一般性问题

问:什么是 AWS Backup?

答:AWS Backup 是一个集中式备份服务,使您可以在 AWS 云轻松且经济高效地备份跨 AWS 服务的应用程序数据,从而帮助您满足业务和法规备份合规性要求。AWS Backup 通过提供一个中心位置来简化对 AWS 存储卷、数据库和文件系统的保护,您可以在该中心位置配置和审核要备份的 AWS 资源,自动执行备份计划,设置保留策略,以及监控所有最近的备份和还原活动。

问:AWS Backup 如何与具有备份功能的其他 AWS 服务配合使用?

答:现今,多个 AWS 服务提供的备份功能均可帮助您保护数据,例如 EBS 快照、RDS 快照、DynamoDB 备份和 Storage Gateway 快照。所有现有的每项服务备份功能保持不变。AWS Backup 提供了一种新的通用方法,用于在 AWS 云和本地跨 AWS 服务管理备份。AWS Backup 引入了一个集中式备份控制台,可提供备份计划、保留管理和备份监控。AWS Backup 支持由 EBS、RDS、DynamoDB 和 Storage Gateway 提供的现有备份功能。对于具有基于 AWS Backup 构建的备份功能的 AWS 服务(如 Amazon EFS),AWS Backup 为您提供备份管理功能(如备份计划、保留管理和备份监控),以及其他功能(如生命周期备份到低成本存储层、独立于其源数据的备份存储和加密,以及备份访问策略)。

问:为何我应该使用 AWS Backup?

答:备份数据是保护您的应用程序并确保您满足业务和法规备份合规性要求的重要一步。即使是持久资源也容易受到威胁,例如应用程序中可能会导致意外删除或损坏的缺陷。以合规且一致的方式在所有应用程序中构建和管理您自己的备份工作流程,这是一项既复杂又成本高的任务。AWS Backup 提供了一个完全托管、基于策略的备份解决方案,可提供自动备份计划和备份保留管理,从而无需昂贵的自定义解决方案或手动流程。

问:AWS Backup 的工作原理是什么?

答:开始使用 AWS Backup 之前,先创建一个称为备份计划的备份策略,它确定了一些参数,例如备份资源的频率,以及要存储这些备份多长时间。然后,您可以为备份计划分配资源,AWS Backup 将开始自动备份这些资源,并代表您根据您的备份计划管理备份保留。您可以使用 AWS Backup 的中央控制台查看正在受到保护的 AWS 资源,从备份还原,以及监控备份和还原活动。

问:AWS Backup 有哪些主要功能?

答:AWS Backup 提供了一个集中式备份控制台、自动备份计划、备份保留管理以及备份监控和警报。AWS Backup 还提供了高级功能,如生命周期备份到低成本存储层、独立于其源数据的备份存储和加密,以及备份访问策略。

问:我可以使用 AWS Backup 备份什么?

答:您可以使用 AWS Backup 来管理 EBS 卷、EC2 实例、RDS 数据库、DynamoDB 表、EFS 文件系统和 Storage Gateway 卷的备份。

问:我可以使用 AWS Backup 备份本地数据吗?

答:可以。AWS Backup 与 Storage Gateway 集成,使您可以备份本地 Storage Gateway 卷,从而提供在本地和 AWS 云中管理应用程序数据备份的常用方法。

问:我能否使用 AWS Backup 访问由具有现有备份功能的服务创建的备份?

答:是。可以使用 AWS Backup 访问使用具有现有备份功能(例如 EBS 快照或 DynamoDB 备份)的服务创建的备份。反之,可以使用源服务(如 EBS 或 DynamoDB)访问由 AWS Backup 创建的备份。

问:AWS Backup 如何与 Amazon Data Lifecycle Manager 相关,以及何时我应使用其中一个?

