AWS Managed Services
AWS 云
联系我们了解更多信息

在与迁移到云的公司交流时我们发现,他们迁移的首要原因几乎都是云技术带来的敏捷性和速度。借助云计算,您可以在几分钟内启动数千台服务器,而对于在本地使用的服务器,这一过程通常需要 10 到 18 周的时间。AWS 云可以为您提供 90 多种服务:从计算、存储和数据库到持续集成、数据分析和人工智能,无所不包,触手可及。这意味着您可以在几秒而不是几个月内将理念付诸实施。

客户迁移到云的原因有很多。有些客户迁移到云是为了提高员工的工作效率。还有很多要推行数据中心整合或合理化项目的公司会迁移到云,特别是那些准备进行收购、资产剥离或多年以来经历过基础设施过度扩张的公司。此外,还有一些公司希望利用现代技术对其业务进行彻底的重新规划,作为更大规模的数字化转型计划的一部分。当然,组织总是在寻找通过降低成本来提高账本底线的方法。


AWS 每月都有数百万活跃客户,企业中每个我们可以想到的垂直业务部门都在有效地使用 AWS。在金融服务业,我们的客户有 Capital One、Intuit、FINRA 和 Barclays。在医疗保健行业,我们的客户有 Johnson & Johnson、Merck、Pfizer 和 Bristol Myers Squibb。在石油与天然气行业,我们的客户有 Shell、BP 和 Hess。在制造业,我们的客户有 GE、Philips 和 Schneider Electric。此外还包括技术行业的 Netflix、Samsung、Adobe 和 Autodesk。

每个组织都有自己独特的原因和限制因素,但我们已经发现了始终推动客户迁移到云的常见驱动因素:

运营成本

运营成本的主要影响因素包括基础设施单价、供求匹配能力、实现可选择性的途径、采用弹性成本基数以及透明度。

员工工作效率

通常情况下,工作效率会因两个关键因素而有所提高:第一是无需等待基础设施,第二是可以深入而广泛地任一使用 AWS 提供的 90 多种服务,无需自己构建和维护这些服务。事实上,在完成大型迁移之后,员工的工作效率通常会提高 30-50%。

成本规避

消除对硬件更新计划和持续维护计划的需要是规避成本的关键因素。我们发现,客户对大规模更新或数据中心续期所需的成本和工作毫无兴趣。

运营弹性

这一点似乎显而易见,但改善组织的风险状况也可以降低缓解风险所需的成本。AWS 在 16 个区域内运营着 42 个可用区 (AZ),服务遍布全球,能够延长正常运行时间,从而降低与风险相关的成本。

业务敏捷性

迁移到 AWS 云有助于提高整体运营敏捷性。这让您可以通过一些活动(例如扩张到新市场、出售某些业务和收购具备竞争优势的资产)来更快地对市场变化作出反应。


每个企业采用云的方式都是独一无二的。下面介绍了云采用的各个阶段,有助于您了解其中涉及的一些步骤。

云采用的各个阶段

客户的云采用之旅通常涉及以下四个阶段:

在项目阶段,您会运行各种项目来熟悉云并体验云的优势。

体验过云的优势之后,就要开始构建基础,以便扩大云采用的规模。这项工作包括创建着陆区(一个预置的、安全的多账户 AWS 环境)、卓越云中心 (CCoE) 和运营模型,还要做好安全性和合规性工作。

在这一阶段,随着采用范围在 IT 产品组合中不断扩大,您会将包括任务关键型应用程序在内的现有应用程序或整个数据中心迁移到云。 

迁移到云之后,您可以利用 AWS 的灵活性和各项功能重点进行重构工作,通过缩短产品进入市场的时间和提高创新意识来实现业务转型。


在某些情况下,您可能会考虑孤立地进行大型传统迁移,但我们发现,迁移通常在更大规模的企业转型过程中进行。迁移到云的各种模式通常都遵循一种包含 5 个阶段的方法:

迁移流程

第 1 阶段:迁移准备和业务规划

在这个阶段,您要确定正确的目标,并了解迁移会带来哪些好处。首先您需要掌握一些基本经验,并针对迁移制定初步的业务计划。这需要您考虑自己的目标,还需要考虑现有应用程序的使用年限、架构和限制条件。我们的合作伙伴 RISC Networks、Atadata、Cloudamize、TSOLogic 和 Apptio 在这一方面都很有经验。

