NationalInstruments_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

美国国家仪器公司案例研究

2016 年

美国国家仪器公司 (NI) 成立于 1976 年,致力于与工程师和科学家合作解决最具挑战性的难题。NI 为他们提供先进的技术解决方案,旨在加速从医疗保健技术、移动计算到空间研究等领域的生产力和创新。NI 已有超过 35000 个客户向市场提供了数十万种产品,并在此过程中克服了无数的技术障碍。NI 总部位于德克萨斯州奥斯汀,在全球近 50 个国家/地区拥有约 7400 名员工。该公司 2015 年的年收入为 12.3 亿 USD,其中 16% 的年收入投资于研发领域。

Customer-References-industry-Manufacturing-ProductDesign.jpg
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例,我们可轻松节省 85-90% 的成本。这使我们能够在低风险下进行试验,并最终为我们的客户开发出更高质量的产品。”

Joe Gardner
美国国家仪器公司首席云架构师

挑战

NI 为其客户提供的技术包括 LabVIEW,这是一个用于创建自定义应用程序的软件开发环境。LabVIEW FPGA 模块扩展了 LabVIEW,并且使工程师能够在其应用程序中构建复杂的现场可编程门阵列 (FPGA) 技术或可重编程硅芯片。FPGA 设计必须在部署之前进行编译,并且需要工程师在配置有大量硬件资源和必要软件包的机器上执行资源密集且耗时的编译过程。

根据历史记录,NI 的开发团队在本地测试了这些产品的新功能。然而,随着公司的发展,需要更多的基础设施。与此同时,FPGA 设计变得越来越复杂,因而需要更大的计算容量。为了降低成本并缩短开发时间,NI 的 LabVIEW 团队开始研究云计算。“晶体管越来越小,我们有更多可以编程的门,这意味着更大、更复杂的设计需要更多的计算能力来执行编译”,NI 的首席云架构师 Joe Gardner 说。

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

在考虑了各种选项之后,FPGA 团队在 2010 年通过提供托管在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 按需实例上的 FPGA 编译服务来扩展其模块。FPGA 团队还使用 AWS 进行其内部开发和测试。FPGA 团队之所以选择 AWS,是因为其 Auto Scaling 功能、它为开发人员提供的控制以及 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例 – 所有这些都使 NI 能够在测试新产品功能时显著降低其计算成本。

借助 AWS Auto Scaling,NI 可以随着客户工作负载的增加而快速扩展其 AWS EC2 资源。“以前,我们有一个自主扩展流程,可能需要 5 到 30 分钟才能完成扩展,以应对额外的工作负载”,Gardner 说。“借助 AWS,可以在五分钟内完成扩展,这对我们来说是一项巨大优势,因为我们的客户无需等待工作开始。”

FPGA 团队还选择了 AWS,因为它为开发人员提供了易用性。“AWS 比其他云环境更简单,为我们提供了更多控制权,而且不会强迫我们应用会破坏兼容性的更新”,Gardner 说。“而且 AWS 易于使用,这意味着我们可以创建产品,例如,无需聘请 Hadoop 专家或 IoT 专家。相反,我们可以利用已有的人才。”

也许最重要的是,FPGA 团队意识到通过在开发和测试期间利用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例可以实现显著节省,从而通过允许用户对备用 Amazon EC2 计算容量出价来平衡供需。“节省了大量成本”,Gardner 解释道。“例如,使用 Spot 实例测试我们的一款产品的成本约为 500 USD。如果我们通过按需处理完成这项工作,那么成本将是该金额的 10 倍,即 5000 USD。”

2014 年 8 月,NI 将其 AWS 的使用扩展到其 LabVIEW 软件开发团队,该团队现在使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例在本地基础设施满负载时处理溢出测试工作负载。“测试数量不断增加,LabVIEW 开发团队没有足够的计算资源来完成测试”,Gardner 说。“他们来找我们是因为他们知道我们有云经验,并且在一周之内,他们在云中运行溢出测试。”

除 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例外,NI 还使用其他几种 AWS 服务,其中包括 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3),用于高度可扩展的对象存储;Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS),用作其关系数据库;Amazon DynamoDB,用作快速灵活的 NoSQL 数据库;以及 Amazon Route 53,用作其可扩展的云域名系统 Web 服务。NI 还使用 AWS CloudFormation(为开发人员提供一种简单的方法来创建和管理相关的 AWS 资源)和 AWS CloudTrail(记录 AWS API 调用并提供日志文件的历史记录)。

