Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 (Auto Scaling PAYG)

Sophos | 9.701

Linux/Unix, Other 9.701 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

13 AWS reviews

External reviews

70 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Airlines/Aviation

End to end protection

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You don’t need to worry about anything, one box solution
What do you dislike?
Never had any issues and so far so good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Peace of mind with regards to virus/hacking protection


    Retail

Great UTM at a great price

  • February 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is pretty much set it and forget it. It does everything we need and there is little I need to tweak once its running.
What do you dislike?
Some of the reports are still not very non-it friendly. Went to a different app for Web reporting for managers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Needed something that would just do its job and not be a pain to manage. this does it.


    Jens S.

Best Firewall Solution On The Market

  • January 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have started using Sophos UTM when it was still known as Astaro. While I have been looking at other products to follow new innovations, I consistently found that Sophos delivered the best features in its category. It is fairly easy to setup and it just works. I cannot say the same for many other solutions I have evaluated over the years.
What do you dislike?
For the past few years, Sophos has been telling us that we will soon be able to migrate to their new solution Sophos XG. Sadly, the new solution is behind on features and I have yet to see the promised migration tool. That said, I can see that Sophos XG is a forward looking solution. I just wish that development would move along a little quicker. Why am I talking about Sophos XG here? Well, Sophos has pretty much stopped development on Sophos UTM and so we are only getting fixes and maintenance patches at the moment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It works well protecting my company's assets in the data center. At the same time, we can safely connect our office to work with our SAP servers in the data center.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are running a smaller company like me and are looking for reliable features for your money, you should give Sophos UTM a try. It worked extremely well for us and it allows us to safely connect our office to our SAP servers in the data center.


    Frank S.

It has a single pane of glass which allows me to manage all my VPCs from a single instance, managing all my firewalls from one place

  • December 04, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Every single Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) has Sophos in front of it. I also use it for Outbound Gateways in my WorkSpaces environment.
How has it helped my organization?
Our company trusts Sophos without even seeing it, as it provides us comfortability while allowing for flexibility.
What is most valuable?
Its scaling capability.
Sophos has a single pane of glass which allows me to manage all my VPCs from a single instance, managing all my firewall from one place, which is huge for me. When you have multiple VPCs and multiple accounts, it becomes too cumbersome to use a product that you have to look at individually. With Sophos, I can look at one place and see everything: my logs, filters, firewall rules, etc.
What needs improvement?
I would like them to move from the Classic Load Balancer to the Network Load Balancer. This would make it easier to do certain things with Amazon. They are able to do some enhancements with Network Load Balancer that they are unable to do with Classic Load Balancer.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
I have never had a stability issue with Sophos. It self-heals.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
I have not run into a scalability issue since it is scalable past my license.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have had great technical support. The only issues that I have experienced with technical support are when I get a Tier 1 support person who knows about the on-premise product, not the AWS side of the product.
What about the implementation team?
The implementation and configuration through AWS is easy. They have cloud configuration templates, which are easy to deploy.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
We originally purchased the solution through the AWS Marketplace. I started my proof of concept doing pay-as-you-go, then moved to a VAR for a 'Bring Your Own Licence' (BYOL) licensing model. The BYOL license still requires you to accept the terms of the AWS Marketplace to deploy.
It is easy to purchase through the AWS Marketplace. In addition, if you have a budget for the AWS Marketplace, then your purchases will appear on your regular Amazon bill, which makes things even easier.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I went and looked at Check Point eight years ago, because back then, I loved Check Point. They also weren't many solutions like this back then. AWS Marketplace did not even exist eight years ago!
After comparing Check Point and Sophos pricing, I questioned whether the decimal for Sophos was in the wrong spot. Sophos's competitors were so much higher in price.
Originally, cost sold me because Check Point and Sophos had the same features. Now, Sophos has surpassed Check Point's features.
What other advice do I have?
If you haven't tried it, do so.


    Wireless

Sophos Security

  • September 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The company chose Sophos for our systems and it gives us the security of allowing employees to have their company email on their personal devices.
What do you dislike?
To this point, I have not encountered a problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The program is available to be downloaded on our mobile devices, which allows employees the ability to have the company email on their private devices. They can review and respond to their email regardless of where they are.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recomend this program to other companies. This has brought a secure feeling to allowing employees to use their personal devices to monitor their company email.


    Machinery

Sophos Firewalls Rock

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Sophos firewalls are are full of features to protect the corporate network. Everything from IPS, to Reverse Proxy Services, to SSL VPN, and more. You can even do deep packet and application aware scanning and control.
What do you dislike?
When purchasing, there is a kind of black magic to choosing the right hardware level. The firewall must be sized just just depending on how much bandwidth you have and how many services you want to turn on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Full integrated security management for the corporate network. The firewall will integrate with the Sophos antivirus and antiransomware software give you a wholistic approach to network security.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Dont skimp when sizing the hardware. The more you spend today, the better the solution will fit for the duration of its life.


    Mike R.

Sophos UTM

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
XG units are easy to manage thanks to their cloud console and have very powerful features. The "security heartbeat" that syncs endpoint antivirus/antimalware/anticrypto with the firewall is a no brainer. Combined with the ability to manage FDE and see which users pose the highest risk based on behavior has made the entire stack invaluable to our clients.
What do you dislike?
SG units are solid but take too many steps to create and apply new policies. Some of the documentation is not entirely clear at first, but they seem to be improving it. Support can be hit or miss, depends on who picks up the phone. We've never had a problem not fixed before we ended the conversation, but sometimes the call went longer than it should have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ability to manage all of our clients in one dashboard has greatly streamlined our processes, saving us time and leading to faster service times.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
XG units are the way to go. We always recommend one model up from what the current client needs are to allow for growth and new features.


    Miguel H.

Sophos is easy to use

  • July 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to navigate GUI interface. ssl vpn is rock solid.
What do you dislike?
WAF function has tripped me up before, causing issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Firewall, vpn, dynamic routing, threat detection.


    Ryne M.

Excellent Protection and support

  • July 21, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use
On demand updates
Excellent support
What do you dislike?
I have absolutely no dislikes, other than maybe server update times
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
End to end protection and support


    Higher Education

Easy to use, keeps computers safe

  • July 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how quickly it scans my computer and shows me and shows me a detailed log of suspicious activity detected.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I particularly dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sophos is provided to all University of Washington staff and students free of cost. The main benefit is that it keeps my desktop and labtops virus free.