海外投票基金会 (OVF) 是一家总部位于美国的非营利性、无党派 501(c)3 组织,帮助美国人注册投票,并在选民不在家时帮助注册缺席投票。在 2005 年,OVF 成立了美国第一个综合性在线选民服务网站,为选举日当天不在美国的选民(包括军事人员、海外政府雇员和居住在国外的美国公民)提供登记服务、投票请求和信息工具。OVF 的总裁兼首席执行官 Susan Dzieduszycka-Suinat 表示,“我们希望为海外和军事选民提供可用、友好且全面的选民服务”。随着时间的推移,该基金会的投票应用程序越来越复杂,但其使命从未改变:使世界各地的美国选民都能更轻松地参加联邦选举。

在 2011 年,OVF 开始想方设法为美国本土选民以及海外和军事选民提供服务。该基金会最初可让居住在国外的美国公民使用标准化的联邦程序进行投票及请求缺席投票。但在美国,所有州都没有规定请求缺席投票的联邦标准,并且各个州更偏向于使用自己的选民注册表单。

为美国本土选民提供更好的服务意味着要针对 50 个不同州各式各样的要求促进选民注册和缺席投票请求方面的工作。每个州都有其各自的特定表单,这就需要规划一个可定制的问题流程。此外,OVF 还针对所有 50 个州分别规划了特定于州的选民注册和缺席投票请求表单输出。他们启动的新组织名为美国投票基金会(美国投票),该组织具有更多的功能。

在工作方面也有一些变化。OVF 希望为选民提供移动应用程序、降低成本并提高灵活性。他们预计 2012 年总统选举将吸引前所未有的用户来使用他们的网站。“我们要更加灵活才能满足流量高峰的需求,”Dzieduszycka-Suinat 说道。“我们被困在了一个昂贵的系统中,该系统不能立即为我们提供所需的可扩展性和可靠性。是时候使用新的解决方案了。”

OVF 决定迁移到 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。该公司向 Bear Code 征求了意见。Bear Code 是一家咨询公司,为 OVF 组织提供了一整套的 IT 解决方案。这家公司管理着 OVF 托管方面的工作,并且帮助其他客户成功迁移到了 AWS 云。“在过去一年里,我们已经成为 AWS 的头号粉丝,”Bear Code 管理合作伙伴 Michael Howe 解释道,“与使用传统硬件解决方案相比,AWS 使我们的客户变得更加灵活和敏捷。灵活性是我们向 OVF 推荐 AWS 的原因之一。”

2012 年,OVF 在其 18 个全方位服务选民网站上接收了超过 100 万次访问,且没有发生任何状况。“需要注意的是,我们的网站并非提供简单的静态内容,”Dzieduszycka-Suinat 说道,“它们是具有移动部件的交互式 Web 应用程序。在 2012 年 9 月 1 日到 11 月 15 日这段高峰期,网站访问量比 2008 年同时段增加了 20%。网页浏览量增加了 50%。我们认为,这一次大获全胜。“如果我们看看 2010 年选举中期与 2012 年总统选举的相同高峰期,”她继续说道,“就会发现,OVF 网站的用户访问量增加了 200%。这太了不起了。”

AWS 云提供 OVF 所需的灵活性、可扩展性和可靠性。“我们可以非常快速地扩大和缩小规模,”Dzieduszycka-Suinat 说道,“在投票期间,流量波动非常剧烈:在夏天开始增加,到秋天达到最高,然后在十一月的选举日之后减少到最低。这是用户需求和成本方面的独特动态。”

通过使用 AWS,OVF 能够按需增加或减少实例,从而更好地管理其成本。迁移到 AWS 云之后,该团队还能更轻松地升级操作系统,并能够对系统做出更改,而没有传统硬件所必有的延迟。团队正在多个可用区使用 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 来增加可靠性。此外,团队还在使用 Amazon Elastic Cloud Compute (Amazon EC2)、Elastic Load BalancingAmazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES),如下方的架构图所示。


