Unilever 由荷兰人造奶油公司 Margarine Unie 和英国香皂公司 Lever Brothers 于 1930 年合并而成。今天,这个消费品巨头的食品、家庭护理品、爽肤和个人护理产品已销往 190 多个国家/地区。Unilever 在英国伦敦和荷兰鹿特丹都设有总公司,并在 90 多个国家/地区成立了子公司。该公司员工数超过 170 000 人。2012 年,Unilever 公布的收入超过 510 亿欧元。

位于新泽西州恩格尔伍德克利夫斯的 Unilever 北美公司需要重新设计其基础设施,以支持 Unilever 的数字营销渠道。以前,Unilever 利用本地数据中心托管其网络资产,而所有的托管服务都要采用不同的科技和过程。“我们需要标准化我们的环境以缩短上市时间”,数字营销服务部门 (DMS) 全球技术经理 Sreenivas Yalamanchili 说。Unilever 通过在一个试点国家对一项营销活动进行测试,以优化其商业模式。如果活动成功,公司将在其它国家和地区部署该活动。IT 组织希望使用云来执行同样的过程。

对超过 16 家公司执行全面的 RFP 和审核过程后,Unilever 选择了 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。Unilever 在选择数字营销平台时优先考虑的事项包括,灵活性、全球基础设施、技术以及丰富的生态系统成员。“利用 AWS,我们可以在所有地区采用同一个托管提供商,这意味着,我们不必按地区自定义和调整托管解决方案”,Yalamanchili 说。“Unilever 专注于向消费者提供最好的品牌;他们不必忙于应对 IT 问题。通过与 AWS 和 AWS 合作伙伴网络的成员合作,我们能够以较少的努力获得更多的创新。”

Unilever IT 团队对 AWS 迁移有两个目标:利用地区内容传输架构为网站提供一个共同的技术平台,以及将现有网络资产迁移到云上。

为开发此平台,Unilever 参加了 AWS 的研讨会以共同设计架构。然后,DMS 团队构建了一个试点平台(为迈阿密的第三方托管设计的灾难恢复站点)供利益相关者审查。获得业务批准后,Unilever 选择了 Amazon 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 的一家高级咨询合作伙伴成员 CSS Corporation 提供系统集成和应用程序开发服务。DMS 团队与 CSS 合作开发出了全球内容管理系统 (CMS)。CMS 平台让机构能在全球范围内构建品牌网站,并跨过多个 AWS 地区发布网站。Unilever 利用 HAProxy 负载均衡器提高其网站性能并在 Microsoft SQL Server 和 MySQL 上运行其数据库。

为进行灾难恢复,Unilever 在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中存储备份数据、快照、产品和配方媒体文件,并使用 EBS Snapshot CopyAmazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 快照从美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)地区复制到美国西部(加利福尼亚北部)地区。“我们设计灾难恢复解决方案是为了保护我们的内容管理系统、内容部署架构以及很多 GOLD 级别的网络资产,同时在 AWS 云中树立商业信心”,Yalamanchili 说。图 1 展示了 Unilever 在 AWS 上的架构。

unilever-arch-diag

Figure 1. Unilever Architecture on AWS

Unilever 和 CSS 创建了运行 Windows 和 Linux 的亚马逊系统映像 (AMI),用以在近 400 个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上使用。Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 提供了部署灵活性以及对互联网的访问。数字营销部门的企业架构师 Nick Morgan 评论道,“使用 AWS 的好处在于,我们能够根据活动的受欢迎程度极其轻松地扩展实例。我们使用 Auto Scaling 并对 Recipedia.com 和 Axeapollo.com 等网站进行手动扩展。我们可以跨过不同的 AWS 地区和可用区域部署实例,并使用 Amazon EBS 快照恢复服务。”

为了将网络资产迁移到云上,Unilever 在 AWS 上为其现有的几个网站构建了预生产环境和生产环境。一旦 Unilever 的创意和生产机构对预生产环境中的网站进行了认证,Unilever 就会将生产环境的 DNS 地址切换成在 AWS 中上线。

