《个人健康信息隐私和访问法案》

(新布伦兹维克省)

概览

compliance-privacy-pipeda-canada
Flag-New-Brunswick

《个人健康信息隐私和访问法案》(NB PHIPAA) 和一般要求是新不伦瑞克省的隐私法规,适用于由保管人保管或控制的个人健康信息的收集、使用、披露和保护。

客户始终可以控制其如何管理和访问存储在 AWS 上的内容。AWS 无法看到或了解客户上传至其网络的内容,也不确定这些数据是否受 NB PHIPAA 法规制约,因此客户有责任确保自己符合 NB PHIPAA 法规。AWS 客户可以设计和实现 AWS 环境,并以履行 NB PHIPAA 规定的义务的方式使用 AWS 服务。

AWS 加拿大(中部)区域目前可以提供多种服务,包括 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 和 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)。有关 AWS 区域和服务的完整列表,请访问全球基础设施页面。各项服务的详情页面上提供了加拿大区域的定价,您可以通过我们的产品与服务页面查找相关服务。

  • 什么是 PIPEDA?什么是 NB PHIPAA? 这两项法律之间有何关系?

    《个人信息保护及电子文档法案》(PIPEDA) 是一项加拿大联邦法律,适用于加拿大各省份商业活动中个人信息的收集、使用和披露。某些加拿大省份还通过了自己针对公共和私有部门的一般隐私法律,以及特定于个人健康信息的隐私法律。S.N.B 在 2009 年出台的《个人健康信息隐私和访问法案》第 P-7.05 章(NB PHIPAA) 是新不伦瑞克省 (NB) 的隐私法律,适用于新不伦瑞克省内特定组织和个人(在 NB PHIPAA 中被称为“保管人”)对个人健康信息的收集、使用、披露和保护,以及为保护这些信息应采取的措施。NB PHIPAA 适用于个人健康信息,其在 NB PHIPAA 中的定义是“口头或记录形式的个人识别信息,该信息 (a) 涉及个人的身体或精神健康、家族史或医疗史,包括个人的遗传信息;(b) 是个人的注册信息,包括个人的医保号码;(c) 涉及向个人提供医疗保健服务;(d) 涉及个人的医疗保健付款或资格,或个人的医疗保健保险资格;(e) 涉及个人捐赠其任何身体部位或身体物质,或源自对任何身体部位或身体物质的测试或检验;(f) 可以识别个人的替代决策者,或者;(g) 可以识别个人的医疗保健服务提供商。” “保管人”是指“收集、维护或使用个人健康信息来提供或协助提供医疗保健或治疗服务、规划和管理医疗保健系统或者提供政府计划或服务的个人或组织”,其中包括非保管人代理或雇员的公共机构和医疗保健提供商,以及 NB PHIPAA 中定义的其他个人或组织。

    AWS 客户是否受到 PIPEDA、NB PHIPAA 或任何其他加拿大省级隐私要求的制约以及制约程度,取决于客户经营的业务。

    其他组织可能也受到 PIPEDA 或省级隐私法律的制约。有关 PIPEDA 的更多信息,请点击这里访问 AWS 网站。

    客户应咨询其法律顾问,了解应该遵守哪些隐私法律。

  • 客户如何在 AWS 上遵守 NB PHIPAA?

    AWS 客户可以设计和实现 AWS 环境,并以履行 NB PHIPAA 规定的义务的方式使用 AWS 服务。

    受 NB PHIPAA 制约的客户可能需要遵守与个人健康信息的收集、访问、使用、披露和保护相关的要求。AWS 允许客户在使用 AWS 服务时控制其内容的存储或处理方式,包括控制如何保护内容以及哪些人可以访问内容。AWS 提供客户可以配置和使用的服务,以帮助保护他们存储在 AWS 上的个人健康信息,而客户应负责构建符合适用隐私要求的解决方案。

    请注意,没有官方认可的 NB PHIPAA 合规性“认证”,实体无法像获得 SOC、PCI 或 FedRAMP 认证或授权一样获得相应的 NB PHIPAA 认证。不过,AWS 向客户提供大量与 AWS 构建和实施的策略、流程和控制措施相关的信息。AWS 在 AWS 合规资源页面上提供了手册、白皮书和最佳实践指南,客户可以根据需要访问 AWS Artifact 中的 AWS 第三方审计报告。

  • AWS 是否会访问客户存储在 AWS 上的个人健康信息?

    客户始终可以控制其如何管理和访问存储在 AWS 上的内容。AWS 提供一组先进的访问、加密和日志记录功能,来帮助客户管理访问和内容。AWS 不会访问或披露客户内容,除非收到客户指示,或法律要求或具有管辖权的政府或监管部门发布的有效并具有约束力的指令要求。除非法律禁止或有明确的迹象表明 AWS 服务的使用中存在非法行为,否则 AWS 会在披露客户内容之前通知客户,以便客户寻求保护。有关更多信息,请访问数据隐私常见问题

  • NB PHIPAA 是否禁止 AWS 客户在新不伦瑞克省外或加拿大境外传输或存储数据?

