case-study-logo-kyowa-kirin

Kyowa Kirin 通过 Amazon WorkSpaces 实现了远程办公,并将 VDI 成本降低了 30%

2020 年

在商界,适应瞬息万变的市场是公司长久生存的关键,因此,公司越来越依赖技术来保持竞争力。这一点在新型冠状病毒肺炎大流行期间表现得尤为明显,这次流行病对商界产生了深远影响。为了生存,一些公司必须能够实现虚拟运营。通过实施 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 解决方案,全球专业制药公司Kyowa Kirin 迅速实现了员工远程办公并简化了其业务,因此可以更加灵活地应对未来的市场变化。

Kyowa Kirin 转向远程办公的核心是 Amazon WorkSpaces,这是一种安全的托管式桌面即服务解决方案,可以快速扩展,向员工提供桌面,以便他们可以远程办公。Amazon WorkSpaces 还使该公司能够轻松地从 Windows 7 迁移到 Windows 10,并实施系统范围的机器人流程自动化 (RPA) 技术,从而使 Kyowa Kirin 能够加速其业务发展。

Back view of business woman talking to her colleagues about plan in video conference. Multiethnic business team using computer for a online meeting in video call. Group of people smart working from home.
kr_quotemark

“使用 Amazon WorkSpaces 来托管服务对我们来说至关重要,因为它让我们可以卸下不必要的运营工作。” 

Takayuki Kusumoto
Kyowa Kirin 的 ICT 解决方案部门经理

借助 AWS 在云中启动

Kyowa Kirin 是日本 Kirin Holdings 的一家重要子公司,它是一家全球专业制药公司,从事技术驱动的药物研发,生产以下四个治疗领域的药物:肾病、肿瘤科、中枢神经系统和免疫/过敏。

对于 Kyowa Kirin 来说,过渡到 Amazon WorkSpaces 是向 AWS 进行更大迁移的一部分,这项迁移已经进行了近十年。2011 年,Kyowa Kirin 首次考虑迁移到云中,以寻求可加速其业务发展的解决方案。其目的是卸下信息和通信技术 (ICT) 团队的基础设施维护责任,让他们可以专注于协助完成 Kyowa Kirin 的使命。“在全球市场上创造价值需要具有全球敏捷性的 ICT 系统。”Kyowa Kirin 的 ICT 解决方案部门经理 Takayuki Kusumoto 说道。对 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 等服务(可在云中提供安全并且可应需调整的计算容量)进行测试后,Kyowa Kirin 在 2013 年全面实施了其“云优先”战略。“我们坚信我们可以使用 AWS,因为我们可以使用现有数据中心组并充分运营生产环境。”Kusumoto 说,“AWS 是唯一可以满足我们要求的云服务即基础设施。” 截至 2019 年,该公司大约 85% 的服务器已在 AWS 上运行。

Kyowa Kirin 从 2017 年开始采用 Amazon WorkSpaces,一直非常信任 AWS。它以前的本地虚拟桌面基础设施 (VDI) 需要大量的初始投资和耗时的规划来预测可能需要的规模。采用 Amazon WorkSpaces 后,不再需要精确预测未知的未来需求,并且还将成本降低了 30%。使用它,Kyowa Kirin 可以从小处开始并进行扩展以满足需求,从而大幅缩短准备时间。Amazon WorkSpaces 还能帮助降低安全风险,因为 VDI 不存储用户数据,从而缩减出现风险的区域面积。最重要的是,该解决方案还缓解了 ICT 团队的工作量。“使用 Amazon WorkSpaces 来托管服务对我们来说至关重要,因为它让我们可以卸下不必要的运营工作。”Kusumoto 说。

借助 AWS 加速业务运营

Kyowa Kirin 已于 2019 年将 Amazon WorkSpaces 整合到其运营中,并及时启动了 1000 多个 WorkSpaces。通过迁移,Kyowa Kirin 可以对 2020 年 1 月 Windows 7 的强制退出做出快速反应,并且在短短 6 个月内,公司就使用 Amazon WorkSpaces 将其数据、配置文件和设置迁移到了 Windows 10。在一个月的并行使用期间,每个用户都可以访问 Windows 7 和 Windows 10,从而维护了支持系统并最大限度地减少了用户工作量。

借助 Amazon WorkSpaces,Kyowa Kirin 还能够使用 RPA 技术进一步提高工作效率,自动执行以前的耗时任务,例如主注册和数据输入,有效消除了流程中的人为错误,并且每年为公司节省了 3500 个小时的工作量。由于 Amazon WorkSpaces 是全天候运行的 PC 环境,因此公司可以在晚上或清晨安全执行带处理任务,以减少等待时间。它还通过简化物理 PC 的布置和维护,减少了不必要的开销。

