通过使用 AWS 加快创新速度,我们可以为客户构建更出色的软件,以便他们可以专注于自己最关心的工作:对学习体验进行改革。

 

Nick Oddson 高级工程副总裁

Desire2Learn (D2L) 是一家致力于改善学习体验的软件公司。该公司的 Brightspace 是一款基于云的平台,非常易于使用、灵活且智能。借助 Brightspace,组织可以为每个学习者提供个性化体验,以交付真实的学习结果。该公司的平台可以预测学习者的表现,以便组织能够实时采取行动,确保学习者保持学习状态。Brightspace 可供高等教育学习者、K-12 以及企业部门 (包括“财富 1000 强”) 使用。D2L 在美国、加拿大、欧洲、澳大利亚、巴西和新加坡也有业务。

D2L 面临的最大挑战之一是确保其 Brightspace 应用程序的高可用性。公司高级工程副总裁 Nick Oddson 说:“我们有数百万名学生,应用程序离线时,简直就像学校的门被锁上而使学生无法进校一样。我们的所有应用程序都需要全天候运行且可供访问。”此外,D2L 必须支持季节性的应用程序使用高峰。“在整个学年内,我们的系统有数百万名用户以及成千上万的数据库查询。我们需要为其提供支持,同时也能在淡季流量较低时缩小规模。”

D2L 还面临着数据隐私方面的挑战。Oddson 说:“作为一家全球性公司,我们需要不断关注我们开展业务的所有国家/地区对学生数据保护的不同规定。这有点困难,因为规定时有变动,而且在不同的地区也有细微差别。”

为了保持创新,该组织需要能够敏捷地创建和提供新的应用程序功能和教育工具,以便满足客户的需求。“我们的目标是对教育体验进行改革,也就是更好地与学生互动并帮助教师更有效地教学,”Oddson 说,“为此,我们必须能够在部署新功能之前对其进行实验和快速试用。”

虽然 D2L 最初在数据中心内托管了应用程序,但在几年前,该公司决定迁移到云。“考虑到我们对可用性、安全性和敏捷性的需求,云似乎是最好的选择,”Oddson 说,“而一旦我们做出了这个决定,就必须要考虑使用最好的云技术。”对于 D2L 而言,答案无疑是 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。“AWS 是云计算行业中历史最悠久的,它具有最成熟的开发人员友好型环境。”他说。

D2L 在成百上千的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行其 Brightspace 平台和几十种其他学习应用程序。该组织使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶来存储其所有应用程序数据。

D2L 利用 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 来搜索和查询数据,并依赖 Amazon CloudFront 作为所有应用程序的全球内容交付网络 (CDN)。此外,该公司还利用 Elastic Load Balancing 来自动分配传入的应用程序流量,并利用 Auto Scaling 来自动增加或缩减实例。“使用 Elastic Load Balancing 和 Auto Scaling 之类的服务,我们可以无缝地自动控制可用性和计算可扩展性。”Oddson 说。

凭借 AWS,D2L 可以为其遍布全球的教育应用程序提供高可用性。“教育永不能停,所以,无论这数百万的学生和教师何时需要,我们的应用程序都要始终可用。”Oddson 说,“AWS 能够帮助我们确保高可用性和弹性,以便可以随时进行学习。”

此外,D2L 还可以根据一年中的不同时段扩大或缩小 Brightspace 及其他应用程序。Oddson 说:“使用 AWS,我们只需要关心实际使用的计算周期,而无需预置峰值负载,并且不会在学校放假的几个月使系统闲置。”

该公司还可以通过利用云来满足其数据安全要求。“借助 AWS,我们获得了世界级的安全和数据隐私系统。”Oddson 说,“我们的平台可以在全球范围内保持一致,安全级别没有任何差异,因为 AWS 为我们提供了可以满足所有安全需求的工具、最佳实践和建议。使用这些工具,我们可以实施客户所需的安全级别。”

现在,D2L 具有更快的创新灵活性。“实验在软件特别是教育软件中非常重要。”Oddson 说,“使用 AWS,我们可以在几分钟内启动开发和测试环境,而无需像之前一样花费几周时间来设置基础设施。这样一来,我们便可用更少的资金和精力更快地尝试新事物。”例如,一个 D2L 产品团队最近希望通过创建一种学生可以用来安排和管理课程的新工具,来改善学生的学习体验。“我们非常快速地构建了这种工具,而且能够在几周内进行部署并获得用户的反馈。”他说,“我们很容易在云中进行创新并开发这样的新工具。当我们发现有用的东西时,我们就可以在 AWS 上轻松快速地予以扩展。这切切实实地改变了我们能做的事情。”

由于能够更快速地开发和测试新应用程序功能,D2L 可以集中精力,更好地为教育行业提供服务。Oddson 说:“通过使用 AWS 加快创新速度,我们可以为客户构建更出色的软件,以便他们可以专注于自己最关心的工作:对学习体验进行改革。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您管理学习环境,请访问我们的面向教育的云计算详情页面。

By innovating faster using AWS, we can build better software for our customers, so they can do what they care most about: transforming the learning experience.

