HIPAA

概览

HIPAA-sized

越来越多的医疗保健服务提供商、付款人和 IT 专业人士都在使用 AWS 基于实用程序的云服务来处理、存储和传输受保护的健康信息 (PHI)。

AWS 让受美国《1996 年健康保险流通与责任法案》(HIPAA) 约束的实体及其商业伙伴可以利用安全的 AWS 环境来处理、维护和存储受保护的健康信息。

有关如何利用 AWS 处理和存储健康信息的详细信息,请参阅白皮书在 Amazon Web Services 上设计符合 HIPAA 安全性和合规性要求的架构

AWS 医疗保健与生命科学客户

  • 什么是 HIPAA 和 HITECH?

    《1996 年健康保险流通与责任法案》(HIPAA) 这项立法的目的在于使美国工人在跳槽或失业后更容易继续享受健康保险。该法案还力图推动电子健康记录的采用,以便通过加强信息共享来提高美国医疗保健系统的效率和质量。

    在推动采用电子病历的同时,HIPAA 还加入了相关规定来保障受保护健康信息 (PHI) 的安全性和隐私性。PHI 包含一系列非常广泛的可识别个人身份的健康数据和健康相关数据,包括保险和账单信息、诊断数据、临床护理数据、影像等实验室结果以及测试结果。HIPAA 的条例适用于所涉实体,其中包括直接接触病人并处理病人数据的医院、医疗服务提供商、由雇主赞助的健康计划、研究机构和保险公司。HIPAA 还将保护 PHI 这一要求的适用范围扩大到了商业伙伴。

    随着 2009 年经济与临床健康信息技术法案 (HITECH) 的颁布,HIPPA 条例得到了进一步的扩充。HIPAA 和 HITECH 共同建立起了一套联邦标准,意在保障 PHI 的安全性和隐私性。这些条款包含在称为“简化管理”的规则中。HIPAA 和 HITECH 强制推行使用和披露 PHI 的相关要求、保护 PHI 的适当安全措施、个人权利和管理责任。

    有关 HIPAA 和 HITECH 如何保护健康信息的更多信息,请参阅美国卫生及公共服务部门的健康信息隐私网页。

  • 什么是 HITRUST?

    健康信息信任联盟 (HITRUST) 自身对其共同安全框架 (CSF) 的解释是,“是一个可认证的框架,为各企业提供了一种全面、灵活、高效的法律合规和风险管理方法。HITRUST CSF 由医疗保健和信息安全专业人士协作开发,将医疗保健相关法规和标准合理地整合至单个包罗万象的安全框架之中。”

    HITRUST CSF 有助于统一联邦法律(如 HIPAA 和 HITECH)、州法律(如马萨诸塞州的联邦居民个人信息保护标准)和非政府框架(如 PCI 安全标准理事会)的诸多安全控制措施,形成针对医疗保健需求专门设计的单个框架。

    AWS 提供一个可扩展且成本较低的可靠计算平台,能够以符合 HIPAA、HITECH 和 HITRUST CSF 要求的方式为医疗保健客户的应用程序提供支持。

  • 什么是商业伙伴增订合约?

    根据 HIPAA 法规的规定,AWS 等云服务提供商 (CSP) 被视作商业伙伴。商业伙伴增订合约 (BAA) 是 HIPAA 条例要求的 AWS 合同,用于确保 AWS 以适当的方式保护受保护的健康信息 (PHI)。BAA 还会根据 AWS 和客户之间的关系以及 AWS 所执行的活动或提供的服务,恰当地阐明和限制 AWS 对 PHI 的使用和披露权限。

  • AWS 是否会按照 HIPAA 法规和条例的规定签署商业伙伴增订合约?

    是。我们会将 AWS 的标准商业伙伴增订合约 (BAA) 提供给客户让他们签署。该增订合约涵盖 AWS 提供的特色服务,并采用 AWS 责任共担模型

    要查看、接受和管理您账户的 BAA 状态,请在 AWS 管理控制台中登录 AWS Artifact。如果无法访问您的账户,请向您的管理员申请免费 IAM 账户并请求访问 Artifact IAM 策略

    分步视频
    查看错误消息?
    离线 BAA
    终止在线 BAA
  • AWS 是否通过了 HIPAA 认证?

