Dominos-logo@2x

Domino’s Pizza Enterprises 使用 AWS 进行订购预测,创下交付时间记录

2020 年

说到全球披萨业务,Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Limited (Domino’s) 占有很大的份额。该公司是 Domino’s 最大的特许经营商,在澳大利亚、新西兰、比利时、法国、荷兰、日本、德国、卢森堡和丹麦作为 Domino’s 品牌的代表。Domino’s 在全球拥有 2600 多家门店,总部设在澳大利亚布里斯班。

Domino’s 是一家日益数字化的企业,其 70% 以上的销售额来自网上订单。“我们在技术上的投资是我们业务增长的关键因素,”Domino’s 首席数字和技术官 Michael Gillespie 说。“我们努力用它减少取货和交货时间,因为我们发现,越早将比萨送给客户,他们对餐品的满意度就越高。”

为了实现更快的取送,该公司最近推出了 3TEN 计划,该计划旨在让比萨在 3 分钟内做好取送,或在 10 分钟内安全送达。通过提高烹饪方法和运输的效率,以及在离顾客更近的地方开设更多的门店,这一切有可能实现。为了支持这一计划,该公司希望使用预测技术来帮助减少披萨制作和配送时间。“我们可以利用技术加快我们的烤箱速度,我们可以为司机提供更高效的技术,如电动自行车或小型摩托车,但我们还需要研究如何帮助门店预测顾客的订单,”Gillespie 说。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

由于我们在 3TEN 计划中进行的改进,顾客可以更快地收到更热、更新鲜的披萨。我们使用 AWS 开发的预测订购解决方案就是其中的一个重要部分。”

Michael Gillespie
Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Limited 首席数字和技术官

在 AWS 上开发准确的预测订购

Domino’s 转向寻求 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 和 AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 中的高级咨询合作伙伴 Max Kelsento 帮助创建预测订购解决方案。“我们知道我们需要一个智能、准确的系统,我们喜欢 AWS 机器学习技术,”Gillespie 说。“我们知道,通过使用 AWS 服务,我们可以开发一种解决方案,该解决方案通过预测接下来会订购什么披萨,让我们的门店可以预见未来。”

该公司通过利用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 进行数据存储和利用 AWS Glue 进行数据查询,创建了由关键订单信息组成的湖内数仓。它还使用 Amazon SageMaker 构建和训练机器学习模型来预测下订单的可能性,以便门店可以在下订单前即开始制作订单。

作为试验,Domino’s 最初在澳大利亚的一些门店部署了预测订购解决方案。商店员工可以查看一个显示特定披萨的订购屏幕,屏幕上有各种颜色指示符,它们对应于这些披萨被订购的可能性。“我们不再将制作好的披萨在在热盒中放半小时,而是将披萨排好队,从烤箱里拿出来,下单后即准备发货,”Gillespie 说。

该公司在试验期间对该解决方案进行了增强,以便为更大范围的推广做好准备。随后,Domino’s 开始将该解决方案部署到新西兰、法国、荷兰、日本和德国的门店。

从订购到送达在 10 分钟内实现

通过使用基于 AWS 的解决方案,Domino’s 为其门店提供了一个工具,以帮助减少客户的取货和交货时间。例如,2019 年,Domino’s 的一家澳大利亚门店一周内从订购到送达的平均配送时间不到 5 分钟。“令人兴奋的是,从客户的角度来看,没有发生什么变化,除了订购后的体验可以更快以外,”Gillespie 说。“由于我们在 3TEN 计划中进行的改进,顾客可以更快地收到更热、更新鲜的披萨。我们使用 AWS 开发的预测订购解决方案就是其中的一个重要部分。”

Domino’s 在市场中获得了竞争优势。“当顾客饿了的时候,表示他们现在就饿了,我们想要尽快安全地将餐送给他们,”Domino’s 的澳大利亚和新西兰首席营销官 Allan Collins 说。“这就是我们的市场差异。我们的一些竞争对手仍然需要 45 分钟到 1 小时才能完成送餐,而我们可以在下单后 10 分钟甚至更短时间内送完一份披萨。这确实给我们的顾客留下了深刻的印象。”