优势

借助亚马逊的 Spot 实例定价模式,NI 能以按需处理价格的一小部分运行内部工作负载,从而在测试新功能时为公司节省数万美元。“使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例,我们可轻松节省 85-90% 的成本”,Gardner 说。“这使我们能够在低风险下进行试验,并最终为我们的客户开发出更高质量的产品。”

NI 还节省了构建更大的本地基础设施的成本。例如,LabVIEW 团队已使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例每月运行超过 30000 个服务器小时的测试构建。本地处理该工作量需要将团队的内部基础设施的规模扩大一倍,而硬件和维护成本则为 100 万 USD。使用 AWS,NI 可以快速扩展以满足当前需求,同时避免与扩展本地基础设施相关的额外员工人数和采购滞后。

在 AWS 上运行其开发和测试工作负载也使 NI 更加敏捷。由于测试工作负载在软件开发生命周期中变化很大,因此 NI 可以避免在需要较少测试时与闲置服务器相关的成本。同样,随着测试需求的增加,公司可以快速扩展,从而获得快速分析新功能并将其发布给客户所需的计算容量。例如,为了开发其中一项功能,FPGA 团队需要完成包含 900 多次编译的全面测试过程。如果团队使用本地的单个服务器进行这些编译,那么他们将花费超过三周的时间。但是,通过 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例和并行化,团队能够在 10 小时内完成这些测试,每次运行成本不到 50 USD。“使用 AWS 已经使开发周期缩短了几个月”,Gardner 说。“如果我需要更多服务器,我可以访问它们,无需说明。”

NI 已经能够将这种敏捷性传递给其客户。通过完全在 AWS 上使用 FPGA 编译云服务,工程师可以根据需要使用该服务,而无需在自己的硬件上花费数千美元。“过去,我们的客户可以花费 5000 到 10000 USD购买他们需要的编译服务器,只不过几个月后会让它们闲置”,Gardner 说。“由于执行编译是一个时多时少的过程,因此 AWS 非常适合我们的工作。”

随着 NI 的不断发展,该公司计划将 AWS 的使用范围扩展到其他开发环境。此外,它正在考虑使用 AWS IoT 和 Amazon QuickSight 等其他 AWS 服务为其客户创建新产品。Gardner 说:“AWS 已经允许进行更多的试验。它为我们提供了大量使用工具,它加速了新产品的开发和部署,这是我们公司成功的关键。”


关于美国国家仪器公司

美国国家仪器公司 (NI) 成立于 1976 年,致力于与工程师和科学家合作解决最具挑战性的难题。


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。 

了解更多 »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。

了解更多 >>

Amazon EC2 Spot 实例

Amazon EC2 Spot 实例让您可以利用 AWS 云中未使用的 EC2 容量。

了解更多 >>

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多 >>


开始使用

各行各业、各个规模的公司都在使用 AWS 转型其日常业务运营。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

With Amazon EC2 Spot Instances, we easily save 85–90% in costs. That, in turn, allows us to experiment with less risk and ultimately develop higher-quality products for our customers. 
Joe Gardner Principal Cloud Architect

Founded in 1976, National Instruments (NI) works with engineers and scientists to provide answers to the most challenging questions. NI equips them with advanced technology solutions designed to accelerate productivity and innovation in areas ranging from healthcare technology to mobile computing to space research. NI’s more than 35,000 customers have delivered hundreds of thousands of products to market, overcoming innumerable technological roadblocks along the way. Headquartered in Austin, Texas, NI employs approximately 7,400 employees in nearly 50 countries around the globe. The company had an annual revenue of $1.23 billion in 2015, 16 percent of which is invested in research and development.  

Among the technologies National Instruments offers its customers is LabVIEW, a software development environment for creating custom applications. The LabVIEW FPGA Module extends LabVIEW and enables engineers to build sophisticated field-programmable gate array (FPGA) technology—or reprogrammable silicon chips—into their applications. A FPGA design must be compiled before it can be deployed and requires engineers to perform a resource-intensive and time-consuming compile process on a machine configured with significant hardware resources and necessary software packages.

Historically, NI’s development teams tested new features for products such as these on premises. Yet as the company grew, more infrastructure was required. At the same time, FPGA designs were becoming increasingly complex, requiring a greater amount of compute capacity. To lower its costs and improve development times, NI’s LabVIEW team began investigating cloud computing. “Transistors are getting smaller and smaller, and we have more gates that can be programmed, which means larger and more complex designs that require more compute power to perform the compile,” says Joe Gardner, principal cloud architect at NI.  

