文件越多,问题越多?

几乎各个行业的所有企业都必须存储文件(备份、媒体内容或专门的垂直应用程序数据集)。管理和扩展本地基础设施以提供在线存储和分发此类备份或内容文件,往往不仅任务繁重而且代价高昂,需要昂贵的硬件更新、扩展和软件许可。此类大型文件数据存储库可以单独存储在专门的文件服务器、NAS 设备或备份系统中,从而限制大数据分析或媒体处理应用程序的访问。

借助 AWS Storage Gateway 的文件接口(又称文件网关),您可以无缝连接至云,从而将应用程序数据文件和备份映像作为持久对象存储在低成本的 Amazon S3 云存储中。文件网关通过本地缓存实现基于 SMB 或 NFS 访问 Amazon S3 中的数据。文件网关可用于本地应用程序,以及运行 Amazon EC2、需要在 S3 中存储对象工作负载文件的应用程序。

演示:从多个站点访问存储在 Amazon S3 中的文件 (6:32)

为何使用 AWS Storage Gateway 和 Amazon S3 存储文件

轻松连接混合云

传统 SMB、NFS 或 S3 API 接口

全球访问与分发

AWS 的可扩展性与灵活性

在文件网关将数据移至 Amazon S3 中后,您便可通过 API 使用原生 AWS 服务对数据进行操作、分析和管理。此外,您还可以使用跨区域复制功能将该数据从 Amazon S3 存储桶分发至全球其他区域,使用存储管理工具和生命周期策略将其迁移至存档层 Amazon Glacier 云存储,甚至部署其他文件网关以从其他站点对其进行访问。

文件网关使用案例

在线内容存储库

借助文件网关,您可以经济高效地将大型文件和媒体资产持久存储在 AWS 上。本地应用程序还能以低延迟在本地缓存常用内容。生成的是分层的混合云内容存储,可供本地应用程序从任何部署了网关设备的地方(包括在 Amazon EC2 中)通过 NFS 或 SMB 轻松进行访问。Storage Gateway 会自动保存文件元数据(作为对象元数据)和目录结构(通过加入对象名中)。云中的服务可以通过 API 操作存储在 Amazon S3 中的内容,例如使用 AWS Lambda 函数自动调整映像大小或者使用 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 将文件编入索引。

备份到云

许多组织通过将备份等二级和三级数据移至云中开启他们的云之旅。对于想要轻松将其备份任务从现有本地备份系统转移至云中的 IT 小组,文件网关的 SMB 和 NFS 接口是理想之选。可写入 SMB 或 NFS 的备份应用程序、本地数据库工具或脚本可写入文件网关,文件网关会将备份存储为 Amazon S3 对象,最多存储 5TiB。有了适当大小的本地缓存,近期备份便可用于快速现场恢复,同时长期保留需求能够通过在低成本 S3 标准、S3 低频率访问和 Amazon Glacier 云存储层中分层存储备份加以解决。

大数据、机器学习与处理

借助文件网关,商业智能、分析或其他团队便可轻松使用 Machine Learning 将基于文件的数据移至 Amazon S3 中。然后,他们可以使用该数据进行分析,方法有两种:一是通过 Amazon AthenaAmazon Redshift Spectrum 等服务进行就地查询,二是将其加载到 Amazon EMR 等其他云工具中进行基于 Hadoop 的处理。结束分析后,生成的数据集可以存储在同一存储桶中,而 Storage Gateway 服务可以面向您部署了文件网关的本地应用程序公开这些新生成的文件(对象)。

此外,您可以通过 AWS Lambda 应用简单的计算函数来处理使用文件网关存储在 S3 中的数据文件,甚至应用 Machine Learning 来处理数据,例如使用 Amazon Rekognition 执行图像识别或标出不良内容。

