Logo

Pearson 在 AWS 上实现数字转型

2021

Pearson 在一年内削减了 500 万美元的成本,规模扩大到为数亿名学习者提供服务,并通过使用 AWS 消除了内部员工管理数据库的负担。作为教育内容、评估和数字服务的全球提供商,Pearson 拥有传统、庞大而单一的本地应用程序和数据中心,不仅难以扩展而且妨碍创新,因此 Pearson 迁移到 AWS,使用 Amazon ECS、Amazon EC2 和完全由 Amazon RDS 管理的 Aurora 实现现代化。在 AWS 上,Pearson 通过自动扩展各种应用程序来优化成本,提高运营效率,并且能够推动应用程序和服务的创新。

Shot of two young women using a laptop together in a college library
kr_quotemark

我们需要能够在全球范围内运营。这就要求我们充分利用眼前 AWS 服务。”

Ian Wright
Pearson 基础设施与运营副总裁

作为教育领域的领导者,Pearson 为全球学习者、教育机构、雇主、政府和合作伙伴提供内容、评估和数字服务。多年来,Pearson 的团队一直在管理本地技术,这种技术既不可扩展,也不高效。在线学术测试需要数百万的学习者同时登录 Pearson 服务,造成了巨大的流量波动。拥有处理数量激增的服务器容量意味着 Pearson 必须购买足够的硬件,以便其本地系统能够满足这些激增的需求,但在低流量期间,这会造成昂贵的硬件闲置。

为了寻求可扩展、经济高效的解决方案,Pearson 将其本地操作迁移到 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。它使用 AWS 服务对其技术堆栈进行数字化转型,例如 Amazon Aurora,这是一种专为云计算构建的关系数据库,由 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 完全管理,使数据库的设置、操作和扩展变得简单。在 AWS 上,Pearson 提高了可扩展性,优化了成本,提高了敏捷性,改进了创新。

开始数字化转型

Pearson 在 70 个国家/地区开展业务,提供交互式教育学习和评估工具,以实现更有效的教学和大规模个性化学习。几十年来,该公司一直拥有传统的本地应用程序和庞大而单一的 Oracle 数据中心。但这种基础设施阻碍了变革,操作复杂并且团队各自为政。Pearson 负责基础设施和运营的副总裁 Ian Wright 解释说:“我们有独立于业务的团队来执行应用程序工程、数据库工程和软件工程。”“我们在另一个组织中有基础设施团队,负责虚拟化、存储、网络和运营支持系统。要让任何事情都迅速完成,简直是一场噩梦。” 这些系统也容易受到分布式拒绝服务攻击或网络攻击的影响,而且它们缺乏全国性测试所需的可扩展性。“在高风险测试期间,东海岸在早上 8 点开始。”Wright 说,“几百万名学习者同时访问我们的系统。然后,需求的激增像波浪一样席卷全国。我们的数据中心根本应付不了。”

2012 年,公司开始从本地运营向 AWS 服务转型。Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一项 Web 服务,这种服务在云中提供了安全、可调整大小的计算容量,旨在为开发人员简化 Web 规模的云计算,帮助 Pearson 实现了按需扩展。Pearson 负责高等教育系统工程的副总裁 Syed Saleem Javid Brahmanapalli 说:“我们希望专注于 Pearson 拥有的核心能力并加以发展,而不是投入人力、时间和资源来获得技能和能力,这些技能和能力可以直接从 AWS 获得。”

使用 AWS 提供的大量服务提高性能

Pearson 的数字化转型很大一部分是它将庞大而单一的应用程序重新配置为微服务的能力。通过使用 Aurora,Pearson 将庞大而单一的应用程序分解为更小的组成部分,使其流程实现现代化,并使公司在功能方面具有更大的灵活性。可扩展的基础设施使 Pearson 能够在高峰期间提供额外的容量,并在流量减少时实时缩小容量。而且,由于现收现付的定价模式意味着 Pearson 只为它使用的计算付费,因此它可以有效地增加和降低成本。Amazon RDS 的完全托管服务免除了 Pearson 内部员工维护数据库的负担。“过去担任数据库管理员的人现在几乎连数据库都不用碰。”Wright 说,“他们在做更高价值的工作,而且很喜欢这样。”

通过 AWS,Pearson 已经实现了显著的成本节约。每年两次,当学校在春季和秋季学期重新开始上课时,公司会看到在线流量激增 60%。在高等教育应用程序中进行了成本优化后,Pearson 的支出在短短 1 年内从 1800 万美元下降到 1300 万美元,降幅近 28%。

因为 Pearson 的产品必须扩大规模才能服务于数亿全球用户,公司意识到自动化是关键。因此,它研究了如何使用最少的手动工作进行扩展,并发现了 Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS),这是一项完全托管的容器编排服务,帮助 Pearson 构建了一个干净的交付管道。“我们有一套非常好的 AWS 核心服务,我们在自己的许多产品和服务中都使用这些服务。”Wright 说。