    客户应就遵守隐私法律问题咨询其法律顾问。NB PHIPAA 法律可能要求保管人制定特定措施来保护他们保管或控制的个人健康信息,例如行政、技术和物理保障措施。在新不伦瑞克省外存储、访问、使用或披露的个人健康信息在新不伦瑞克省外进行此类存储、使用或披露之前可能需要履行 NB PHIPAA 中规定的某些义务。每位客户都有责任确定他们在新不伦瑞克省外或加拿大境外传输和存储数据是否符合 NB PHIPAA 规定的安全和隐私义务。

    AWS 客户应考虑 PIPEDA 或加拿大其他省份的法律是否适用,并查看这些法律,了解数据驻留限制。AWS 客户选择存储其客户内容的区域。未经客户同意,AWS 不会将客户内容移动或复制到客户所选区域之外。

  • NB PHIPAA 是否要求加密个人健康信息?

    NB PHIPAA 中没有与加密个人健康信息有关的具体要求。但是,受 NB PHIPAA 制约的实体必须采取措施保护个人信息,且每位客户都有责任确定加密是否适合履行其安全义务。作为一种最佳实践,AWS 建议始终对处于静态和传输中的个人健康信息实施加密。

  • 客户如何获得信息来完成与使用 AWS 有关的隐私影响评估?

    AWS 提供大量材料,帮助客户了解 AWS 环境和安全控制措施。AWS 为客户提供按需访问 AWS Artifact 中的第三方审计报告(例如 SOC 1 和 SOC 2 报告)的权限。AWS 也在 AWS 合规资源页面,提供有关以安全方式在 AWS 上运行工作负载的手册、白皮书和最佳实践。

  • 客户如何实施他们在 AWS 中的环境的审计和日志记录?

    作为责任共担模型的一部分,客户应该考虑以符合合规性要求的方式,在 AWS 环境中实施审计和日志记录。AWS 提供的服务可以帮助简化可扩展日志记录和日志分析架构的实施。在 AWS Marketplace 中,AWS 也拥有众多提供安全日志记录解决方案的合作伙伴。请参考此 AWS 安全日志记录功能页面,了解有关如何在 AWS 上实施日志记录的更多信息。

  • 您可以提供加拿大境内使用 AWS 的其他医疗保健机构的示例吗?

    您可以阅读我们的最新博客,了解加拿大医疗保健行业的趋势。您可以在此处查看有关 AWS 云中医疗保健合规性的更多信息。

compliance-contactus-icon
有问题? 联系 AWS 业务代表
想要提供合规性服务?
立即申请 »
想要了解 AWS 合规性动态?
在 Twitter 上关注我们 »

Personal Health Information Privacy and Access Act

(New Brunswick)

Overview

compliance-privacy-pipeda-canada
Flag-New-Brunswick

The Personal Health Information Privacy and Access Act (NB PHIPAA) and the General Requirements is privacy legislation in New Brunswick that applies to the collection, use, disclosure and protection of personal health information that is in the custody or under the control of a custodian.

Customers are always in control of how they manage and access their content stored on AWS. AWS does not have visibility into or knowledge of what customers are uploading onto its network, including whether or not that data is deemed subject to NB PHIPAA legislation, and customers are responsible for ensuring their own NB PHIPAA compliance. AWS customers can design and implement an AWS environment, and use AWS services in a manner that satisfies their obligations under NB PHIPAA.

The AWS Canada (Central) Region is currently available for multiple services, including Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS). For a complete list of AWS Regions and services, visit the Global Infrastructure page. Canada Region pricing is available on the detail page of each service, which can be found through our products and services page.

  • What is PIPEDA and what is NB PHIPAA? What is the relationship between these laws?

    The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (“PIPEDA”) is a Canadian federal law that applies to the collection, use, and disclosure of personal information in the course of commercial activities in all Canadian provinces. Certain Canadian provinces have also adopted their own general privacy laws for both the public and private sector, as well as privacy laws specific to personal health information. The Personal Health Information Privacy and Access Act, S.N.B. 2009, c. P-7.05 (“NB PHIPAA”) is privacy law in New Brunswick (“NB”), which applies to the collection, use, disclosure and protection of personal health information by particular organizations and individuals (referred to as a “custodian” under NB PHIPAA) within New Brunswick, and the measures to be taken to safeguard such information. NB PHIPAA applies to personal health information which is defined under NB PHIPAA as “identifying information about an individual in oral or recorded form if the information (a) relates to the individual’s physical or mental health, family history or health care history, including genetic information about the individual; (b) is the individual’s registration information, including the Medicare number of the individual; (c) relates to the provision of health care to the individual; (d) relates to information about payments or eligibility for health care in respect of the individual, or eligibility for coverage for health care in respect of the individual; (e) relates to the donation by the individual of any body part or bodily substance of the individual or is derived from the testing or examination of any body part or bodily substance; (f) identifies the individual’s substitute decision-maker, or; (g) identifies an individual’s health care provider.” A “custodian” means “an individual or organization that collects, maintains or uses personal health information for the purpose of providing or assisting in the provision of health care or treatment or the planning and management of the health care system or delivering a government program or service” and includes public bodies and health care providers who are not agents or employees of a custodian, among others as defined in NB PHIPAA.