支持特许经营商进行快速轻松的部署

另一个优势是特许经营商不需要花太多时间来接受培训。“在开发技术时,我们始终要记住易用性——技术必须可访问且易于实现,”Gillespie 说。“我们知道,如果我们在部署时遇到障碍,则很难将它推广出来。” Domino’s 技术团队与运营团队携手合作,确保顺利推出,使所有新流程与现有操作无缝对接。 

使客户更满意

该解决方案有助于提高客户满意度。“我们的数据显示,取货和送货时间越快的门店,客户满意度得分越高,”Collins 说。“这些客户更有可能回购,并向其他人推荐我们的品牌。”

Domino’s 已经将该解决方案部署到很多其他国家的门店。“AWS 一直是与我们进行良好合作的公司,因为它帮助我们向客户提供了全新的、无与伦比的服务水平,”Gillespie 说。“此外,我们希望未来能够将目前使用 AWS 取得的成就推向新的高度。”

要了解更多信息,请访问 aws.amazon.com/sagemakeraws.amazon.com/travel-and-hospitality


关于 Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Limited

Domino's Pizza Enterprises Limited 总部位于昆士兰州布里斯班,是澳大利亚最大的披萨连锁店,也是 Domino’s 披萨品牌世界最大的特许经营权持有者。该公司在澳大利亚、新西兰、比利时、法国、荷兰、日本、德国、卢森堡和丹麦拥有 2600 多家门店。

AWS 的优势

  • 协助 Domino’s 门店在 10 分钟以内完成披萨配送的目标
  • 快速轻松地部署准确的预测订购解决方案
  • 支持特许经营商进行快速轻松的部署

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon SageMaker

Amazon SageMaker 是一项完全托管的服务,可以帮助开发人员和数据科学家快速构建、训练和部署机器学习 (ML) 模型。SageMaker 完全消除了机器学习过程中每个步骤的繁重工作,让开发高质量模型变得更加轻松。

了解更多 »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »

AWS Glue

AWS Glue 是一项完全托管的提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 服务,让客户能够轻松准备和加载数据进行分析。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的组织都在使用 AWS 进行转型,以实现其愿景。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Dominos-logo@2x

Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Delivers in Record Time Using AWS for Predictive Ordering

2020

When it comes to the global pizza business, Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Limited (Domino’s) has a large slice of the pie. The company, which is the largest Domino’s franchise holder, represents the Domino’s brand in Australia, New Zealand, Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Japan, Germany, Luxembourg, and Denmark. Domino’s maintains a network of more than 2,600 stores globally and is based in Brisbane, Australia.

Domino’s is an increasingly digital business, with more than 70 percent of sales coming from online orders. “Our investment in technology is a key ingredient to our growth as a business,” says Michael Gillespie, chief digital and technology officer for Domino’s. “We strive to use it to reduce pickup and delivery times, because we’ve identified that the sooner we can get a pizza to our customers, the more satisfied they are with their meal.”

To enable faster pickup and delivery, the company recently launched Project 3TEN, an initiative that aims to have a pizza ready for pickup within 3 minutes or safely delivered within 10. This is all possible through efficiencies in cooking methods and transportation and by opening more stores closer to customers. To support this initiative, the company wanted to use predictive technologies to help reduce pizza making and delivery times. “We can use technology to increase the speed of our ovens, and we can give our drivers more efficient technology like e-bikes or scooters, but we also needed to look at how we can help stores anticipate what customers order,” says Gillespie.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

Customers are getting their pizza faster, hotter, and fresher because of the improvements we’ve put into place with Project 3TEN. The predictive ordering solution we developed by using AWS is a big part of that."

Michael Gillespie
Chief Digital and Technology Officer, Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Limited

Developing Accurate, Predictive Ordering on AWS

Domino’s turned to Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Max Kelsen, an Advanced Consulting Partner in the AWS Partner Network (APN), to help create a predictive ordering solution. “We knew we needed a smart, accurate system, and we liked what we saw in AWS machine learning technologies,” says Gillespie. “We knew that by using AWS services we could develop a solution that would give our stores a glimpse into the future by predicting what pizzas would be ordered next.”