第 2 阶段:产品组合发现和规划

接下来,您需要了解您的 IT 产品组合和应用程序之间的依赖关系,并开始考虑要采用哪些类型的迁移策略来满足业务案例的目标。确定产品组合和迁移方法之后,您就完全可以制定一份全面的业务计划。如果在确定 IT 产品组合方面需要帮助,您可以与 RISC Networks、Cloudamize 和 Atadata 等合作伙伴合作,还可以使用 AWS Application Discovery Service

第 3 阶段和第 4 阶段:设计、迁移和验证应用程序

在这两个阶段,工作重点从产品组合层面转移到单个应用程序层面,您需要设计、迁移和验证各个应用程序。每个应用程序的设计、迁移和验证都要遵循六种常见的应用程序策略(即“6 R”)中的一种。通过迁移部分应用程序获得了基本经验并制定了组织可以提供支持的计划之后,您就可以加快迁移速度并实现扩展。Cloudendure、CloudVelox、Atadata、Racemi 和 Attuinity 等合作伙伴都可以提供帮助,此外,您还可以使用 AWS Server Migration Service (SMS)AWS Database Migration Service (DMS)

第 5 阶段:运行

迁移应用程序之后,您需要在新的基础上进行迭代、关闭旧系统,并向现代化运行模式不断迭代。您的运行模式中的人员、流程和技术会始终保持最有效的状态,并随着迁移更多应用程序而不断完善。AppDynamics、NewRelic 和 Dynatrace 等合作伙伴可以帮助您在将更多内容迁移到云时不断对您的运行模式进行迭代。

组织通常在迁移流程的第 2 阶段开始考虑如何迁移应用程序。您需要在这个阶段确定环境中的内容和各个应用程序的迁移策略。以下详细介绍的六种方法是常用的迁移策略,这些策略基于 Gartner 在 2011 年概括的“5 R”策略。

您应该全面了解哪种迁移策略最适合您的产品组合中的特定部分。此外还需要注意的是,尽管六种策略中的一种可能最适合迁移特定产品组合中的特定应用程序,但另一种策略可能更适合迁移同一产品组合中的其他应用程序。

应用程序迁移策略

1.重新托管(“直接迁移”)

在大型传统迁移场景中,组织希望快速迁移并扩展,以便满足业务计划的要求,因此大多数应用程序都被重新托管。大部分重新托管工作可以通过 AWS SMS 等工具自动进行,但您最好手动完成这项工作,以便学习如何将旧系统应用到云平台。

您可能还会发现,已经在云中运行的应用程序更容易重新构建。出现这种情况一方面是因为您的组织在这方面的技能更加熟练,另一方面是因为较难的工作(迁移应用程序、数据和流量)已经完成。

2.更换平台(“修补后迁移”)

这种策略是指,进行一些云优化工作来获得一些有形的收益,但不更改应用程序的核心架构。例如,您可能希望迁移到 Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) 等托管的关系数据库服务,或者将应用程序迁移到 AWS Elastic Beanstalk 等完全托管的平台,以此来减少管理数据库实例花费的时间。

3.重新购买(“放弃后购买”)

这种策略是指转为使用其他产品,这可能意味着您的组织想要改变一直使用的现有许可模式。对于可以轻松升级到更新版本的工作负载,这一策略可能支持功能集升级和更顺利的实施。

4.重构/重新构建

采用这种策略一般是出于迫切的业务需求,需要增加功能、扩大规模或提高性能,但在应用程序的现有环境中难以实现这些目的。这种策略的成本通常最高,但如果您的组织希望通过迁移到面向服务的架构 (SOA) 来提高敏捷性或业务连续性,那么就应该采用这种策略。

5.停用

确定不再使用并且可以关闭的 IT 资产,这可以帮助您完善业务计划,并将注意力转移到维护广泛使用的资源上。

6.保留

您可能想要保留部分 IT 产品组合,原因是您还没有准备好迁移某些应用程序并且认为最好将其保留在本地,也可能是您还没有准备好对最近升级的应用程序进行优先级顺序,然后再对其进行更改。


有多种工具可以帮助您自动迁移应用程序:

AWS Direct Connect
Amazon Kinesis Firehose

AWS Migration Hub 让您可以在一个位置跟踪多个 AWS 和合作伙伴解决方案中的应用程序迁移进度。使用 Migration Hub,您可以选择最符合您需求的 AWS 和合作伙伴迁移工具,同时还可以了解整个应用程序产品组合的迁移状态。此外,Migration Hub 还提供各应用程序的关键指标和进度信息,无论您使用什么工具来迁移这些应用程序。