    Whether, and the extent to which, an AWS customer is subject to PIPEDA, NB PHIPAA or any other Canadian provincial privacy requirements may vary depending on the customer’s business.

    Other organizations may be subject to PIPEDA or provincial privacy laws as well. For more information about PIPEDA, please visit the AWS website here.

    Customers should consult their own legal advisors to understand the privacy laws to which they are subject.

  • How can customers comply with NB PHIPAA on AWS?

    AWS customers can design and implement an AWS environment, and use AWS services in a manner that satisfies their obligations under NB PHIPAA.

    Customers that are subject to NB PHIPAA may have to comply with requirements relating to the collection, access, use, disclosure and protection of personal health information. AWS gives customers control over how their content is stored or processed when using AWS services, including control over how that content is secured and who can access that content. AWS provides services that customers can configure and use to aid in the security of personal health information they store on AWS, and it is the responsibility of the customer to architect a solution that meets applicable privacy requirements.

    Note that there is no officially recognized “certification” for NB PHIPAA compliance in the same way that an entity might be SOC, PCI, or FedRAMP certified or authorized. Instead, AWS offers its customers considerable information regarding the policies, processes, and controls established and operated by AWS. AWS provides workbooks, whitepapers, and best practice guides on our AWS Compliance Resources page and customers have on-demand access to the AWS third-party audit reports in AWS Artifact.

  • Does AWS access personal health information that customers put on AWS?

    Customers are always in control of how they manage and access their content stored on AWS. AWS provides an advanced set of access, encryption, and logging features to help customers manage their access and content. AWS does not access or disclose customer content unless at the direction of the customer, or if necessary to comply with the law or a legally valid and binding order of a governmental or regulatory body having jurisdiction. Unless AWS is legally prohibited from doing so or there is a clear indication of illegal conduct in connection with the use of AWS services, AWS notifies customers before disclosing customer content so they can seek protection from disclosure. For more information, visit our Data Privacy FAQ.

  • Does NB PHIPAA prohibit an AWS customer from having data in transit or at rest outside of New Brunswick or outside of Canada?

    Customers should consult their own legal advisors when seeking to comply with privacy laws. NB PHIPAA legislation may require custodians to put certain measures in place to protect personal health information in their custody or control such as administrative, technical and physical safeguards. Personal health information that is to be stored, accessed, used, or disclosed outside of New Brunswick may be subject to certain obligations under NB PHIPAA prior to such storage, use or disclosure outside of New Brunswick. It is the responsibility of each customer to determine whether transferring and storing data outside of New Brunswick or outside of Canada satisfies their security and privacy obligations under NB PHIPAA.

    AWS customers should consider whether PIPEDA or the laws of any other Canadian provinces may apply, and review such laws for any data residency limitations. AWS customers choose the region(s) in which their content will be stored. AWS will not move or replicate customer content outside of the customer’s chosen region(s) without the customer’s consent.

  • Does NB PHIPAA require that personal health information be encrypted?

    Under NB PHIPAA, there is no specific requirement to encrypt personal health information. However, entities subject to NB PHIPAA are required to take steps to safeguard personal information and it is the responsibility of each customer to determine whether encryption is appropriate to satisfy its security obligations. AWS recommends that personal health information always be encrypted at rest and in transit as a best practice.

  • How can customers get information to complete a Privacy Impact Assessment in connection with using AWS?

    AWS makes available a wide range of materials to help customers understand the AWS environment and security controls. AWS provides customers with on-demand access to third-party audit reports (such as our SOC 1 and SOC 2 reports) in AWS Artifact. AWS also provides workbooks, whitepapers, and best practices on our AWS Compliance Resources page about how to run workloads on AWS in a secure manner.

  • How do customers implement auditing and logging of their environment on AWS?

    As part of the Shared Responsibility Model, customers should consider implementing auditing and logging across their AWS environment in a manner sufficient to meet their compliance requirements. AWS offers services that make scalable logging and log analytics architectures simpler to implement. AWS also has a variety of partners in the AWS Marketplace that provide security logging solutions. Refer to this AWS Security-Logging Capabilities page for more information on how to implement logging on AWS.

  • Can you provide examples of other healthcare organizations in Canada utilizing AWS?

    You can read our latest blog about trends in Canadian healthcare. Additional information on healthcare compliance on the AWS Cloud can be found here.

compliance-contactus-icon
Have Questions? Connect with an AWS Business Representative
Exploring compliance roles?
Apply today »
Want AWS Compliance updates?
Follow us on Twitter »