Capital One 徽标

Capital One 完成了从数据中心到 AWS 的迁移,成为首家宣布全面转向云的美国银行

2020

Capital One 是美国最大的银行之一,在 2020 年 11 月宣布完成了全部 8 个本地数据中心向 Amazon Web Services( AWS )的迁移,成为首家宣布全面转向云的美国银行。在云优先旅程中,Capital One 回收了 103 吨铜和铁,现在该银行运行在云中的 2000 款应用中,有 80% 经过了全面的重新构建。

“我们现在真正实现了完全在云中运行,而 AWS 在帮助我们充分利用云优势方面发挥了重要作用。”Capital One 云和生产力工程高级副总裁 Chris Nims 说道,“全面转向云既可以即时预置基础设施,又可以实现快速创新。我们能够管理更大规模的数据,并释放机器学习的力量,以提供更好的客户体验。”

在财富 100 强公司中,像 Capital One 这样积极快速地迁移到云端的情况极其少见,尤其是在受到严格监管的金融服务行业中。不过,自 1994 年成立以来,Capital One 便以市场颠覆者自居,其使命是推动行业变革来提供更好的服务,“让银行业变得富有人性化、具备独创性且简单明了”。 虽然 Capital One 仍在全美境内开展银行业务并拥有 5 万多名员工和数千万客户,但现在已作为“数字银行”开展运营,仅在少数几个州保留了分行。该公司在全美安装了 4 万多台 ATM 为客户提供服务,同时还开设了 Capital One Cafés,可供客户获取 Capital One 产品、客户支持、数字和金融工具以及参加 Money Coaching 研讨会和其他金融研讨会。Cafés 起到社区中心的作用,访客可以连接免费的无线网,利用这个空间来工作或学习,或者就是喝杯咖啡休闲片刻。此外,Capital One 董事长兼首席执行官 Richard Fairbank(他于 1994 年创立了该公司)仍然领导着 Capital One 并继续秉持初创企业式文化理念,即创新无所不在,可以源于任何人。

随着银行客户对实时提供的定制体验期待越来越高,Capital One 领导团队知道,公司要想继续开发更好、更人性化的客户互动方式,就需要更像一家科技公司一样运作。这意味着要依托现代化的技术堆栈,利用大数据和机器学习的强大功能来增强银行业务的实时体验。

从这个愿景出发,Capital One 在 2012 年开始了一项全面的技术转型,按照 Nims 的说法,就是“建立一家从事银行业务的科技公司,而不是一家只是利用科技的银行。” 公司领导层知道,这种转变需要迁移到云端,这样 Capital One 才能管理更大规模的数据,并利用机器学习构建积极、实时、个性化的客户体验。但是,Capital One 必须决定如何进行迁移,是投资于建设并运营自己的云基础设施,还是寻找一家云服务提供商。考虑到公司对改进客户体验的承诺,对于 Capital One 而言,云服务提供商是理所当然的选择。这可以让公司摆脱基础设施的管理,将资源重点投入到提供以客户为中心的创新以及为行业带来积极的变革方面。在考虑了多家云服务提供商之后,Capital One 最终确定,AWS 能够最好地支持其愿景。

为了推动这一转变,Capital One 计划采用 30 多种 AWS 服务,包括 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud(Amazon EC2)、Amazon Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)、Amazon Relational Database Service(Amazon RDS)和 Amazon Connect,后者是一款易于使用的全渠道云联络中心。此外,该公司设想的转型远不止迁移其信息技术基础设施和关闭数据中心。要成为真正的“数字银行”,提供客户所希望的体验,Capital One 还需要能够更好地构建自己的应用。这需要全新类型的科技部门,这个部门应该是云架构的专家,可以吸引和保留一流的工程人才,具备足够的运营敏捷性来确立行业创新的步伐。

Capital One 大楼夜景
kr_quotemark

我们让 5 万名员工的力量得以释放,并让客户见证了全新的创新能力。我们迫不及待地想在 AWS 上实现进一步的发展。”

Chris Nims
云和生产力工程高级副总裁,Capital One

打造云优先的组织

在集中转向云之后,Capital One 就开始了长期规划,确定如何淘汰本地数据中心,并将自身再造为一家采用全新方法进行人才管理、技术开发和运营的科技公司。“我们并不是从第一天开始就知道这一切在多年之后如何开展。”Nims 说道,“我们知道的是自己正在经历一场巨大的变革。要想成功,我们首先需要确立未来的愿景;其次,勇于开拓进取;第三,具备完成任务的坚韧性和毅力。”

