一般性问题

什么是 AWS Secrets Manager? 

AWS Secrets Manager 是一种密钥管理服务,可帮助保护对应用程序、服务和 IT 资源的访问。通过该项服务,您可以在数据库凭证、API 密钥和其他密钥的整个生命周期内轻松地对其进行轮换、管理和检索。使用 Secrets Manager,您可以保护和管理用于访问 AWS 云、第三方服务和本地的资源的密钥。

应如何使用 AWS Secrets Manager? 

AWS Secrets Manager 保护对应用程序、服务和 IT 资源的访问,而无需运营您自己的基础设施的前期投资和持续维护成本。

Secrets Manager 适用于正在寻找一种安全且可扩展的方法来存储和管理密钥的 IT 管理员。负责满足法规和合规性要求的安全管理员可以使用 Secrets Manager 监控密钥并轮换密钥,而不会有影响应用程序的风险。想要替换其应用程序中的硬编码密钥的开发人员可以编程方式从 Secrets Manager 中检索密钥。

 

AWS Secrets Manager 有什么作用?

AWS Secrets Manager 让您可以集中存储、检索、轮换、审核、监控密钥并控制对密钥的访问。

您可以静态加密密钥以减少未授权用户查看敏感信息的可能性。要检索密钥,您只需使用 Secrets Manager API 将应用程序中的纯文本格式的密钥替换为代码,以编程方式调出这些密钥。您使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 策略控制可以访问此类密钥的用户和应用程序。您可以按计划或按需为托管在 AWS 上的受支持数据库类型轮换密码,而不会有影响应用程序的风险。您可以通过修改示例 Lambda 函数扩展此功能以轮换其他密钥,如托管在 Amazon EC2 上的 Oracle 数据库密码或 OAuth 刷新令牌。您还可以审核和监控密钥,因为 Secrets Manager 可与 AWS CloudTrailAmazon CloudWatchAmazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 集成。

我可以在 AWS Secrets Manager 中管理哪些密钥?

您可以管理数据库凭证、本地资源凭证、SaaS 应用程序凭证、第三方 API 密钥和 Secure Shell (SSH) 密钥等密钥。Secrets Manager 让您可以存储 JSON 文档,此文档允许您管理大小为 4 KB 或小于 4 KB 的任何文本简介。

我可以使用 AWS Secrets Manager 轮换哪些密钥?

您可以本机轮换适用于 MySQL、PostgreSQL 和 Amazon Aurora 的 Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) 的凭证。您可以通过修改 Secrets Manager 文档中提供的示例 AWS Lambda 函数扩展此功能以轮换其他密钥,如托管在 EC2 上的 Oracle 数据库凭证或 OAuth 刷新令牌。

我的应用程序如何使用这些密钥?

首先,您必须编写 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 策略,允许您的应用程序访问特定密钥。然后,在应用程序源代码中,您可以使用 Secrets Manager API 将纯文本格式的密钥替换为代码,以便以编程方式检索这些密钥。有关完整的详细信息和示例,请参阅 AWS Secrets Manager 用户指南

如何开始使用 AWS Secrets Manager?

开始使用 AWS Secrets Manager:

  1. 标识您的密钥并定位它们在应用程序中使用的位置。
  2. 使用您的 AWS 凭证登录到 AWS 管理控制台并导航至 Secrets Manager 控制台
  3. 使用 Secrets Manager 控制台上传已标识的密钥。或者,您可以使用 AWS 软件开发工具包或 AWS CLI 上传密钥 (每个密钥一次)。还可以编写脚本以上传多个密钥。
  4. 如果您的密钥尚未使用,请按照控制台上的说明配置自动轮换。如果应用程序正在使用您的密钥,请在配置自动轮换前完成步骤 (5) 和 (6)。
  5. 如果其他用户或应用程序需要检索密钥,请编写 IAM 策略以授予访问密钥的权限。
  6. 更新您的应用程序以便从 Secrets Manager 检索密钥。

哪些地区提供 AWS Secrets Manager?

请访问 AWS 区域表,了解目前提供 AWS 服务的地区。

轮换

 

AWS Secrets Manager 如何在不影响应用程序的情况下执行数据库凭证轮换?

通过 AWS Secrets Manager,您可以按计划配置数据库凭证轮换。这样您即可按照安全性最佳实践操作并实现数据库凭证的安全轮换。当 Secrets Manager 启动轮换时,它使用您提供的超级数据库凭证创建具有相同权限但使用不同密码的克隆用户。然后,Secrets Manager 向检索数据库凭证的数据库和应用程序传递克隆用户信息。要了解轮换的更多信息,请参阅 AWS Secrets Manager 轮换指南

轮换数据库凭证会影响打开的连接吗?