    没有面向 AWS 等云服务提供商 (CSP) 的 HIPAA 认证。为了满足适用于我们的运营模型的 HIPAA 要求,AWS 根据 FedRAMP 和 NIST 800-53(它们是与 HIPAA 安全规则相对应的更高安全标准)调整了 HIPAA 风险管理计划。NIST 支持这种对应,并发布了 SP 800-66,这是一个“实施 HIPAA 安全规则的介绍性资源指南”的文档,说明了如何将 NIST 800-53 与 HIPAA 安全规则对应。

  • 如果与 AWS 签署了商业伙伴增订合约,我可以通过 AWS 账户使用哪些服务?

    客户可以通过被指定为 HIPAA 账户的账户使用任何 AWS 服务,但他们只能通过商业伙伴增订合约 (BAA) 中规定的符合 HIPAA 要求的服务处理、存储和传输受保护的健康信息。有关符合 HIPAA 要求的最新 AWS 服务列表,请参阅符合 HIPAA 要求的服务参考网页。

    AWS 采用基于标准的风险管理计划来确保符合 HIPAA 要求的服务明确支持 HIPAA 法案要求的安全、控制和管理程序。如果使用这些服务来存储和处理 PHI,客户和 AWS 就能成功满足适用于我们基于效用的运营模型的 HIPAA 要求。AWS 优先考量客户需求,并据此增加新的合格服务。

    有关商业伙伴计划的更多信息,或申请符合要求的新服务,请联系我们

  • 我是已签署 BAA 的 AWS SaaS 合作伙伴,向医疗保健服务提供商或其他所涉实体销售 SaaS 解决方案。这些所涉实体是否也需要与 AWS 签署 BAA?

    否。这种情况很常见,有很多 HIPAA 解决方案合作伙伴在 AWS 中运行他们的软件即服务 (SaaS) 产品。您以 AWS SaaS 合作伙伴的身份与 AWS 签署商业伙伴增订合约 (BAA)。每个医疗保健服务提供商或所涉实体只需与您,即 AWS SaaS 合作伙伴签署 BAA。如果使用 SaaS 解决方案的所涉实体同时也是 AWS HIPAA 相关系统的直接客户,那么,该实体可能需要分别与您和 AWS 签署 BAA。

  • AWS HIPAA 合规性计划是否需要我使用 Amazon EC2 专用实例或专用主机来处理受保护的健康信息?

    已与 AWS 签署商业伙伴增订合约 (BAA) 的 AWS 客户和 Amazon 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 合作伙伴不需要使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 专用实例或专用主机来处理受保护的健康信息 (PHI)。在 2017 年 5 月 15 日之前,AWS HIPAA 合规性计划要求使用 Amazon EC2 处理 PHI 的客户必须使用专用实例或专用主机,但我们已经取消了这项要求。

compliance-contactus-icon
有问题? 联系 AWS 业务代表
想要提供合规性服务?
立即申请 »
想要了解 AWS 合规性动态?
在 Twitter 上关注我们 »

HIPAA

Overview

HIPAA-sized

A growing number of healthcare providers, payers, and IT professionals are using AWS's utility-based cloud services to process, store, and transmit protected health information (PHI).

AWS enables covered entities and their business associates subject to the U.S. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) to use the secure AWS environment to process, maintain, and store protected health information.

For detailed information about how you can use AWS for the processing and storage of health information, see the whitepaper Architecting for HIPAA Security and Compliance on Amazon Web Services.

AWS Healthcare and Life Sciences Customers

  • What are HIPAA & HITECH?

    The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) is legislation that is designed to make it easier for US workers to retain health insurance coverage when they change or lose their jobs. The legislation also seeks to encourage electronic health records to improve the efficiency and quality of the US healthcare system through improved information sharing.

    Along with increasing the use of electronic medical records, HIPAA includes provisions to protect the security and privacy of protected health information (PHI). PHI includes a very wide set of personally identifiable health and health-related data, including insurance and billing information, diagnosis data, clinical care data, and lab results such as images and test results. The HIPAA rules apply to covered entities, which include hospitals, medical services providers, employer sponsored health plans, research facilities, and insurance companies that deal directly with patients and patient data. The HIPAA requirement to protect PHI also extends to business associates.

    Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH) expanded the HIPAA rules in 2009. HIPAA and HITECH together establish a set of federal standards intended to protect the security and privacy of PHI. These provisions are included in what are known as the "Administrative Simplification" rules. HIPAA and HITECH impose requirements related to the use and disclosure of PHI, appropriate safeguards to protect PHI, individual rights, and administrative responsibilities.

    For more information about how HIPAA and HITECH protect health information, see the Health Information Privacy webpage from the US Department of Health and Human Services.

  • What is HITRUST?