Overseas Vote Foundation Architecture Diagram

图 1:海外投票基金会架构图

Bear Code 开发团队构建了一个镜像生产环境的临时环境,此任务已通过使用 OVF 之前的提供商证明非常困难。“提供此功能会导致 OVF 的成本增加一倍,”Howe 说道,“在 AWS 之前,我们使用的是未托管的单独临时服务器。使用 Amazon EC2 可无比轻松地克隆计算机,以制作其他生产计算机或临时服务器。创建测试环境在避免意外发生方面有很大帮助。”

“在迁移到 AWS 那一刻,我发现性能发生了很大变化,”Dzieduszycka-Suinat 说道,“由于我们是周期性运营并且用户遍布世界各地,因此我需要确信我们的系统可以很好地响应用户。我必须知道我们能够控制成本和资源,才能确保我们能够在需要时获得所需的一切。最后,我有责任知道我们没有为并未使用的资源花费。”Howe 表示,AWS 云提供的灵活性是一个福音。“有一位新开发人员加入了我们的团队来为 OVF 构建移动应用程序。他可以使用 AWS 快速设置独立于主网站的新服务器。这是我们之前的提供商很难做到的。”

在迁移到 AWS 后,OVF 还体验到了其他优势。与之前的解决方案相比,他们能够利用更多的服务,包括在发生灾难时,自动将数据库服务器故障转移到其他位置的服务器。现在,OVF 可以向其客户提供移动服务,并且他们能够以非常低的成本将所有计算机上的操作系统升级集成到公司。此外,OVF 临时服务器现在是生产服务器的完全复制,从而使得测试更加可靠。

迁移到 AWS 云之后,Dzieduszycka-Suinat 对 OVF 系统在高峰期的可靠性充满信心。“2012 年选举是第一次重大选举,在此期间,我从不担心系统会由于需求而出现故障,”她说道。“出故障这种想法甚至没在我的脑海中出现过。现在,我们已经转为使用 AWS,我们可以将精力放到需要做的事情上,并且 AWS 是我们的得力助手,而不是让我们围着它转。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何与公共部门客户合作的更多信息,请访问我们的“公共部门”详情页面:http://aws.amazon.com/government-education/

Overseas Vote Foundation (OVF), a US-based nonprofit, nonpartisan 501(c)3 organization, helps Americans register to vote and sign up for absentee ballots even when they are far from home. In 2005, OVF set up the United States’ first comprehensive online voter services site, offering registration, ballot request and information tools for voters who are outside the United States on Election Day—including military personnel, overseas government employees, and US citizens living abroad. “We wanted to make usable, user-friendly, comprehensive voter services for overseas and military voters ubiquitous,” says Susan Dzieduszycka-Suinat, President and CEO of OVF. Over time, the foundation’s voting applications have grown in complexity, but the mission is still the same: making it easier for American voters around the world to take part in federal elections.

In 2011, OVF started looking into ways to serve stateside voters as well as overseas and military voters. The foundation originally enabled US citizens living abroad to register to vote and request their absentee ballots using a standardized federal process. However, within the US, there is no federal standard for requesting absentee ballots across all states, and states prefer their own forms for voter registration.

Providing better service to stateside voters meant facilitating voter registration and absentee ballot request for 50 different states’ customized requirements. Each state has a unique, state-specific form, which required a customized question flow to be programmed. In addition, OVF programmed the state-specific form output for both voter registration and absentee ballot request, respectively, for all 50 states. The new organization that they launched with these broader capabilities is called US Vote Foundation (US Vote).

There were other changes in the works as well. OVF wanted to provide voters with mobile applications, reduce costs, and improve flexibility. They expected the 2012 presidential election to draw more users to their web services than ever before. “We needed more flexibility to meet our peaks in traffic,” Dzieduszycka-Suinat says. “We were locked into an expensive system that didn’t give us the immediate scalability and reliability that we require. It was time for a new solution.”

