I'd like information about ISO 9001



AWS ISO 9001

ISO 9001 outlines a process-oriented approach to documenting and reviewing the structure, responsibilities, and procedures required to achieve effective quality management within an organization. Specific sections of the standard contain information on topics such as:

  • Requirements for a quality management system, including documentation of a quality manual, document control, and determining process interactions
  • Responsibilities of management
  • Management of resources, including human resources and an organization’s work environment
  • Service development, including the steps from design to delivery
  • Customer satisfaction
  • Measurement, analysis, and improvement of the QMS through activities like internal audits and corrective and preventive actions

The key to the ongoing certification under this standard is establishing, maintaining and improving the organizational structure, responsibilities, procedures, processes, and resources in a manner where AWS products and services consistently satisfy ISO 9001 quality requirements.

The AWS ISO 9001 certification can be downloaded here

Yes. AWS has undergone a systematic, independent examination of our quality system to determine whether the activities and activity outputs comply with ISO 9001 requirements. A certifying agent found our QMS to comply with the requirements of ISO 9001 for the activities described in the scope of registration.

AWS' ISO 9001 certification directly supports customers who develop, migrate and operate their quality-controlled IT systems in the AWS cloud. Customers can leverage AWS’s compliance reports as evidence for their own ISO 9001 programs and industry-specific quality programs, such as GxP in life sciences, ISO 13485 in medical devices, AS9100 in aerospace, and ISO/TS 16949 in automotive. AWS customers who don't have quality system requirements will still benefit from the additional assurance and transparency that an ISO 9001 certification provides.

AWS' ISO 9001 accreditation includes data centers, which house the hardware supporting the AWS Services listed above. AWS Data centers are located in US East (Northern Virginia), US East (Ohio), US West (Oregon), US West (Northern California), AWS GovCloud (US), Canada (Montréal), EU (London), EU (Ireland), EU (Frankfurt), Asia Pacific (Singapore), Asia Pacific (Mumbai), Asia Pacific (Seoul), Asia Pacific (Sydney), Asia Pacific (Tokyo), and South America (São Paulo) Regions, as well as the following AWS Edge Locations in:

  • Melbourne, Australia
  • Sydney, Australia
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • São Paulo, Brazil
  • Montréal, Canada
  • Toronto, Canada
  • Hong Kong, China
  • London, England
  • Marseille, France
  • Paris, France
  • Frankfurt, Germany
  • Chennai, India
  • Mumbai, India
  • New Delhi, India
  • Dublin, Ireland
  • Milan, Italy
  • Osaka, Japan
  • Tokyo, Japan
  • Seoul, Korea
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Manila, Philippines
  • Warsaw, Poland
  • Singapore
  • Madrid, Spain
  • Stockholm, Sweden
  • Taipei, Taiwan
  • California, United States
  • Florida, United States
  • Georgia, United States
  • Illinois, United States
  • Indiana, United States
  • Missouri, United States
  • Nevada, United States
  • New Jersey, United States
  • New York, United States
  • Oregon, United States
  • Texas, United States
  • Virginia, United States
  • Washington, United States

These sites support the AWS Edge Locations, for more information on the AWS global infrastructure refer here.

Quality is defined as our product’s and feature’s ability to satisfy the requirements of confidentiality, availability, integrity, and security.

EY CertifyPoint, an ISO certifying agent accredited by the Dutch Accreditation Council, a member of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF). Certificates issued by EY CertifyPoint are recognized as valid certificates in all countries with an IAF member.

The covered AWS services that are already in scope for the ISO 9001 certification can be found within AWS Services in Scope by Compliance Program. If you would like to learn more about using these services and/or have interest in other services please contact us.

The certification covers the quality management system over a specified scope of AWS services and Regions of operations. If you are pursuing ISO 9001 certification while operating all or part of your IT systems in the AWS cloud, you are not automatically certified by association, however, using an ISO 9001 certified provider like AWS can make your certification process easier.

Yes. AWS' certification can be downloaded hereThe ISO 9001 along with many other economic, environmental and social standards are available on the ISO website, http://www.iso.org/iso/home.html. ISO has made the decision to copyright these standards in an effort to help fund the processes leading to development.

ISO 9001 Resources


Contact Us