    The Health Information Trust Alliance (HITRUST) Common Security Framework (CSF) in their own words, "is a certifiable framework that provides organizations with a comprehensive, flexible and efficient approach to regulatory compliance and risk management. Developed in collaboration with healthcare and information security professionals, the HITRUST CSF rationalizes healthcare-relevant regulations and standards into a single overarching security framework."

    The HITRUST CSF serves to unify security controls from federal law (such as HIPAA and HITECH), state law (such as Massachusetts’s Standards for the Protection of Personal Information of Residents of the Commonwealth), and non-governmental frameworks (such as the PCI Security Standards Council) into a single framework that is tailored for healthcare needs.

    AWS provides a reliable, scalable, and inexpensive computing platform that can support healthcare customers' applications in a manner consistent with HIPAA, HITECH, and HITRUST CSF.

  • What is a Business Associate Addendum?

    Under the HIPAA regulations, cloud service providers (CSPs) such as AWS are considered business associates. The Business Associate Addendum (BAA) is an AWS contract that is required under HIPAA rules to ensure that AWS appropriately safeguards protected health information (PHI). The BAA also serves to clarify and limit, as appropriate, the permissible uses and disclosures of PHI by AWS, based on the relationship between AWS and our customers, and the activities or services being performed by AWS.

  • Will AWS sign a Business Associate Addendum as described in the HIPAA rules and regulations?

    Yes. AWS has a standard Business Associate Addendum (BAA) we present to customers for signature. It takes into account the unique services AWS provides and accommodates the AWS Shared Responsibility Model.

    To review, accept, and manage the status of the BAA for your account, sign in to AWS Artifact in the AWS Management Console. If you don’t have access to your account, request a free IAM account from your administrator and ask for access to Artifact IAM policies.

    Step-by-step: Learn how to use AWS Artifact to accept agreements for multiple accounts in your org. (2:07)

    See how to use AWS Artifact to accept an agreement for your account. (1:39)

  • Is AWS HIPAA certified?

    There is no HIPAA certification for a cloud service provider (CSP) such as AWS. In order to meet the HIPAA requirements applicable to our operating model, AWS aligns our HIPAA risk management program with FedRAMP and NIST 800-53, which are higher security standards that map to the HIPAA Security Rule. NIST supports this alignment and has issued SP 800-66 An Introductory Resource Guide for Implementing the HIPAA Security Rule, which documents how NIST 800-53 aligns to the HIPAA Security Rule.

  • What services can I use in my AWS account if I have a Business Associate Addendum with AWS?

    Customers may use any AWS service in an account designated as a HIPAA account, but they should only process, store, and transmit protected health information (PHI) in the HIPAA-eligible services defined in the Business Associate Addendum (BAA). For the latest list of HIPAA-eligible AWS services, see the HIPAA Eligible Services Reference webpage.

    AWS follows a standards-based risk management program to ensure that the HIPAA-eligible services specifically support the security, control, and administrative processes required under HIPAA. Using these services to store and process PHI allows our customers and AWS to address the HIPAA requirements applicable to our utility-based operating model. AWS prioritizes and adds new eligible services based on customer demand.

    For more information about our business associate program, or to request new eligible services, please contact us.

  • I am an AWS SaaS partner with a BAA and I sell my SaaS solutions to healthcare providers or other covered entities. Do those covered entities also need to sign a BAA with AWS?

    No. This is a very common scenario and many HIPAA solution partners run their Software as a Service (SaaS) offerings in AWS. You as the AWS SaaS partner sign a Business Associate Addendum (BAA) with AWS. Then each healthcare provider or covered entity signs a BAA only with you, the AWS SaaS partner. If the covered entity using your SaaS solutions is also a direct customer of AWS for HIPAA-related systems, then the covered entity may need one BAA with you and another BAA with AWS.

  • Does the AWS HIPAA compliance program require me to use Amazon EC2 Dedicated Instances or Dedicated Hosts to process protected health information?

    AWS customers and Amazon Partner Network (APN) Partners who have signed a Business Associate Addendum (BAA) with AWS are not required to use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Dedicated Instances or Dedicated Hosts to process protected health information (PHI). Prior to May 15, 2017, the AWS HIPAA compliance program required that customers who processed PHI using Amazon EC2 must use Dedicated Instances or Dedicated Hosts, but this requirement has been removed.

compliance-contactus-icon
Have Questions? Connect with an AWS Compliance Representative
Exploring compliance roles?
Apply today »
Want AWS Compliance updates?
Follow us on Twitter »