AWS Application Discovery Service 可以收集有关客户本地数据中心的信息,从而帮助客户规划迁移项目。数据中心迁移的规划工作可能会涉及数千个通常高度相互依赖的工作负载。AWS Application Discovery Service 可以收集和提供服务器的配置、使用和行为数据,帮助您更好地了解您的工作负载。

AWS Server Migration Service
AWS Database Migration Service
VMware Cloud on AWS

AWS Server Migration Service (SMS) 是一种无代理服务,让您能够更加轻松快速地将成千上万的本地工作负载迁移到 AWS。借助 AWS SMS,您可以自动执行实时服务器卷的增量复制、对其制定计划以及进行跟踪,从而能够更轻松地协调大规模服务器迁移。

AWS Database Migration Service (DMS) 可以帮助您轻松安全地将数据库迁移至 AWS。在迁移过程中,源数据库可以保持全面运行,从而尽可能缩短依赖该数据库的应用程序的停机时间。AWS Database Migration Service 可以在广泛使用的开源商业数据库之间迁移您的数据。

VMware Cloud on AWS 目前提供技术预览版,它是一种全新的解决方案,让客户能够轻松地在 AWS 云上运行 VMware 工作负载。客户将能够使用 VMware 的虚拟化和管理软件跨其所有本地和 AWS 环境无缝部署和管理 VMware 工作负载。借助这款新产品,客户可以利用其现有的 VMware 技能和工具投资,快速且无缝地享受 AWS 云的灵活性和经济性。

S3 Transfer Acceleration

Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration 加快了通过公共 Internet 向 Amazon S3 传输数据的速度。不管距离多远或 Internet 状况如何,您都可以最大限度地利用带宽,并且无需提供特殊的客户端或专有网络协议。您只需更改与 S3 存储桶搭配使用的终端节点,即可自动实现加速。

AWS Snowball

AWS Snowball 是一种 PB 级数据传输解决方案,使用安全设备与 AWS 之间进行大量数据的传输。使用 Snowball 可以解决进行大规模数据传输时遇到的常见难题,包括网络费用高、传输时间长和安全问题。

AWS Snowmobile

AWS Snowmobile 是一种用于将海量数据移动到 AWS 中的 EB 级数据传输服务。Snowmobile 是一种加固的 45 英尺长集装箱,由一台半挂卡车牵引,一次可以传输高达 100PB 的数据。Snowmobile 可以将海量数据轻松移动到云中,包括视频库、图片存储库甚至整个数据中心的迁移。

AWS Direct Connect
Amazon Kinesis Firehose

AWS Direct Connect 让您可以在您的网络与任何一个安装了 AWS Direct Connect 的地点之间建立一个专用网络连接。使用业内规定的 802.1q VLAN 标准,可将这一专用连接分割成多个虚拟接口。这样您便可以通过同一个连接访问公共资源(如使用公有 IP 地址空间存储在 Amazon S3 中的对象)和专有资源(如使用私有 IP 空间在 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud [VPC] 中运行的 Amazon EC2 实例),同时又能在公共和专用环境之间保持网络隔离。您可以随时重新配置虚拟接口,从而满足不断变化的需求。

Amazon Kinesis Firehose 是将流数据加载到 AWS 的最简单的方式。它可以捕获流数据并将其自动加载到 Amazon S3 和 Amazon Redshift,借助当前正在使用的现有商业智能工具和控制面板实现近乎实时的分析。这是一项完全托管的服务,可以自动扩展以匹配数据吞吐量,并且无需持续管理。它还可以在加载数据前对其进行批处理、压缩和加密,从而最大程度地减少目的地使用的存储量,同时提高安全性。您可以从 AWS 管理控制台轻松创建 Firehose 传输流、通过点击几下对其进行配置,以及开始将数据从成千上万个要不断加载到 AWS 的数据源发送到数据流中 – 所有这些操作只需几分钟即可完成。