将 Windows 应用程序封装起来提高了公司的敏捷性,并有助于支持更多跨团队的创新。例如,Pearson 在 20 世纪 90 年代后期开发了一款应用程序 Schoolnet,它使教师能够创建和管理大规模评估,在 AWS 上获得了难以置信的成功。“我们看到,将 Schoolnet 迁移到 AWS 后不仅成本效益显著提升,而且我们也学到了很多东西。”Wright 说,“那是我们迁移到 AWS 的第一批大型 Windows 系统之一,我们能够利用 AWS 提供的许多不同的服务。凭借迁移到云端所获得的功能,我们与其他产品和服务的集成令人惊叹。” 现在,教师可以使用 Schoolnet 提前编写测试,并通过 Pearson 的培训引擎发送测试,在这个引擎上,可以代表教师对多项选择题和开放式问题进行打分。

进一步扩大在 AWS 上的全球覆盖范围

Pearson 通过使用 AWS 对其过时的技术进行了现代化改造,以提高其应用程序的敏捷性、优化成本、提高可扩展性,并推动机器学习等领域的进一步创新,Pearson 可能会使用机器学习来对作弊考生进行自动评分和标记。

“通过使用 AWS,我们从概念或新版本中获取某些信息、在一组环境中运行并快速测试这些信息的能力得到了显著提高。”Wright 说。

展望未来,Pearson 计划减少其技术债务,并为其软件工程团队提供可消费的可观测性服务,帮助他们通过其输出来衡量 Pearson 系统的状态。Wright 表示,Pearson 还将继续追求全球可扩展性:“能够跨多个区域提供一致的服务是我们目前正在努力的目标。我们需要能够在全球范围内运营。这就要求我们充分利用眼前的 AWS 服务。”


Pearson 简介

Pearson 为全球的学习者、教育机构、雇主、政府和其他合作伙伴提供内容、评估和数字服务。它帮助学习者掌握提高就业能力前景和实现成功就业所需的技能。

AWS 的优势

  • 一年内支出减少了 500 万美元
  • 能够进行扩展从而为数以亿计的学习者提供服务
  • 减轻了内部员工的数据库管理负担
  • 加强应用和服务创新

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

Amazon EC2 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。它的设计目的是让开发人员能够更容易地使用 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多信息 »

Amazon RDS

Amazon RDS 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多信息 »

Amazon Aurora

Amazon Aurora 是一种与 MySQL 和 PostgreSQL 兼容的关系数据库,专为云构建,既具有传统企业数据库的性能和可用性,又具有开源数据库的简单性和成本高效性。

了解更多信息 »

Amazon ECS

Amazon ECS 是一项完全托管的容器编排服务。出于其安全性、可靠性和可扩展性,Duolingo、Samsung、GE 和 Cookpad 等客户都使用 ECS 运行他们最敏感的任务关键型应用程序。

了解更多信息 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的组织都在使用 AWS 进行转型,以履行其使命。
联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Logo

Pearson Digitally Transforms on AWS

2021

Pearson cut costs by $5 million in 1 year, scaled to serve hundreds of millions of learners, and removed the burden of database management from in-house staff by using AWS. The global provider of educational content, assessment, and digital services had legacy monolithic on-premises applications and data centers that struggled to scale and inhibited innovation, so Pearson migrated to AWS to modernize using Amazon ECS, Amazon EC2, and Aurora, fully managed by Amazon RDS. On AWS, Pearson optimizes costs by automatically scaling across a variety of applications, operates more efficiently, and is able to drive innovation in its applications and services.

Shot of two young women using a laptop together in a college library
kr_quotemark

We need to be able to operate on a global scale. It’s how we can best take advantage of the AWS services in front of us.”

Ian Wright
Vice President of Infrastructure and Operations, Pearson

As a leader in the educational field, Pearson provides content, assessment, and digital services to learners, educational institutions, employers, governments, and partners globally. For years, Pearson’s teams managed on-premises technology, which was not scalable or efficient. Online academic testing required millions of learners to log in to Pearson services all at once, resulting in huge traffic fluctuations. Having the server capacity to handle spikes in volume meant Pearson had to buy enough hardware so that its on-premises systems could meet those spikes—but during low-traffic periods, expensive hardware sat unused.

In pursuit of a scalable, cost-efficient solution, Pearson migrated its on-premises operations to Amazon Web Services (AWS). It digitally transformed its technology stack using AWS services such as Amazon Aurora, a relational database built for the cloud that is fully managed by Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), which makes it simple to set up, operate, and scale the database. On AWS, Pearson increased scalability, optimized costs, increased agility, and improved innovation.

