大多数竞争性数据仓库解决方案每年将花费我们高达 1000000 USD 的成本。相比之下,Amazon Redshift 总共只需花费我们 100000 USD,这代表着将近节约 90% 的总成本。 
Joel Cumming 数据部主管

2009 年,一群来自加拿大滑铁卢大学的天赋异禀的学生创建了 Kik Interactive。目前,有超过 2.75 亿订阅者在使用该公司的消息收发服务 Kik Messenger,这些订阅者主要来自美国。除了免费提供一系列的文本、图片和视频消息收发服务以外,Kik Messenger 还具有可搜索并访问 Web 内容的集成式浏览器。Kik 还提供开发人员工具,支持组织在自己的平台上为订阅者优化和分发 Web 内容。

要留住现有的订阅者和推动可持续发展,Kik 需要确保其消息收发服务快速、响应及时且对订阅者持续可用。Kik DevOps 团队主管 Chris Fairles 说:“我们的订阅者依赖我们为其实时发送消息,这是我们非常重视的一项责任。要使我们的服务尽可能地好,我们投资了足够可靠、安全和灵活的技术,以满足订阅者不断变化的需求。”

至于其他挑战,Kik 必须倾听订阅者的声音,确保其需求能够通过最新的产品增强功能得到满足。“我们拥有大量有关我们的客户及其如何使用我们服务的数据,但是这些数据通常封存在公司的日志文件或其他系统中。”Fairles 说,“要将这些数据转变为真实的业务洞察力,并确保我们所有的开发决策有确凿的依据,我们大力投资了最新的大数据技能和技术。”

要提供最佳订阅者体验,Kik 结合使用了托管在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云上的内部服务器和基础设施。Fairles 说:“我们使用 AWS 为用户提供从配置文件图片和图片消息收发,到视频消息收发与账户管理在内的一系列功能。”

Kik 的 AWS 架构融合了 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 和 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC),并使用 Amazon CloudFormation 按需预置和部署基于云的基础设施。“借助 AWS CloudFormation,我们采用了我们称之为‘微服务’的架构,将所有的 AWS 基础设施定义为代码。”Fairles 这样说,“在不久的将来,我们还将采用 Amazon CodeDeploy,让我们能够快速和轻松地加速实现 IT 堆栈标准化,且几乎不需要任何人力。”

借助 AWS,Kik 还能为订阅者提供快速、响应及时的服务体验。“我们使用 Amazon Direct Connect 加快内部服务器场和 AWS 云之间的数据交换,这可以最大限度地缩短延迟和减少抖动。”Fairles 说,“我们还使用 Amazon CloudFrontAmazon Route 53 为最靠近订阅者的边缘点交付内容,使我们的应用程序速度飞快且响应及时,无论用户身处何处。”

通过此微服务架构,Kik 还在 AWS 上创建了一款精密的数据分析平台,以便为业务提供全新的增值洞察力和优化订阅者体验。这一切均以 Amazon EC2、Amazon S3、Amazon VPC 为基础,并由 Amazon Redshift 提供核心数据仓库功能。

用于分析活动的源数据最初来自数百 TB 量级的日志文件数据,这些数据之前存储在 Amazon S3 存储桶中。Amazon Elastic Map Reduce (Amazon EMR) 和 Hadoop Pig 脚本用于概括和处理日志文件,然后将其载入 Amazon Redshift,日志文件会在其中进一步压缩。“从开始的 500TB 来看,我们现在只需管理 50TB 的数据,这让我们的工作变得极其简单。”

Kik 的 AWS 基础设施融合了 Auto Scaling,让公司以更加经济实惠的方式交付消息收发服务和其他内容,而且只需为其所用使用的计算和存储资源付费。“我们的 AWS 架构可在高峰流量时段自动扩展,并在流量平稳时再次收缩。”Fairles 说,“这意味着,我们只需为自己使用的计算和存储资源付费,从而使我们的业务比当前产生更多的利润。”