使用 Amazon WorkSpaces 进行远程办公

新型冠状病毒肺炎大流行以后,Amazon WorkSpaces 的一项特别优势显现出来:在一周内,Kyowa Kirin 部署了 300-400 个额外的 Amazon WorkSpaces,在美国和日本的部署总数达到 1600 个,从而使在家办公的员工能够立即访问他们的桌面并进行远程办公。而且,由于 Amazon WorkSpaces 不限制活动 WorkSpaces 的使用期限或数量,Kyowa Kirin 计划根据其用户需求在一年内将数量扩展到 2000 以上。“新型冠状病毒肺炎大流行让我们认识到了 Amazon WorkSpaces 的价值。”Kusumoto 说,“用户可以继续在家中使用其桌面环境进行工作,且没有造成任何严重混乱。”

Kusumoto 表示,AWS 的支持对于 Amazon WorkSpaces 的迁移和稳定运行是不可或缺的,他特别指出了其 AWS 解决方案架构师和 AWS 企业支持技术客户经理的支持。团队根据需要添加了更多的 Amazon WorkSpaces,帮助解决了网络问题,并提供了有关部署和监控环境的建议。“AWS 给我们的业务提供了很大的帮助,尤其是在现在这种情况下。”他说,“我们已经使用 AWS 长达 7 年时间,因为我们很看重 AWS 始终以客户为中心并倾听我们意见的流程。”

继续投资 AWS 基础设施

Kyowa Kirin 将继续实施 AWS 基础设施,它不仅可以加速企业系统和研发等领域的运营,而且还可以重组海外网络。通过迁移到 AWS,该公司希望避免恶性的硬件更新周期,并放弃旧的操作系统和安全更新协议。

借助 Amazon WorkSpaces,Kyowa Kirin 通过构建 AWS 云基础设施,进一步推进了其云优先战略,以简化和加速业务运营,这一举措最终也为公司提供了支持,使其可以在不确定的时期取得成功。


关于 Kyowa Kirin

Kyowa Kirin 是日本 Kirin Holdings 的子公司,它是一家全球专业制药公司,使用先进技术,生产以下四个治疗领域的创新药物:肿瘤科、肾病、中枢神经系统和免疫/过敏。

AWS 的优势

  • 替代了本地 VDI,将成本降低了 30%
  • 在 1 周内部署了 300-400 个 Amazon WorkSpaces
  • 在 6 个月内从 Windows 7 过渡到 Windows 10
  • 每年节省 3500 小时的工作量

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon WorkSpaces

Amazon WorkSpaces 是一种安全的托管式桌面即服务 (DaaS) 解决方案。您可以使用 Amazon WorkSpaces 在几分钟内预置 Windows 或 Linux 桌面,并快速扩展,从而为全球各地的员工提供数以千计的桌面。您只需要为启动的 WorkSpaces 按月付费或按小时付费。与传统的桌面和本地 VDI 解决方案相比,这样可以节省费用。Amazon WorkSpaces 可帮助您消除管理硬件清单、操作系统版本和补丁以及虚拟桌面基础设施 (VDI) 的复杂性,从而简化您的桌面交付策略。借助 Amazon WorkSpaces,您的用户能够选择运行快速的响应式桌面,该桌面可供他们随时随地从任何受支持的设备进行访问。

了解更多 »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可应需调整的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

case-study-logo-kyowa-kirin

Kyowa Kirin Enables Remote Work, Cuts VDI Costs by 30% with Amazon WorkSpaces

2020

In business, adapting to the fluctuating, evolving market is key to longevity—and as a result, companies are increasingly reliant on technology to remain competitive. This has never been truer than during the COVID-19 pandemic, which has profoundly impacted the business world. Certain companies must be able to operate virtually in order to survive. With the implementation of an Amazon Web Services (AWS) solution, global specialty pharmaceutical company Kyowa Kirin quickly enabled remote work for employees and streamlined its business so it could be more flexible for future market changes.

At the center of Kyowa Kirin’s pivot to remote work was Amazon WorkSpaces, a managed, secure desktop-as-a-service solution that quickly scaled to provide desktops to employees so they could work remotely. Amazon WorkSpaces also enabled the company to easily migrate from Windows 7 to Windows 10 and implement systemwide robotic process automation (RPA) technology, empowering Kyowa Kirin to accelerate its business.

Back view of Asian business woman talking to her colleagues about plan in video conference. Multiethnic business team using computer for a online meeting in video call. Group of people smart working from home.
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

“Having a managed service with Amazon WorkSpaces is key for us because it allows us to offload unnecessary operation work.” 

Takayuki Kusumoto
Manager, ICT solutions department, Kyowa Kirin

Launching into the Cloud with AWS

A major subsidiary of Japan-based Kirin Holdings, Kyowa Kirin is a global specialty pharmaceutical company that performs technology-driven drug discovery to produce medicine in four therapeutic areas: nephrology, oncology, the central nervous system, and immunology/allergy.

For Kyowa Kirin, transitioning to Amazon WorkSpaces was one part of a greater migration to AWS that has been in progress for nearly a decade. In 2011, Kyowa Kirin first considered relocating to the cloud in pursuit of solutions that would accelerate its business. It aimed to offload the responsibility for infrastructure maintenance from the information and communications technology (ICT) team so it could focus on facilitating Kyowa Kirin’s mission. “Creating value in the worldwide market requires an ICT system with global agility,” says Takayuki Kusumoto, manager of the ICT solutions department at Kyowa Kirin. After testing services such as Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), which provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud, Kyowa Kirin implemented its all-in “Cloud First” strategy in 2013. “We were convinced that we could use AWS as we could use existing data center groups and operate a production environment sufficiently,” says Kusumoto. “AWS was the only cloud service as an infrastructure that met our requirements.” As of 2019, about 85 percent of all the company’s servers were running on AWS.