Starting the Digital Transformation

Operating in 70 countries, Pearson provides interactive educational learning and assessment tools to enable more effective teaching and personalized learning at scale. For decades, the company had legacy on-premises applications and a large monolithic Oracle data center. But this infrastructure inhibited change, was complex to operate, and siloed teams. “We had business-independent teams performing application engineering, database engineering, and software engineering,” explains Ian Wright, Pearson’s vice president of infrastructure and operations. “We had infrastructure teams in a different organization doing virtualization, storage, networks, and operational support systems. It was an absolute nightmare to get anything done quickly.” The systems were also susceptible to distributed denial-of-service attacks, or cyberattacks, and they lacked much-needed scalability for nationwide testing. “During high-stakes testing, the East Coast lights up at 8:00 a.m.,” says Wright. “A few million learners hit our systems all at once. Then that spike in demand travels like a wave across the country. We just couldn’t handle that in the data centers.”

The company began its migration from on-premises operations to AWS services in 2012. Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud and is designed to make web-scale cloud computing simpler for developers, has helped Pearson scale on demand. “We want to focus on the core capabilities that Pearson has and develop them rather than going in and investing people, time, and resources into skills and capabilities that can be gained from AWS directly,” says Syed Saleem Javid Brahmanapalli, Pearson’s vice president of systems engineering for higher education.

Increasing Performance Using a Host of Services from AWS

A large part of Pearson’s digital transformation has been its ability to reconfigure its monolithic applications into microservices. Using Aurora, Pearson has decoupled large monolithic applications into smaller components, modernizing its processes and giving the company more flexibility in terms of functionality. The scalable infrastructure enables Pearson to provision extra capacity during peaks and scale down in real time as traffic subsides. And since the pay-as-you-go pricing model means Pearson only pays for the compute it uses, it can scale up and down cost effectively. The fully managed service of Amazon RDS removes the burden of database maintenance from Pearson’s in-house staff. “Folks who historically acted as database administrators hardly even touch a database now,” says Wright. “They’re doing more high-value work and are enjoying it.”

On AWS, Pearson has seen significant cost savings. Twice a year, when schools are back in session for the spring and fall semesters, the company sees spikes in online volume of 60 percent. After undergoing a cost-optimization initiative within its higher education apps, Pearson’s spending decreased almost 28 percent from $18 million to $13 million in just 1 year.

Because Pearson’s products have to scale to serve hundreds of millions of global users, the company realized that automation was key. So it investigated how to scale using minimum manual effort and discovered Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS), a fully managed container orchestration service that helped Pearson build a clean delivery pipeline. “We have a very good set of core services from AWS that we use across many of our own products and services,” says Wright.

Containerizing its Windows applications improved the company’s agility and has helped support more innovation across teams. For example, Schoolnet, an application Pearson developed in the late 1990s that enables teachers to create and manage large-scale assessments, found incredible success on AWS. “We saw a significant cost benefit after migrating Schoolnet to AWS, but we also learned a lot,” says Wright. “That was one of the first big Windows systems that we migrated to AWS, and we were able to take advantage of a lot of diverse services from AWS. With the capabilities we’ve gained by migrating to the cloud, our integration with other products and services has been amazing.” Now teachers can use Schoolnet to write tests in advance and send them through Pearson’s training engines, where both multiple-choice and open-ended questions can be scored on the teachers’ behalf.

Further Expanding Its Global Reach on AWS

Pearson modernized its outdated technology stack by using AWS to increase the agility of its applications, optimize costs, increase scalability, and drive further innovation in areas like machine learning, which Pearson may use to automatically grade and flag fraudulent test takers.

“By using AWS, our ability to take something from concept or from new release, run it through a set of environments, and test it quickly has significantly improved,” says Wright.

Looking forward, Pearson plans to reduce its technical debt and provide its software engineering teams with consumable observability services that will help them measure the state of Pearson’s system by its outputs. According to Wright, Pearson will also continue to pursue global scalability: “Being able to deliver a consistent service across multiple regions is currently something we’re working hard on. We need to be able to operate on a global scale. It’s how we can best take advantage of the AWS services in front of us.”


About Pearson

Pearson provides content, assessment, and digital services to learners, educational institutions, employers, governments, and other partners globally. It helps equip learners with the skills they need to enhance employability prospects and succeed.

Benefits of AWS

  • Decreased spending by $5 million in 1 year
  • Scales to serve hundreds of millions of learners
  • Removed burden of database management from in-house staff
  • Increased innovation of its applications and services

AWS Services Used

Amazon EC2

Amazon EC2 is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more »

Amazon RDS

Amazon RDS makes it easy to set up, operate, and scale a relational database in the cloud.


Learn more »

Amazon Aurora

Amazon Aurora is a MySQL and PostgreSQL-compatible relational database built for the cloud, that combines the performance and availability of traditional enterprise databases with the simplicity and cost-effectiveness of open source databases.

Learn more »

Amazon ECS

Amazon ECS is a fully managed container orchestration service. Customers such as Duolingo, Samsung, GE, and Cookpad use ECS to run their most sensitive and mission critical applications because of its security, reliability, and scalability.

Learn more »


Get Started

Organizations of all sizes across all industries are transforming and delivering on their missions every day using AWS.
Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.