在成功地完成试点启动后,Unilever 在不到五个月的时间内将 500 多个网络资产从其数据中心迁移到了 AWS 中。从那时开始,Unilever 在世界范围内运行于 AWS 的网络资产超过 1 700 个。“我们致力于在全球范围的业务中创建可重复的模型,而利用 AWS 可轻松标准化托管环境”,Yalamanchili 说。“如果我们部署在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)地区的营销活动获得了成功,我们可以将其轻松复制到亚太(新加坡)地区供 APAC 国家使用。”

CSS 向 Unilever 提供不同操作系统的系统映像、API 和工具,以自动化新项目的启动过程。“CSS 自动化启动实例的方法将项目的启动时间缩短约 75%”,Morgan 说。“过去需要四天现在只需要一天。我们现在不需要从头开始重新构建 Web 和数据库服务器。只需要复制和重复使用映像即可。”

对 Unilever 而言,迁移到 AWS 云提高了业务敏捷性和运营效率。“以前,为营销活动请求网站是一个漫长的过程”,Yalamanchili 说。“通过使用 AWS,我们将数字营销活动的启动时间从两个星期缩短到平均两天的时间。这比传统的环境快七倍多。如果一个品牌经理想出了一个主意,他可以抢在竞争对手之前将想法付诸实践”,

“使用 AWS 为我们节省了时间”,他继续道。“我只需要进入 AWS 网站并输入数字即可计算成本。这可以让我为网站轻松建立标准的账单模型。我们的合作伙伴 CSS 花费不到 12 小时即可计算出活动网站的定价。我可以很肯定地对我的营销人员说,我们有能力做我们想做的任何事。我们可以专注于创新而不是基础设施。”

“另一项优势为 AWS 云的响应能力”,Yalamanchili 说。“通过使用 AWS,我们的一位品牌经理在 24 小时内便完全修改了活动内容,而这利用物理基础设施是无法实现的。”

“AWS 听取我们的要求,并帮助提出观点,让我们用不同的方式做最有利的事情”,Morgan 说。“我真的很欣赏 AWS 提供的这种创新速度。Yalamanchili 补充道,“AWS 让我们知道什么是客户至上。AWS 通过听取我们的要求并创新产品和服务,向我们证明,客户才是重要的。”

要了解有关 AWS 如何帮助您运行网站的更多信息,请访问我们的营销网站页面:http://aws.amazon.com/websites/

要了解有关 CSS Corporation 如何帮助贵公司在 AWS 云上运行的更多信息,请查看 AWS Partner Directory 中的 CSS Corporation 清单

Unilever was formed in 1930 by the merger of Dutch margarine producer, Margarine Unie and British soap maker, Lever Brothers. Today, the consumer goods giant sells food, home care, refreshments, and personal care products in over 190 countries. Unilever has headquarters in London, United Kingdom and Rotterdam, the Netherlands, and subsidiaries in over 90 countries. The company employs more than 170,000 people. In 2012, Unilever reported more than €51 billion in revenue.

Unilever North America in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey needed to re-design its infrastructure to support Unilever’s digital marketing approach. Unilever previously used on-premises data centers to host its web properties, all of which had different technologies and processes. “We needed to standardize our environment to support a faster time-to-market," says Sreenivas Yalamanchili, Digital Marketing Services (DMS) Global Technical Manager. Unilever optimizes its business model by testing a marketing campaign in a pilot country. If the campaign is successful, the company deploys it to other countries and regions. The IT organization wanted to use the cloud to implement the same process.

After a comprehensive RFP and review process involving more than 16 companies, Unilever chose Amazon Web Services (AWS). Unilever’s priorities in choosing a digital marketing platform included flexibility, a global infrastructure, technology, as well as a rich ecosystem of members. “With AWS, we have the same hosting provider for all regions, which means we don’t have to customize and tweak hosting solutions per region,” says Yalamanchili. “Unilever is focused on delivering great brands to consumers; it’s not an IT shop. We’re able to spend less and get more innovation by working with AWS and members of the AWS Partner Network.”

The Unilever IT team had two goals for the AWS migration: deliver a common technology platform for websites with regional content delivery architecture, and migrate existing web properties to the cloud.