So Kyowa Kirin had a strong trust in AWS when it began adopting Amazon WorkSpaces in 2017. Its previous on-premises virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) required a large initial investment and time-intensive planning to predict the sizing that might be needed. Amazon WorkSpaces removed the necessity to precisely predict unknown future needs—and reduced costs by 30 percent. With it, Kyowa Kirin could start small and scale to meet demands, significantly reducing lead time. Amazon WorkSpaces also helped abate security risks because the VDI doesn’t store user data, diminishing risk surface area. And above all, the solution alleviated the ICT team’s workload. “Having a managed service with Amazon WorkSpaces is key for us because it allows us to offload unnecessary operation work,” says Kusumoto.

Accelerating Business Operations with AWS

Kyowa Kirin had integrated Amazon WorkSpaces into its operations by 2019, launching more than 1,000 WorkSpaces—and just in time. The migration allowed Kyowa Kirin to react quickly to the forced retirement of Windows 7 in January 2020, and in just 6 months, the company moved its data, profiles, and settings to Windows 10 using Amazon WorkSpaces. Each user had access to both Windows 7 and Windows 10 during a 1-month parallel usage period, which maintained the support system and minimized user workload.

Amazon WorkSpaces also enabled Kyowa Kirin to use RPA technology to further enhance productivity, automating previously time-intensive tasks such as master registration and data entry, effectively eliminating human error in the process and saving the company 3,500 hours’ worth of workload per year. Because Amazon WorkSpaces is a PC environment that runs 24/7, the company can securely execute processing at night or early in the morning to reduce the waiting time. It also reduces unnecessary overhead by streamlining the arrangement and maintenance of physical PCs.

Using Amazon WorkSpaces to Work Remotely

One particular benefit of Amazon WorkSpaces came to light after the COVID-19 pandemic emerged: in 1 week, Kyowa Kirin deployed 300–400 additional Amazon WorkSpaces, reaching 1,600 total across the United States and Japan, allowing homebound employees to immediately access their desktops and work remotely. And since Amazon WorkSpaces doesn’t limit the usage period or the number of active WorkSpaces, Kyowa Kirin plans to expand to more than 2,000 in a year, depending on its user requirement. “The COVID-19 pandemic made us recognize the value of Amazon WorkSpaces,” says Kusumoto. “Users could continue to use their desktop environment from their homes and work without any major confusion.”

AWS support was integral to both the migration and stable operation of Amazon WorkSpaces, according to Kusumoto, who notes specifically the support from its AWS solutions architect and its AWS Enterprise Support technical account manager. The team added more Amazon WorkSpaces as needed, helped to solve network issues, and offered advice on deploying and monitoring the environment. “AWS contributes to our business—especially in this situation,” he says. “And we have continued to use AWS for 7 years because we value the AWS process of always being customer centric and listening to us.”

Continuing to Invest in AWS Infrastructure

Kyowa Kirin will continue to pursue an AWS infrastructure that not only accelerates operations—in the enterprise system and in research and development, among other areas—but also enables it to restructure overseas networks. By shifting to AWS, the company hopes to avoid the vicious hardware update cycle and to abandon old operating systems and security update protocols.

With Amazon WorkSpaces, Kyowa Kirin furthered its Cloud First strategy to streamline and accelerate business operations by building an AWS Cloud infrastructure, an initiative that ultimately also supported the company so it could succeed in uncertain times.


About Kyowa Kirin

Kyowa Kirin, a global specialty pharmaceutical company and a subsidiary of Japan-based Kirin Holdings, uses advanced technology to produce innovative drugs in four therapeutic areas: oncology, nephrology, the central nervous system, and immunology/allergy.

Benefits of AWS

  • Replaced on-premises VDI, reducing costs by 30%
  • Deployed 300–400 Amazon WorkSpaces in 1 week
  • Transitioned from Windows 7 to Windows 10 in 6 months
  • Saved 3,500 hours’ worth of workload per year

AWS Services Used

Amazon WorkSpaces

Amazon WorkSpaces is a managed, secure Desktop-as-a-Service (DaaS) solution. You can use Amazon WorkSpaces to provision either Windows or Linux desktops in just a few minutes and quickly scale to provide thousands of desktops to workers across the globe. You can pay either monthly or hourly, just for the WorkSpaces you launch, which helps you save money when compared to traditional desktops and on-premises VDI solutions. Amazon WorkSpaces helps you eliminate the complexity in managing hardware inventory, OS versions and patches, and Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI), which helps simplify your desktop delivery strategy. With Amazon WorkSpaces, your users get a fast, responsive desktop of their choice that they can access anywhere, anytime, from any supported device.

Learn more »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.