Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.13.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

160 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Honker B.

It has been very useful to detect existing failures in my company

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its interface has a fairly simple and intuitive design to use at all times, which allows me to streamline in a much simpler and faster way a large number of tasks in a much more practical, agile and safe way, the fact that we allows us to detect in a much simpler and more efficient way the existing vulnerabilities in our company is something that has been very helpful to us to improve any failure or error that may occur during the development of our activities, its interface has a minimalist design but at the same time quite powerful to do everything in a very practical way, its ease of installation and configuration is also something that is of great help when making the initial configurations of the application in a much faster and more practical way.
What do you dislike?
My main complaint is with their customer service team, they take too long to respond to any questions or problems that may arise, which I consider something quite problematic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has been very useful for me to detect existing faults in my company in a much faster, simpler and more efficient way, which has been of great help to me in achieving a great improvement in a large number of processes within my company, without mention that it facilitates the improvement of coexistence with my employees, since having the company well monitored and controlled, in the sense of avoiding as far as possible the existence of failures that are mainly those that can generate some type of inconvenience or trigger serious communication problems this translates into a better coexistence for everyone and a better performance within the office.


    Michael H.

Does it's job without drama.

  • December 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Set and forget, just read the reports and edit systems to scan as needed! The reports are easily readable and all the plugins let you customize scans VERY well.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. Scans are slow, but that's expected.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Keeping our IT staff on their toes about basic security. Rollouts of new gear are scanned immediately to find basic things like forgotten password changes and open ports.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be prepared to spend a lot of time initially documenting all the systems you want to scan, and then setting up the relevant tests. But once done, it's a cake walk to change things later.


    Information Technology and Services

Great vulnerability scanner

  • December 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus' licensing models work great for companies of all sizes, with plans/packages that don't limit you to numbers of IPs if you don't need all the bells and whistles
What do you dislike?
Their more advanced products such as distributed scanning greatly increase the cost and make them proibitive for medium sized businesses to integrate them into their environments, creating a gap.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used Nessus to find some vulnerabilities in Windows servers that required more than just patch installation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're just getting started out, Nessus is a great step. If you are mid market, it really will depend on the layout of your organization and end goals.


    Dave E.

Ease of use and great support

  • December 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is customizable, does everything we need for our compliance. The support has been fantastic. Always get helpful and knowledgeable assistance.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally have to reset the Nessus services but it is an easy fix.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are required by the Federal Government to scan certain computers. We use the Nessus software to do this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
None


    Greg H.

Nessus Professional Offline Use

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Quick to implement patching updates and new product updates in baseline files. Tenable audit files are useful, along with step by step guides on how to implement the audit files. Tenable seems to keep up with the changes in the DISA STIGs, CIS baselines, etc. Also, the user community also fills in some of the slack on getting things changed as well.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes remote scanning takes a long time, but may have to do with the bandwidth provided. Every year the offline activation is required, which isn't bad. Some other programs require a more frequent check-in than yearly, so that is helpful for offline systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Verify patches, verify products correctly updated. Find out we need patches vendor didn't tell us about. Find out that some of the old software we have on the machines is causing us to be in a less secure environment than initially thought. The scanning updates after patch Tuesday are quick, which helps to have before/after scans on the Microsoft patching. Most other product updates for non-Microsoft products (Adobe, Java, etc.) also seem to be quick to make it in the plugin database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Offline activation/update easier than most other competitors. Quick to adapt patching baselines, new vulnerabilities and product updates. One of the most complete solutions for scanning, patching and vulnerability scanning. Audit files are also useful for CIS, DISA STIGs, etc. Online help seems to be a good place to get help not only from Tenable employees but other users experiencing similar issues to you as well. Opening a support ticket gets an answer quickly as well. The company understands offline use, which is nice for those of us without internet connectivity 24/7.


    Ricardo R.

Simply vulnerability

  • November 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use
Easy to install
Million users
What do you dislike?
Unlimited and sold directly on their website
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If you are a small company with lots of emails Nessus gives you the protection you may need
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Buy from reseller that can support you


    Jaime P.

Nessus helps to know the vulnerability surface

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, to configure, you can trust in the vuln they found, they are where it say in any host, server or webservice you have scaned. Other thing is the number os assets you can scan is more than other where you have to pay per host number, in this you can pay for license and you can scan any number of host in your own network.
What do you dislike?
Is not easy to analize data from the reports and some times is teddious to find the plugin name or number to find the error or for example, to know if the credentials for the current scan is ok or no
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To know the host in the network (host discover), scan for vulnerabilities in the assets and the web services we have. All the information we need is given by Nessus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for the best vulnerability scanner for host, you have to try Nessus. If you want to know about credentials, blackbox scans, are part of red team or security at home or little bussines you can do a scan to know the vulnerabilities that have you infraestructure (all of them)


    Rajesh R K.

Nessus is a Strong and Efficient for Security.

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Suitable for discovering flaws, that could be established regularly to function independently.

2. It is really straightforward to set up but responsive throughout settings, however, a new user is using it.

3. Updates of the Software were constantly updated all the time.

4. Comfortable to be using, easy to operate, checks or documents automatically.

5. Outstanding or not complicated malware detection method.

6. It is highly reliable but doesn't use many assets.
What do you dislike?
It's an absolutely perfect security platform because we noticed no problem with this application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is used for centralized scanning of application and find out the flaws in the application and it is a compact tool while using it and it scans very quickly and generate the reports.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is quite simple but secure to be using. However, the scope towards the significant analysis is minimal.


    Miguel Antonio D.

Best Scanner

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the product of tenable are very friendly, usefully and powerfull
What do you dislike?
actually i really comfortable with the suite.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Massive scan in specific ports to resolve some issues...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it is an amazing tool to security IT


    Sameer N.

Leading platform for find the loop holes from the web and mobile applications.

  • September 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus is one of the greatest vulnerability scanners on the platform, it has so many capabilities for security scans for web apps, network scans, enforcement scans and external security assessments that it has a high vulnerability detection rate and is ideal for security testers to identify vulnerabilities so quickly.One of the techniques used most widely for evaluating vulnerability. Scanning application servers, DB servers, network devices such as switches , routers, firewalls, and proxy servers is very powerful, which enables each system to run one only for scanning vulnerabilities and incomplete patch reports.i like this product because of the functionality and the high performance.
What do you dislike?
I am using this product till now i did not found any dislike regarding this product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With this Nessus it has solved all my problems including detecting the bugs and the missing patches and we can search the network devices as well.