一些大型企业要迁移的产品组合包含 2000 个应用程序,涉及 600 多家供应商。在这个过程中,企业需要花费数月来翻阅合同,并评估是否有权迁移当前软件。

借助 AWS Marketplace,客户可以从我们的 1100 多个技术合作伙伴提供的 3500 多个软件列表中进行选择,从而更快速、更轻松地进行迁移。Marketplace 提供 400 多种自有许可 (BYOL) 产品,对于客户在安全、网络、存储、商业智能和数据库等方面已经拥有的产品,支持快速预置和计量部署。

了解 AWS Marketplace

AWS Marketplace

AWS 迁移加速计划 (MAP) 可以将现有工作负载迁移到 Amazon Web Services,从而帮助致力于迁移的企业实现一系列业务优势。它采用的迁移方法可以系统地执行传统迁移,还提供一套强大的工具来自动进行并加快常见迁移工作。

了解有关 AWS 迁移加速计划的更多信息 »

AWS MAP
AWS CAF

我们全面借鉴了与众多客户合作的经验,建立了 AWS 云采用框架 (AWS CAF),可以帮助组织制定适合其云采用之旅的有效可行的计划。框架中规定的指南和最佳实践可以帮助公司在整个 IT 生命周期内为整个组织构建全面的云计算方法。在最高层面,AWS CAF 将指南划分为六个关注领域。我们把这些关注领域称为“视角”。

一般来说,业务、人员和监管视角重点关注业务能力,而平台、安全性和运营视角重点关注技术能力。确定当前 IT 环境与未来云环境在技术和流程方面的差距之后,组织可以制定行动计划来消除这些差距。

下载 AWS CAF 概述白皮书 »

迁移到 AWS 的企业需要专业知识、工具以及业务与 IT 战略的一致性。通过与合作伙伴合作,许多组织可以加快迁移速度并缩短实现结果的时间。AWS 合作伙伴能力计划可以证明合作伙伴有能力帮助客户使用 AWS 服务。

AWS 迁移能力合作伙伴可以提供解决方案或者具备丰富的经验,帮助企业将应用程序和传统基础设施迁移到 AWS,工作范围涵盖复杂迁移项目的各个方面(包括发现、规划、迁移和运行)。

了解有关我们的 AWS 迁移能力合作伙伴的更多信息 »

AWS 合作伙伴
AWS 专业服务

AWS 专业服务团队对迁移到云的意义有着深入的了解,并且已经帮助上百家企业客户和政府机构在 AWS 采用过程的每个阶段实现了业务目标。他们的业务范围遍及 20 个国家/地区,拥有全球规模和行业专业知识,可以为您的组织提供支持。

了解有关 AWS 专业服务团队的更多信息

虽然成功的迁移有共通的部分,但并没有一种通用的解决方案来确定最佳方法。我们积累了帮助组织将 IT 产品组合迁移到云的经验并编写了一本电子书,其中包含许多客户认为有用的最佳实践和策略。

下载《迁移到 AWS》电子书 »

AWS 电子书
AWS 企业博客

AWS 企业博客是关于企业采用云计算的一系列文章。这些文章中包含来自 AWS 负责人和 AWS 客户的、与其云计算经验相关的最佳实践、建议和第一手资料。

立即关注 »

联系我们

AWS Managed Services
AWS Cloud
Contact us for more information

Almost always when we talk to companies, the number one reason they choose to move to the cloud is the agility and speed that they can move with. With cloud computing, you are able to spin up thousands of servers in minutes as opposed to the 10 to 18 weeks it typically takes to spin up servers being used on-premises. The AWS Cloud provides more than 90 services - everything from compute, storage, and databases to continuous integration, data analytics, and artificial intelligence - at your fingertips. This means you can go from idea to implementation in seconds rather than months.

There are a lot of reasons why customers are migrating to the cloud. Some are migrating to the cloud to increase the productivity of their workforce. We also see a lot of companies with a data center consolidation or rationalization projects migrating to the cloud, especially those that are preparing for an acquisition, divestiture, or have otherwise experienced infrastructure sprawl over the years. Additionally, there are companies that are looking to completely re-imagine their business using modern technology as part of a larger digital transformation program. And of course, organizations are always looking for ways to improve the bottom line by reducing their costs.


AWS has millions of active customers every month and every imaginable vertical business segment in the enterprise is using AWS in a meaningful way. In financial services it's Capital One, Intuit, FINRA, and Barclays. In healthcare, we have Johnson & Johnson, Merck, Pfizer, and Bristol Myers Squibb. In oil and gas there is Shell, BP, and Hess. In manufacturing, we have customers such as GE, Philips, and Schneider Electric. There is also Netflix, Samsung, Adobe, and Autodesk in technology.