OVF decided to migrate to Amazon Web Services (AWS). For advice, the company turned to Bear Code, a consulting company that provides turnkey IT solutions for the OVF organization. Bear Code was managing OVF’s hosting, and had helped other clients move to the AWS Cloud with success. “We’ve become pretty big fans of AWS over the last year,” Bear Code managing partner Michael Howe explains. “AWS lets our clients become far more nimble, and more agile, than they could be on a traditional hardware solution. That flexibility was one of the factors that led us to recommend AWS to OVF.”

OVF received more than 1 million visits without incident across their 18 full-service voter websites in 2012. “Keep in mind, our sites are not providing simple, static content,” Dzieduszycka-Suinat says. “These are interactive web applications with moving parts. During our peak time, from September 1 through November 15, site visits increased by 20 percent in 2012 compared to 2008. Page views increased by 50 percent. We consider that real success. “If we look at the same peak time frame in 2010, the midterm elections versus the 2012 Presidential election,” she continues, “the OVF site experienced a 200 percent increase in user visits. Now that’s significant.”

The AWS Cloud provided the flexibility, scalability and reliability that OVF required. “We could scale up and down in terms of capacity very quickly,” Dzieduszycka-Suinat says. “In voting, there are huge fluctuations in traffic: it starts to build up in the summer, hits big in the fall, and then it drops off a cliff after Election Day in November. It’s a unique dynamic in terms of user demand and costs.”

AWS enables OVF to manage their costs better by scaling instances up and down as needed. Moving to the AWS Cloud also made it easier for the team to upgrade the operating system and make changes to the system without the delays that would have been necessary with traditional hardware. The team is using Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) in multiple Availability Zones to increase reliability. The team is also using Amazon Elastic Cloud Compute (Amazon EC2), Elastic Load Balancing, and Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES), as shown in the architecture diagram below.


overseas-vote-foundation-arch-diagram

Figure 1: Overseas Vote Foundation Architecture Diagram

The Bear Code development team built a staging environment that mirrors the production environment—a task that would have proved difficult using OVF’s former provider. “Providing that functionality would have doubled OVF’s costs,” Howe says. “Before AWS, we used a separate staging server that wasn’t hosted. Amazon EC2 makes it a lot easier to clone a machine to make an additional production machine or a staging server. Creating a testing environment is a big help in terms of avoiding surprises.”

“The minute we moved onto AWS, I noticed a big change in performance,” Dzieduszycka-Suinat says. “With our kind of operation—so cyclical, with users spread all over the world—I need to be confident that people can get good response times from our system. I have to know that we can control both our costs and our resources, making sure we have what we need precisely when we need it. Finally, I have the responsibility of knowing that we’re not spending money for resources that we aren’t even using.” The flexibility afforded by the AWS Cloud has been a boon, Howe says. “We had a new developer join our team to build mobile applications for OVF. Using AWS, he could quickly set up a new server that’s separate from the main websites. That would have been hard to do with our previous provider.”

OVF has experienced other benefits as a result of moving to AWS, as well. They are able to take advantage of a broader range of services than with their previous solution, including automatic database server failover to a server at a different location in case of disaster. OVF can now offer a mobile services site to their customers and they were able to integrate an OS upgrade on all machines at very little cost to the company. In addition, the OVF staging servers are now exact duplicates of the production servers—making testing more reliable.

Moving to the AWS Cloud has increased Dzieduszycka-Suinat’s confidence in the peak time reliability of the OVF system. “The 2012 election was the first major election during which I never worried that the system would go down due to demand,” she says. “The thought of downtime didn’t even cross my mind. Now that we have switched to AWS, we can just do what we need to do and AWS moves with us, rather than making us work around it.”

To learn more about how AWS can work with public sector customers, visit our Public Sector details page: http://aws.amazon.com/government-education/.