The company created a data lake consisting of key order information by taking advantage of Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for data storage and AWS Glue for data querying. It also uses Amazon SageMaker to build and train machine learning models to predict the likelihood that an order will be placed, so a store can begin making that order right before it is placed.

As a trial, Domino’s initially deployed its predictive ordering solution in some of its stores in Australia. Store employees could view an ordering screen displaying specific pizzas with various color indicators corresponding to the likelihood of those pizzas being ordered. “This isn’t making pizzas and leaving them in a hot box for half an hour—this is getting the pizzas lined up, coming out of the oven, and ready to go as an order is placed,” Gillespie says.

The company enhanced the solution during the trial so it would be ready for a wider rollout. Domino’s then began deploying the solution to stores in New Zealand, France, the Netherlands, Japan, and Germany.

From Order to Delivery in 10 Minutes or Less

Using the AWS-based solution, Domino’s has given its stores a tool to help drive down pickup and delivery times for customers. For example, in 2019, a Domino’s store in Australia averaged delivery times of under 5 minutes, from order to doorstep, across an entire week. “It’s exciting that nothing changes from the customer’s perspective, except that the post-order experience can be much quicker,” says Gillespie. “Customers are getting their pizza faster, hotter, and fresher because of the improvements we’ve put into place with Project 3TEN. The predictive ordering solution we developed by using AWS is a big part of that.”

Domino’s is gaining a competitive advantage in the marketplace. “When our customers are hungry, they’re hungry now, and we want to deliver their meal as quickly and safely as possible,” says Allan Collins, chief marketing officer for Australia and New Zealand at Domino’s. “That’s our market differentiator. Some of our competitors still take 45 minutes to an hour to deliver a meal, when we can have a pizza delivered in 10 minutes or less following an order. That really impresses our customers.”

Enabling Fast, Easy Deployment for Franchisees

Another advantage is that franchisees don’t need to spend much time being trained. “One thing we always try to keep in mind when developing technology is ease of use—the technology has to be accessible and easy to implement,” says Gillespie. “We knew if we had barriers to deployment, it would be challenging to roll this out.” Domino’s Technology Team worked hand-in-hand with the Operations Team to ensure a smooth rollout, with all new processes seamlessly dovetailing into existing operations. 

Making Customers Happier

The solution is contributing to a boost in customer satisfaction. “Our data shows that the stores with faster pickup and delivery times have higher customer satisfaction scores,” says Collins. “And those customers are more likely to come back and recommend our brand to others.”

Domino’s has deployed the solution to stores in a number of other countries. “AWS has been a great company for us to work with because it’s helping us provide a new, unparalleled level of service to our customers,” says Gillespie. “In addition, we hope to take what we’ve achieved with AWS so far and push it to new heights in the future.”

To learn more, visit aws.amazon.com/sagemaker and aws.amazon.com/travel-and-hospitality.


About Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Limited

Based in Brisbane, Queensland, Domino's Pizza Enterprises Limited is the largest pizza chain in Australia and the world’s largest franchise holder for the Domino’s Pizza brand. The company has more than 2,600 stores in Australia, New Zealand, Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Japan, Germany, Luxembourg, and Denmark.

Benefits of AWS

  • Assists Domino’s stores in achieving goal of pizza delivery in 10 minutes or less
  • Deploys accurate, predictive ordering solution quickly and easily
  • Enables fast, easy deployment for franchisees

AWS Services Used

Amazon SageMaker

Amazon SageMaker is a fully managed service that provides every developer and data scientist with the ability to build, train, and deploy machine learning (ML) models quickly. SageMaker removes the heavy lifting from each step of the machine learning process to make it easier to develop high quality models.

Learn more »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance.

Learn more »

AWS Glue

AWS Glue is a fully managed extract, transform, and load (ETL) service that makes it easy for customers to prepare and load their data for analytics.

Learn more »


Get Started

Organizations of all sizes across all industries are transforming and delivering on their missions every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.