迁移项目列表很长,但 Capital One 在规划过程早期便考虑了一项计划,即培训技术人员来支持云环境并在云环境中取得成功。Capital One 创建了 AWS Navigator 计划并邀请 AWS 客户团队的解决方案架构师来领导开展技术讨论和研讨会,探索在 Capital One 环境中使用 AWS 服务的最佳实践。Capital One 还设计了每月非会议形式的“投资自己”日活动,让其技术人员有时间来努力获取 AWS Certification 认证。此外,Capital One 还邀请 AWS 参与 Capital One 的年度软件工程大会 SECON,在该大会中,员工可以参加主题演讲、演示、分组讨论以及与主题专家的深入交流会议。

投资培训技术团队帮助 Capital One 成为了在 AWS 上运行基础设施的专家,但该公司还有更大的抱负:计划将应用开发引入内部,并具备更好地构建软件的能力。Capital One 扩大了工程团队规模并招聘了一流的软件人才,既有经验丰富的工程师,也有来自全美顶尖工程学院的应届毕业生,在其 8 年的迁移旅程中,技术团队的规模扩大到 11000 人。

Capital One 不仅引入了合适的人才来打造业界领先的应用体验,还转变了管理技术运营的方式。公司从“瀑布式”方法切换到敏捷软件开发流程,实现了迭代;转向 DevOps,从而消除孤岛并确立团队负责制;扩大开源产品的使用并参与开源社区,以更快地接触各种理念和人才。此外,Capital One 开始使用 AWS Well-Architected Framework 提供的工作准备状况检查,由一流的工程师开展生产前软件审查。这有助于确保应用设计和操作符合云架构最佳实践。

加速创新

通过迁移到云并改变技术运营方式,Capital One 得以进行扩展来满足需求,并能够以多种方式更快地做出行动。首先,在 AWS 上,Capital One 能够近乎实时地预置具备几乎无限扩展能力的基础设施,按照应用需求使用任意数量的计算和存储容量,并且仅为所使用的资源付费。该公司还可以看到创新步伐在加快,从每季度和每月的应用更新,发展为每天可以多次发布新代码。此外,Capital One 将构建开发环境所需的平均时间从 3 个月缩短到几分钟。

Capital One 还在系统可用性和灾难恢复等领域实现了重大的改进。该公司定期开展业务持续性演习和技术恢复演习以确保弹性,但在 AWS 上,此项工作转变为具备自动故障转移能力的双活架构。得益于此,Capital One 在这些演练中,将灾难恢复时间缩短了 70%,并将危机事故解决时间以及事务错误数减少了 50%。“我们的正常运行时间和系统可用性远超从前。”Nims 说道。

不过最重要的是,AWS 为 Capital One 提供了灵活性、容量和微服务架构,满足其大规模打造客户所期望体验的需求。Eno 就是其中一种以客户为中心的创新,这是 Capital One 使用 Amazon EC2、AWS LambdaAmazon DynamoDB 和其他 AWS 服务开发的智能助理。Eno 的前瞻性见解可以帮助客户确保资金安全,使用无服务器流式架构实时进行分析,指明账户上的不正常费用。此外,Capital One 移动应用将机器学习的强大功能与云端多区域基础设施强强联合。该应用使用一系列 AWS 服务构建,包括 Amazon EC2、AWS Lambda 和 Amazon Simple Notification Service(Amazon SNS),帮助客户随时掌握其账户的情况。客户体验的另一个示例是 Capital One Shopping,这是一款帮助购物者省钱的免费工具,使用现代化的服务架构、数据流式处理以及云技术创建,包括 Amazon EC2、Amazon Simple Email Service(Amazon SES)和 Amazon RDS。Capital One Shopping 可在结账时自动应用优惠券代码,并且会发送降价的提醒,自动完成帮助购物者为寻找更低价格而执行的操作。“现在,我们已经准备好在 2020 年节日期间为客户服务,预计这是有史以来最大的假日在线购物季。”Nims 说。

在 COVID-19 疫情期间,Capital One 转向云优先的方法在促进员工保持联系、高效工作并专注于支持客户方面起到关键作用。通过其 AWS 基础设施,该银行能够主动地监控性能并根据需求动态扩展资源。客户可以继续使用其数字银行工具,如 Capital One 移动应用和网站,并可以查看账户余额、进行付款、查看交易、寻找 ATM 等等。此外,Capital One 可以快速将员工从办公室工作转变为在家工作,帮助确保所有人的安全、联系和工作效率。技术团队成员可以通过 API 从任意位置控制和监视公司的 AWS 基础设施,无需担心容量限制或数据中心维护。同样,还有成千上万的呼叫中心座席可以使用 Amazon Connect 在家工作,继续远程为客户提供支持。