Every organization will have their own unique reasons and constraints, but we have seen common drivers that customers consistently apply when migrating to the cloud:

Operational Costs

Key components of operational costs are unit price of infrastructure, the ability to match supply and demand, finding a pathway to optionality, employing an elastic cost base, and transparency.

Workforce Productivity

Typically, productivity is increased by two key factors: not having to wait for infrastructure, and having access to the breadth and depth of AWS with over 90 services at your disposal that you would otherwise have to build and maintain. In fact, it is common for us to see workforce productivity improvements of 30-50% following a large migration.

Cost Avoidance

Eliminating the need for hardware refresh programs and constant maintenance programs are the key contributors to cost avoidance. We are finding that customers have no interest in the cost and effort required to execute a big refresh cycle or data center renewal.

Operational Resilience

This may seem obvious, but reducing your organization’s risk profile will also reduce the cost of risk mitigation. With 16 Regions comprising 42 Availability Zones (AZs), AWS has the global footprint to improve uptime, thereby reducing your risk related costs.

Business Agility

Migrating to the AWS Cloud helps increase your overall operational agility. This lets you react to market conditions more quickly through activities such as expanding into new markets, selling lines of your business, and acquiring available assets that offer a competitive advantage.


The path to cloud adoption is unique for every enterprise. The stages of adoption described here can be a useful way to understand some of the steps involved.

Cloud Stages of Adoption

A customer’s journey to the cloud typically involves these four phases:

In the project phase, you are running projects to get familiar and experience benefits from the cloud.

After experiencing the benefits of cloud, you then build the foundation to scale your cloud adoption. This includes creating a landing zone (a pre-configured, secure, multi-account AWS environment), Cloud Center of Excellence (CCoE), operations model, as well as assuring security and compliance readiness.

In this stage, you migrate existing applications including mission-critical applications or entire data centers to the cloud as you scale your adoption across a growing portion of your IT portfolio. 

Now that your operations are in the cloud, you can focus on reinvention by taking advantage of the flexibility and capabilities of AWS to transform your business by speeding time to market and increasing the attention on innovation.


There may be some cases where you contemplate large legacy migrations in isolation, however, we are finding that migrations are usually part of a larger enterprise transformation effort. The patterns we have seen around migrating to the cloud commonly follow a 5-phase approach:

The Migration Process

Phase 1: Migration Preparation and Business Planning

Here you determine the right objectives and begin to get an idea of the types of benefits you will see. It starts with some foundational experience and developing a preliminary business case for a migration. This requires taking your objectives into account, along with the age and architecture of your existing applications, and their constraints. We have partners such as RISC Networks, Atadata, Cloudamize, TSOLogic, and Apptio that have experience in this area.

Phase 2: Portfolio Discovery and Planning

Next, you need to understand your IT portfolio, the dependencies between applications, and begin to consider what types of migration strategies you will need to employ to meet your business case objectives. With the portfolio discovery and migration approach, you are in a good position to build a full business case. If you need help with understanding your IT portfolio, you can work with partners such as RISC Networks, Cloudamize, and Atadata as well as use AWS Application Discovery Service.

Phase 3 & Phase 4: Designing, Migrating, and Validating Application

Here the focus moves from the portfolio level to the individual application level and you design, migrate, and validate each application. Each application is designed, migrated, and validated according to one of the six common application strategies (“The 6 R’s”). Once you have some foundational experience from migrating a few apps and a plan in place that the organization can get behind - it’s time to accelerate the migration and achieve scale. Partners such as Cloudendure, CloudVelox, Atadata, Racemi, and Attuinity can help you here as well as AWS Server Migration Service (SMS) and AWS Database Migration Service (DMS).

Phase 5: Operate

As applications are migrated, you iterate on your new foundation, turn off old systems, and constantly iterate toward a modern operating model. Your operating model becomes an evergreen set of people, process, and technology that constantly improves as you migrate more applications. We have partners such as AppDynamics, NewRelic, and Dynatrace that can help you continue to iterate on your operating model as you move more to the cloud.

Organizations usually begin to think about how they will migrate an application during Phase 2 of the migration process. This is when you determine what is in your environment and the migration strategy for each application. The six approaches detailed below are common migration strategies employed and build upon “The 5 R’s” that Gartner outlined in 2011.