Kik 还可以借助 AWS 为订阅者优化服务可用性。“AWS 架构的每个组件都是完全冗余的,这意味着,即便发生重大技术中断,我们也可以保持服务的在线状态。”Fairles 说,“我们还使用 AWS 中的多个可用区域确保应用程序对订阅者持续可用,即便整个 AWS 数据中心变得不可用。” 

借助 Amazon Redshift,Kik Interactive 能够从客户和运营数据中解锁有价值的见解。Kik 数据主管 Joel 说:“我们可以看到不同类型的用户如何使用我们的服务,并以此确定他们的需求和偏好。然后,我们可以使用该洞察信息发布新的开发项目,解决服务难题,锁定新市场,交付个性化体验,以及最大限度减少客户流失。”

借助 Amazon Redshift,我们能够以较低的成本获得此洞察力,从而消除内部硬件、软件和支持要求。“考虑到购买成本、日常维护和支持,大多数竞争性数据仓库解决方案每年需花费我们高达 1000000 USD。”Cumming 说,“相比之下,Amazon Redshift 总共只需花费我们 100000 USD,这代表着将近节约 90% 的总成本。”

最近,零成本 Redshift 硬件升级使得 Kik 在数据仓库性能上实现了 30% 的提升。“AWS 可持续升级其平台,支持我们按照比以往任何时候都要快的速度为企业提供更多见解。”Cumming 说,“因此,我们可以从更多来源收集更多数据,并获得对客户需求的全新见解,所有这些只需较少的资源即可实现。”

最近,Kik 部署了 AWS Lambda,Cumming 将其描述为该公司数据分析的“新前线”。“我们非常激动”,他表示。“AWS Lambda 可自动预置我们所需的基础设施以运行我们没有的数据科学应用程序。因此,我们无需将时间花费在照看服务器上,而是可以重点关注我们的强项,即,提供业务见解和提升用户体验。”

在 AWS Lambda 的帮助下,Kik 正在部署 Amazon API GatewayAmazon DynamoDB,让内部服务能够跨整个公司即时访问所需的数据。“API Gateway 可使我们非常快速地在自己的产品内构建复杂的统计模型和个性化。”Cumming 说,“我们在 DynamoDB、Lambda 和 API Gateway 上极其快速地构建了内部 Data API 的首次迭代,现在,Kik 中的服务可以按一种在过去绝不可能的方式实现个性化和扩展。”

要了解关于 AWS 如何帮助您降低数据管理成本的更多信息,请访问我们的大数据详细信息页面

Most competing data warehousing solutions would have cost us up to $1 million a year. By contrast, Amazon Redshift costs us just $100,000 all-in, representing a total cost savings of around 90%. 
Joel Cumming Head of Data

In 2009, a group of talented students from the University of Waterloo in Canada created Kik Interactive. The company’s messaging service, Kik Messenger, is now used by more than 275 million subscribers, mostly in the U.S. In addition to providing a range of text, picture, and video-messaging functionality free of charge, Kik Messenger has an integrated browser for searching and accessing web content. Kik also offers developer tools that allow organizations to optimize and distribute their web content to subscribers on its platform.  

To retain existing subscribers and to drive sustainable growth, Kik needs to ensure that its messaging service is fast, responsive, and constantly available for subscribers. Chris Fairles, head of the Kik DevOps team, says, “Our subscribers depend on us to deliver their messages in real time every time, and it’s a responsibility we take very seriously. To make our services as good as they can be, we invest in technologies that are reliable, secure, and flexible enough to meet subscribers’ changing needs.”

As an additional challenge, Kik must listen to its subscribers and make sure that their needs are being met with the latest product enhancements. “We have lots of data about customers and how they use our services, but this is often locked away in log files or other systems around the company,” says Fairles. “To convert this data into real business insight, and to ensure that all our development decisions are based on solid evidence, we are investing heavily in the latest big data techniques and technologies.”

To provide the best subscriber experience, Kik uses a combination of in-house servers and infrastructure hosted on the Amazon Web Services (AWS) cloud. Fairles says, “We use AWS to deliver a range of functionality for our users, from profile pictures and picture messaging, to video messaging and account management.”