打造未来的银行

Capital One 的数字化转型始于成为现代化科技公司的雄心壮志,公司希望可以开发自己的应用,并引领银行业走向面向客户的创新之路。不过,在此过程中,公司彻底改造了自身的人才、文化、运营和技术基础设施。因此,公司的云迁移为打造未来的银行奠定了基础,从而能够实现快速、持续的创新,以满足不断变化的客户需求和偏好。

“Capital One 现在已经是完全不同于 8 年前的公司。”Nims 说道,“我们现在可以打造新的体验,以更多数据为支持,通过算法和人工智能实时提供。”

此外,Capital One 证明了在一个高度监管的行业中,一家财富 100 强公司可以实现从传统的本地数据中心到现代化云架构的飞跃。对于 Capital One,做到这一点的关键是采取全面的行动。这不仅仅是通过迁移到 AWS 来实现全面转型,还彻底改造了整个组织,针对以人为本的设计,招聘和培养了一群多元化的数据科学家、开发人员和专家,他们共同努力,将 Capital One 转变为一家富有开创性的科技公司。

“我们让 5 万名员工的力量得以释放,并让客户见证了全新的创新能力。”Nims 说道。“我们迫不及待地想在 AWS 上实现进一步的发展。”

关于 Capital One

Capital One 成立于 1994 年,是一家领先的信息技术企业,以实现银行业的独创性、简易性和人性化,帮助客户成功为使命。

AWS 带来的效益

  • 关闭了 8 个本地数据中心,彻底迁移到云中
  • 在 8 年的迁移旅程中,技术团队扩展到 11000 人
  • 在演练中将灾难恢复时间缩短了 70%
  • 危机事故解决时间以及事务错误数减少了 50%
  • 开发环境平均构建时间从 3 个月缩短到几分钟

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon Connect

Amazon Connect 从一开始就专为全渠道服务而设计,为客户和代理提供无缝的语音和交谈体验。这包括通过一系列的工具来实现基于技能的路由、强大的实时和历史数据分析以及方便易用且直观的管理工具,并且只需按使用量付费。这意味着 Amazon Connect 简化了联络中心的运营,提高了代理的工作效率,同时也降低了成本。

了解更多信息 »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud(Amazon EC2)是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全且可根据需要调整的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地使用 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多信息 »

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service(Amazon RDS)让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多信息 »

AWS Lambda

借助 Lambda,您几乎可以为任何类型的应用或后端服务运行代码,而且完全无需管理。只需上传代码,Lambda 会负责完成运行和扩展代码并实现高可用性的全部工作。

了解更多信息 »


开始使用

如需了解更多内容,请访问 Capital One 的 Innovator 页面以及 Capital One 网站

Capital One logo

Capital One Completes Migration from Data Centers to AWS, Becomes First US Bank to Announce Going All In on the Cloud

2020

Capital One, one of the largest banks in the United States, announced in November 2020 that it had completed the migration from all eight of its on-premises data centers to Amazon Web Services (AWS), becoming the first US bank to report that it was all in on the cloud. In its journey to becoming cloud first, Capital One recycled 103 tons of copper and steel and built 80 percent of the nearly 2,000 applications it now runs in the cloud from the ground up.

“We are truly all in on the cloud, and AWS has been instrumental in enabling us to take full advantage of the benefits of being in the cloud,” says Chris Nims, senior vice president of cloud and productivity engineering at Capital One. “Going all in on the cloud has enabled both instant provisioning of infrastructure and rapid innovation. We are able to manage data at a much larger scale and unlock the power of machine learning to deliver enhanced customer experiences.”

Migrating to the cloud as quickly and aggressively as Capital One did is unusual among Fortune 100 companies, especially those in the heavily regulated financial services industry. However, since its founding in 1994, Capital One has defined itself as a disrupter with a mission of changing its industry for the better, “bringing humanity, ingenuity, and simplicity to banking.” While Capital One maintains a national banking presence in the United States with more than 50,000 associates and tens of millions of customers, it operates as a “digital bank,” maintaining branches in only a few states. The company supports its customers by providing more than 40,000 ATMs across the country as well as Capital One Cafés that offer access to Capital One products, customer support, digital and financial tools, and Money Coaching sessions and other financial workshops. Cafés serve as community hubs where visitors can connect to free wireless internet, use the space to work or study, or just grab a cup of coffee. Moreover, Capital One’s chairman and CEO, Richard Fairbank—who founded the company in 1994—still leads Capital One and continues to foster a startup-like culture where innovation can come from anyone anywhere.

