Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 10.0.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

213 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Automotive

Great to view detailed reports

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very detailed reports, and you can sort/find specifics.
What do you dislike?
It takes considerable CPU power when the program is not even running.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We import reports into nessus. We get specific information out of Nessus for our reports.


    Hospital & Health Care

Great product at a great price

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, provides good reports that my management finds valuable.
What do you dislike?
I don't have any significant complaints.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use the product for internal and external vulnerability scans. It provides us with a set of checks and balances against our admins reports of meeting our secuirty guidelines.


    Management Consulting

Nessus Vulnerability Scanner

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Nessus vulnerability scanner from Tenable offers excellent vulnerability and compliance scanning coverage. The API offers good flexibility for developing custom solutions. Coupled with other Tenable products, such as Tenable.io, SecurityCenter, or NessusManager provides centralized management and reporting.
What do you dislike?
Nessus on its own is a solid product but does require some customization of the settings to run more efficiently.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus is one of the tools that we use within our vulnerability management program. It has helped us ensure patches are being deployed in a timely fashion, find systems vulnerable to specific issues, and ensure system builds are compliant with our security baselines. We also leverage the built-in web application checks to monitor our websites (in addition to running dynamic scans with a purpose-built web vulnerability scanner).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Nessus scanner by itself is a great tool and has a large number of plugins and vulnerability coverage. The basic reporting is acceptable but is much more robust and customizable when coupled with other products. Tenable support has dramatically decreased over the past several years. I frequently find myself having to do half their job of testing the product. More often than not, we have to solve the problems on our own (and usually through some sort of custom development/workaround).


    Financial Services

Good Product

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
To be able to monitor my system's vulnerability.
What do you dislike?
The system does not have a fully streamlined interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are benefiting from the compliance and vulnerability monitoring
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have vulnerability issues, this product will help you resolve them.


    Rajesh D.

Nessus for Overall security of IT infrastructure

  • October 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are using Nessus for network device vulnerability assessment & Server security assessment as well. Nessus provides easy-to-scan devices with IP Scan options in their Web-based GUI platform. We need to add the widgets in the Nessus platform & create inventory & Nessus works accordingly. One of the benefits of using Nessus is providing the most security compliance such as HIPPA, PCI-DSS. Nessus provides us real-time vulnerability assessment reports with remediation point details to quickly remediate the loopholes.
What do you dislike?
The only issue we sometimes face we Nessus due to multiple IPs assigned to a single device then Nessus always choose the master IP. It will be good to provide an option where we can multiple IP target points for a single device.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus helps us a lot in the security & compliance management of our IT infrastructure. Nessus provided us with detailed vulnerability reports with remediation points so that we can quickly resolve them & secure our environment. One of the best features we like of Nessus is Task Scheduling.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a security assessment tool that provides compliance benefits, then Nessus is one of the best tools. I highly recommend it to everyone.


    Grace C.

Impossible to uninstall on Mac

  • October 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Non-functioning software. Nessus is not appropriate for Macbook users.
What do you dislike?
Does not conform to Mac application uninstall standards. You must piecemeal remove Nessus in subdirectories and becomes a hassle to remove safely. I doubt most people use Terminal to remove software in multiple directions. This lack of care makes Security software look nefarious (developed offshore).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security trial software for enterprise review.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not ideal software for smaller enterprises. I can't imagine how awful maintenance for Nessus must look like at scale.


    Education Management

Nessus - A tool for vulnerability assessment

  • September 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus is one of the best tool for vulnerability assessment. It is a remote security scanning tool which has the capacity to scan the computer systems and find out the vulnerabilities in the system. The detected vulnerabilities can be alerted and reported to the concerned teams. We use Nessus for VA (Vulnerability Assessment) and PT (Penetrative Testing). The reports provide a detailed explanation w.r.t. vulnerabilities found.
What do you dislike?
Nessus is an excellent tool and has no dislikes as such. However it is not a complete security solution because it does not actively prevent attacks, it is a tool that checks your computer to find out the vulnerabilities/loop holes that the malicious hackers/attackers could exploit and get into your system. It is the responsibility of the administrator to patch these vulnerabilities so as to make the system secure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus can discover the vulnerabilities in the system which the attackers can use to gain access to the computers connected over the network. The reports generated by Nessus are very good with detailed analysis of the vulnerability, severity of the issue, ports on which it has been detected and the possible recommendations to close the same.
We use Nessus scanner to scan the computers so as to know whether the products/applications installed on the system requires to be patched with latest updates/upgrades.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would surely recommend others to consider Nessus as it's a great tool for vulnerability assessment and also has a easy to use interface.


    Computer & Network Security

Future of Cyber Security Suite

  • September 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the Nessus because of its excellent coverage; its final results provides almost every details like vulnerability brief, its exploits, references and such other important matters to be dealt with the vulnerability fix.
What do you dislike?
The customer support of Nessus is limited as compared to its wide customer base all over the world. So customer support of Nessus needs to be improved from the view point of its availability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An experience with Nessus started with questions like whether this tool will be helpful, will it give expected results, whether........ and yes, this tool has given satisfied results to put a forward step for secured information system environment. For detailed results provided by Nessus I would say in brief that "It just worked flawlessly to deal with the vulnerabilities".


    Nikhil K.

Gui and operational

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, attractive GUI, scanning for web application,api and network infrastructure.
What do you dislike?
Delayed in query from their end if we do.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
VA and Compliance scanning of Network infrastructure and web application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
8 out of 10


    Felix K.

Nessus - a Reliable Security and Vulnerability Checker

  • August 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. The Nessus agent can effectively scan and report threats.
2. It offers predefined scanning templates that are highly customizable.
3. One of its most significant advantages has to be credential scanning, which enables deeper security and vulnerability scans.
4. The reports are well-organized and comprehensive.
5. The user interface is actually very simple and smooth for ease of navigation.
6. It also runs in the background and is memory-friendly, so the end user's CPU performance is unaffected.
What do you dislike?
Other than the fact that it is limited to single scans, there aren't many things to dislike about Nessus. Large scans can also be time-consuming. Support for other app integration could also be advantageous.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Security Scans
2. Vulnerability Checks
3. File scans
4. Risk Analysis and evaluation