不会。建立连接时会进行身份验证。在 AWS Secrets Manager 轮换数据库凭证时,打开的数据库连接不会重新进行身份验证。

如何了解 AWS Secrets Manager 何时轮换数据库凭证?

您可以在 AWS Secrets Manager 轮换密钥时配置 Amazon CloudWatch Events 以接收通知。您还可以使用 Secrets Manager 控制台或 API 查看 Secrets Manager 最后一次轮换密钥的时间。 

安全性

AWS Secrets Manager 如何确保密钥的安全?

AWS Secrets Manager 使用您拥有并存储在 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 中的加密密钥进行静态加密。您可以使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 策略来控制对密钥的访问。检索密钥时,Secrets Manager 将解密密钥并将其通过 TLS 安全传输到本地环境。默认情况下,Secrets Manager 不会将密钥写入或缓存到永久存储。

谁可以在 AWS Secrets Manager 中使用和管理密钥?

您可以使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 策略控制用户和应用程序的访问权限,以检索或管理特定密钥。例如,您可以创建一个只允许开发人员检索用于开发环境的密钥的策略。要了解更多信息,请访问 AWS Secrets Manager 的身份验证和访问控制

AWS Secrets Manager 如何加密我的密钥?

AWS Secrets Manager 使用信封加密 (AES-256 加密算法) 在 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 中加密密钥。

首次使用 Secrets Manager 时,您可以指定客户主密钥 (CMK) 以加密密钥。如果您未提供 CMK,Secrets Manager 会自动为您的账户创建 AWS KMS 默认密钥。存储密钥时,Secrets Manager 从 KMS 请求纯文本和加密数据密钥。Secrets Manager 使用纯文本数据密钥加密内存中的密钥。AWS Secrets Manager 存储和维护加密密钥和加密数据密钥。检索密钥时,Secrets Manager (使用 AWS KMS 默认密钥) 解密数据密钥并使用纯文本数据密钥解密密钥。数据密钥加密存储,且绝不以纯文本形式写入磁盘。此外,Secrets Manager 不会将纯文本密钥写入或缓存到永久存储。

账单

使用 AWS Secrets Manager 时如何收费和计费?

使用 Secrets Manager 时,您仅需按用量付费,而且没有最低费用。开始使用服务时,没有安装费,用户无需对服务的使用签订任何长期使用期限合约。每个月底将自动向您的信用卡收取当月使用费。将根据存储的密钥数量和每月向服务提出的 API 请求向您收费。

有关当前定价信息,请访问 AWS Secrets Manager 定价

可以免费试用吗?

可以,您可以通过 AWS Secrets Manager 30 天免费试用版试用 Secrets Manager,无需额外费用。免费试用版允许您在 30 天内轮换、管理和检索密钥。免费试用期从您存储第一个密钥时开始计算。

了解有关 AWS Secrets Manager 定价的更多信息

访问定价页面
准备好开始构建?
开始使用 AWS Secrets Manager
还有更多问题?
联系我们

General

What is AWS Secrets Manager?  

AWS Secrets Manager is a secrets management service that helps you protect access to your applications, services, and IT resources. This service enables you to easily rotate, manage, and retrieve database credentials, API keys, and other secrets throughout their lifecycle. Using Secrets Manager, you can secure and manage secrets used to access resources in the AWS Cloud, on third-party services, and on-premises.

Why should I use AWS Secrets Manager?  

AWS Secrets Manager protects access to your applications, services, and IT resources, without the upfront investment and on-going maintenance costs of operating your own infrastructure.

Secrets Manager is for IT administrators looking for a secure and scalable method to store and manage secrets. Security administrators responsible for meeting regulatory and compliance requirements can use Secrets Manager to monitor secrets and rotate secrets without a risk of impacting applications. Developers who want to replace hardcoded secrets in their applications can retrieve secrets programmatically from Secrets Manager.

 

What can I do with AWS Secrets Manager?

AWS Secrets Manager enables you to store, retrieve, control access to, rotate, audit, and monitor secrets centrally.

You can encrypt secrets at rest to reduce the likelihood of unauthorized users viewing sensitive information. To retrieve secrets, you simply replace secrets in plain text in your applications with code to pull in those secrets programmatically using the Secrets Manager APIs. You use AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) policies to control which users and applications can access these secrets. You can rotate passwords, on a schedule or on demand, for supported database types hosted on AWS, without a risk of impacting applications. You can extend this functionality to rotate other secrets, such as passwords for Oracle databases hosted on Amazon EC2 or OAuth refresh tokens, by modifying sample Lambda functions. You can also audit and monitor secrets because Secrets Manager integrates with AWS CloudTrail, Amazon CloudWatch, and Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS).

What secrets can I manage in AWS Secrets Manager?

You can manage secrets such as database credentials, on-premises resource credentials, SaaS application credentials, third-party API keys, and Secure Shell (SSH) keys. Secrets Manager enables you to store a JSON document which allows you to manage any text blurb that is 4 KB or smaller.