With banking customers increasingly expecting customized experiences delivered in real time, the Capital One leadership team knew that for the company to continue developing better, more human ways to engage with its customers, it would need to operate more like a tech company. That meant building on a modern technology stack and using the power of big data and machine learning to enhance the banking experience in real time.

Bearing this vision in mind, Capital One set out in 2012 on a comprehensive tech transformation and, according to Nims, “built a technology company that does banking instead of a bank that just uses technology.” Company leaders knew that this transformation would require moving to the cloud so that Capital One could manage data at a much larger scale and take advantage of machine learning for building proactive, real-time, personalized customer experiences. However, Capital One had to decide how to move—whether to invest in building and operating its own cloud infrastructure or to identify a cloud service provider. Given the company’s commitment to improving the customer experience, for Capital One, a cloud service provider was the obvious choice. It would enable the company to move away from infrastructure management and focus its resources on delivering customer-centric innovation and bringing positive change to the industry. After considering a number of cloud service providers, Capital One ultimately determined AWS would best be able to support its vision.

To drive its transformation, Capital One planned to adopt more than 30 AWS services, including Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), and Amazon Connect, an easy-to-use, omnichannel cloud contact center. Moreover, the transformation that it envisioned went far beyond migrating its information technology infrastructure and closing its data centers. To become a truly “digital bank” that could deliver the experiences customers wanted, Capital One would also have to become great at building its own applications. This would require a new kind of technology organization, one that was expert in cloud architectures, could attract and retain top engineering talent, and operated with enough agility to set the innovation pace for the industry.

Capital One building at night
kr_quotemark

We’ve unleashed the power of our 50,000 associates and unlocked innovative, new capabilities for our customers. We can’t wait for what’s possible next on AWS."

Chris Nims
Senior Vice President of Cloud and Productivity Engineering, Capital One

Building a Cloud-First Organization

Once Capital One had set its sights on the cloud, it began the long-term planning for how to exit its on-premises data centers and reimagine itself as a technology company with a completely new approach to talent management, technology development, and operations. “We didn’t start on day one knowing exactly how this would all unfold over many years,” Nims says. “We knew that we were embarking on a massive transformation. Success required that we have, first, a vision of where we were going; second, the courage to make a bold move; and third, the tenacity and perseverance to make it through.”

The migration project list was long, but one area that Capital One considered early in its planning process was educating its technology associates to support and succeed in a cloud environment. Capital One created an AWS Navigator initiative and invited solutions architects from its AWS account team to lead Tech Talks and workshops on best practices for using AWS services in the Capital One environment. Capital One also designated monthly, meeting-free “Invest in Yourself” days, giving its technology associates time to work toward their AWS Certification. In addition, Capital One also engaged AWS to participate in Capital One’s annual software engineering conference, SECON, which offers its associates keynotes, demonstrations, breakouts, and in-depth sessions with subject matter experts.

Investing to educate its technology team helped Capital One become expert in running its infrastructure on AWS, but the company had even bigger aspirations: it planned to bring application development in-house and become great at building software. Capital One scaled its engineering organization and hired top software talent, both experienced engineers and new graduates from the best engineering schools across the United States—massively growing the size of its technology team to 11,000 members during its 8-year migration journey.

Not only did Capital One bring in the right people to create industry-leading app experiences, but it also changed the way it managed its technology operations. The company switched from “waterfall” to agile software development, enabling iteration; it shifted to DevOps so that it could remove silos and create team ownership; and it expanded its use of open-source products and its participation in open-source communities to gain faster access to both ideas and talent. In addition, Capital One began using Operational Readiness Reviews from the AWS Well-Architected Framework for conducting preproduction software reviews by distinguished engineers. This helped keep application design and operations aligned with cloud architectural best practices.

Accelerating Innovation

By migrating to the cloud and changing its technology operations, Capital One has been able to scale to meet demand and move faster in a variety of ways. First, on AWS, Capital One can provision infrastructure almost instantly at a virtually unlimited scale, using as much or as little computing and storage as its applications need—and paying only for what it uses. The company has also seen an increase in its pace of innovation, going from quarterly and monthly application updates to releasing new code multiple times per day. Moreover, Capital One has reduced the average time needed to build a development environment from 3 months to only minutes.

