Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec Corporation | 8.2.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

521 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rohit S.

SEP - Our Trusted Endpoint Protection

  • May 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SEP is very simple to install, but at the same time the User Interface is too good to be used by a customer and partner. Its blocking new and unknown threats very well and which are usually missed by other Endpoint Solutions. Using it widely in our customer base and even as a Symantec Partner in our Internal IT to show the use cases to customers. Excellent Product.!!!
What do you dislike?
I could not find much issues or something that i can write to dislike about this product. The offline updates of the SEP can be made more simpler. I found that little troublesome by downloading and placing in folder and it takes so much time to update in the SEP window.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
End Point Security in General.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its great Endpoint Solution and very flexible, stable and trusted one.


    Automotive

Works Great

  • May 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Defends malware attacks and viruses from our network.
What do you dislike?
The software package is difficult to implement.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Virus protection against our network. It is centrally controlled for close monitoring.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Follow the instructions carefully when implementing the solution.


    Automotive

Symantec is a reliable tool for protection of clients and servers

  • May 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection notify us and even prevent us from seeing the content of the email and data for our security.
What do you dislike?
as far as our usage is concerned I didn't find anything to dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its data monitoring and security features is the best thing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
first study your requirement then implement best for clients and servers


    Ciaran H.

The new Symantec

  • April 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The rate of product development is astonishing, and it has restored confidence in the Symantec brand with management and users.
The broad device coverage is second-to-none - Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, and Android. Server, Desktop/Laptop, and Mobile devices.
What do you dislike?
There have been some issues when moving from on-premise deployment to SEP, although these are being ironed out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Intuitive cloud management makes administration very straight-forward.
Multiple engines provide defense-in-depth on the endpoint.
Ability to scan on-demand
There is granular Reporting functioanlity, which provdie scheduled feedback in both Summary and Comprehensive format,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Contrary to the bad perception following the Broadcom acquisition, Symantec is going from strength to strength.
The product team is very focused on making this the best solution on the market. The team is very engaged with customers and partners to ensure that it provides what they need.
Broadcom support is improving and is in a much better place when compared to this time last year.
The cost is also very competitive against most of the competitors, and you get a whole lot of value for your purchase.


    Sizwe M.

Legendary Effective Protection Against Everyday Threats

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Same old tried and true Symantec. Simple to administer and support.
What do you dislike?
The unpredictability of policy changes. A simple policy change can have unpredictable, non-related effects on endpoints.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are protecting end-users from everyday digital perils such as malware and ransomware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is usually best to go with the could-based solution, especially in these days of working from home. That makes it easier to administrate endpoints remotely.


    Hospital & Health Care

A good solution both for on premise and cloud

  • February 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is delivering defense-in-depth security using several technologies not relying on any single technique for protection.
What do you dislike?
The on-premise version of Symantec Endpoint Protection is in need of a big refresh regarding it's management interface. Some "newer" features like intensive protection are only available in an hybrid configuration where you "bolt-on" the on-premise SEPM with the Symantec Enterprise Security Cloud. This is also true for new features like Behavior Isolation.

The management plattform for on-premise users should be available as an appliance to replace or complement the need for a standalone installation on Windows Server operating systems. This would enable the on-prem and cloud solutions to follow the same release cycle as the management could be upgraded more easily as it is basically the same. If you're then managing a hybrid environment, it would greatly enhance the management experience. This would also probably reduce the amount of support cases regarding issues with multiple types of configurations available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A single solution that fits multiple requirements in a diverse enivornment and that tightly integrates with other solutions from Symantec.


    Chemicals

10 years of SEP

  • February 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The management of the SEP endpoint has always been very intuitive. I never feel like I have to look hard to fine the settings I need.
What do you dislike?
We have had some issues with updates that cannot be explained by the Symantec team. This causes frustrations with management.

Also, while comprehensive, the console has a steep learning curve. I feel like I am finding new things each day after over 10 years as an administrator.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An overall protection platform for all of our endpoints
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Include the ATP portion of the production with the base functionality of SEP


    Filip G.

Most comprehensive client protection tool for large businesses

  • February 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The possibility for building distributed infrastructure makes it easy to secure clients in a globally dispersed environment. The scanning on the clients is well optimized and it is hardly noticeable from performance aspect. Fast response to 0-day attacks by Symantec. The ability to configure application execution prevention that can ban installers from starting if they are not in a default container. There is minimum detection of false positives.
What do you dislike?
The size of the updates can be a bit of a downside. This goes especially when new clients are introduced in an environment with slower bandwidth. The configuration interface can use an interface update.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have it as the default company wide solution (on over 200K clients) for protection against malware threats and 0-day attacks. Moreover, we also use it to prevent installation of application from unwanted sources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is definitely worth a try especially if you are a huge organization with 10.000+ clients.


    Information Technology and Services

Complete EndPoint Protection with SEP

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Antimalware protection, firewall, IPS, Device and application control, host integrity
What do you dislike?
nothing, I like everything, the solution is very complete
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Endpoint protection, host firewall, IPS and redirection of Navigation to Proxy Cloud and CASB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good Solution for End Point Protection


    Pablo A.

Symantec is a grate Security Solution

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SES protect all clients in our organization from security attacks. It is a very easy product for installation, configuration, and cloud management. All Client Agent installations can be done simply without an additional software distribution tool. All SEP Clients can be easily monitored from the Reporting interface. So, If any client has the old version or old signature can be easily updated from the Console with a single click. Helps to reduce the client-based security vulnerabilities in the whole organization. I think Symantec has the best Global Antivirus database to avoid attacks including Zero-Day attacks
What do you dislike?
Endpoint interface aspect and small functionalities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Manageability, SESE framework of all Home Office devices