What secrets can I rotate with AWS Secrets Manager?

You can natively rotate credentials for Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) for MySQL, PostgreSQL, and Amazon Aurora. You can extend this functionality to rotate other secrets, such as credentials for Oracle databases hosted on EC2 or OAuth refresh tokens, by modifying sample AWS Lambda functions available in the Secrets Manager documentation.

How can my application use these secrets?

First, you must write an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) policy permitting your application to access specific secrets. Then, in the application source code, you can replace secrets in plain text with code to retrieve these secrets programmatically using the Secrets Manager APIs. For the complete details and examples, please see the AWS Secrets Manager User Guide.

How do I get started with AWS Secrets Manager?

To get started with AWS Secrets Manager:

  1. Identify your secrets and locate where they are used in your applications.
  2. Sign in to the AWS Management Console using your AWS credentials and navigate to the Secrets Manager console.
  3. Use the Secrets Manager console to upload the secret you identified. Alternatively, you can use the AWS SDK or AWS CLI to upload a secret (once per secret). You can also write a script to upload multiple secrets.
  4. If your secret is not in use yet, follow the instructions on the console to configure automatic rotation. If applications are using your secret, complete steps (5) and (6) before configuring automatic rotation.
  5. If other users or applications need to retrieve the secret, write an IAM policy to grant permissions to the secret.
  6. Update your applications to retrieve secrets from Secrets Manager.

In what regions is AWS Secrets Manager available?

Please visit the AWS Region Table to see the current region availability for AWS services.

Rotation

 

How does AWS Secrets Manager implement database credential rotation without impacting applications?

AWS Secrets Manager enables you to configure database credential rotation on a schedule. This enables you to follow security best practices and rotate your database credentials safely. When Secrets Manager initiates a rotation, it uses the super database credentials provided by you to create a clone user with the same privileges, but with a different password. Secrets Manager then communicates the clone user information to databases and applications retrieving the database credentials. To learn more about rotation, refer to AWS Secrets Manager Rotation Guide.

Will rotating database credentials impact open connections?

No. Authentication happens when a connection is established. When AWS Secrets Manager rotates a database credential, the open database connection is not re-authenticated.

How do I know when AWS Secrets Manager rotates a database credential?

You can configure Amazon CloudWatch Events to receive a notification when AWS Secrets Manager rotates a secret. You can also see when Secrets Manager last rotated a secret using the Secrets Manager console or APIs.  

Security

How does AWS Secrets Manager keep my secrets secure?

AWS Secrets Manager encrypts at rest using encryption keys that you own and store in AWS Key Management Service (KMS). You can control access to the secret using AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) policies. When you retrieve a secret, Secrets Manager decrypts the secret and transmits it securely over TLS to your local environment. By default, Secrets Manager does not write or cache the secret to persistent storage.

Who can use and manage secrets in AWS Secrets Manager?

You can use AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) policies to control the access permissions of users and applications to retrieve or manage specific secrets. For example, you can create a policy that only enables developers to retrieve secrets used for the development environment. To learn more, visit Authentication and Access Control for AWS Secrets Manager.

How does AWS Secrets Manager encrypt my secrets?

AWS Secrets Manager uses envelope encryption (AES-256 encryption algorithm) to encrypt your secrets in AWS Key Management Service (KMS).

When you first use Secrets Manager, you can specify the Customer Master Keys (CMKs) to encrypt secrets. If you do not provide a CMK, Secrets Manager creates AWS KMS default keys for your account automatically. When a secret is stored, Secrets Manager requests a plaintext and an encrypted data key from KMS. Secrets Manager uses the plaintext data key to encrypt the secret in memory. AWS Secrets Manager stores and maintains the encrypted secret and encrypted data key. When a secret is retrieved, Secrets Manager decrypts the data key (using the AWS KMS default keys) and uses the plaintext data key to decrypt the secret. The data key is stored encrypted and is never written to disk in plaintext. Also, Secrets Manager does not write or cache the plaintext secret to persistent storage.

Billing

How will I be charged and billed for my use of AWS Secrets Manager?

With Secrets Manager, you pay only for what you use, there is no minimum fee. There are no set-up fees or commitments to begin using the service. At the end of the month, your credit card will automatically be charged for that month’s usage. You are charged for number of secrets you store and for API requests made to the service each month.

For current pricing information, visit AWS Secrets Manager pricing.

Is there a free trial?

Yes, you can try Secrets Manager at no additional charge through the AWS Secrets Manager 30-day free trial. The free trial enables you to rotate, manage, and retrieve secrets over the 30-day period. The free trial starts when you store your first secret.

Learn more about AWS Secrets Manager pricing

Visit the pricing page
Ready to build?
Get started with AWS Secrets Manager
Have more questions?
Contact us