After considering various options, the FPGA team in 2010 extended its module by offering a FPGA compile service hosted on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) On-Demand instances. The FPGA team also uses AWS for its internal development and testing. The FPGA team chose AWS because of its Auto Scaling features, the control it offers developers, and Amazon EC2 Spot Instances—all of which allow National Instruments to significantly lower its computing costs as it tests new product features.

With AWS Auto Scaling, NI can quickly scale up its AWS EC2 resources as customer workloads increase. “Before, we had a homegrown scaling process that could take anywhere between 5 and 30 minutes to scale in response to additional workloads,” says Gardner. “With AWS, that’s done in less than five minutes, which is a huge benefit for us because our customers don’t have to wait around for things to start.”

The FPGA team also selected AWS because of the ease of use it offers developers. “AWS is simpler than other cloud environments, gave us more control, and didn’t force us to apply updates that would break compatibility,” Gardner says. “Also, AWS is simple to use, which means that we can create products without, for example, hiring a Hadoop expert or IoT expert. Instead, we can use the talent we already have.”

Perhaps most importantly, the FPGA team realized it could achieve dramatic savings by tapping into Amazon EC2 Spot Instances during development and testing, which balance supply and demand by allowing users to bid on spare Amazon EC2 computing capacity. “The savings are substantial,” explains Gardner. “For example, testing one of our products cost about $500 with Spot Instances. Had we done that with on-demand processing, the cost would have been 10 times that amount—or $5,000.”

In August 2014, NI expanded its use of AWS to its LabVIEW software development team, which now uses Amazon EC2 Spot Instances to process overflow test workloads when on-premises infrastructure is at capacity. “The number of tests were increasing, and the LabVIEW development team didn’t have the computing resources to complete them,” says Gardner. “They came to us because they knew we had cloud experience, and within a week, they were running overflow tests in the cloud.”

In addition to Amazon EC2 Spot Instances, NI uses several other AWS services including Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for highly scalable object storage; Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) as its relational database; Amazon DynamoDB as a fast and flexible NoSQL database; and Amazon Route 53 as its scalable cloud Domain Name System web service. NI also uses AWS CloudFormation, giving developers an easy way to create and manage related AWS resources, and AWS CloudTrail, which records AWS API calls and delivers a history of log files.

With Amazon’s Spot Instance pricing model, National Instruments can run internal workloads at a fraction of the price of on-demand processing, saving the company tens of thousands of dollars as it tests new features. “With Amazon EC2 Spot Instances, we easily save 85–90 percent in costs,” says Gardner. “That, in turn, allows us to experiment with less risk and ultimately develop higher-quality products for our customers.”

NI has also saved the cost of building out a larger on-premises infrastructure. For example, the LabVIEW team has used Amazon EC2 Spot Instances to run more than 30,000 server-hours of test builds each month. Handling that amount of work on premises would have required doubling the size of the team’s internal infrastructure at a cost of $1 million in hardware and maintenance costs. Using AWS allowed NI to quickly scale to meet current demands while avoiding additional headcount and procurement lag associated with expanding on-premises infrastructure.

Running its development and test workloads on AWS has also made NI more agile. Because test workloads vary significantly during the software development lifecycle, NI can avoid the costs associated with idle servers at times when fewer tests are required. Similarly, the company can quickly scale up as the need for testing increases, obtaining the computing capacity it needs to rapidly analyze new features and release them to customers. For the development of one of its features, for example, the FPGA team needed to complete a comprehensive testing process that included more than 900 compiles. Had the team conducted these compiles using a single server on premises, they would have taken more than three weeks. But with Amazon EC2 Spot instances and parallelization, the team was able to complete these tests in under 10 hours at a cost of less than $50 per run. “Using AWS has shaved months off of the development cycle,” Gardner says. “If I need more servers, I can access them, no questions asked.”

NI has been able to pass this agility on to its customers. With the FPGA Compile Cloud Service completely on AWS, engineers can use the service as needed without spending thousands of dollars on their own hardware. “In the past, our customers could spend $5,000 to $10,000 for the compile servers they needed, only for them to sit idle a few months later,” says Gardner. “Since performing compiles is a feast-or-famine process, AWS is a good match for what we do.”

As NI continues to grow, the company plans to expand the use of AWS to other development environments. In addition, it is considering the use of additional AWS services such as AWS IoT and Amazon QuickSight to create new product offerings for its customers. “AWS has allowed for a lot more experimentation,” says Gardner. “It gives us a large array of tools to work with, and it speeds up the development and deployment of new products, which is key to the success of our company.”

To learn more about how AWS can help with development and testing, visit our Development and Test details page.