Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.0.3

Linux/Unix, Other 7.0.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

18 AWS reviews

External reviews

105 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Samurthika A.

Powerful and stable

  • January 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have been using the FortiGate firewall as a perimeter for over 5 years, and we are completely reliant on Next-generation firewall because we have many externally accessible web apps.
The administration console is simple, and the learning process is similarly straightforward. It's very easy to do the initial configurations. In addition, a next-generation firewall aids in the connection of various of our branch offices.We've also set up an SSL VPN for branch connectivity. During the Covid19 time pandemic situation, our staff worked from home using Next-Generation Firewall, which was integrated with Active Directory. Next-Generation Firewall enables safe end-to-end encryption.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike, the interface could be more graphical and colourful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
FortiGate helps to resolve lot of problems. First one is providing high security against unknown cyber-attacks. fortigate firewall helps to connect the branches via secure vpn connectivity. There are also a number of security features such as IPS, IDS, antivirus, and so on. Fortigate aids in the reduction of annual license costs. When compared to other products, the fortigate prices are lesthan other products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I Like to recommend this product


    Anil R.

Enterprise Network Next Generation Firewall.

  • December 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Block the unwanted traffic, Good Performance at Price Range, SSL encryption of Traffic, and Threat Protection.
What do you dislike?
Unable to perform deep Inspection of traffic as compared to Palo Alto.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
NAT and Security Policy Configuration for Different zones, Malware, and Antivirus Protection by Creating Profile.Threat Detection.


    Maher A.

Simplified yet Powerful Network Security with a wide spectrum of features

  • December 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Simple yet powerful platform to configure, support and troubleshoot
- Ability to integrate SDWAN easily on Fortigate without purchasing extra licenses
- Implementation of SDWAN significantly reduced costs of our infrastructure by eliminating expensive MPLS circuits
- Consolidated VPN Solution by deploying Forticlient EMS and using Fortigate as VPN Gateway
- Great logging system by relying on Fortianalyzer to check traffic and other Firewall events
- Centralized management of Fortigates using FortiManager
What do you dislike?
Nothing major. There is no way to rename existing VPN Connections. Once you create a new VPN connection, you can't change its name, and basically, the only way to accomplish that would be deleting all associated references (policies, zone, route) and re-create the VPN again with the correct name.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Simplification and Consolidation of Network Services
- Better Performance, Higher Productivity, Redundancy, and better user experience using SDWAN
- Cost Reduction
- Ease of Support and Troubleshooting of network issues


    Raymund R.

Best of breed NGFW (All Market Segments)

  • November 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fortinet FortiGate is the best for all segment firewalls. It can be in SMB or Enterprise. It has the best GUI and ease of use versus Checkpoint, Cisco, and Palo Alto. The Fabric feature helps you give visibility to all endpoints for better correlation, application control is always up to date, SDWAN in a firewall was a brilliant move. SSLVPN is also a game changer during this pandemic since most of its competitors sell this separately.

Activating a license is as easy as counting 1 2 3. Support is also responsive, but you will barely call one since the Cookbook has tons of FAQ.
What do you dislike?
The reporting. You need to have FAZ to get better reports (built-in) than competitors (for SMB Markets).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Perimeter security and defenses - IPS, Application Control, Web Filter, Proxy, Sandboxing
2. Secure SDWAN - for better security connectivity across branches, not just addressing the SDWAN but also providing a secure way of doing it.
3. SSLVPN - Work from home ready.
4. Stable and realible NGFW
5. Cloud Security - it's also available in most cloud providers via marketplace
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Way better than Checkpoint in terms of administration and setup with at par if not greater security.

More affordable than Checkpoint, Palo Alto, and Cisco.

Also good pick for SMB.


    Tuan N.

Seperation one Firewall to Multiple Logical Firewall

  • November 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
FortiGate have feature called Virtual Domain (VDOM). With this feature, we can split one FortiGate to Multiple Logical FortiGate; each logical FortiGate can have a dedicated configuration (Firewall Policy, Routing, Admin Access, ...).
This feature is helpful to enterprises when they need multiple FortiGate devices to place at the dedicated zone, but they have only one FortiGate appliance. In this case, we can use split one FortiGate appliance to Multiple VDOM (each VDOM can act as a logical FortiGate).
What do you dislike?
I do not have any dislike point for this products.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Separation one Firewall into Multiple Logical Firewall to comply with regulation


    Truc N.

High Performance Firewall for IPSEC VPN with Security Filter

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Currently, we are using VPN Star topology established by FortiGate Devices. All the FortiGate at Branchs are connecting to the FortiGate at Center via VPN Site to Site for user at branch can connect to application hosted at Site Center.
We also combine Security Filter (IPS, Antivirus) at the FortiGate Center for traffic coming from FortiGate Branch Sites. This setup/design is very stable, we are using this topology for about 2 years without any critical error. Still now, we still keep expand this diagram by expand more FortiGate at Branch Sites and connect VPN to FortiGate at the Center.
What do you dislike?
Currently, I do not have dislike point for this product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting between User at Branch and Application at Center via IPSec VPN Tunnel provided by High Performance FortiGate NGFW


    Computer & Network Security

Excellent Firewall once you know how to use it

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How easy it is to create policies and reporting is excellent
What do you dislike?
Migrating config between different models
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Multi-Tenant works brilliantly with Vdoms on the Fortigate


    Hieu H.

The Next Generation Firewall high performance and including SDWAN Function

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The FortiGate Firewall has many Security Functions (like Web Filtering, Application Control, IPS, Antivirus, ...) that help the organization to protect the users.
Beside that, the FortiGate Firewall also has SD-WAN Function that optimizing traffic from user to application via the hybrid WAN environment (MPLS, Internet Broadband, ...).
And what i like the best is that we can combine Security Function and SD-WAN, which means I can optimize traffic from user to application and also can scan this traffic flow with Security Function to protect the Local Application Server or the User.
What do you dislike?
The feature is good, but the FortiOS has many bugs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I combine SD-WAN and Security Function, so I can replace the Router and old Firewall at the Branch Site with a single FortiGate device. That helps me manage the Network and Security aspects at the Branch easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make a stable FortiOS firmware.


    Brahmam V.

Best User-friendly firewall

  • October 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Attractive web dashboard and has easily navigatable tabs .
2. We can manage and control layer two wireless access points.
3. Building IPsec VPN and SSL VPN is easy when compared with the other firewalls.
4. We can configure Virtual networks called VDOMs within the same firewall.
5. Configuration of NAT and Static routes are pretty straightforward.
What do you dislike?
Except syslog configuration in GUI, there is nothing much to dislike, it is very good and user-friendly firewall for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Separating departments and configuring individual firewall rules for each department using VDOMs.
2. Exporting Netflow and Syslogs to the cloud-based log management tools.
3. Using firewall as intrusion detection intrusion prevention system.
4. Configuring Site to Site IPsec VPN between on-premise firewall and firewall deployed on the cloud.
5. Using it as a secure gateway to connect the servers inside the LAN using forticlient software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is straightforward to use and best suited for the organization who want to provide VPN access for their employees


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Best budget high end next generation Firewall that has all the real world capabilities

  • October 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fortigate GUI is the best in class when compared to Firepower or Palo alto.

It is speedy, responsive and very user friendly. The cli console is available to run those debug command that you may need troubleshoot stuff and everything else is a click away.
What do you dislike?
The organisation can improve in terms of support. Simple issues takes days to get resolved and sometimes the customer comes up with resolution before the support can wven understand the issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using the fortigates in our environment to replace old end of life cisco firewalls. These bring in more power and security to our network with lesser cost and manpower required to manage these.