垂直行业应用程序

石油与天然气、媒体与娱乐、设计与建筑以及制造等行业都有特定域的应用程序,这些应用会生成大型的专业文件。这些文件通常需要从多个站点进行分发,至少可访问。其中大多数文件日渐不再被经常访问,因此能够以更低成本存储,但是如果不完全存档的话,需要持久在线存储在云中。文件网关允许此类本地应用程序跨多个站点使用 Amazon S3 和 Amazon Glacier 来存储这些文件。此外,它还提供基于 Amazon S3 对象存储的全球可访问的中央存储库,以便将此类基于文件的应用程序迁移至 Amazon EC2。

文件网关和 AWS 取得的成果

IT 成果

  • 缩小了数据中心基础设施占用的空间;最大程度减少了存储和备份堆栈
  • 能够专注于战略举措、应用程序、最优架构和灵活高效的运营
  • 减轻了维护和刷新硬件的运营负担
  • 以低冗余实现了全球扩展,无需管理基础设施
  • 数据持久性:Amazon S3 和 Amazon Glacier 云存储旨在实现 99.999999999% 的持久性

业务成果

  • 可根据需要灵活发展业务
  • 转型为了可与业务发展同步的运营支出和消费购买模式
  • 减少了计划外的巨额资本支出
  • 降低了存储和处理数据的总成本
  • 确定关键数据是安全可靠的,并且您的组织符合必要的法规
“出色的数字化策略使我们能够利用 mRNA 科学的巨大潜力,为许多疾病提供革命性的药物,从而帮助我们成为当今最引人注目的高成长生物科技公司之一。在药物开发的每一个阶段规划和执行 mRNA 管道扩大非常复杂,而无缝集成和编排的基于云的 IT 系统,是管理和实现这些复杂规划和执行的关键。AWS Storage Gateway 切实改变了我们将数据移入云中的方式。文件接口使我们能轻松集成来自分析仪器的数据文件,透明的 S3 存储则让我们轻松连接基于云的应用程序并利用 S3 的强大存储能力。有了 AWS File Gateway,我们现在得以让 AWS 针对我们的仪器数据发挥最大作用。”

– Dave Johnson 博士,Moderna Therapetuics 信息中心主任

详细了解 AWS Storage Gateway 定价

访问定价页面
准备好开始构建?
AWS Storage Gateway 入门
还有更多问题?
联系我们

AWS Storage Gateway
AWS Cloud
Try the File Gateway for Free

Nearly all enterprises, regardless of industry, have to store large files, whether they are backups, media content or specialized vertical application datasets. Managing and scaling on-premises infrastructure to provide online storage and distribution of such backup or content files is often burdensome and costly, requiring expensive hardware refreshes, expansion and software licensing. Such large file data repositories can be siloed in specialized file servers, NAS units or backup systems, limiting access for big data analytics or media processing applications.

AWS Storage Gateway's file interface, or file gateway, offers you a seamless way to connect to the cloud in order to store files and backup images as durable objects on low-cost Amazon S3 and Amazon Glacier cloud storage. File gateway offers an NFS mount for S3 with local caching. It can be used for on-premises applications, and for Amazon EC2-resident applications that need low-cost file storage.

Demo Thumb 2 site FGW 2017_v1
6:32
Demo: File Storage on Amazon S3 with Multi-site Access
AWS Storage Gateway - File Gateway introduction
38:21
Introducing the AWS File Gateway
Easy Hybrid Cloud Connection
NFS or S3 API Interfaces
Global File Access & Distribution
Highly Scalable

Once the file gateway has moved data into Amazon S3, you can manipulate, analyze and manage it using native AWS services via API. Additionally, from your Amazon S3 bucket, you can distribute that data to other regions around the world with Cross-Region Replication, apply storage management tools, migrate it to archive-tier Amazon Glacier cloud storage, and even deploy additonal file gateways to access it from your other sites.


