Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.14.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

202 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Government Administration

Powerful Vulnerability assessmnent tool at a more than reasonable cost

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Speed! I can get accurate results from a Nessus scan much faster than I get from other products costing 1000% more. The interface is extremely intuitive and I can configure a scan quickly compared to my other tools. It is my 'Go To' system when a client requests a scan to validate patches of config changes.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike has nothing to do with the tool itself. I dislike that my manager feels the cost of the tool is indicative of its overall worth and reputation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Nessus Pro to complement our vulnerability assessment program and to validate detections in order to determine false positives. I consider this tool as an invaluable asset in hardening our PCI and DMZ environments.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus Vulnerability scanner

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus allows scan for different kinds of vulnerabilities as denials of service, default passwords, misconfigurations. It is supported on a lot of operating systems and platforms.It also has an evaluation trial that helps you to decide if it is good for you or not. I think is great for big companies.
What do you dislike?
It cant manage all scans from one location. So doesn't have centralized management. It doesn't provide roles based access. It doesn’t seem to offer long term solutions and the support it is no so fats.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerabilities scanner. Protection. Security
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compare with others products and check the requirements you need so you are sure Nessus apply to your environment


    Information Technology and Services

Excellent software

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
provides insight on your environment. Easy to install and to operate. Reporting add a lot of value for upper management.
What do you dislike?
Once the vulnerabilities are identified, we must fix and re-scan to validate they disappeared. Sometimes Nessus is still showing the vulnerability even if the fix is applied
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security and Compliance
Recommendations to others considering the product:
great product.


    Hospital & Health Care

Nessus is a top tier scanner that is easy to use and effective at finding vulnerabilities.

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use. The application is easy to setup and use with canned templates that get you scanning for what you need to find. The scan results are among the most accurate I have seen which is welcome in this day and age.
What do you dislike?
The scan results could be easier to read. Sometimes I find the scan results to be a bit difficult to read with the current setup. However after you play around with the settings a little and get used to the format it is not an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For me vulnerability threat management and tracking installed patches is the primary use of Nessus. The benefits of using Nessus is getting a well priced top tier application for a fair price.


    Machinery

Nessus works well

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The amount/variety of plugins that cover just about everything you need to scan for, both new/0 day threats and past.
What do you dislike?
Reporting could be better in Nessus Pro (I don't have exposure to other levels to see if there is better reporting)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making sure systems are updated with the necessary patches. A nice benefit is seeing the biggest bang for our buck (deploy one patch will fix 80% of critical issues for example)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure the reporting matches your needs, otherwise it's great


    Financial Services

Nessus Review

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the findings and the resolutions are second to none
What do you dislike?
Browser Navigation could be a better experience
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
compliance


    Legal Services

Solid product for security and compliance

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The job scheduling features make it easy for me to run scans quarterly.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, I feel it is a little slow with the scans, the machine is pretty robust that we run it on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compliance issues with ISO and SOC


    Consumer Services

Great Pro tool for scannig

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Variety of tools, not only vulnerabilities, compliance scans as well
What do you dislike?
Price, it would be great that this can be modular so price can be less
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps a lot with our PCI-DSS audits
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Buy it !!


    Computer & Network Security

Great for Compliance

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you can set the scans up manual and have them scheduled. I love the customer support.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that you cannot scan applications or webservers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
scanning applications and webservers. I like the reporting tools and compliance validity of the compliance control sets via the same set the IRS uses. That makes it definitely more valuable than using any other vulnerability tool. This tool tells you what controls are missing as well as what controls need to have improvement and if you use the same files as the IRS uses you are sure to pass any safeguard review/audit. I have my security administrator use it just because of that reason. I wish Nessus could run scans on different types of software but I'm not sure how that is even possible. If there were any improvements to be made it would be on webservers and applications. However, if your just checking your audits against safeguard reviews, this will get you passed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I WOULD try to figure out how to have Nessus run vulnerability scans on software, if that is possible. If I could improve Nessus I would find a way to make it take up less band with when doing network scans, find a way to get it to scan different types of software and also, get it to scan webservers. Nessus for me needs to keep staying in compliance with the IRS publication 1075 and NIST 800-53 series. If Nessus can do that then it will continue to hold its excessive valuableness. Federal guidelines are the way that I would go if I were a Nessus developer/tester.


    Marketing and Advertising

Nessus review

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Cost is the biggest factor, the functionality is on par with other commercial solutions but at a reasonable price point and licensing model. The solution is also extremely stable. The information presented in reports is easy to understand and can be put infront of a non-technical audience, a junior admin, network engineer or audit team.
What do you dislike?
Nessus professional lacks robust data management and compression, scan history can grow rapidly out of control. We have been forced to implement so scripting outside of the tool to perform housekeeping activities that would be better served natively.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus is our primary risk analysis tool and is the foundation of how we demonstrate risk mitigation to our Clients. We can rapidly get Client security buy in to go live once we present the Nessus compliance and vulnerability reports. By reducing the time to get Client sign off we are able to realize revenue sooner.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Evaluate what you plan to do with the information you receive from the tool, prioritize information that is highest risk and be sure to get support from you business to move toward integrating Nessus into your risk programs life cycle