EFS

Cloud file storage can be accessed by multiple compute instances concurrently, providing shared access to data in the cloud. While on-premises file storage solutions are deployed on physical or virtual servers running network file sharing protocols or with Network Attached Storage (NAS) servers, cloud file storage requires no hardware and integrates seamlessly with other cloud services. All file storage solutions present data logically and are organized in a file system with full file system semantics such as permissions, file attributes, file locking, and human readable file names. This compatibility with existing applications makes cloud file storage solutions ideal for workloads that rely on shared file services, providing seamless integration and no new code to write. Use cases such as large content repositories, development environments, media stores, and user home directories are ideal workloads for cloud file storage.

Cloud file storage can be delivered in one of two ways: Through fully managed solutions with minimal setup and little to no maintenance or through do-it-yourself solutions with separate compute, storage, software, and licensing, which also requires staffed expertise to configure and maintain. Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) is an example of a fully managed solution that provides simple, scalable file storage for use with Amazon EC2 instances in the AWS Cloud.

 


Storing file data in the cloud delivers advantages in three key areas:

1. Scalability - Although not every cloud file storage solution can scale, leveraging all the capabilities of the cloud, the most advanced solutions provide the ability to start with the capacity and performance you need today and grow your capacity as needed. No more over provisioning to try and anticipate future needs.

2. Interoperability - Many existing applications require integration with shared file services that follow existing file system semantics. Cloud file storage solutions offer a distinct advantage as there is no new code to write to have secure, shared file access.

3. Budget and Resources - Operating file services on-premises requires budget for hardware, ongoing maintenance, power, cooling, and physical space. Cloud file storage enables organizations to redeploy technical resources to other projects that bring more value to the business.

Cloud Storage

The flexibility to support and easily integrate with existing applications and the ease to deploy, manage, and maintain a file storage solution in the cloud provides the ability to support a broad spectrum of applications and verticals.

Web Serving

The need for shared file storage for web serving applications can be a challenge when integrating backend applications. Typically, there are multiple web servers delivering a web site’s content, with each web server needing access to the same set of files. Since cloud file storage solutions adhere to the expected file system semantics, file naming conventions, and permissions that web developers are accustomed to, cloud file storage can easily integrate their web applications.

Content Management

Content Management Systems (CMS) require a common namespace and access to a file system hierarchy. Similar to web serving use cases, CMS environments typically have multiple servers that need access to the same set of files to serve up content. Since cloud file storage solutions adhere to the expected file system semantics, file naming conventions, and permissions that developers are accustomed to, storage of documents and other files can be easily integrated into existing CMS workflows.

Big Data Analytics

Big data requires storage that can handle very large amounts of data while scaling to keep up with growth and providing the performance necessary to deliver data to analytics tools. Many analytics workloads interact with data via a file interface, rely on file semantics such as file locks, and require the ability to write to portions of a file. Since cloud file storage supports the needed file systems semantics and can scale capacity as well performance, it is ideal for delivering a file sharing solution that is easy to integrate into existing big data workflows.

Media & Entertainment

Digital Media & Entertainment workflows are constantly changing. Many leverage a hybrid cloud deployment and need standardized access using network file protocols, such as NFS. These workflows require flexible, consistent, and secure access to data from off-the-shelf, custom-built, and partner solutions. Since cloud file storage adheres to existing file system semantics, storage of rich media content for processing and collaboration can be easily integrated for content production, digital supply chains, media streaming, broadcast playout, analytics and archive.

Home Directories

The use of home directories for storing files only accessible by specific users and groups is useful for many cloud workflows. Businesses that are looking to take advantage of the scalability and cost benefits of the cloud are extending access to home directories for many of their users. Since cloud file storage solutions adhere to required file system semantics and standard permissions models, customers can easily lift-and-shift applications to the cloud that need this capability.

Database Backups

Backing up data using existing mechanisms, software, and semantics can create an isolated recovery scenario with little locational flexibility for recovery. Many businesses want to take advantage of the flexibility of storing database backups in the cloud either for temporary protection during updates or for development and test. Since cloud file storage solutions present a standard filesystem that can be easily mounted from database servers, they can be an ideal platform to create portable database backups using native application tools or enterprise backup applications.

Development Tools

Development environments can be challenged to share data in a safe and secure way as they are collaborating to develop their latest innovations. With the need to easily share code and other files in an organized way, utilizing shared cloud file storage provides an organized and secure repository that is easily accessible within their cloud development environments. Cloud file storage delivers a scalable and highly available solution ideal for collaborating.

Container Storage

Docker containers are ideal for building microservices because they’re quick to provision, easily portable, and provide process isolation. Containers that need access to the original data each time it starts may require a shared file system that it can connect to regardless of which instance they’re running on. Cloud file storage can provide persistent shared access to data that all containers in a cluster can use.


A good file storage solution in the cloud must deliver the right performance and capacity for today and scale seamlessly as business needs change.

Scalability

Grows and shrinks automatically to support capacity needs

Performance

Provides consistent throughput and low latency performance

Compatibility

Integrates seamlessly with existing applications with no new code to write

Security

Provides network security and access control permissions

Availability

Redundancy across multiple sites and always accessible when needed

Affordable

Pay only for capacity used with no upfront provisioning costs


The benefits of cloud file storage are clear, but it is important to also note that not all cloud file storage solutions are created equal. There are many solutions that exist that range from a single node file server on a compute instance using block storage as the underpinnings with no scalability or few redundancies to protect the data; to a do-it-yourself clustered solution that requires time consuming setup, management and maintenance; to a fully managed solution, such as Amazon EFS, that needs little to no setup or maintenance and can elastically scale up and down in both capacity and performance to meet the needs of the most demanding application workloads.

There are three types of cloud storage: Object, File, and Block. Each offers their own unique advantages.

1. Object Storage - Applications developed in the cloud often take advantage of object storage's vast scalability and metadata characteristics. Object storage solutions like Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) are ideal for building modern applications from scratch that require scale and flexibility, and can also be used to import existing data stores for analytics, backup, or archive.

2. File Storage - Many applications need to access shared files and require a file system. This type of storage is often supported with a Network Attached Storage (NAS) server. File storage solutions like Amazon Elastic File System (EFS) are ideal for use cases like large content repositories, development environments, media stores, or user home directories.

3. Block Storage - Other enterprise applications like databases or ERP systems often require dedicated, low latency storage for each host. This is analogous to direct-attached storage (DAS) or a Storage Area Network (SAN). Block-based cloud storage solutions like Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) are provisioned with each virtual server and offer the ultra-low latency required for high performance workloads.

Although object storage solutions enable storage of files as objects, accessing with existing applications requires new code and the use of API’s and direct knowledge of naming semantics. File storage solutions that support existing file system semantics and permissions models have a distinct advantage in that they do not require new code to be written to integrate with applications that are easily configured to work with shared file storage.

Block storage can be used as the underlying storage component of a self-managed file storage solution. However, the one-to-one relationship required between the host and volume makes it difficult to have the scalability, availability, and affordability of a fully managed file storage solution and would require additional budget and management resources to support. Using a fully managed cloud file storage solution removes complexities, reduces costs, and simplifies management.


Contact Sales