Content Management

The file gateway allows you to cost-effectively and durably store large files and media assets on AWS. Local applications also benefit from a low-latency local cache of frequently used content. The result is tiered, hybrid cloud content storage, which can be accessed easily by on-premises applications via NFS, from wherever you deploy gateway appliances - including in Amazon EC2.  Storage Gateway automatically preserves both the file metadata as object metadata, and the directory structure by including it in the object name. Content stored in Amazon S3 can be manipulated by in-cloud services via API, for example to do automatic image resizing with an AWS Lambda function, or to index the files with Amazon Elasticsearch Service.

Content Management

Many organizations start their cloud journey by moving secondary and tertiary data, such as backups, to the cloud. The file gateway’s NFS interface provides an ideal way for IT groups to simply transition their backup jobs from existing on-premises disk, VTL or tape arrays to the cloud. Backup applications or scripts that can write to NFS can write to the file gateway, which will store the backups as Amazon S3 objects of up to 5TiB in size. With an adequately sized local cache, recent backups can be used for fast on-site recoveries, while long-term retention needs are addressed by tiering backups to low-cost S3 Standard, S3 Infrequent Access and Amazon Glacier cloud storage.

 

Big Data Analytics

The file gateway makes it easy for Business Intelligence, Analytics or other teams to easily move file-based data into Amazon S3. They can then use that data for analytics, either with in-place queries via services such as Amazon Athena, Amazon Redshift Spectrum, or load it into other cloud tools such Amazon EMR for Hadoop-based processing. Post-analysis, result sets can be stored back in the same bucket, and the storage gateway service can make those new results files (objects) visible to on-premises applications wherever you have deployed a file gateway. Additionally, you can apply simple compute functions with AWS Lambda to process data files stored in S3 with the file gateway, or even use Amazon Rekognition to perform image recognition or flag objectionable content.

Media & Entertainment

Industries including Oil & Gas, Media & Entertainment, Design & Architecture, and Manufacturing have domain-specific applications that generate large specialized files. These files often need to be distributed, or at least accessible, from multiple sites. Over time, most of these files become infrequently accessed, and can be stored on lower cost, but durable online cloud storage, if not fully archived. File gateway allows such on-premises applications, across multiple locations, to use Amazon S3 and Amazon Glacier to store the files. It also enables migration of such file-based applications to Amazon EC2, by providing the central, globally accessible repository.

100x100_benefit_migration
  • Reduce datacenter infrastructure footprint; Minimize storage and backup stacks
  • Focus on strategic initiatives, applications, optimal architectures, and flexible efficient operations
  • Reduce the operational burden of maintaining and refreshing hardware
  • Global scalability with easy redundancy - without infrastructure management
  • Data durability: Amazon S3 and Amazon Glacier cloud storage is designed for 99.999999999% of durability
90x90_Pay-as-you-go_Benefit-Icons
  • Flexibility to evolve business as needed
  • Shift to OpEx and consumption purchasing model that can be aligned to line of business growth
  • Eliminate large and unexpected CapEx outlays
  • Lower total costs of storing and processing data
  • Confidence that critical data is safe and secure, and that your organization is in compliance with necessary regulations

SOU

“Our immersive digital strategy is enabling us to exploit the immense potential of mRNA science to deliver transformative medicines for many diseases, helping position us as one of today’s most notable high-growth biotechs. Seamlessly integrated and orchestrated cloud-based IT systems are critical to manage and industrialize the complex planning and execution of our mRNA pipeline scale-up at every stage of drug development. AWS Storage Gateway has the promise to transform the way we move data into the cloud. The file interface lets us easily integrate data files from analytical instruments, and the transparent S3 storage lets us easily connect our cloud-based applications and leverage the powerful storage capabilities of S3. With the AWS File Gateway, we can now unleash the full power of AWS on our instrument data.”

-- Dave Johnson, PhD, Director, Informatics


It's easy to get started with AWS Storage Gateway. Sign up for an account and deploy your first Storage Gateway in a few clicks.

Try AWS Storage Gateway for Free
Contact Sales