使用 Amazon ElastiCache 预留节点时,对于您想预留的每个缓存节点,您可以选择以低价为其一次性付费,进而享受该节点小时费率的大幅折扣。Amazon ElastiCache 提供三种类型的 ElastiCache 预留节点 (低、中、高使用率预留节点),让您在预付款与实际小时费率之间实现平衡。与运行按需节点相比,Amazon ElastiCache 预留节点可大幅节省开支,具体取决于应用程序工作负载及其计划运行时间。

  • 当前节点系列中的预留缓存节点均为高使用率节点。上一代缓存节点系列中的预留缓存节点共有三种不同类型:低、中和高使用率预留缓存节点。
  • 与按需费率相比,使用稳定时预留缓存节点可为您节省最多 70% 的费用。
  • 预留缓存节点易于使用,也不需要更改您使用 Amazon ElastiCache 的方式。在计算账单时,我们的系统将首先自动应用预留缓存节点费率,以最大程度地降低您的费用。只有在您运行缓存节点的小时中缓存节点的总数超过您所拥有的适用预留缓存节点数量,才需根据按需费率对该实例小时收费。
  • 预留缓存节点可按一年期或三年期购买。
  • 预留缓存节点可在所有 AWS 地区使用。

我们提供以下所示三种预留缓存节点类型,让您能够在前期付款和有效小时价格之间作出权衡取舍:

  • 低使用率预留缓存节点 – 低使用率预留缓存节点提供所有预留类型中最低的前期费用。除了预付费用较低之外,每小时的使用费也可以享受大幅折扣。低使用率预留缓存允许您随时关闭缓存节点,无需支付按小时计算的费用。低使用率预留缓存是零星使用缓存节点的理想选择。例如,一天中运行约 7 到 12 小时的开发与测试节点,或者一年中运行 3 到 7 个月的短期项目所用缓存节点。与按需使用情形中运行同一缓存节点相比,使用低使用率预留缓存节点时,您可以在 1 年期内节省最多 42% 的开支,3 年期则可节省 56%。
  • 中使用率预留缓存 – 中使用率预留缓存的前期付款要高于低使用率预留缓存,但小时使用费要低得多。中使用率预留缓存允许您随时关闭缓存节点,无需支付按小时计算的费用。最适用于在大多数时间运行、但使用情况会发生一些变化的工作负载。与按需使用情形中运行同一缓存节点相比,使用中使用率预留缓存节点时,您可以在 1 年期内节省最多 47% 的开支,3 年期则可节省 64%。
  • 高使用率预留缓存节点 – 高使用率预留缓存节点提供所有缓存节点类型最高的节省幅度。大多数生产应用程序要求缓存服务器保持全天候可用。高使用率预留缓存最适合不间断运行的稳态生产工作负载,因此您要对整个预留缓存节点期间做出承诺。使用这种预留缓存节点时,您支付的前期费用要高于中使用率预留缓存,但按小时使用费要低得多。在购买的预留缓存节点期间内,您需要根据这一低廉的按小时费率支付每个小时的费用。与按需使用情形中运行同一缓存节点相比,使用高使用率预留缓存节点时,您可以在 1 年期内节省最多 52% 的开支,3 年期则可节省 70%。

当前缓存节点系列仅支持高使用率节点。上一代缓存节点支持低、中和高使用率节点。如果您需要查找 T1、M1、M2 或 C1 缓存节点,请参阅 Previous Generation Cache Nodes 页面。

预留缓存节点是许多不同使用案例的不错选择。

大多数生产应用程序需要缓存节点全天候保持可用。与完全为生产应用程序使用按需缓存节点相比,预留缓存节点可为您的业务带来非常客观的节省。高使用率预留缓存可以为稳态工作负载提供最高的折扣。如果您希望缓存节点在大多数时间内运行,但又看重可以随时关闭缓存节点的灵活性,中使用率预留缓存则是最适合您的选择。

通过比较按需缓存节点小时费率和预留缓存节点的有效小时费率,您可以确定按需缓存节点还是预留缓存节点最适合您的需求。要计算有效小时费率,您需要在整个合同期内分摊一次性费用,再加上按小时使用费率。在稳态使用情形中,1 年期高使用率预留缓存节点的有效小时费率要比按需费用低 52%,而 3 年期预留缓存节点则要低 70%。对于稳态使用的中使用率预留缓存而言,与对应的按需费率相比,1 年期预留缓存节点的费率要低 47%,3 年期的预留则要低 64%。