 

Nick Oddson Senior Vice President of Engineering

Desire2Learn (D2L) is a software company that makes learning experiences better. The company’s cloud-based platform, Brightspace, is designed to be easy to use, flexible, and smart. With Brightspace, organizations can personalize the experience for every learner to deliver real results. The company’s platform predicts learner performance so organizations can take action in real time to keep learners on track. Brightspace is used by learners in higher education, K-12, and the enterprise sector, including the Fortune 1000. D2L has operations in the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia, Brazil, and Singapore.

One of the biggest challenges facing D2L is ensuring high availability for its Brightspace application. “We reach millions of students, and when the application is offline, it’s almost like the school doors are locked and students can’t get in,” says Nick Oddson, the company’s senior vice president of engineering. “All our applications need to be accessible and working 24/7.” In addition, D2L must support seasonal application usage peaks. “During the school year, we have millions of users and hundreds of thousands of database queries on our system. We need to support that, while also scaling down for lower off-season traffic.”

D2L also faces challenges around data privacy. “As a global company, we need to stay on top of different regulations for student-data protection in all the countries we’re in,” Oddson says. “That gets difficult because the regulations change and there are nuances in different regions.”

To stay innovative, the organization needs the agility to create and deliver new application features and educational tools to meet customer demand. “Our goal is to transform education, which is all about engaging better with students and helping teachers deliver instruction more effectively,” says Oddson. “To do that, we have to be able to experiment and quickly try out new features before deploying them.”

Although D2L originally hosted its applications in a data center, the company decided to migrate to the cloud several years ago. “As we thought about our needs for availability, security, and agility, the cloud seemed like the best choice,” says Oddson. “Once we made that decision, we had to consider what the best cloud technology was.” For D2L, the answer was Amazon Web Services (AWS). “AWS has been in the cloud industry the longest, and it has the most mature and developer-friendly environment,” he says.

D2L runs its Brightspace platform and dozens of other learning applications on hundreds of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. To store all its application data, the organization uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets.

D2L takes advantage of Amazon Elasticsearch Service for searching and querying data, and relies on Amazon CloudFront as its global content delivery network (CDN) for all applications. In addition, the company utilizes Elastic Load Balancing for automatic distribution of incoming application traffic and Auto Scaling for automated scaling of instances up or down. “Using services like Elastic Load Balancing and Auto Scaling, we have a seamless way to automatically control availability and compute scalability,” says Oddson.

Relying on AWS, D2L can provide high availability for its educational applications throughout the world. “Education is always on. Our applications need to be there for millions of students and teachers whenever they need them,” says Oddson. “AWS helps us ensure high availability and resiliency, so learning can take place at all times.”

D2L also has the ability to scale Brightspace and its other applications up or down, depending on the time of year. “Using AWS, we only need to be concerned about the compute cycles we actually use, as opposed to provisioning for peak loads and having idle systems during the months school is not in session,” says Oddson.

The company can also meet its data-security requirements by taking advantage of the cloud. “With AWS, we get a world-class system for security and data privacy,” says Oddson. “Our platform can be consistent worldwide—there are no difference in security levels—because AWS provides us with tools, best practices, and recommendations that can cover all our security needs. Using these tools, we can implement security at the level our customers need.”

D2L now has the agility to innovate faster. “Experimentation is very important in software, especially educational software,” says Oddson. “Using AWS, we can spin up dev and test environments in minutes, instead of the weeks it would take to set up infrastructure before. As a result, we can try new things faster and with far less money and effort.” For instance, a D2L product team recently wanted to focus on delivering a more robust student experience by creating a new tool that students could use to schedule and manage courses. “We built that tool very quickly, and we were able to deploy it and get feedback from users within weeks,” he says. “It’s very easy for us to innovate and develop new tools like this in the cloud. And when we find things that work, we can scale them very easily and quickly on AWS. It really transforms what we can do.”

With the ability to more quickly develop and test new application features, D2L can focus on better serving the education industry. Oddson says, “By innovating faster using AWS, we can build better software for our customers, so they can do what they care most about: transforming the learning experience.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you manage your learning environment, visit our Cloud Computing for Education details page.