You should gain a thorough understanding of which migration strategy will be best suited for certain portions of your portfolio. It is also important to consider that while one of the six strategies may be best for migrating certain applications in a given portfolio, another strategy might work better for moving different applications in the same portfolio.

Application Migration Strategies

1. Rehost (“lift and shift”)

In a large legacy migration scenario where the organization is looking to quickly implement its migration and scale to meet a business case, we find that the majority of applications are rehosted. Most rehosting can be automated with tools such as AWS SMS although you may prefer to do this manually as you learn how to apply your legacy systems to the cloud.

You may also find that applications are easier to re-architect once they are already running in the cloud. This happens partly because your organization will have developed better skills to do so and partly because the hard part - migrating the application, data, and traffic - has already been accomplished.

2. Replatform (“lift, tinker and shift”)

This entails making a few cloud optimizations in order to achieve some tangible benefit without changing the core architecture of the application. For example, you may be looking to reduce the amount of time you spend managing database instances by migrating to a managed relational database service such as Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS), or migrating your application to a fully managed platform like AWS Elastic Beanstalk.

3. Repurchase (“drop and shop”)

This is a decision to move to a different product and likely means your organization is willing to change the existing licensing model you have been using. For workloads that can easily be upgraded to newer versions, this strategy might allow a feature set upgrade and smoother implementation.

4. Refactor / Re-architect

Typically, this is driven by a strong business need to add features, scale, or performance that would otherwise be difficult to achieve in the application’s existing environment. If your organization is looking to boost agility or improve business continuity by moving to a service-oriented architecture (SOA) this strategy may be worth pursuing - even though it is often the most expensive solution.

5. Retire

Identifying IT assets that are no longer useful and can be turned off will help boost your business case and direct your attention towards maintaining the resources that are widely used.

6. Retain

You may want to retain portions of your IT portfolio because there are some applications that you are not ready to migrate and feel more comfortable keeping them on-premises, or you are not ready to prioritize an application that was recently upgraded and then make changes to it again.


There are a number of tools to help you automate the migration of your applications:

AWS Direct Connect
Amazon Kinesis Firehose

AWS Migration Hub provides a single location to track the progress of application migrations across multiple AWS and partner solutions. Using Migration Hub allows you to choose the AWS and partner migration tools that best fit your needs, while providing visibility into the status of migrations across your portfolio of applications. Migration Hub also provides key metrics and progress for individual applications, regardless of which tools are being used to migrate them.

AWS Application Discovery Service helps you plan migration projects by gathering information about their on-premises data centers. Planning data center migrations can involve thousands of workloads that are often deeply interdependent. AWS Application Discovery Service collects and presents configuration, usage, and behavior data from your servers to help you better understand your workloads.

AWS Server Migration Service
AWS Database Migration Service
VMWare Cloud on AWS

AWS Server Migration Service (SMS) is an agentless service which makes it easier and faster for you to migrate thousands of on-premises workloads to AWS. AWS SMS allows you to automate, schedule, and track incremental replications of live server volumes, making it easier for you to coordinate large-scale server migrations.

AWS Database Migration Service (DMS) helps you migrate databases to AWS easily and securely. The source database remains fully operational during the migration, minimizing downtime to applications that rely on the database. The AWS Database Migration Service can migrate your data to and from most widely used commercial and open-source databases.

Currently in Technology Preview, VMware Cloud on AWS will be a new solution that makes it easy for customers to run VMware workloads on the AWS Cloud. Customers will be able to use VMware’s virtualization and management software to seamlessly deploy and manage VMware workloads across all of their on-premises and AWS environments. This new offering will allow customers to leverage their existing investments in VMware skillsets and tooling to quickly and seamlessly take advantage of the flexibility and economics of the AWS Cloud.

S3 Transfer Acceleration

Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration makes public Internet transfers to Amazon S3 faster. You can maximize your available bandwidth regardless of distance or varying Internet weather, and there are no special clients or proprietary network protocols. Simply change the endpoint you use with your S3 bucket and acceleration is automatically applied.

AWS Snowball

AWS Snowball is a petabyte-scale data transport solution that uses secure appliances to transfer large amounts of data into and out of AWS. Using Snowball addresses common challenges with large-scale data transfers including high network costs, long transfer times, and security concerns.