答:在 AWS Backup 中创建的 Amazon Data Lifecycle Management (DLM) 策略和备份计划彼此独立工作,并提供两种方法来管理 EBS 快照。DLM 提供了一种管理 EBS 资源生命周期的简单方法,例如卷快照。当您想要自动实现 EBS 快照的创建、保留和删除时,则应该使用 DLM。您应使用 AWS Backup 从一个位置管理和监控您使用的各种 AWS 服务(包括 EBS 卷)的备份。

问:AWS Backup 是否提供服务等级协议 (SLA)?

是。如果客户的月度正常运行时间百分比在任何账单周期内低于我们的服务承诺,则 AWS Backup SLA 将提供服务积分。

核心概念

问:什么是恢复点?

答:恢复点表示指定时间的资源内容。恢复点还包括元数据,例如有关资源、还原参数和标记的信息。

问:什么是备份计划?

答:备份计划是一个策略表达式,用于确定备份 AWS 资源(例如 DynamoDB 表或 EFS 文件系统)的时间和方式。您可以将资源分配给备份计划,然后 AWS Backup 会根据备份计划自动备份和保留这些资源的备份。备份计划由一个或多个备份规则组成。每个备份规则由以下内容组成:1) 备份计划,其中包括备份频率(恢复点目标 – RPO)和备份时段;2) 生命周期规则,用于指定何时将备份从一个存储层转换到另一个存储层,以及何时让恢复点过期;3) 备份文件库,用于放置创建的恢复点;以及 4) 创建时添加到备份的标记。例如,一个备份计划可能具有一个“每日备份规则”和一个“每月备份规则”。每日规则在每天午夜备份资源,并且保留备份一个月。每月规则在每个月的月初进行一次备份,并且保留备份一年。

问:什么是备份文件库?

答:备份文件库是恢复点的一个逻辑备份容器,允许您用于组织备份。

问:AWS Backup 的生命周期功能如何工作?

答:对于引入基于 AWS Backup 构建的备份功能的 AWS 服务(如 Amazon EFS),AWS Backup 提供了一个生命周期功能,它允许您将恢复点自动从热存储层(由 Amazon S3 支持,提供毫秒级备份访问时间)转移到低成本的冷存储层(由 Glacier 支持,提供 3-5 小时的还原时间)。

问:AWS Backup 中的加密如何工作?

答:引入基于 AWS Backup 构建的备份功能的 AWS 服务(如 Amazon EFS)的备份独立于源服务进行传输中和静态加密,从而为备份提供一层额外的保护。加密是在备份文件库级别配置的。使用源服务的备份加密方法对具有现有备份功能的服务备份进行加密。例如,使用创建快照的卷的加密密钥来对 EBS 快照进行加密。

问:如何使用备份文件库中的访问策略来控制对备份的访问?

答:AWS Backup 允许您在备份文件库上设置基于资源的策略,从而使您可以控制对备份文件库及其中备份的访问。

问:哪些服务提供对 AWS Backup 的高级功能的支持?

答:Amazon EFS 支持 AWS Backup 的高级功能,其备份功能与 AWS Backup 集成。

合规性

问:AWS Backup 支持哪些合规性计划?

答:AWS 在云中拥有运行时间最长的合规性计划,并致力于帮助客户探索其需求。已对 AWS Backup 进行了评估,以满足全球和行业安全标准。除了符合 HIPAA 要求以外,它还符合 PCI DSS、ISO 9001270012701727018。这使您能够更轻松地验证我们的安全性并履行您自己的义务。有关更多信息和资源,请访问我们的合规性页面。您也可以转到按合规性计划提供的范围内服务页面,以查看服务和认证的完整列表。

问:AWS Backup PCI 是否合规?

答:是。AWS Backup 符合 PCI-DSS,这意味着您可以使用它来传输付款信息。您可以在 AWS Artifact 中下载 PCI 合规性文件包,以详细了解如何在 AWS 上实现 PCI 合规性。

问:AWS Backup 是否符合 HIPAA?

