Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2*

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

483 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ravi G.

Best AV for Endpoints

  • October 28, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of this product is that "it releases three updates daily for endpoints to protect them from Zero-day attacks." And endpoint takes an update from Symantec Manager, GUP (Group Update Provider) and LU (Live Update).
What do you dislike?
The worst part of this product is that "sometimes the symlink file mismatch and location of the endpoint show differ on Symantec Manager". And we need to replace this file again. It takes time for that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used this product when a wannacry ransomware attack happened, and it protected our endpoint from being compromised. We checked NTP logs for all the machines and checked frequently.


    Professional Training & Coaching

Symantec Endpoint Protection needed a backup

  • September 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the centralized management feature that allows administrators to perform routines remotely and even schedule tasks that need to run in the endpoints.
What do you dislike?
I've been a user of Symantec Endpoint Protection since 2010, and I can say that they have not improved their user interface all these years. The major incident was why I parted ways with SEPM; my network was penetrated by malware that it failed to detect and stop spreading within my network.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As a Systems Administrator, you need to have centralized control over all your endpoints. SEPM is a whole package. Real-time scan/protection, firewall integration, live updates, advance detection. These are all needed to ensure that the network is protected. It has safeguarded mine for more than ten years.


    Computer Software

Symantec Endpoint Protection Suite not what is use to be!

  • May 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Traditionally, this product has worked very well, although a bit bloated, for both servers and client machines.
What do you dislike?
We have used this product for many years. Since going to Broadcom, both support and product functionality have fallen off drastically. Clients seem to be very resource (memory) intensive and garner a lot of complaints from our user base.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Solved: client machines: good antivirus and malware protection. Servers: Good protection for internal, and internet facing (exposed) servers. There's no performance boost, but past reliability provided ease of mind for protection.


    Doğan D.

the only effective protection I trust for my computer's security

  • March 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The security infrastructure of the application works exactly as I want it. It blocks all malware. The risk factor is minimized. It monitors the system very well and provides full protection.
What do you dislike?
I see that the application is using a lot of System resources. usually uses 50% performance of the processor. This situation affects me very much. Symantec application causes some of my applications to open too late. As an example, I can say Anydesk remote desktop application.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In addition to actively providing protection, it is very convenient to have a programming scan structure. It makes my job very easy to immediately terminate the detected malicious processes.


    Computer & Network Security

Symante Endpoint Protection: Endpoint multilayer protection

  • January 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is a multilayer endpoint protection solution (antivirus, personal firewall, IPS, application and device control, host integrity, memory exploit mitigation, …).
It provides effective protection againt actual threats.
The solution has simplified management and a logical interface.
The architecture is natively scalable. Deployment tools are also available.
What do you dislike?
The product misses some configuration templates to accelerate configuration.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Endpoint protection from malware, ransomware, and new threats. Simple remediation and troubleshooting.
Report and alert notification help to maintain you informed about your a protected environment
If connected to Symantec EDR solution (licensed apart), you can manage Incidents with correlated SEP events through Symantec Intelligence, and you can also have MITRE ATT&CK tactics and techniques detailed information about incidents.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Customize SEP configuration to enhance protection in your environment.
Install all available security features on the endpoint. The application control feature is one of the most powerful features if configured correctly.


    Vinay C.

Easy to use

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is one of the best application in security and it's very easy to use this application is very easy to use and for security purposes now a days it's very usefull
What do you dislike?
When we secure the data some time speed may be slow but it is very rare , traffic flow is increasing day by day on this that is why we have to face speed issue something
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
An endpoint is any device that is physically en end point on a network . Laptops,desktops,mobile phones,tablets,servers and virtual environments can all be considered endpoints.


    Scott S.

AV to avoid

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The new cloud service was easy to setup and maintain.
What do you dislike?
Does not detect as well as other AV's. Takes up too many resources. Years of issues in the older software makes me not trust anything they make.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security issues. Drive Encrypton, web protection and overall security.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are much better choices available. Sophos endpoint (if you have a sophos firewall). Bitdefender endpoint is outstanding.


    Information Technology and Services

Laptop secure against multiple threats

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Automatic protection without user intervention
What do you dislike?
Delicate client, in case of corruption, it forces you to reinstall the computer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protección del portatil ante los virus y ataques de red.
Unified protection in a single client.


    Computer & Network Security

Symantec Endpoint Security - modern layered protection for your Enterprise

  • October 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Variety of options, good protecton, stable performance, continuous upgrading product.
What do you dislike?
Tails of legacy AV approach, bad Support, and a little confusing cloud console.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Concentrating on work, while Symantec Endpoint Security protect our machines from malware and other attacks.


    Financial Services

Symantec is the go to for our company in 2 part authentication and security

  • September 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Once installed, it was easy to use, and our employees have minimal issues with logging in to the system. I trust this company, and I feel they are a leader in security. We use this cloud-based solution to protect our conventional and mobile devices.
What do you dislike?
There are updates quite a bit. I understand the need for this, but it does require some time to compelte.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is a solid antivirus security product.