AWS Snowmobile

AWS Snowmobile is an exabyte-scale data transfer service used to move extremely large amounts of data to AWS. You can transfer up to 100PB per Snowmobile, a 45-foot long ruggedized shipping container, pulled by a semi-trailer truck. Snowmobile makes it easy to move massive volumes of data to the cloud, including video libraries, image repositories, or even a complete data center migration.

AWS Direct Connect
Amazon Kinesis Firehose

AWS Direct Connect lets you establish a dedicated network connection between your network and one of the AWS Direct Connect locations. Using industry standard 802.1q VLANs, this dedicated connection can be partitioned into multiple virtual interfaces. This allows you to use the same connection to access public resources such as objects stored in Amazon S3 using public IP address space, and private resources such as Amazon EC2 instances running within an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) using private IP space, while maintaining network separation between the public and private environments. Virtual interfaces can be reconfigured at any time to meet your changing needs.

Amazon Kinesis Firehose is the easiest way to load streaming data into AWS. It can capture and automatically load streaming data into Amazon S3 and Amazon Redshift, enabling near real-time analytics with existing business intelligence tools and dashboards you’re already using today. It is a fully managed service that automatically scales to match the throughput of your data and requires no ongoing administration. It can also batch, compress, and encrypt the data before loading it, minimizing the amount of storage used at the destination and increasing security. You can easily create a Firehose delivery stream from the AWS Management Console, configure it with a few clicks, and start sending data to the stream from hundreds of thousands of data sources to be loaded continuously to AWS – all in just a few minutes.

Some large companies are moving a portfolio of 2,000 applications with upwards of 600 vendors included. During this process, companies spend countless hours, weeks, and months pouring over contracts and assessing rights to move current software.

AWS Marketplace allows customers to select from more than 3,500 software listings offered by over 1,100 of our technology partners to make migrations faster and easier. Marketplace has over 400 bring your own license (BYOL) offers which enable fast provisioning and metered deployment of products customers may already own in areas like Security, Network, Storage, BI and Database, to name a few.

Explore the AWS Marketplace

AWS Marketplace

The AWS Migration Acceleration Program (MAP) is designed to help enterprises that are committed to a migration journey achieve a range of these business benefits by migrating existing workloads to Amazon Web Services. It includes a migration methodology for executing legacy migrations in a methodical way as well as robust set of tools to automate and accelerate common migration scenarios.

Learn more about the AWS Migration Acceleration Program »

AWS MAP
AWS CAF

We have taken the in-depth learnings from our numerous customer engagements and established the AWS Cloud Adoption Framework (AWS CAF) to help organizations develop an efficient and effective plan for their cloud adoption journey. Guidance and best-practices prescribed within the framework can help companies build a comprehensive approach to cloud computing across your organization, throughout your IT lifecycle. At the highest level, the AWS CAF organizes guidance into six focus areas. We describe these focus areas as Perspectives.

In general, the Business, People, and Governance Perspectives focus on business capabilities, and the Platform, Security, and Operations Perspectives focus on technical capabilities. By identifying the gaps in skills and processes between the current IT environment and the future cloud environment an organization can create an action plan designed to close these gaps.

Download the AWS CAF Overview white paper »

Enterprises migrating to AWS require expertise, tools, and alignment of business and IT strategy. Many organizations can accelerate their migration, and their time to results, through working with partners. The AWS Partner Competency Program validates partners that have demonstrated they can help customers utilize AWS services.

AWS Migration Competency Partners provide solutions or have deep experience helping businesses move applications and legacy infrastructure to AWS, through all aspects of complex migration projects including discovery, planning, migration and operations.

Learn more about our AWS Migration Competency Partners »

AWS Partners
AWS Professional Services

The AWS Professional Services team has in-depth understanding of what it means to move to the cloud and have helped hundreds of enterprise customers and government institutions achieve their business goals at every stage of AWS adoption. Operating in 20 countries, they have the global scale and industry expertise to support your organization.

Learn more about our AWS Professional Services team

While there are several common components found in each successful migration, there is no one-size-fits-all solution to deciding on the best approach. We have gained experience helping organizations move their IT portfolios to the cloud, and developed an eBook with best-practices and strategies that many customers have found useful.

Download the Migrating to AWS eBook »

AWS eBook
AWS Enterprise Collections Blog

The AWS Enterprise Collections blog is a series of articles related to enterprise adoption of cloud computing. These articles include best practices, recommendations, and fist-hand accounts from AWS leaders and AWS customers about their cloud computing experiences.

Start following today »

Contact us