答:符合。AWS Backup 符合 HIPAA,这意味着如果您有适用于 AWS 的 HIPAA BAA,则可以使用 AWS Backup 来传输受保护的健康信息 (PHI)。

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
了解有关定价的更多信息

使用 AWS Backup 没有预付费用,并且您仅需为使用的资源付费。

了解更多 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
开始在控制台中构建

开始在 AWS 控制台中使用 AWS Backup 进行构建。

登录

General

Q: What is AWS Backup?

A: AWS Backup is a centralized backup service that makes it easy and cost-effective for you to back up your application data across AWS services in the AWS Cloud and on premises, helping you meet your business and regulatory backup compliance requirements. AWS Backup makes protecting your AWS storage volumes, databases, and file systems simple by providing a central place where you can configure and audit the AWS resources you want to back up, automate backup scheduling, set retention policies, and monitor all recent backup and restore activity.

Q: How does AWS Backup work with other AWS services that have backup capabilities?

A: Today, several AWS services offer backup features that help you protect your data, such as EBS snapshots, RDS snapshots, DynamoDB backups, and Storage Gateway snapshots. All existing per-service backup capabilities remain unchanged. AWS Backup provides a new, common way to manage backups across AWS services both in the AWS Cloud and on premises. AWS Backup introduces a centralized backup console that offers backup scheduling, retention management, and backup monitoring. AWS Backup supports existing backup functionality provided by EBS, RDS, DynamoDB, and Storage Gateway. For AWS services that have backup functionality built on AWS Backup, such as Amazon EFS, AWS Backup provides you with backup management capabilities, such as backup scheduling, retention management and backup monitoring, as well as additional features, such as lifecycling backups to a low-cost storage tier, backup storage and encryption that is independent from its source data, and backup access policies.

Q: Why should I use AWS Backup?

A: Backing up your data is an important step towards protecting your application and ensuring that you meet your business and regulatory backup compliance requirements. Even durable resources are susceptible to threats like bugs in your application that could cause accidental deletions or corruption. Building and managing your own backup workflows across all your applications in a compliant and consistent manner can be complex and costly. AWS Backup removes the need for costly, custom solutions or manual processes by providing a fully managed, policy-based backup solution that provides automated backup scheduling and backup retention management.

Q: How does AWS Backup work?

A: To get started with AWS Backup, create a backup policy called a backup plan, which defines parameters such as how frequently to back up your resources and how long to store those backups. You can then assign resources to backup plans and AWS Backup will start automatically backing up these resources and managing backup retention on your behalf according to your backup plan. You can use AWS Backup’s central console to view your AWS resources that are being protected, restore from a backup, and monitor backup and restore activity.

Q: What are the key features of AWS Backup?

A: AWS Backup provides a centralized console, automated backup scheduling, backup retention management, and backup monitoring and alerting. AWS Backup also offers advanced features such as lifecycling backups to a low-cost storage tier, backup storage and encryption that is independent from its source data, and backup access policies.

Q: What can I back up using AWS Backup?

A: You can use AWS Backup to manage the backups of EBS volumes, RDS databases, DynamoDB tables, EFS file systems, and Storage Gateway volumes.

Q: Can I use AWS Backup to back up on-premises data?

A: Yes. AWS Backup integrates with Storage Gateway to enable you to back up your on-premises Storage Gateway volumes, providing a common way to manage the backups of your application data both on premises and in the AWS cloud.

Q: Can I use AWS Backup to access backups created by services with existing backup capabilities?

A: Yes. Backups created using services with existing backup capabilities, such as EBS snapshots or DynamoDB backups, can be accessed using AWS Backup. Conversely, backups created by AWS Backup can be accessed using the source service, like EBS or DynamoDB.

Q: How does AWS Backup relate to Amazon Data Lifecycle Manager and when should I use one over the other?

A: Amazon Data Lifecycle Management (DLM) policies and backup plans created in AWS Backup work independently from each other and provide two ways to manage EBS snapshots. DLM provides a simple way to manage the lifecycle of EBS resources, such as volume snapshots. You should use DLM when you want to automate the creation, retention, and deletion of EBS snapshots. You should use AWS Backup to manage and monitor backups across the AWS services you use, including EBS volumes, from a single place.