Kik’s AWS architecture incorporates Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), with Amazon CloudFormation used to provision and deploy cloud-based infrastructure on demand. “Using AWS CloudFormation, we have adopted what we call a ‘microservice’ architecture, with all our AWS infrastructure defined as code,” says Fairles. “In the near future, we will also adopt Amazon CodeDeploy, which will enable us to spin up standardized IT stacks quickly and easily, with virtually no manual effort.”

With AWS, Kik is also able to deliver a fast, responsive service experience for subscribers. “We use Amazon Direct Connect to speed up data exchange between our internal server farm and the AWS cloud, which minimizes latency and jitter,” says Fairles. “We also use Amazon CloudFront and Amazon Route 53 to deliver content to the edge points closest to subscribers, which makes our application super-fast and responsive wherever users are.”

Using the microservice architecture, Kik has also created a sophisticated data analytics platform on AWS to provide new, value-added insight to the business and to optimize the subscriber experience. This is based on Amazon EC2, Amazon S3, and Amazon VPC, with Amazon Redshift providing the core data warehousing functionality.

Source data for the analytics activities originally came from hundreds of terabytes of log file data that was previously stored in Amazon S3 buckets. Amazon Elastic Map Reduce (Amazon EMR) and Hadoop Pig scripts were used to summarize and process the log files before they were loaded into Amazon Redshift, where they were compressed still further. “From our starting point of 500 terabytes, we now have 50 terabytes of data under management, which makes our job so much easier.”  

Kik’s AWS infrastructure, which incorporates Auto Scaling, enables the company to deliver messaging services and other content much more cost-effectively and pay only for the compute and storage resources it uses. “Our AWS architecture scales up automatically during peak traffic times, and down again when things get quieter,” says Fairles. “This means we pay only for the compute and storage resources we use, which makes our business far more profitable than it would otherwise be.”

Kik has also been able to optimize service availability for subscribers with AWS. “Every component of our AWS architecture is fully redundant, which means we can keep services online even if there’s a major technology disruption,” says Fairles. “We also use multiple Availability Zones in AWS to ensure that our application is constantly available for subscribers, even if an entire AWS data center should become unavailable.”  

With Amazon Redshift, Kik Interactive is able to unlock valuable insights from its customer and operational data. Joel Cumming, head of data at Kik, says, “We can see how different types of users are engaging with our services and identify their needs and preferences. We can then use this insight to inform new development projects, address service issues, target new markets, deliver a personalized experience, and minimize customer churn.”

Gaining this insight is much less expensive with Amazon Redshift, which eliminates in-house hardware, software, and support requirements. “Most competing data warehousing solutions would have cost us up to $1 million a year, factoring in purchase costs and ongoing maintenance and support,” says Cumming. “By contrast, Amazon Redshift costs us just $100,000 all-in, representing a total cost saving of around 90 percent.”

Recently, a zero-cost Redshift hardware upgrade enabled Kik to achieve a 30 percent uplift in data warehousing performance. “AWS is constantly upgrading its platform, allowing us to deliver more insight to the business much faster than was previously possible,” says Cumming. “As a result, we can collect more data from more sources and gain new insights into customer needs—all with fewer resources.”

Recently, Kik has deployed AWS Lambda, which Cumming describes as the “next frontier” for data analytics at the company. “We’re really excited,” he says. “AWS Lambda automatically provisions the infrastructure we need to run our data science applications so we don’t have to. Instead of spending our time looking after servers, we can focus on what we do best—delivering insight to the business and improving the experience for our users.”

Alongside AWS Lambda, Kik is employing Amazon API Gateway and Amazon DynamoDB, which give internal services across the company instant access to the data they need. “API Gateway has enabled us to very quickly surface complex statistical models and personalization within our product,” says Cumming. “We built the first iteration of our internal Data API on DynamoDB, Lambda, and API Gateway extremely quickly, and now services within Kik can be personalized and scale in a way not possible in the past.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you reduce the cost of data management, visit our Big Data details page.