System availability and disaster recovery is another area where Capital One has seen significant improvements. The company performs regular business continuity exercises and technical recovery exercises to ensure resiliency, but on AWS, it has shifted to active-active architecture with automated failover. As a result, Capital One has cut its disaster recovery time in these testing exercises by 70 percent, and it has reduced both critical incident resolution time and the number of transaction errors by 50 percent. “Our uptime and system availability are better than ever,” Nims says.

Most important, though, is that AWS has provided Capital One the flexibility, capacity, and microservices architecture it needs to create at scale the experiences that its customers want. One of these customer-centric innovations is Eno, the Capital One intelligent assistant that the company developed using Amazon EC2, AWS Lambda, Amazon DynamoDB, and other AWS services. Eno’s proactive insights help customers keep their money safe, using serverless streaming architecture to conduct analyses in real time that identify unusual charges on an account. In addition, the Capital One mobile app combines the power of machine learning with a cloud-based, multiregion infrastructure. The app is built using a broad range of AWS services, including Amazon EC2, AWS Lambda, and Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), and it helps customers stay connected to their accounts. Another example of a customer experience is Capital One Shopping—a free tool that helps shoppers save money—which was created using modern service architecture, data streaming, and cloud technology, including Amazon EC2, Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES), and Amazon RDS. Capital One Shopping automates the work shoppers are already doing to find lower prices by automatically applying coupon codes at checkout and sending alerts on price drops. “We’re now well positioned to serve customers during the 2020 holiday, which is expected to be the biggest online holiday shopping cycle in history,” Nims says.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Capital One’s shift to a cloud-first approach was a critical factor for its workforce to remain connected, productive, and focused on supporting customers. With its AWS infrastructure, the bank was able to actively monitor performance and dynamically scale resources based on need. Customers could continue using their digital banking tools, like the Capital One mobile app and website, and were able to check account balances, make payments, view transactions, find an ATM, and more. In addition, Capital One was able to quickly shift its associates from working in the office to working from home—helping to keep everyone safe, connected, and productive. Technology team members could control and monitor the company’s AWS infrastructure through APIs from anywhere without having to worry about capacity constraints or data center maintenance. Also working from home were thousands of contact center agents who could continue supporting customers remotely using Amazon Connect.

Building the Bank of the Future

Capital One’s digital transformation began with the ambition to become a modern technology company that could develop its own applications and lead the banking industry in innovating for customers. Along the way, though, the company completely reinvented itself—its talent, culture, operations, and technology infrastructure. As a result, its cloud migration became a foundation for building the bank of the future, one that could quickly and continuously innovate to meet changing customer needs and preferences.

“Capital One today is an entirely different company from what it was 8 years ago,” says Nims. “We can now build new experiences that are powered by more data and available in real time with algorithms and artificial intelligence.”

Moreover, Capital One has proven that a Fortune 100 company in a highly regulated industry can make the leap from legacy, on-premises data centers to modern architectures in the cloud. The key to doing so, for Capital One, was approaching the move holistically. It not only went all in on migrating to AWS—it also reimagined its entire organization, hiring and developing a diverse group of data scientists, developers, and experts in human-centered design who could work together to transform Capital One into a pioneering technology company.

“We’ve unleashed the power of our 50,000 associates and unlocked innovative, new capabilities for our customers,” Nims says. “We can’t wait for what’s possible next on AWS.”

About Capital One

Founded in 1994, Capital One is a leading information-based technology company that is on a mission to help its customers succeed by bringing ingenuity, simplicity, and humanity to banking.

Benefits of AWS

  • Closed eight on-premises data centers, migrating completely to the cloud
  • Scaled technology team to 11,000 during 8-year migration journey
  • Cut disaster recovery time by 70% in tests
  • Reduced critical incident resolution time and number of transaction errors by 50%
  • Reduced the average development environment build time from 3 months to only minutes

AWS Services Used

Amazon Connect

Designed from the ground up to be omnichannel, Amazon Connect provides a seamless experience across voice and chat for your customers and agents. This includes one set of tools for skills-based routing, powerful real-time and historical analytics, and easy-to-use intuitive management tools – all with pay-as-you-go pricing, which means Amazon Connect simplifies contact center operations, improves agent efficiency, and lowers costs.

Learn more »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more »

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) makes it easy to set up, operate, and scale a relational database in the cloud.

Learn more »

AWS Lambda

With Lambda, you can run code for virtually any type of application or backend service - all with zero administration. Just upload your code and Lambda takes care of everything required to run and scale your code with high availability.

Learn more »


Get Started