Q: Does AWS Backup offer a Service Level Agreement (SLA)?

Yes. The AWS Backup SLA provides for a service credit if a customer's monthly uptime percentage is below our service commitment in any billing cycle.

Core Concepts

Q: What is a recovery point?

A: A recovery point represents the content of a resource at a specified time. Recovery points also include metadata such as information about the resource, restore parameters, and tags.

Q: What is a Backup Plan?

A: A backup plan is a policy expression that defines when and how you want to back up your AWS resources, such as DynamoDB tables or EFS file systems. You assign resources to backup plans and AWS Backup will then automatically backup and retain backups for those resources according to the backup plan. Backup plans are composed of one or more backup rules. Each backup rule is composed of 1) a backup schedule, which includes the backup frequency (Recovery Point Objective - RPO) and backup window, 2) a lifecycle rule that specifies when to transition a backup from one storage tier to another and when to expire the recovery point, 3) the Backup Vault in which to place the created recovery points in, and 4) the tags to be added to backups upon creation. For example, a backup plan might have a “daily backup rule” and a “monthly backup rule”. The daily rule backs up resources every day at midnight and retains the backups for one month. The monthly rule takes a backup once a month on the beginning of every month and retains the backups for one year.

Q: What is a Backup Vault?

A: A Backup Vault is a logical backup container for your recovery points that allows you to organize your backups.

Q: How does AWS Backup’s lifecycle feature work?

A: For AWS services that introduce backup functionality built on AWS Backup, such as Amazon EFS, AWS Backup provides a lifecycle feature that allows you to automatically transition your recovery points from a warm storage tier backed by Amazon S3 that provides millisecond access time to your backups to a lower-cost cold storage tier backed by Glacier that provides a restore time of 3-5 hours.

Q: How does encryption work in AWS Backup?

A: Backups from AWS services that introduce backup functionality built on AWS Backup, such as Amazon EFS, are encrypted in-transit and at-rest independently from the source services, giving your backups an additional layer of protection. Encryption is configured at the Backup Vault level. Backups from services with existing backup capabilities are encrypted using the source service’s backup encryption methodology. For example, EBS snapshots are encrypted using the encryption key of the volume the snapshot was created from.

Q: How do I use access policies in a Backup Vault to control access to backups

A: AWS Backup allows you to set resource-based policies on Backup Vaults, enabling you to control access to the Backup Vault and the backups in it.

Q: What services provide support for AWS Backup’s advanced features?

A: Amazon EFS supports AWS Backup’s advanced features with backup functionality integrated with AWS Backup.

Compliance

Q:  Which compliance programs does AWS Backup support?

A: AWS has the longest-running compliance program in the cloud and are committed to helping customers navigate their requirements. AWS Backup has been assessed to meet global and industry security standards. It complies with PCI DSS, ISO 9001, 27001, 27017, and 27018), in addition to being HIPAA eligible. That makes it easier for you to verify our security and meet your own obligations. For more information and resources, visit our compliance pages. You can also go to the Services in Scope by Compliance Program page to see a full list of services and certifications.

Q: Is AWS Backup PCI compliant?

A: Yes. AWS Backup is PCI-DSS compliant, which means you can use it to transfer payment information. You can download the PCI Compliance Package in AWS Artifact to learn more about how to achieve PCI Compliance on AWS.

Q: Is AWS Backup HIPAA eligible?

A: Yes. AWS Backup is HIPAA eligible, which means if you have a HIPAA BAA in place with AWS, you can use AWS Backup to tranfer protected health information (PHI).

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
Learn more about pricing

There are no upfront costs to use AWS Backup, and you pay only for the resources you use.

Learn more 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
Start building in the console

Get started building with AWS Backup in the AWS Console.

Sign in