AWS Security Blog

AWS Certification Update – ISO 9001 Has 10 New Services in Scope

AWS certification image

Today we’re happy to announce we’ve added 10 new services to our ISO 9001 certification:

This increases the total number of AWS Services available for use under the certification to 33. The complete list can be found in our AWS ISO 9001 FAQs.

EU (Frankfurt) is now also available, bringing the regions available up to 10: US East (N. Virginia), US West (Oregon), US West (N. California), AWS GovCloud (US), South America (Sao Paulo), EU (Ireland), EU (Frankfurt), Asia Pacific (Singapore), Asia Pacific (Sydney), and Asia Pacific (Tokyo).

ISO 9001:2008 is a globally recognized standard for managing the quality of products and services. The 9001 standard outlines a quality management system based on eight principles defined by the ISO Technical Committee for quality management and quality assurance:

  • Customer focus.
  • Leadership.
  • Involvement of people.
  • Process approach.
  • Systematic approach to management.
  • Continual improvement.
  • Factual approach to decision making.
  • Mutually beneficial supplier relationships.

The key to the ongoing certification under this standard is establishing, maintaining, and improving the organizational structure, responsibilities, procedures, processes, and resources for ensuring that the characteristics of AWS products and services consistently satisfy ISO 9001 quality requirements.

AWS was certified by EY CertifyPoint, an ISO certifying agent. There is no increase in service costs for any region as a result of this certification. You can download a copy of the AWS certification and use it to jump-start your own certification efforts (you are not automatically certified by association; however, using an ISO 9001 certified provider such as AWS can make your certification process easier). You may also want to read the AWS ISO 9001 FAQs.

If you’d like to learn more about compliance in the cloud, see our AWS Cloud Compliance page.

– Chad