Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.15.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

208 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Lidia M.

Vulnerability and remediation management

  • February 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus offers enormous flexibility in how it tracks vulnerabilities across the network. The scan is multiplatform, it can be executed in local, network objectives or as an agent. You can launch the scan from outside the firewall, which offers the real visibility of the company. The implementation and configuration of Nessus is very simple, we like to use the agents to create groups of scans and in this way automate the process. Everything works very well and the creation of reports is perfect to keep track of remediations. I like that we can do the compliance analyzes.
What do you dislike?
We had a problem with a client where the requirements to deploy Nessus could not be applied, the Tenable team has not yet been able to give us a strong response to resolve the situation. The information provided to perform the remediation is not the best possible, I would like to improve on new updates a better tool for this. The automatic updates of the supplements should be more consecutive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Nessus we carry out the vulnerability and compliance scan, to then carry out the remediation cycles in our clients' networks. With Tenable's enormous base of knowledge and threats, we make sure to attend to every detail that could be a cause of attack on the network. Thanks to the agents we can also evaluate the host in particular to have a more granular scheme..
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Nessus and Tenable because with them we have been able to establish an important service within our company. It is an excellent tool to scan objectives and present reports.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus scanning

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus scanning in and of itself is rather simple. It is nice that debugging is built in to the gui and logs can be easily retrieved. Nessus is definitely best when deployed with Security Center.
What do you dislike?
Some of the logic built in to the Cisco handler didnt make sense. When the logic was presented with a #, it wouldn't issue the enable password required for escalation. Getting the logic fixed for this issue took over 9 months to resolve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This tool replaced McAfee vulnerability management and was a much more solid tool comparatively speaking.


    David G.

AWS needs to update this AMI

  • January 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works great but AWS needs to update this AMI so that the version of Nessus is at least 7.1.3 and above. I was unable to update Nessus. Per Tenable, it's not possible to update Nessus if launched from this AMI.

https://docs.tenable.com/releasenotes/nessus/servicebulletin.htm




    Matt B.

Excellent Scanning Engine

  • January 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is intuitive and easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
The price tag is not unreasonable, but does still present a hurdle for small companies with limited budget for security software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ease of use and simplicity of setup has provided an opportunity to quickly get our internal vulnerability management program up and running with exceptional results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In my opinion, Nessus is about as close to industry standard as possible. They really set the bar for others to follow in usability, clean interface, and acceptance by the industry as a whole.


    Eric S.

Great scanning application. Exactly what I need for PCI

  • January 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Scheduled scanning, reports are detailed with all the information for issues as well as a "how-to" on resolving.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. Nessus meets my company's needs in a user friendly format. Couldn't be happier.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're meeting our PCI requirements with Nessus. It allows me to see what security gaps and updates are necessary to maintain compliance.


    Higher Education

Nessus Review

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Vulnerability scanning is great. Reporting is good.
What do you dislike?
Compliance scans, to many false positives.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerability and Compliance scanning to meet compliance regulations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get the compliance to elevate so many false positives.


    Government Administration

Powerful Vulnerability assessmnent tool at a more than reasonable cost

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Speed! I can get accurate results from a Nessus scan much faster than I get from other products costing 1000% more. The interface is extremely intuitive and I can configure a scan quickly compared to my other tools. It is my 'Go To' system when a client requests a scan to validate patches of config changes.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike has nothing to do with the tool itself. I dislike that my manager feels the cost of the tool is indicative of its overall worth and reputation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Nessus Pro to complement our vulnerability assessment program and to validate detections in order to determine false positives. I consider this tool as an invaluable asset in hardening our PCI and DMZ environments.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus Vulnerability scanner

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus allows scan for different kinds of vulnerabilities as denials of service, default passwords, misconfigurations. It is supported on a lot of operating systems and platforms.It also has an evaluation trial that helps you to decide if it is good for you or not. I think is great for big companies.
What do you dislike?
It cant manage all scans from one location. So doesn't have centralized management. It doesn't provide roles based access. It doesn’t seem to offer long term solutions and the support it is no so fats.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerabilities scanner. Protection. Security
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compare with others products and check the requirements you need so you are sure Nessus apply to your environment


    Information Technology and Services

Excellent software

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
provides insight on your environment. Easy to install and to operate. Reporting add a lot of value for upper management.
What do you dislike?
Once the vulnerabilities are identified, we must fix and re-scan to validate they disappeared. Sometimes Nessus is still showing the vulnerability even if the fix is applied
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security and Compliance
Recommendations to others considering the product:
great product.


    Hospital & Health Care

Nessus is a top tier scanner that is easy to use and effective at finding vulnerabilities.

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use. The application is easy to setup and use with canned templates that get you scanning for what you need to find. The scan results are among the most accurate I have seen which is welcome in this day and age.
What do you dislike?
The scan results could be easier to read. Sometimes I find the scan results to be a bit difficult to read with the current setup. However after you play around with the settings a little and get used to the format it is not an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For me vulnerability threat management and tracking installed patches is the primary use of Nessus. The benefits of using Nessus is getting a well priced top tier application for a fair price.