即使您的缓存节点并非不间断地运行,预留缓存节点也能大幅节省开支。与传统的专用容量相比,低和中使用率预留缓存节点允许您在不需要该节点时避免产生使用费。如果您的工作负载要求缓存节点在一年中运行 3 到 7 个月时间(如在业务旺季增加缓存节点数量),1 年期低使用率预留缓存节点能够让您将 ElastiCache 账单金额降至最低。

如果客户同时使用预留缓存节点和按需缓存节点,则优先适用预留实例费率,以最大程度降低成本。每个小时中,如果运行中的缓存节点数量不超过您所拥有的适用预留缓存节点数,则所有运行中的缓存节点将按照预留缓存节点小时费率计费。如果运行中的缓存节点总数超出您拥有的适用预留缓存节点数量,则将向您收取按需费率。

例如,如果您在给定地区内拥有 3 个同一缓存节点类型的预留缓存节点,计费系统将在每个小时内检查您正在运行并且符合这些参数的节点总数。如果总数等于或小于 3,则该小时内运行的每个缓存节点将按照预留缓存节点费率进行计费。如果运行的总数超过 3 个,则超额的缓存节点将根据按需费率进行计费。

如果您在已在运行缓存节点的地区内购买预留缓存节点,则该缓存节点今后将自动适用较低的小时费率,而无需重新启动。

可以使用 AWS 管理控制台或 API 工具购买预留缓存节点。

  1. 登录 AWS 管理控制台,然后单击“Amazon ElastiCache”选项卡
  2. 选择要在其中购买预留缓存节点的地区
  3. 在导航窗格中选择“Reserved Cache Nodes”,然后单击 “Purchase Reserved Cache Node”按钮
  4. 选择缓存节点类别和合同期
  5. 调整要购买的缓存节点数量
  6. 单击“Continue”,验证购买信息并确认

有关使用 API 工具的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon ElastiCache 文档

  • 必须在购买时选择地区、缓存节点类别和期限长度,以后无法更改。
  • 您最多可以购买 20 个预留缓存节点。如果您需要更多预留缓存节点,请填写此处的表格。
  • 一次性费用不予退还。

Amazon ElastiCache Reserved Cache Nodes give you the option to make a low, one-time payment for each cache node you want to reserve and in turn receive a significant discount on the hourly charge for that Cache Node. Amazon ElastiCache provides three ElastiCache Reserved Cache Node types (Light, Medium, and Heavy Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes) that enable you to balance the amount you pay upfront with your effective hourly price. Based on your application workload and the amount of time you plan to run them, Amazon ElastiCache Reserved Cache Nodes may provide substantial savings over running on-demand Cache Nodes.

  • Reserved Cache Nodes are available in three different types: Light, Medium, and Heavy Utilization.
  • Reserved Cache Nodes can save you up to 70% over On-Demand rates when used in steady state.
  • Reserved Cache Nodes are easy to use and require no change to how you use Amazon ElastiCache. When computing your bill, our system will automatically apply Reserved Cache Node rates first to minimize your costs. A cache node hour will only be charged at the On-Demand rate when the total number of cache nodes you run that hour exceeds the number of applicable Reserved Cache Nodes you own.
  • Reserved Cache Nodes can be purchased for one or three year terms.
  • Reserved Cache Nodes are available in all the AWS regions.

There are three Reserved Cache Node types shown below that enable you to balance the amount you pay upfront with your effective hourly price:

  • Light Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes – Light Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes offer the lowest upfront payment of all of the reserved types. Along with this low upfront payment, you’ll receive a significantly discounted hourly usage fee. Light Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes allow you to turn off your Cache Node at any point and not pay the hourly fee. Light Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes are ideal for Cache Nodes with sporadic usage. For example, development and test nodes that run for about seven to twelve hours a day or the Cache Nodes used for short term projects and run for 3-7 months in a year. Using Light Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes, you can save up to 42% for a 1-year term and 56% for a 3-year term when compared to running the same cache node on an On-Demand basis.
  • Medium Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes – Medium Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes have a higher upfront payment than Light Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes, but a much lower hourly usage fee. Medium Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes allow you to turn off your Cache Node at any point and not pay the hourly fee. They are best suited for workloads that run most of the time, but have some variability in usage. Using Medium Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes, you can save up to 47% for a 1-year term and 64% for a 3-year term when compared to running the same cache node on an On-Demand basis.
  • Heavy Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes – Heavy Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes offer the most absolute savings of any Reserved Cache Node type. Most production applications require cache servers to be available 24×7. Heavy Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes are most appropriate for your steady-state production workloads that will be always running, so you commit to the entire duration of the Reserved Cache Node term. With this Reserved Cache Node, you pay a higher upfront payment than Medium Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes and the lowest hourly usage fee. You are charged this low hourly rate for every hour in the Reserved Cache Node term you purchase. Using Heavy Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes, you can save up to 52% for a 1-year term and 70% for a 3-year term when compared to running the same Cache Node on an On-Demand basis.

Reserved Cache Nodes are a great option for a number of different use cases.

Most production applications require cache nodes to be available 24×7. Reserved Cache Nodes could provide your business substantial savings if you exclusively use On-Demand Cache Nodes for your production applications. Heavy Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes offer the largest discounts for steady state workloads. If you expect your Cache Node to be running most of the time but value the flexibility of being able to turn off your Cache Nodes at any point, Medium Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes may be the right choice for you.

You can determine whether Reserved or On-Demand Cache Nodes best fit your needs by comparing On-Demand hourly rates and the effective hourly rate of Reserved Cache Nodes. In order to calculate an effective hourly rate, amortize the one-time fee over the term and add the hourly usage rate. At steady state usage, the effective hourly rate for 1 year term Heavy Utilization Reserved Cache Node is 52% lower than On-Demand rates and 3 Year term Reserved Cache Nodes are 70% lower. For Medium Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes with steady state usage, 1 year reservations are 47% lower and 3 year Reserved Cache Nodes are 64% lower than corresponding On-Demand rates.

Reserved Cache Nodes can also provide significant cost savings even if your cache nodes run less than 100% of the time. Unlike traditional dedicated capacity, Light and Medium Utilization Reserved Cache Nodes allow you to avoid usage charges when you don’t need the node. If your workload requires a cache node to run for 3-7 months in a year (e.g. scaling up the number of cache nodes during peak season for your business), a 1 year term Light Utilization Reserved Cache Node allows you to minimize your ElastiCache bill.

Customers using both Reserved and On-Demand Cache Nodes will have Reserved Cache Node rates applied first to minimize costs. Each hour, if the number of running cache nodes is less than or equal to the number of applicable Reserved Cache Nodes you have, all running cache nodes will be charged at the Reserved Cache Node hourly rate. When your total quantity of running cache nodes exceeds the number of applicable Reserved Cache Nodes you own, you will be charged the On-Demand rate.

For example, if you own 3 Reserved Cache Nodes with the same Cache Node type in a given region, the billing system checks each hour to see how many total cache nodes you have running that match those parameters. If it is 3 or less, you will be charged the Reserved Cache Node Rate for each cache node running that hour. If more than 3 are running, you will be charged the On-Demand rate for the additional Cache Nodes.

If you purchase a Reserved Cache Node in a given region where you have a running Cache Node, the lower hourly charge will automatically be applied to that cache node moving forward with no need to restart.

Reserved Cache Nodes can be purchased using the AWS Management Console or API tools.

  1. Log in to the AWS Management Console, click the “Amazon ElastiCache” tab
  2. Select the Region in which you would like to make your Reserved Cache Node purchases
  3. Select “Reserved Cache Nodes” in the navigation pane and click on the “Purchase Reserved Cache Node” button
  4. Select the cache node class and the term length
  5. Adjust the quantity of cache nodes to purchase
  6. Click on “Continue”, verify the purchase information, and confirm

Please refer to Amazon ElastiCache Documentation for information about using the API tools.

  • Region, Cache Node Class, and term length must be chosen at purchase, and cannot be changed later.
  • You can purchase up to 20 Reserved Cache Nodes. If you need additional Reserved Cache Nodes, complete the form found here.
  • The one-time fee is non-refundable.