To develop the platform, Unilever attended an AWS workshop to design the architecture. Then the DMS team built a pilot platform (a disaster recovery site for third-party hosting in Miami) for stakeholder review. After obtaining business approval, Unilever chose CSS Corporation, an Advanced Consulting Partner member of the Amazon Partner Network (APN), for system integration and application development. The DMS team worked with CSS to develop a global content management system (CMS) . The CMS platform lets agencies build brand web sites globally and publish them across several AWS regions. Unilever uses a HAProxy load balancer to improve performance of its web sites and runs its databases on Microsoft SQL Server and MySQL.

For disaster recovery, Unilever stores backup data, snapshots, product and recipe media files in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and uses  EBS Snapshot Copy to copy Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) snapshots from the US East (Northern Virginia) Region to the US West (Northern California) Region. “We designed a disaster recovery solution to protect our content management system, content deployment architecture, and many GOLD-classified web properties—and to give the business confidence in the AWS Cloud,” says Yalamanchili. Figure 1 demonstrates Unilever’s architecture on AWS.

unilever-arch-diag

Figure 1. Unilever Architecture on AWS

Unilever and CSS created Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) running Windows and Linux for use on approximately 400 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) provides flexibility for deployments and access to the Internet. Nick Morgan, Enterprise Architect for Digital Marketing comments, “What’s nice about using AWS is how easily we're able to scale the instances based on the nature of a campaign’s popularity. We used Auto Scaling as well as manual scaling for sites such as Recipedia.com and Axeapollo.com. We can deploy instances across different AWS Regions and Availability Zones and use Amazon EBS snapshots to bring services back.”

To migrate its web properties to the cloud, Unilever built pre-production and production environments on AWS for several existing websites. Once Unilever’s creative and production agencies certified the website in the pre-production environment, Unilever switched the DNS address for production environment to go live on AWS.

After a successful pilot launch, Unilever migrated more than 500 web properties from its data centers to AWS in less than five months. Since then, Unilever has more than 1,700 web properties running on AWS worldwide. “Throughout our business globally, we strive to create repeatable models and it’s easy to standardize our hosting environment with AWS,” says Yalamanchili. “If a marketing campaign that we deploy in the US East (Northern Virginia) Region is successful, we can easily replicate it to Asia Pacific (Singapore) Region for the APAC countries.”

CSS supplied Unilever with machine images of different operating systems, APIs and tools to automate the process of launching a new project. “The way CSS automated launching instances reduced the time to launch a project by about 75 percent,” says Morgan. “What used to take four days now only takes one day. We’re not rebuilding web and database servers from the ground up all the time. We can just clone and re-use images.”

For Unilever, moving to the AWS Cloud improved business agility and operational efficiency. “Previously, requesting a website for a marketing campaign was a lengthy process,” says Yalamanchili. “By using AWS, we improved time to launch for a digital marketing campaign from two weeks to an average of two days. That’s more than seven times faster than our traditional environment. If a brand manager has an idea, he or she can implement it before the competition,”

“Using AWS saves us time,” he continues. “I can simply go to the AWS website and plug in numbers to calculate costs. That makes it easy for me to set up a standard billing model for websites. It takes our partner, CSS, less than 12 hours to calculate pricing for a campaign website. I can comfortably say to my marketing folks that we have the capacity for anything we want to do. We can focus on innovation rather than infrastructure.”

“The other advantage is the responsiveness of the AWS Cloud,” says Yalamanchili. “By using AWS, one of the brand managers was able to completely alter a campaign within 24 hours, which wouldn’t happen with the physical infrastructure.”

“AWS listens to us and helps come up with ideas to do things differently that are beneficial,” says Morgan. “I really enjoy the rapid rate of innovation from AWS.” Yalamanchili adds, “With AWS, it’s the customer's way, always. AWS has proved to us that it's the customer that matters by listening to us and innovating products and services.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you run websites, visit our Marketing Websites page: http://aws.amazon.com/websites/.

For more information about how CSS Corporation can help your company run on the AWS Cloud, see CSS Corporation's listing in the AWS Partner Directory.